paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Splat City Paintball Field / Splat City Paintball Field / Splat City Paintball Field / Splat City Paintball Field

Splat City Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
6Edit this Field Listing
Website: N/A
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 936-275-6968
Address: 830 South El Camino Crossing (Hwy 96 S)
San Augustine, Texas 75972
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
only1zeppelin Wednesday, February 10th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: February 7th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I do not know of any other fields in the area.
Review: I have been paintballing for seven years and have been to many fields, so I can say that Splat City Paintball is easily one of the best I have seen. The airball field is a blast to play on and is regularly moved around to keep things fresh. For those who prefer woodsball their woodsball field is very well designed and can accommodate groups of all sizes. The proshop is very well stocked with a wide variety of paintball products for all skill levels. Unlike most fields, Splat City actual takes care of its rental equipment and keeps it in top shape. The staging area is covered so players can stay can relax in the shade in between games. Refs do a great job at explaining the rules and are very fair in their calls. The proshop also offers drinks and snacks if you need a little something to keep you going throughout the day. On top of that, Splat City is the only field I have been to with INDOOR PLUMBING, easily the best feature a field can provide. All in all Splat City Paintball ranks among one of the best fields I have played at. I would recommend that anyone looking to have some fun paintballing visits Splat City.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

lastshot0330 Sunday, January 24th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: January 24th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have tried every field that has popped up in the East Texas area in the last 5 years. I have traveled to Central, Nacogdoches, Diboll, B.F.E. and in my opinion they were out for a get rich quick scheme rather than making a foundation for a much-needed lasting pillar for the sport.
Directions
to the Field:
Head to San Augustine, TX, Look for the "circle" (also called a rotary) by the dairy queen. Hit Highway 96 South and be looking on your left for the sign. It is right before El Giro Mexican Food. (They make a pretty decent taco salad by the way, just an F.Y.I.)
Review: I have been going to Splat City Paintball as a member of SFASU's team for over a year now, and I have seen this field grow into something I honestly never imagined it being, a second home.

Now I must preface that statement so as to not sound too overdramatic, I am originally from East Texas (Diboll) so I know the many fields that have tried and failed around the area. I felt resigned that if I wanted to play speedball I would just have to make a monthly trip down to houston to even see a decent field. This field's direction and promise have made me less of a pessimist on this subject. I have been heavily involved with the sport of paintball for 12 years now and this is the first field that I truly believe is being built with solely the player in mind.

The ownership and staff are always friendly, and are the polar opposite of the cliche, yet too often seen, self absorbed field owner that looks down on new players. The main focus of this field is to make every player that walks to the gates, a better player, and a better person upon leaving. This outlook is a much needed thing in a region that is heavily dominated by unsafe backyard play with shop goggles, and overall ignorance about the sport.

To make this review a little less long winded, I will try to refrain from gushing much more about how high my opinion is of this field. So, I will reduce the rest of my review into segments.

Safety - Always a top priority at this field. Goggle safety is strictly enforced, as are barrel bags, velocity regulations (300fps) and rate of fire rules (Semi-auto only). Oh and parents, this field is insured.

Fields - There are two basic fields, woodsball and speedball. Both fields good and are constantly being improved. The speedball field in particular is good enough that it will be hosting a college tournament very soon.

Food - There are concessions at the field, but if you aren't hungry for hot dogs and candy bars there is a mexican restaurant right next door. So, food is never an issue.

Facilities - The field has a metal building that houses the office, proshop, bathroom, concessions, and player's area. It is very spacious and now accommodates larger groups pretty well. Located outside is the field-side covered patio that is a great place to watch the action.

I know there are tons of things I am leaving out of this review, but I feel I have gushed enough about how much I have come to love this field over my time spent there. If you have any further questions, give the owner, Doug Huss, a call and he can fill you in on anything I may have missed.

If you have any questions for me, feel free to email me at Sfapaintball@yahoo.com or just come see me at Academy in Lufkin.

Ben Beaty
Tech Officer
SFASU Paintball
Last edited on Monday, January 25th, 2010 at 12:02 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Devildog33 Saturday, March 14th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: December 10th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Not any other feilds close.... Awsome Speed Ball feild with great nets.. good stanging area... sweet Rec feild... cheap / good quality paint ( no golf ball paintballs) and staff is awsome
Directions
to the Field:
Texas
Review: Saftey - #1 priority
Prices - cheap
rules - no cheating
sevice - Excelent
Refs - Good
players - fun to play and be around
food - Mexican food resteraunt within walking distance !!!! awsome food!!!!

if you have played paintball for many years, or your first time this is a great feild to go and play on a weekend. Speed ball and Rec players welcome
Last edited on Saturday, March 14th, 2009 at 7:18 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

xquizit Tuesday, January 6th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: January 4th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Directions
to the Field:
Highway 96 San Augustine, Texas Right next to the El Giro Mexican Resturant.
Review: They have a nice size speed ball field and now an even larger woodsball field. The owners are doing a nice job and are continually adding. The prices are really great. You get good paint at a cheap price.

Every time I go there, I have a really great time. We have a bunch of guys that play and there's always somebody there who wants to play also. Each time I go there is always around 20 - 30 people to play.

I really enjoy going and the owners are great people to be around. They respect the game and players.

I really hope that more people find out about Splat City and it grows even larger.

Joush Morris
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Marshallpaintba Friday, December 12th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: December 7th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Directions
to the Field:
Highway 96 in San Augustine
Review: Up until about 6 months ago i have never even shot a paintball gun before... and i went out to this field and met these guys well friendships started right off the bat... they have a real nice facility and are working their way up to becoming a bigger and better field... The thing that i like the most about Splat City is the operators and their overall love for the sport and it's players... Their prices are very low, especially for what you get out of the field... They have about a 5-6 acre rec ball field and a professional speedball field... Also, on January 17 2009, they will be having an open 3 man team speed ball tournament.

So go by and check them out
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SFASU Paintball Monday, November 10th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 9th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
The nearest field that I have played at is in Shreveport which was rather over priced especially the paint.
Directions
to the Field:
In San Augustine, Tx, across from the propane company. Its the middle of town, can't miss it if you look.
Review: Out of all of the fields that I have played at, this has to be one of the best. They are just opening and put almost EVERYTHING they make off of this place to improve it, and you can tell. The prices are great, remind me of home when the dollar was worth something. Entry is $15/ day (CO2 Included) and the paint is $45/case, very low for the quality.

I enjoyed the woods field especially, this is where my area of discipline sits and this field, in my opinion, was very well laid out. I did not get to play on the airball field, as my Ion was left at home, but my teammates had nothing but good things to say about it.

Two particular notes. First is the paint, it is rather thick, I liked this as it made it almost impossible to wipe. Just bring a rag along to clean up at your staging area. Second is the service. These people do their best to make you feel like you are a part of the family, a part of the group.

The owners have a great love for the sport and for the players. Our team looks to make this field our home field for years to come.

Casey Thompson,
President, SFA Paintball Players Association
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media