paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Pinnacle Woods Paintball Field / Pinnacle Woods Paintball Field / Pinnacle Woods Paintball Field / Pinnacle Woods Paintball Field

Pinnacle Woods Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
51Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 10241 Old State Rd.
Chardon, Ohio 44024
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
venomsnake33 Saturday, October 2nd, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: September 5th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
TPA, Paintball Zone
Directions
to the Field:
the proshop and the field are at different locations
Review: I went to pinnacle woods for the day with my speedball team for a 3 man tournement and i liked it a lot. It was a really nice field, always clean, and they didnt rush you. They have a few fields, they are all nice. They have good service, good paint, rentals, and fair prices. The only thing i didnt like there is that they dont have tournements very often, i heard that they will have them more often next year and i hope they do because i will o to as many of them as i can.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

OtisNixon Sunday, May 9th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 7th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: This was my first paintball game, so experienced players will probably take this review with a grain of salt.

First the good. The staff was very professional from check in to check out. The refs were helpful and friendly, always quick to help someone whose rental gear malfunctioned (which happened quite a bit actually), and kept the games running smoothly. I have nothing to compare prices to, but they seemed affordable.

The bad, which is the key part of this review. Apparently the owner of the field has opened it up to logging, which has virtually ruined most of the playing area. The website advertises twelve fields and they actually only have six. One of the six, "The Pond," has tire tracks that are two feet deep and about 2-3 feet wide running across the width of the field. After a rainy night, all of the indentions in the field, where they had parked their logging trucks basically, become marsh land and make the field unplayable.

The other four courses we played were fine, but the actual product does not match what is advertised. I played with a group that had played the field last year (pre-logging) and they were complaining about the drop in the quality of the fields. One of the refs apologized for the playing situation and made it seem as if they were making do as best as they could. I guess the hardcore players will still come out, but casual players should be wary that the fields are not what they used to be and what they are advertised as.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Zerodefect Saturday, February 20th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: July 20th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splatterpark
Outlaw paintball including the Euclid Ravine
Assorted Florida fields, mostly airball
Directions
to the Field:
Google maps, mapuest, delorme can all find this address. Take your time when you get to the right road, sighn is hard to spot.
Review: Very unique woods field. Most other woods fields are boring, but this one has very complex fields that take a while to learn. The speedball field......is a speedball field! LOL.

These are the most interesting fields I've ever played on. I really missed playing here when I moved to Florida a few years ago to help with Hurricane relief in the south. I'm back in Ohio now.

Each field has a different strategy that makes it unique. Ask the refs before each game for tips if your a newbie. My favorite fields are the Rainforest, the Pond, and Mikes pride.
The Rainforests thick brush requires you to find a path you can use to move quickly. The Pond has a rim thats at a much higher elevation than the rest of the field. Mikes pride requires a speedball like strategy, but its in the woods. Most people like the fort the best, but I find that field kinda simple to master.

The speedball field is ony fun for me when players that know how to work as a team show up for an open game. (rare)

Most of the complaints I'm reading here are common place at other fields as well. Noones immune to critique. Their staff has allways been friendly to me. Pricing seems only a hair more than other fields, but the quality of game play usually makes up for it. I hate Splatterpark (nazi's) in the Columbus area, so maybe it depends on your personality a little maybe. I've never dealt with PW's store, I usually go online. I have gotton a few fittings and lines there with no problems and they let me test my markers on their chrono. Paintball is an odd hobby, don't expect normal.

As far as the Chrono cheaters complaint. Thats between you and your fellow players. I've never met anyone that didn't chrono between games when I POLITELY ask them to check their marker. If they ping over Hot, don't rub it in. Mistakes happen. Let them fix thier marker and move on. I routinely play outlaw, We set our guns as hot as we can on our own private field. 400 is about as hot as we can get before the paint fails mid air. It feels no different at that speed. No bigger welts or anything.

I even wish PW would bump the speed up to an even 300, but thats just me. There's nothing to fear at PW. Been well run and safe every time I've been there. My only valid complaint is i wish the open and senerio players were more aggressive.

The senerios are my favorite days at PW. Every field is open except speedball so you can run a really interesting strategy or you can hide and sweet spot a busy path. Don't expect complex role playing. These senerios are kept simple usually. This is because most people that show up refuse to play as a team. Usually its one blob of guys battleing another blob. With two other blob battles elsewhere at the same time. It's nearly impossible to get groups to move forward or to even form a skirmish line.

In the senerios I try to find 3 other like minded players to leave the pack and move back and forth between a few busy fields like a recon team. Trying to find holes in the other teams line and pick off the weaker MoMos so we can work our way into the flank while our dimly lit teammates keep our opponent busy.

