paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / CQB Tactical Paintball Field / CQB Tactical Paintball Field / CQB Tactical Paintball Field / CQB Tactical Paintball Field

CQB Tactical Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
17Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 416.895.7408
Address: 163 sterling rd unit 3
toronto, Ontario M6R 2B2
Canada
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
jjps Tuesday, October 19th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: July 29th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Gladiators, Sgt. Splatters.
Directions
to the Field:
Go to either Lansdowne or Dundas West Station. Walk to Bloor West and head towards Sterling dr. (Right if at Lansdowne/left from dundas West.) Walk Down Sterlign and you will see the CQB sign. Walk through the parking long and there will be a white door that is usually open. There are also two shipping crates outside.
Review: This is by far the best field I have played on. It is outdoors which prefer because it provides more realism for me. The staff are awesome here. They even join in on a couple games. The other players are amazing to play with and respect each other. The games are always fun and there is a good variety. Owners and Renters get along and work as a team. This is a great field to play on and they even do some scenario games.
Last edited on Sunday, July 31st, 2011 at 8:14 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bombadee Thursday, June 17th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: May 14th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sgt.splatter: just as good, staff not as friendly, slightly more expensive.
Gladiators: bad field, good staff
Directions
to the Field:
next to the strip mall on Dufferin st, it's just after Eglington where the shoppers drugmart is.



Review: Safety: The staff are pretty severe when it comes to safety infractions, however, they don't think much of checking gun velocities, I had to remind them a few times for mine.

Rules: just as good as anywhere else, they have few cool game modes, as well as tactical games but thats it

Price: It may seem kind of expensive on their website, but, last time I went there, they had a half-price deal for students under 18, they also have days where rental is free and you just pay for paint. It can be preety expensive for gun owners, theres no BYOP

Fields:
Indoor: pretty cool, lots of effects like strobe lights, sound and smoke, kind of small, suitable for about 3-6 people in a tactical match.
outdoor: WAAAY bigger, every building has little details like doors, doornobs and other objects to barricade yourself with, suits about 6-12 players.

Proshop: they carry Rap4, Tiberius and other high priced MilSim

Rentals: they have by far THE best rentals in Toronto. They rent out Bravo Ones and A-5's with (E-grip/response trigger respectively) as basic markers, tiberius T9's for sidearms and Milsig K series mag fed. (the Milsigs are all beat-up and crappy from all the noobs that rent them and wreck them)

Staff: Good staff, cool and relax, not like the uptight ones in nearby fields, here they actually talk to you about things off the field, and give you tips on the field. Heck I even met the owner the first time I came, and guess what, he even let us check out his personal armory (don't count on it though) -thanks Will- . Just don't challenge them, cause they will get their markers and PWN you! They also let you make your own game rules.
Last edited on Thursday, June 17th, 2010 at 1:53 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

WSI Team Friday, July 10th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 9th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Directions
to the Field:
Check directions on their site
Review: If you've ever seen the TV show The Unit, this field is the reality version of it. At CQB they really know what they are doing, everything has been well thought and planned out to the T, tactics, gear, equipment and most of all their passion for the game.

Our team went out there with the expectation of having fun and we ended up having way more than that, WE HAD A BLAST!!! and a good three hour workout, it was simply awesome!
Last edited on Friday, July 10th, 2009 at 7:01 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

matj2ix Wednesday, July 8th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 8th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sgt Splatters, Gladiators.
Directions
to the Field:
via TTC: landsdown station, walk west until sterling and then continue walking down for approximately 10-15 minutes.
Review: It has been a while since I've played paintball and when I was told about CQB, i jumped at the idea. It is definitely a different experience than the other Toronto paintball fields and more realistic. Through the site, I can clearly see the different types of kit I can use and view the field easily.

To start off, if you enjoy realism of combat, this is the place to be. Not only is the field reflect today's armed combat of urban ops, but the kit used also does. CQB uses the milsig signature markers including the K-Series elite and the K-series commando both replicating a SMG and Rifle. You can also choose between magazine-fed or hopper-fed markers to induce more realism. They also offer the Tiberius 0.68 cal pistol if you wanna be that hardcore man. Of course, when you look at what a great opportunity you can get to simulate urban warfare, the price must be expensive but, its not.

CQB is priced at the same prices of any other paintball field despite its realism. It also offers different discounts in its price and different packages for the trigger happy player. They're hours of ops are 12-12 which is great for anyone since no one wants to wake up early or go to sleep early. And the staff is definitely there to assist to any problems or needs that you have. They are a new field and are willing to give the new guys a hand in this type of game.

