paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Fox River Games Paintball Field / Fox River Games Paintball Field / Fox River Games Paintball Field / Fox River Games Paintball Field

Fox River Games Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
92Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 10389 Fox River Dr
Millington, Illinois 60537
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Aslan2005 Tuesday, December 14th, 2010
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 19th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Directions
to the Field:
Take I-55 to I-80
Take I-80 West till Ridge Road
52 to 47 to 17
Look for Fox River Dr./Vine St.
Review: Went there just once. Pyroman runs the joint and is awesome! The refs were top notch! They try to make sure that everyone has fun by limiting ROF and making sure the little kids don't get bunkered.

The field itself was very cool. Nice village.

The only downside was the field is FPO and the paint wasn't really that good.

I give it a 7 out of 10. Good field and good staff.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

Another PB Newb Saturday, October 31st, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: October 25th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
OP
CPX
Directions
to the Field:
47 to 71 west.
left @ walker
left @ the end of walker
FP entrance RIGHT after railroad
Review: Staff is very helpful, and test you on the rules... even if you say you know them.. they only check FPS every once in a while, i like how they have the rules on youtube so people can watch before they go. shop onsite, they got everything you need if you want to buy your own stuff before you start your day, every time i go to fox i always meet great friendly people! i love tailgating in the lot! but there if it has rained recently the lot will have lots of mud, along with the trails in the back of the complex. so make sure you got some boots

BYOP but $30 admission (get a case at Action village in wood dale for about $36)
if you buy paint there its about $50 (dxs blaze)

i have encountered SEVERAL wipers @ fox last time i was there.. one of the refs gave me a green light to light up anyone i see wiping, so most of them stopped wiping in the afternoon.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

CravenMayhem Friday, July 31st, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: July 18th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Operation Paintball - Cost more, not as good
Review: I played pb a few years back with a group at CPX back when it was challenge park. Recently I bought my own equipment and decided I would like to play a little more than once every couple of years.
Of the 3 times I've been out this year 2 of them have been to Fox. The reason for the return was that it was cheaper, closer to more of the players and seemed better run than our other day at Operation Paintball. BYOP is a big plus.

$30 entry is a touch expensive but it's not too bad. I've never bought paint here and I have never personally used one of their rentals. Friends who did usually went with the upgraded A5 rental which seemed to play well for them. The same friends noted poor performance from the C98 rentals at OP.

Fields are decent. The first time we went out I though that they were way to small. I had only played larger fields at CPX beforehand. I got used to the size though and found that they did have some much larger maps, we were just a small group. I assume they were trying to size appropriately.

The first time out we had a lot of down time between games. Things seemed poorly run. We almost didn't return because of that. The second trip again was much better. I had enough time to hit the head and air up before heading back. A stark contrast to the previous where I could have sat for lunch.

Refs seemed alright to me. I felt bad for them at times as there were plenty of players yelling at the refs to do paint checks on players they hadn't even come close to hitting. I had a couple of illegitimate ones called on me to the point where I felt the opposing team was just using them to get me to stop firing or put something in the open.

At times the games were noticeably one sided. It was obvious that one group were regular players and the others were rentals. I was with the rentals for a few games and we were consistently murdered. Not that I didn't appreciate the challenge of insurmountable odds, but I felt that the refs should have done a better job dividing those teams if only based on the players look and equipment.

The shop was my favorite part. I was in the middle of a game when my marker simply stopped shooting. I was getting air but no ball. The guy at the shop explained to my ratcheting feeder was broken. After a little bit of talking he traded me one from the rentals for mine, free of charge. Completely unnecessary and very much appreciated. That kept me in the game for the rest of the day and made me a person who will certainly be back to play.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jizz81 Tuesday, June 2nd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: April 26th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
CPX-
great fields (has a lot of my favorites), very expensive, have to buy their paint, which goes for $90 a case, can't bring your own food, have to use lockers that are very small and lot of them don't even work
Review: Fox River is the place to go. Bring your own paint or purchase a case for $49(low), $59(mid), or $69(high). Good fields and very friendly staff. The staff will go out of their way to make sure you are happy. They have the best parking area. You pull up and park in the middle of the front and back fields. It is great because you can go to your car after every game and leave all your stuff locked in the car. You are able to bring in your own food and grill.


A negative is the field is surrounded by the fox river, so when it rains a lot it floods and can be very muddy.

Overall Fox is my field to play because of the prices you get more than what you pay for.
If CPX had the same prices i would find myself going there more, but since that will probably never happen Fox River will be the place for me
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

HeVeMetL Monday, March 30th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: March 22nd, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
CPX- Best fields by far, but the most expensive, have to buy their field paint(Lame) and no outside food(Lame)
Directions
to the Field:
Website has easy to follow directions
Review: Overall I'd have to say 5.0 out of 10

Fox will not impress you, but it is very affordable. My friend got discount passes from Sam's club for $20 which includes 10 free admissions if you buy 1,000 paintballs. How awesome is that, paintball all day and only spend $25 can't beat that.

The fields: The fields are mostly not kept up, some of the cover is downright silly like old pallets or picket fences that have gaping holes past times you are playing in above knee high grass.
- My favorite has to be the "hill" which is a giant hill with teams starting at the top and bottom. Complete d-day mayhem, played once with over 200 people quite insane.
-Other woodsball courses?-Meh lack of cover, muddy as all hell because its right on the banks of the fox river, overall muddy terrain.