I also like being able to rejoin my group from the medic station after being shot out, while the game plays on. Usually I get alot more field time on a senerio day than the open games.Usually its pretty dead by the shack and pond so you can jump off the field to refill and regas and jump back in without affecting the game play.

It can be pretty humid there most of the year. Bring some antifog lens treatment (available anywhere snowmobiles are sold), I find the V-force goggles work best at being fog free. Also the tippmans work better than the syder types, for starter guns. (It's the opposite in Florida) I prefer Automags because of reliability concerns. I don't care how slow they are as long as they keep on working.

Also if your new and bring a group of new friends to an Open or Night game. Don't insist on being on the same team as each other. That just puts you up against an overwhelmingly more experianced team that'll crush you and thats not fun for the other team, Fish in a barrel aren't as much fun to shoot at as you would think. Let the refs split the group up so each side can have the same overall skill level.

The refs do fine. Just keep in mind theyre teens often and likely aren't going to boss a 40 yr old around, LOL. They're primary goal is safety, I'm not particularly concerned if they made a bad call or missed a "hit". Fainess of the games lies in the players hands not the refs.

I usualy buy a case of paint so I get in free, and then I buy the all day air cause my gun is a gas hog. I use about 1200 rounds a day. So after a while my extra paint piles up and I can get a day or two in with just the entry fee cost, air cost, and use my leftover paint. On average i spend $55 every time I go to PW for open, 1st two days of the season cost me the most until my paint piles up and i learn to conserve a little. And often as much as $100 for the senerios. That's not bad for a day of entertainment.

I sold all my gear. Will be rocking all new equipment for the 2010 spring fling. See ya there. Can't miss me, not many players with custom Automags that respond to "ZeroD".
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Arc-0004 Monday, September 7th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 7th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: This being my first time to a field, opposed to friend's backyard I don't have anything to compare it to. But as for a review I didn't have any major complaints besides price of paint ( not so bad if you split a case or two between your group), and the fact that I was less than impressed with the smoke grenade I bought. On the positive side I had a great time there, had fun on all of the fields, and look forward to going back again
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

askiljan23 Sunday, May 10th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 8th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
People's yards
Review: Pinnacle Woods is the place to go in Northeast Ohio for paintball. The fields themelves are outstanding, with a fort (two actually), a hill, a lake, and a small city, as well as a variety of woods fields. They do a good job of helping beginners learn the game, and are also good about giving teams strategy time before the game actually starts. Their prices are a bit high, but you'll get that at any field; it's how they make their money. They also have relaible rental equipment, and their rental goggles are fog machines. Their is a snack bar, although the bathrooms are pretty sketchy (port-a-potties). The refs are really attentive to safety, and do a decent job of getting the call right. Make sure to wear boots, there are a lot of spots that form some pretty good puddles. Overall Pinnacle Woods, 9/10
Last edited on Sunday, May 10th, 2009 at 11:14 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

HarlyHunk Saturday, April 12th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 6th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
First time in Ohio.
Directions
to the Field:
Watch for the small sign near the entrance.
Review: This was the second open weekend of the season. I enjoyed playing this field, even with the wet ground conditions. The field itself is fairly flat, with many downed Elm trees and thick brush. This field would play very well, once it started to green up. I got to meet and talk to the owner and the ref team. They run a good game and I have no complaints on how they ref. Food and gear are available on site and I believe they are supported with two paintball stores. The entire staff made me feel welcome and were very helpful. The field fee and tank rental fee were very fair. The paint was a bit pricey, but I could understand the significance of slightly elevated prices, due to the short playing season in northeast Ohio. I would recommend adding a new bunkering rule, to preclude any close shooting, by having the players slap the bunker and yell "bunker, bunker." All players inside the bunker are now out and no close shots should be made. The current rule to offer surrender to the player(s) already inside the bunker creates a situation whereby either the attacking or defending player(s) may be shot from a close distance, if the player inside the bunker refuses to surrender. I gave this field a rating of 7 out of 10 for lack of more permanent bunkers, berms or structures and for some disrepair of the current bunkers, berms and structures. If I were visiting northeast Ohio again, I would play this field. Play with safety and honour. HH
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

