paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Urban War Zone Paintball Field / Urban War Zone Paintball Field / Urban War Zone Paintball Field / Urban War Zone Paintball Field

Urban War Zone Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
5Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 814-946-3000
Address: Off Route 764, Eldorado section
Altoona, Pennsylvania 16602
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
ZechChrome Friday, November 4th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: June 14th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
This is the closest field to me, the other went out of buisness.
Review: Finding the Field:

Its not never hard to find. Directions are easy to follow.


First impression:

My first impression was a bit mixed. The benching area is a little cramped, only a few tables and chairs. The store they have is alright, it has everything you need.


Staff:

I did not get a good response from them. If you are playing in a group, they obviously address the entire group so everyone knows the rules and how to play, and he is very clear as to what you are supposed to do. The man who works the store is not very nice though. I just got a bad vibe from him. They sometimes hire regular players to ref or anything like that, its kinda cool.

Fun:

The underground field is ok. I have definitly played on better, and it is very dark so its hard to see what your doing sometimes. Everything is absoutly COVERED in paint, so even if you barely rub up against a door or something, you get a huge glob of paint on you. The field isnt really divided into "sections", it just flows from one to another. They have spools, palettes, etc. They have different game types, but arent very clear on what they are for the new players. Some of the game types are just dumb, one (I cant remember what it was called) is where you lay down on the floor (...?) and you get up and play. That was the game "type". Confusing.

Overall:

The field is a unique type, not many underground fields. It is dark, they have lights, but they're not very good. The rentals they have are....well, rentals. They suck. Just like every other field's rentals. Prices are fair. The staff really didnt strike the right chords with me, but it may have just been me. They dont have a consesscion stand or anything, just a vending mahcine. It is an alright field. I would suggest taking an extra 30-45 minutes and going up to Penn State to play though. Much better experince and better fields.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

protopaintball6 Tuesday, December 1st, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: November 23rd, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
the 68 caliber feilds smart parts all american
Review: The fist time i had ever played there i was terrified because ive seen what high velocitys do at close range but since the limit is 260 it wasnt so bad they are very nice and cater to the player with .68 calibers tech on site everything helps the paint is alittle pricy but worth it ive pretty much befriended the staff and do voluteer work there alll the time overall it is a good feild
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ecanner Sunday, June 21st, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 20th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Impact Zone - Both fields are a lot of fun, with great staffs.
Review: I somehow managed to spend about 9 hours at this field without realizing it. I arrived at 2:00pm and there weren't many people. We played some 2 vs 3, 1 on 1. Between 5 and 6 more people showed up and we ended up with some 8+ vs 8+ teams. There were all levels of players, and they have teams forming up for a tournaments.

The field is indoor the basement of a warehouse and its fast moving, door to door combat. The refs are always coming up with new games to play, and I was told that the field changes regularly. Because the field is in the basement, the actual field temperature is about in the 60s pretty much all year around.

The paint prices as address before are high compared to other fields I've played at, but in the 9 hours I played there I fired about 750 shots. You do not go through near as much paint as you would in woodsball or in speedball.

They have an onsite tech who is willing to fix just about any problem you may have with your marker. This includes taking them with him for repair, should it be required.

They are open until 11pm on weekends and because it is indoors it is open no matter what the weather.

I am certainly looking forward to going back to the Urban Warzone. It is a unique environment to play in. The shadows with the multicolored lighting makes it fairly easy to hide in nearly any color clothing. The people were friendly, and the play was intense.

There was one safety concern that when mentioned to the refs improved quickly. Some players have the habit of coming into the safety area without their barrel bags on or plugs in. Next time I play I will see if that has improved. Because of this concern the rating is an 8 instead of a 10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ElHefe2000 Saturday, May 2nd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 2nd, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at the 68 Caliber field in Bedford. But comparing indoor to outdoor is like comparing apples to oranges. While both are good they are different.
Directions
to the Field:
It is the old A Duie Pyle building beside Wild Man Codys Auto.
Review: I have never played indoors before so this was quite an experiance for me. And with nothing really around here I was excited to play. When I was there we had like 24 people playing so it was very "target rich". The refs and staff were very cool people and very helpful to anyone that needed it. Paint was kinda pricey but hey, what do you want from a field that is more or less starting up. They were offering both co2 and HPA fills. The rentals (I forgot what they were) were nice markers. The paint was good and didn't break in my rental gun. They did a good job making sure that everyone shot 250fps. The field itself was pretty cool but a little underlighted. Lots of pallates, barrels and tires made for great cover. All in all I had a blast and will be going back next week.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Murdernickle Thursday, February 26th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: February 21st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I've played at skirmish, All American, Three Brothers, and the 68 caliber fields and this is by far my favorite one.
Directions
to the Field:
It's a big warehouse building that used to be a trucking company...park in the lot and go into the door in the corner by the sign.
Review: Okay, so I saw a new field that is only about 30 minutes away from me and I nearly peed myself with excitement. I have traveled a lot and played on teams just so I could get some decent action without having to pay too much. Now that this place is close to me though, I feel like I'll never have to travel again.

They only have one course at this time, but apparently they will be taking over the entire 4 floors of the building to expand and will also be moving into the metal warehouse attached to the building. The first thing you'll notice is that since it's indoors, this place can be open all year long. That's a great thing considering all other fields shut down in the winter here...In PA it's about 3 months of summer then all winter so an indoor field is a godsend. The owners are a father and son team named Roger and Roger...easy enough, and they are really awesome guys. They will help you out with anything and really keep an eye on the games to make sure everyone is having fun. They will throw you some extra paint if you run out, and their buddy Jim that runs Eden's Edge paintball will help you out if your gun isn't working. Jim is certified by Smart Parts and can pretty much fix anything. I highly recommend his shop as well.

The course is set up in the basement of the building. It is always nice and cool down there so you don't have to worry about being toasted while playing. It is a mix of urban assault type bunkers. There are about 5 rooms down there and it is always some really fun close quarters combat. They have barrels, tires, palettes and other junk you would expect in an urban setup. They have a safe zone for you to prep before playing and there is enough table space to do some work in between games. The basement is nice and dark so it adds to the intense environment. There are blue, red, and black lights in there allowing you to see just fine while still maintaining the creepiness of the place.

The only down side that I have found is that they can't fill HPA there. That's alright though considering Eden's Edge isn't too far away and those guys are CHEAP to fill air there. If you only have one HPA tank make sure to take some CO2 for backup. I have 3 hpa tanks though so it really wasn't a problem for me.

They charge 15 bucks for the field fee which lets you play all day. Paint is 85 bucks for a case or 6 bucks per 100 count. Before people start complaining about price, remember that they are playing with Nightmare paint. It flies true, isn't dimpled, and won't break in your barrel which really makes it better off for me. If you want to buy a case, you can bring it back and reuse it. That's what I'm going to do on my next trip in this weekend seeing as it will be a lot cheaper in the long run. Nightmare paint is usually about 50-60 bucks for a case so I can't fault them for charging 85 especially when they are a new business trying to get set up. They have plans of expanding out so I feel like paying a little more is an investment in keeping an awesome paintball field in an area where there are no fields.

I love this place though...it has become my new favorite and the fact that they will be changing the field monthly to keep play fresh is a big plus when I'm used to fields that have been the same for years. I am looking forward to where these guys will go, and be there on a saturday...you'll probably see me.
Last edited on Thursday, March 5th, 2009 at 8:50 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media