The ref's: Or lack there of. Last time I went it was by far the worst. For half the day there was only one ref to handle about 200 players at a time. No way could he see everything and people get really frustrated when players aren't being checked. I have been playing for 5+ years and always follow the rules and the ref had the nerve to yell at me for apparently shooting a player less than 10 ft away. NO WAY was I even 30' away, wish I had a tape measure to bust out and show him, maybe he was used to meters I have no idea. Then he had the nerve to tell me to ask me to watch a "safety" video so I knew what 10 feet was. Halfway through the day fox added what looked like 14 yr olds to help ref the rest of the open games. This was ok accept they did not move nor did I see them call anyone out. So don't accept any "officiating of the year" awards at fox.

Other than the above listed complaints the place is actually really reasonable and the fact that you go to your car when the round is over is awesome, just lock all your gear in your car when your playing and you have nothing to worry about. Also you can bring a cooler and a grill and your set for the day.

Last edited on Tuesday, March 31st, 2009 at 6:27 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

GML56PB Sunday, February 22nd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: July 8th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
CPX, Paint Pursuit
Review: This place is great! It has like 14 fields. Its great for parties, outings or just some friends there to shoot around and have fun. Some bad things about it are that it's a little pricey but it's worth it. Another downer is it's in the middle of nowhere so its kinda hard to find at first but otherwise great field for begginers to pros.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballer926 Sunday, August 3rd, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: July 18th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Badlandz
chasers-small but close
cpx
Review: Fox paintball has 14 fields and i have no complaints about any of them but that we couldnt do x-ball both times i went. we could do sup'air though. the refs were okay one was checking everyone and acctually makin calls amd doing a great job but one didnt even seem to care and stood in one place the whole time and didnt call one person out even on obvious hits. the prices are alright but 30 bucks for one day could probably be lowered. one thing that sux is that on open play if there arent 10 people there by noon the whole place closes and u get no money back unless you havent played one game luckly that didnt happen to me. its in the middle of nowhere so it takes a long time to get there. overall i would definetly go here unless u can easily go to badlandz and if you like woodsball this is great but no the best for speedball cause it isnt always inflated
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

mtxpump Saturday, March 22nd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: March 22nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
cpx, operation paintball, sudden impact, badlands, realms, sherwood, blast camp, cowtown, just about every indoor place in the area, and a lot more who's names I cannot remember at this moment and are good places to play at
Review: I really enjoy the sport and it is important that there is new blood going into the sport, that is why I like fox. It is a good place for family's as it is for the seasoned player. The level of play can be challenging. The ref's and management are easy to talk to, I have never had trouble if you make the effort, one of the things that make it a good place to play at. I have had it with field paint, there you are at the mercy of what the field provides, at fox it is up to you if you wish to get your own paint or you can buy it from them, the choice is yours. I played today, they had a mini scenario and I think we lost, but it was a blast, a lot of good play. Fox is a great place to play at and do not take my word for it, I like everybody else is biased, check it out for your self. I have fun at fox, paintball is a sport where one game you are on opposite teams in one game and in the next game or week, you are on the same team. In the right environment everybody is having a good time, that is fox. After all they have bring your own paint, a varity of fields including speed ball and a reasonably good level of play.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Katsumoto Saturday, March 15th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: March 8th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
CPX- Nice but expensive expensive
Badlandz- Cheap but not as nice
ROR- Nice Field but pricey
CLP- Indoor
Directions
to the Field:
See the fields Website www.foxpaintball.com
Review: I've been playing this field for a couple of years now. I play mostly in the woods but I do also play on the airball fields. The staff at the field is very friendly and open games are pretty frequent. The field itself is pretty good size with alot of cool terrain like a steep hill, thick brush, a village and lots of diffferent bunkers to play off. They are also the only field I know of that actually trys to run different games beside just elimination. Once in a while they hold free mini-scenarios which get pretty crazy and are a ton of fun.

On top of the wooded areas, they also have a bunch of speedball fields which includes 2 X=ball fields, one Sup Air field and a couple of fixed bunker speedball fields. The refs pretty much do a good job of keeping control of the game and keeping things safe. Its pretty rare to get a bad ref at this field. Fox is a BYOP field and entry is $30. I can use whatever paint that suits my needs. They do offer paint at a fair price if you don't want to lug paint to the field and you can get different grades of paint from white box to Draxxis Blaze. I think paint starts at $40/case (check their website to be sure). The facilities are decent with a bunch of portojohns and they have a decent proshop with some basic paintball gear. They also have a snack bar where you can get hotdogs and other stuff.

All in all, I like this field the best. If you want a field with alot of good terrain or you play alot and shoot alot of paint this field to play at.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PB Veteran Thursday, March 13th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: February 8th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
All Chicagoland Fields
Review: I have played for 14 years.

Fox is a Great Field.

I played old challenge Park, very good field.
I have played new challenge park. Good field, need to reduce the paint fee.

Badlandz, good field, although its on the back of Balmoral horse race track , kind of smells like horse manure. I have had several younger players say it has gone down hill the last couple of years. They say its BYOP, but wont let you bring paint from any of the indoor parks... thats not Bring your own paint.

Fox has everything, Good re-playability, good refs, GREAT Parking, 4500 fills, Automag rentals( which are the best rentals ever!) I have an automag pump gun. Super rare, super nice.

You can play speedball or woodsball. Its all fun.

My group of friends always have fun there.

You will have a great time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media