People need to start going to this place! Fully urban warfare feel to this place which gives any player a great experience compared to the other paintball fields. Just Great.

P.S: Thanks Will and Chris.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dustinp Monday, June 29th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 27th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Directions
to the Field:
163 sterling road, Toronto... north of dundas, west of lansdowne
Review: I was putting on a Bachelor party for my brother.. and our day was pretty packed already, so i had called CQB to see if they could accommodate us to come in 3 hours earlier than their regular daily hours... it was not a problem at all!

I had never tried paintball before.. so i didn't know what to expect... but i am now definitely hooked!! it was amazing!!! prices were great, we paid roughly $60-$80 each for 2 hours of play! we didn't have to bring anythign with us... we came dry, and then left dry!

we had 8 guys all together, so we played 4 on 4... and changed up the games every round, with different objectives.. the staff really helped us out on some different objectives to try, which helped things move along!

the first hour was unlimited paint, and the second half wasn't... but we still have paintballs left over, so that was not an issue at all! a couple of us also rented the handguns... which i have to say was my favourite!! especially in tight quarters like that!

safety, fields, hours, prices, rules, services, staff, refs, facilites... all awesome!
as for food/drinks.. i say bring a couple snacks and lots of water!!!

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

flukes_x Saturday, April 4th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 3rd, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sgt Splatters, Paintball City, Ultimate Painball
Directions
to the Field:
163 Sterling Rd
Review: This field is very clean, unlike most slippery floored fields in the area, you can actually see the floor, and run without slipping and sliding unintentionally. The field is designed with very close quarters in mind, so not too much running without having to peer around corners first. This was a completely different paintball experience, no ropes of paint flying through the air, but actual simulated battle. This is also the only field I have ben to which will rent out Milsig an Tiberius magazine fed paintball markers. We were playing a pistols only game with two extra mags, which forced you to pick your shots and bring the firefights a lot closer than other fields. This is one field every paintballer should try at least once, simply to experience a more realistic type of milsim. Oh I forgot to mention you are limited to 130 paintballs per game, this helps to minimize people from shooting unrealistic ropes of paint at you. All I have to say is PLAY AT THIS FIELD!!! If you haven't played with pistols before, you should definately try it!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Clarke623 Monday, March 30th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 29th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Area 51
Paintball City
Cameron's Indoor Paintball
Directions
to the Field:
Been done already
Review: Pros:
Amazing service
Great prices
FIELD! It's the best I've ever seen
Tiberius 8 pistols for rent

Cons:
No CO2 fill station yet
Drinks/Food were not available so make sure you bring your own

Review:
I've played in a few indoor fields but was blown away when I walked into this place. Doors and windows (wooden) that OPEN AND CLOSE. Any scenario player can tell you this is a god send. The field was kept fairly clean, the walls were a little mucky but the floor (concrete) was immaculate, no slipping. Lots of buildings and little areas to crawl/climb/jump over. Refs were really into any ways to get into a building we could think of.

There was no CO2 fill station yet, so you're stuck playing with what you bring unless you have an HPA tank. They rented me a small HPA bottle with unlimited fills for $5 though, which I thought was a great deal. As well, there's no food/drink machines so bring some gatorade or something because you WILL sweat like a beast.

The staff is this places 2nd best resource (the first being the field). They were really friendly and helpful. Asking our input on how they ran games, the field setup, different ideas they were thinking of doing in the future. I also have to mention the weekend deals. Saturday and Sunday, 12 - 4pm is BYOP. You can play for 25 dollars (including air fills) + whatever your paint cost you and your friends. You can't get a better deal than that in the GTA.

Conclusion: GO PLAY THERE, you won't be disappointed!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mattix Wednesday, March 25th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 19th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sgt. Splatters and Paintball City
Directions
to the Field:
Check out google maps, 163 Sterling Rd. Toronto ON.
Essentially northwest of Dandas St W and Landsdowne.
Review: This place is a rush like NO other.

I went to Close Quarter Battle for the first time a couple of weeks ago with a group of 10 guys from work who ranged from 1 to 10 in experience level. The guys at CQB know the capabilities of their facility so well that they can make your experience as fast or as slow paced as you would want to. The variety of games and the duration of each game will change the difficulty and your strategy accordingly, due to the added realism of limited ammo. Don't get me wrong, you pay a flat rate and its all-you-can-eat paint and compression at CQB, what i mean is you're limited to a certain amount of ammo each game. For this reason, this place can challenge anyone; from the trigger happy, to the sniper, to the aggressive, to the conservative, to the tactical strategist .

