paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Giant Paintball Lakeside Paintball Field / Giant Paintball Lakeside Paintball Field / Giant Paintball Lakeside Paintball Field / Giant Paintball Lakeside Paintball Field

Giant Paintball Lakeside Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
4Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (652)867-9600
Address: 1800 Wildcat Canyon Rd
Lakeside, California 92040
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
fightfightfight Monday, April 11th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 10th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
camp pendelton
hollywood sportspark
Review: First off it is definitely a scenic route on a two lane highway with twisty roads in the middle of nowhere. Watch out for cops with their radar guns. The entrance to the park is a dirt road with rocks, ditched and potholes so passenger cars that sit lower to the ground may have trouble. The park is small. There are only a few fields castle, woodsball, western and cement.

Castle: I am not a fan of the castle because they do defenders vs attackers and the teams are EVEN numbers. Defenders get a huge advantage in their position so defenders always win and its pretty stupid. Usually when you do something like that you give the attackers more players.

Woodsball: probably the best one where basically its just in a wooded area. Pretty even.

Western: A makeshift western town made up of shipping containers. I dont really like it because there is too much open space and the buildings are lined up in lanes so there is a lot of space in between that no one in there right mind would go through.

Cement: lots of weird cement cover its not terribly bad.

Refs: They were nice and good a officiating the games only thing was our ref SUCKED at making even teams. He pretty much had all the players with high end markers on one side and rentals and me and my buddy with crappy spyders on the other. Needless to say we got destroyed. C'mon it aint that hard to split the teams up.

facilities: Minimal. Two port-o-potties and some temp buildings at least this place had a little running water sink power by a garden hose, that's a lot better than Camp Pendelton with no running water at all. Also no food or any vendors there so bring your own.

Overall: it was OK. I wouldn't make the drive over there again though but I live in LA
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bsmonks Monday, September 20th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: September 18th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Velocity
Giant Alpine
Review: First off, if you like the scenic route, you will enjoy the drive from Lakeside up Wildcat Canyon. It's a nice drive into the hills and past the Barona Casino & Resort. About a half mile after passing the drag strip you'll turn off the road at the "Sports Center" sign. This puts you on a dirt driveway that takes you to the motocross track (to the left) and the paintball fields (to right).

The parking lot is only several yards from the entrance to the fields, so staging from your vehicle is definitely an option. If you're not blessed with an abundance of vehicular space, there are 8-10 shaded picnic tables available.

My favorite aspect about this field is that it is a BYOP field. Beware, though, if you are coming with a "coupon" read it carefully. Most of them require you to purchase a minimum of 400 rounds and all day air for you to get the free admission. Even if you brought your own paint, with the coupon you'll still have to buy a bag of their paint. The air isn't a problem; you're going to use it anyway. But make sure you are aware of the requirements on your coupon.

(SIDEBAR: Speaking of coupons, GIANT recently opened a store on Woodside Ave in Santee that sells the same GIANT/SC branded paint that they sell at the fields. This paint is usable at all their field-paint-only fields. There is also a case you can buy that gives you free admission to their parks without the requirement to buy a bag of paint. So... if you buy your paint from the store, you get free admission with no other purchase requirements.)

Check in was easy enough. I got there early enough that chrono-ing was an easy in/out procedure. And I never had to wait in a line for air.

There are 4 areas of play at Lakeside: a "western" town, a "bombed city," a castle and a wooded area. Unfortunately, the day I played there were bees at the castle and no explanation was given regarding why we didn't play the woods field.

The western town is set up using ConEx boxes/c-trains. Other than the doors at one end, they have cut doors and windows into the sides and lined a "street" with them. The cement city is a field littered with huge cement pipe sections and fabricated building corners. It is a real duck and cover field. And it's very easy to lose sight of the opposite side of the field and suddenly realize you've been flanked! There is plenty of "cover and concealment" in both of the fields, though the western town had more open area. During the busiest part of the day, we had enough players to utilize both fields at once (they are side-by-side).

The rounds we played were straight elimination – “kill” all the enemy players to win. But the final thirty minutes or so was a respawn game. Instead of sitting out the rest of the game if you were shot, you simply walked back to your team’s start point, touched it and resumed playing. Other than expending large amounts of paint, the object is to surround the enemy’s respawn point to prevent them from rejoining. If you don’t have a lot of paint left, you’ll be leaving this game early.

The refs are good about keeping a close eye on the games. I was called out a couple times when I didn't even know I'd been hit. (But sure enough, there were splats.) And they're always willing to run in and check you or the person you thought you hit if you're unsure. The staff was always courteous and I even received a couple marker upgrade suggestions during the breaks.

They do have a 30 min lunch break, but there is no guaranteed food sold on the property. What I mean by this is that if you're lucky, there's a food wagon at the motocross track. If not, you'll need to have brought your own, or drive a few miles down the road.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paint Ball Kill Monday, July 12th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: June 15th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I've been to HSP, SC village, California Paintball Park, And last but not least the Giant Paintball Parks. All of these Parks are great. All of them have different ways that make it fun.
Directions
to the Field:
Giant Lakeside Address:
1800 Wildcat Canyon Rd.
Lakeside, Ca 92040
Review: I've been to this Park a few times, Not very many times though. This Park is very nice. All the times I've been to this Park I've had a good time and my buddies and my family that have been their, Have nothing but good things to say. Everyone is very helpful and nice their always looking out for their guests. They always want to see their guests happy. For private bookings or more info you should go on to their website www.giantpaintball.com

Giant Lakeside Address:
1800 Wildcat Canyon Rd.
Lakeside, Ca 92040 "WALK-ONS" ARE WELCOME TO BRING THEIR OWN PAINTBALLS WITH ABSOLUTELY NO RED FILLS.

Walk Ons Admission and Equipment Rentals prices:
*Entry Fee $20.00
*Marker Rental $14.00
*Full Goggle Rental $6.00
*Compressed Air Tank Rental $11.00
*Jumpsuit Rental $7.00
*Belt Pouch Rental $6.00
*Hopper Rental $3.00
*Barrel Bag Rental $1.00
*Paintball Vest $10.00 (Kids under 15 and females can use vest for FREE!)

Paint Prices starts at:
*200 Rounds $7.50 + tax
*400 Rounds $14.50 + tax
*800 Rounds $27.95 + tax
*1600 Rounds $35.95 + tax
CO2 and Compressed Air Fills
*7oz - 10oz $3.00 per fill
*12oz - 14oz $4.00 per fill
*16oz - 20oz $6.00 per fill
*All Day CO2 $10.00 all day
*Compressed Air Fill one time $7.00 per fill
*Compressed Air Fill all day $10.00


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

only_pump Wednesday, September 23rd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 18th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
Giant Alpine and SC Village
Review: Hey to all my fellow paintballers!

This was my first time playing at Giant Lakeside and came with a private group. The staff was super cool they helped us out so much. Many of my players are nubies so the reefs gave us some tips on how to properly hold our marker and small tips while we were on the fields. The parks maintenance is up to date unlike other parks. This park is byop meaning they allow you to purchase paint outside of the park and bring it into the park. That will truly save you money. The props on the fields are supper awesome, they actually have a town set up to look like the old western times, a super huge castle in the middle of a field, and a stocked pro-shop.

Overall my experience there was great, we all had a blast and we cant wait to do it again..

I recommend you play here at least once

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media