paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Breakaway Paintball Field / Breakaway Paintball Field / Breakaway Paintball Field / Breakaway Paintball Field

Breakaway Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
3Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 262-912-0080
Address: 4700 County Hwy K
Racine, Wisconsin 53126
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
flyeaa Friday, October 16th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 14th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Dave's outdoor field is in East Troy, so for our large group from Milwaukee, Breakaway was closer for us and easier to find. Breakaway had more outdoor field options and as a group, we liked Breakaway's playing fields better. They were laid out better and we especially liked the open field. Plus, Breakaway had camo coveralls for rent for $5 so if people didn't have a camo jacket or pants, this completely covered you. They were more relaxed (except for safety) and we liked that the refs were walking around and helping us check out if the ball broke on us or not. The last difference was the price-Breakaway was $30 cheaper for what we would have gotten at Paintball Dave's (for our large private group.)
Review: We were a private group of 16 friends/co-workers from Froedtert Hospital in Milwaukee. They take safety very seriously which is great. The head gear totally covers you. I got hit in the face almost every game and had no issues. The fields, like I mentioned earlier, were great. 7 different fields with lots of options-lots of wooded coverage, open fields, whatever you'd be in the mood for. Breakaway Paintball was VERY flexible with us. We had a few people do their $35 option and most do the $50 option which just gave you either 100 or 500 paintballs respectively. The refs were great about giving our group hints on where the paths were and where to go off the path to get to the other camp's flag. Our private group of 16 brought food so there were plenty of picnic tables to sit at and eat. The majority of us have paintballed before 2 years back at Paintball Dave's, but all of us said we'd rather come back to Breakaway and hope to plan another big outing there next spring. It was great for the beginners as well though. Everyone had a great time. Definetly recommend this place for a large private group.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BadgerPB Monday, September 28th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 27th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Blitz (way back when), the rest mainly closer to Madison and a number of Fields over in Michigan
Directions
to the Field:
Just off of 94 on HWY K.
Review: Over all a great place whether it's your 1st or your 1000th time playing.

Fields- This is mainly a woodsball/scenerio set of fields. If you are looking to show up in your jersey with your thousand dollar gun and throw around a few hundred dollars worth of paint this is not your scene. The fields are are a little overgrown but I understand the staff is committed to remedying this. However I will say that while they may be over grown it really ads a bit of realizim in the sense of the "fog of war". Due to the over growth you have to play smart rather than just throw paint, you never know if the sounds in front or behind you are friend or foe.

Facility- Primative yet excellent. This is quintessential Midwestern Paintball at its finest. Staff built shelter, good shade, gravel parking, picknick tables for setting up and lounging. Self serve HPA yet they still provide CO2 facilities (a nice nod to the novice players with their first set ups)

Staff- Friendly, professional, and most important (SAFTEY ORIENTED!!) They actually require players to go through a short saftey orientation before you are allowed to play. This is for EVERYONE no one is allowed to be too experienced or too cool for school. The refs are sticklers for masks and barrel socks. Whoever drilled these people on premisis and vicarious liability should be commended. Not once when off the field did I have to think about random discharge.

NOTES: They do not allow the use of RAMPING, BURST, FULL AUTO. Just be aware of that. While I know for many that might be a detractor, in reality it evens the playing field. This great for new players who don't have to worry about being outclassed because they don't have a 17-25 bps monster to simply camp and rain.

Quick rap up: Great for woodsball players, old school paintballers, novices, and vets alike. If you label yourself as a tourney player or base a good portion of your game on fire superiorty this might not fit you as well. However it is great place to hone your sensory skills and also reconnect with what I feel is the roots of our sport.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bigt4203 Sunday, July 5th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: July 5th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Directions
to the Field:
www.breakawaypaintball.com
Its right off of highway K on I-94.
Review: So this field use to be known as Paintball Sam's but the field was sold to someone else who then worked on the field and then reopened it. My friend works there and I know they have been doing a lot of work on the field because he has been there since last year fixing up the field. Well I get there and am amazed at how much better it looks. I had been playing at that field since I was 14 and I have never seen it look so good. Anyways, I'll go into my more detailed review.

Safety-Very good, they are serious about safety and make sure everyone is wearing their masks and keep them on until they are off the field. Take it off and you are booted off the field. Same goes for barrel socks and dry firing in the parking lot/ staging area. Barrel socks are required while not on the playing field and there is no dry firing in the parking lot.

Fields-A lot better than what they use to be and a lot of fun. Some fields are a bit overgrown but they are still working on cutting down foilage and making new paths. Most fields are woodsball, such as double ridge, and the forts. Campground and short barrel field is a cross betweens woodsball and speedball. All the fields are great and allow for many different possiblities, just watch out for the holes and trenches.

Hours of operation- 9am-5pm, longer then the hours use to be and they run games constantly, starting a new one 5-10 minutes after the last one ends.

Prices- Field paint only so the price is high ($80 for 2000 rounds) but they are using Marbs so at least its not some cheap brand. Admission is $15 if you have your own gear and includes all day air. I can't remember what the price for rentals are but its not that bad since they give you decent guns.

Rules-Fair and simple. Field velocity limit is 290 fps and they will check you. They will allow ghillie suits but expect to be pulled aside and have some extra common sense rules laid down because of a past incident involving bug spray and cigarettes cause the old paintball sams to no longer allow ghillie suits. If you break the rules, you will get a warning, do it again, you are done for the day. Some rules you break once, you are done for the day, such as the rules concerning safety since they put safety above all else.

Services-They have CO2 fills, as well as HPA fills for both 3000psi and 4500psi, both are self serve though CO2 has to be done by the staff. They can do basic repair but most of the time, if something breaks, you are on your own.

Staff-Funny and very friendly. They will help you and make sure you are having a great time. The refs are very fair and obviously enjoy their job. Expect to hear some stories from Harry, he's been working at that field since they opened way back when.

Players-As far as I have seen, most of the players are woodsball players, many are new to the sport. Some have been coming since the early 90s, others are coming for their first time. Its a nice mix of people who show up and you always end up talking to them after the game and having some good conversations with them, no matter which side they are on. Breakaway Paintball does do reservations for private groups and depending on the number of people who show up, may mix the walk-ons or other private groups in so they have more people per game and only have to ref one field. However, this is entirely based on the request and approval of the private groups though I haven't seen one turn down the offer to play with the walk-ons.

Facilities-Its a gravel road to get into the field. The new owner filled in the pot holes so your shocks will not get ruined as you come in. They also added tables in the parking lot so you can put your gear on instead of living out of your trunk. The bathrooms are portajohns which are kept pretty clean. There is also a pavilion with some more tables right across from the registation building. The registation building isn't fancy but it's functional and looks a lot better then it did before. Also in the registation building, they have mask cleaner and anti fog solution. Their target range is simple but mildly entertaining with some props downrange. Its is also where you chrono your gun.

Food-They sell soda, water, and gatorade but that's about it.

Overall, I think this is a great field to play at, especially with the new owner coming in and cleaning up the place as much as he did, considering the mess that was left from the previous owners. Props to him, his staff, and his refs for doing such a great job.

Rating 10/10
Last edited on Sunday, July 5th, 2009 at 7:08 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media