invert kid Thursday, April 3rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: April 4th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Intense (good pricing) PBworld ohio Paintball Village
Directions
to the Field:
Ya you need to look hard for this sign it definantly can and probobly will be missed once or twice ok maby not the second time but definatly look its kinda small
Review: Well the accutual field is really great they have 13 playing fields to accomadate every sise of group big and small to freakin huge!!! they have a hyperbal field which i think is awesome but i like speedball personaly. there woods field are great the fort is a really well design field they have field for fast and slow paced games its a really good place if you want varaity. The paint pricing is a little high but on discount wednesday its kinda resonable if you split a case. but everyone hates the pricing but you forget your paying to maintain the field to and the refs need paid and if you think about it for how large of a place it is its not that bad... the refs accutualy do a really good job and really check people. the staging area is great they have many tables and always paper towles and spray bottles available and i mean always! saftey is enforced pretty well here. i mean you have the occasional moron who thinks "o im out ill take my mask off cuz im in the woods and theres no one around why would anyone shoot me im out?" some of the tables have canopees over them so thats nice if you like shaded areas but if you like direct sunlight they have non shaded tables to. thers always players here normally ariving around 12 but they get some really good games going they have good food there such as pop hotdogs and hamburgers breakfest sandwiches and energy drinks. the owner is a nice guy hes always helpful good guy to talk to. well thats all i have to say i will definatly be up there this summer!
Last edited on Thursday, April 3rd, 2008 at 4:22 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jonnyreb101 Friday, February 8th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 8th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
synergy
Review: I have never been to their field so I can't rate their field and tell you to go there or not but I have been to their pro shop. The person behind the counter at the strongsville store when I went there was border line rude and not very helpful at all. I ended up leaving there and spending money in another pro shop because I could not deal with that guy.

Secondly if these refs/owners of this game field and pro shop would read the rules for posting on this review it states "If you are associated with this field in any way, including, but not limited to, owner, shareholder, employee, ref, or a member of a field sponsored team, then you are not allowed to post a review on this field". Which they completely ignored and every single account of slander against there field they replied to and try to slander the person writing it to make them selves look better. In my option this shows the owner/refs have a complete lack of customer service and respect for other peoples thoughts which makes me want to never visit their field or pro shop again.

Being in customer service myself I find them lacking and would not recommend them to any one who asks me about their shop.
Last edited on Friday, February 8th, 2008 at 11:02 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

steeb Sunday, September 9th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 9th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
none yet, planning on going to a few this fall.
Directions
to the Field:
Mapquest
Review: This is the only commercial field my friend and I have played at yet (mostly we play on private fields), but it was way over what I thought it would be. To start out, the field fees are cheap (only about 15 to play all day on the weekends, and I played a good 11 or 12 games with a 2000 case). Gun rental says 10 for a model 98, 15 for an a-5, and 30 for an ION, but we rented IONs and it was only about 25 each. Also, IONs come with all-day air and a revy loader, so we saved a good $30 on air, eaching refilling a 2000 PSI 5 times ($1.50/1000 PSI, x 2 = $3, x 5 refills = $15, x 2 people = $30, so one ION basically payed for itself). The paint is kind of expensive at 75/85 dollars for a 2000 case, but if you split a case with a friend it's not so bad.

Since it was raining on the day we played, there was only me and my friend and a couple private parties, which was pretty boring, but obviously not the field's fault. The rain actually made playing more fun, instead of harder (easier to slide on the speedball field, harder to see your opponent, etc.). Even though it was all 1-on-1 games for us all day, it was still really fun. We played on the Hood field, the Hyperball field, one of the pond fields and a woods field near the clubhouse, and we walked the fort field and shot on the target range.

We had the same two refs for all of our games since there were only two people besides the parties, and they were cool. They didn't seem to think we were noobs or make fun of us (and if they did, they did a good job of hiding it! XD), and they talked to us a little bit (we were probably annoying them). They could tell we were bored so they let us have one of us shoot on the target range and one of us run around without a gun and get nailed, and they were cool about it (We were going to let the little kids in the party shoot at us, but they didn't want to).

The staff was pretty nice, and everything was well maintained. Overall, 8/10. :D
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

rrpntballer Saturday, July 14th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: August 3rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
pbvillage splatterpark splatterball goodtimes sharpshooter and various woodsball
Directions
to the Field:
MaPqUeSt It
Review: this was my 2nd time to pinnacle and it is still really fun. they have about 11 fields but you usually only play a few of them. the fort is cool ,very easy to snipe from. The fields hve really god setups such as the pond which is a field that is around a pond like a circle. also the alley field whch is very creative but a waste of paint. the paint the have isn't the cheapest but cheaper than most places. its $55 for a case on discount wednesdays. they have good food there especially the kool aid jammers(action jackson).the refs are nice but a couple are jerks.They have a very small proshop but i wouldn't call it a proshop they have basic stuff you would need to play though. their rentals include tippman 98, A5 and an ion.(the ion includes a n2 a revy and all day air.)overall pinnacle woods is an awesome field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media