Unique features I found to be most mentionable where intentionally flickering lights,dark hallways that weren't slippery, smoke, doors and windows that open and close, sturdy ladders, plenty of tactical cover, cameras that watch the field from the pro shop, all the gear you get (k series milsig mag fed marker, light weight swat helmet and mask, tactical vest, additional mags) as the base package which is incredible value plus the list of additional gear that's available (red dot op sights, flashlight, gloves, padding, pistol, holster and mags, soon to come riot shields, i know I'm forgetting things so check out their website or call the crew for the full list). the drive home point here is an awesome and unique tactical facility at a great price.

This place is a hidden gem in the industry as it is in its infancy only being open for a few months. A few people mentioned that i should not have written this review because they wanted to keep the place under wraps for themselves because the locations they are used to are now tainted in comparison. I don't blame them, this place is simply unmatched. But it wouldn't be fair to fellow paintballers and the guys at CQB. They have worked hard to produce an outstanding facility that is clean (not just for a paintball field), competitively priced, and safe that will teach the new, challenge the skilled and amaze everyone.

Check it out for yourself soon because no words will truly express the adrenaline rush at CQB.

Enjoy and make 'em count, Matt.

Will and the Crew, thanks again from me and the guys. seeya next week

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

platypus Monday, March 23rd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 22nd, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
None. I highly doubt any would come close to this one...
Review: Let me start by saying my group and I drove a total of 9 hours just to play at this field...

It was absolutely worth it! The field far surpassed my already high expectations!

For only $90/player:
-MILSIG Elite
-Tactical Vest
-Mask
-Unlimited Air!
-Unlimited Paint!
-4 hours of play

The MILSIG is an incredible marker and the staff keep them in top notch condition. We were hoping to get the mag-fed version but unfortunately the abuse to the mag system from regular renters made them unavailable to most of my group. (They still provided us with two functional mag-fed markers.) The tactical vest is comfortable and breathable and does a great job of carrying all you need on the field. I believe you can request to use the EYE Tactical Mask with helmet but apparently those fog-up too often. We were given some JT masks with thermal lenses and they worked flawlessly. You can also rent a pistol for an extra $20 however they happened to be out of 12gr CO2 cartridges when we went so I can't say much about the pistols. Additional equipment for rental includes flashlights, red dot sights, and knee pads.

If you're familiar with the cost of playing paintball, you'll know that $90 for rental and unlimited air and paint is a real steal! The field uses V1's and provide HPA (and CO2?). Something you must know before playing is that you can only bring a maximum of 135 rounds onto the field. This makes for a far more tactical game where you're conserving your ammo and placing shots that count.

I walked with my jaw to the ground as we were given a tour of the field. This place is every scenario/milsim player's dream! CQB Tactical Paintball has constructed an intricate multi-level playground with catwalks, ladders, stairs, sniper posts... Most windows feature sliding panes so you can stick just your barrel out to engage targets stealthily. You can kick open doors! One of my favourite features was the ability to create your own cover. You can find miscellaneous items around the field (ie. tires, plywood, car doors, chairs, tables...) and use them as a shield or as fortification for the position you're holding. Another awesome feature is the lighting which can be dimmed to complete darkness. The staff were constantly asking us what lighting setting we preferred for the next game. They have fog machines and strobe lights to add to the confusion. There are CCTV cameras around the field and the live footage of the on-going game is projected on a wall in the briefing room.

I'll conclude with something that struck me the most: the OUTSTANDING STAFF. They were all down-to-earth, friendly, helpful, and fun (painful) to play with! The owners and refs were extremely accommodating to my group's requests. They kept every game fun and safe. Between games they made sure everyone was refilled on ammo and air and they even provided us with snacks!

Awesome rental gear + incredible prices + kick butt facility + staff that make sure you have fun = a unique paintball field and paintball experience that will draw you back for more and more!

I plan on going often in the near future.

PS. Thanks again Will. (Patrick)
Last edited on Wednesday, March 25th, 2009 at 7:58 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

k-series elite Sunday, March 22nd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 21st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: this field is amazing, i went there as soon as they got the bravo alpha black and sure i got shot but i had a blast. If your reading this review right now, you need to go to this field. they have tac eights and milsig k-series elites and vests, red dot sights, laders and it's just a blast.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media