paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Urban Assault Paintball Field / Urban Assault Paintball Field / Urban Assault Paintball Field / Urban Assault Paintball Field

Urban Assault Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
51Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 724-926-9000
Address: 1217 Laurel Hill Road
Mc Donald, Pennsylvania 15057
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
DangerMan Tuesday, March 29th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 26th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I play predominantly in Delaware. Woods fields with make-shift speedball. Sometimes dedicated sup air fields.

These fields are very unique, creative use of landscape with some being standard and others being above standard. None of the fields are so wide open that you need to run hard to find the other team in battle.
Review: TYPICAL SMALL OPERATION HICCUPS
For starters, I'm six hours from this facility. I was visiting Pittsburgh and brought my gear to play one day of paintball on my visit. I researched a day before deciding on this particular field. The determining factor was BYOP. I called ahead and was instructed that there was 'open-play' on Saturday. The lady whom answered was the field operators mother. She even suggested I stop at local Wal-Mart for paint. When I arrived on Saturday, my GPS took me to their indoor facility. It was mobbed and it was NOT BYOP at the indoor facility. The inside had good signage regarding prices of services but no mention of the out-door fields up the road. I found out ALL OF this out the hard way when I attempted to pay.

The attendant was polite and explained BYOP is only on their outdoor field. And at the time they were not set up for Credit Card transactions. Fortunate for them I had cash otherwise I would have left for my second field choice. Being a half-an-hour away I would have been miffed. Instead the cost was $25 for the day since I had my own gear and paint this turned out to be a good deal. Not bad for a 11:-00 to 6:00 day.

With some basic instructions on how to get to the outdoor fields I drove about three miles total. Upon arrival I saw a nicely laid out speed-ball course down hill from staging. There were six on six playing. This was a closed group and as I was the only walk-on for the day I had to get permission. They allowed me to play. I was the ringer and the losing team picked me up. However like any bachelor party situation they Kamikaze'd a lot and I was cancelled out the first game. The second game a field operator/regular was put on the other team and he and I battled it out the next game. He took advantage of knowing the facilities field lay out and after paint-checking him twice with bounces I lost my bearing on a pop-up and took one more undesirable out. My point is that there was and effort to balance team play.

New for 2011 they had a trailer in addition to a tent and many covered picnic tables for bad weather. In the trailer they had their own compressed air system accommodating 4500 tanks. I never had to wait for refills. But again, I was the ONLY walk-on and only player in need of compressed air.

THE FIELDS
There is a vast difference in fields which is a refreshing change from large flat fields and trees.

SPEEDBALL
This is a ribbed tube field. Well laid out with your standard center castle, kegs in the corners etc... I have a video on Youtube of myself playing on it at the end of my day if you want a glimpse of it. http://youtu.be/cp_K4uNIm-g?hd=1

THE PIT (or trenches and mounds)
Aside from the large speedball field there was a nearby field I called the pit. It's a pit with many many burms overgrown with reed grass. You could play the valleys or risk running up over one for a birds eye few and shot, but also making yourself and easy target. All of these burms were in a recessed area giving the entire field a charm not usually present in small tight game play.

NORMANDY
Next was a field named Normandy. It's your typical up hill battle where the top team is on defense with a large three sided fort for making a last stand. Directly in front of it at the ridge is a platform tower for the ultimate defensive shooting position which was more like an offensive position because all players coming up hill are abundantly aware of its threatening reach. Defensive players are instructed that they cannot attack over the ridge. I've got a good in-game video on YouTube if you'd like to see it in action: http://youtu.be/xKGa4MdBhWA?hd=1

DOWNED HELICOPTER
Now we get to your more traditional woodsball setting. But to Urban Assault's credit they built bunkers everywhere which can offer both offensive and defensive positions from any angle during the game. The field is somewhat squared with each team starting at opposing corners. One side does have a considerable advantage with more bunkers.

SAFETY
I can only speak for the one ref I encountered. He was very capable and friendly but having played on fields that always have two refs, I found this a problem only because as the day wore on, more parties arrived and this mean players had to wait for his availability. This is NOT entirely true. The manager would help in instances but the jockeying around did bother some players.

Overall, the facility appears to be on the threshold of being a great place to play but held back by either growing pains or lack of foresight. They admitted the turned away customers this day for not having Credit Card payment set up. They explained to me that it was the beginning of the season and that was the reason for staffing issues.

I really liked the positive behavior of the staff knowing it is clearly a family business with some employees. But I can't make a review based on what I guess they will do. I can only review what I experienced. To that end I've been candid about the positives and negatives.

RENTAL MARKERS
I don't think any one on PBReview cares about rentals but I must discuss this. The markers looked like Piranha's with small 140 round hoppers.

PAINT
BYOP for out-door play was great. It's hard to find any field that does this these days. Couple that benefit with some decent fields and that makes for a great cost effective day out at paintball. However if you run out of paint, they charge $80 per box. In Delaware it's $60 and even that is high. So if you were playing indoor with $80 boxes of paint, I don't know if this would be so positive a review.

Bottom line. Considering the price for BYOP and replay value of the fields, I can't knock this place. Like all paintball fields, it has it's flaws but any seasoned veteran player looking to visit this place can only complain if they are looking for things to complain about.
Last edited on Tuesday, March 29th, 2011 at 11:31 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mferg86 Tuesday, March 30th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: March 28th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
3 Rivers paintball- Much better
Operation paintball- Much better (but sadly, its closed)
Review: First of all I would like to note that I have been involved with the paintball industry for over 10 years (Recreational play, tournament play, I was a ref at another course, played amateur tournaments, etc). I have been to tons of paintball facilities, some good, some bad, but URBAN ASSAULT IS BY FAR THE WORST FIELD/ FACILITY THAT I HAVE EVER BEEN TO. Let me explain to you how my day of paintball with Urban Assault went. I got a group of 10 guys together (some of whom drove up from WV and the North Hills of Pittsburgh). I called Urban Assault a week in advance to verify that we would be at the Open Session on Sunday 3/28. The man whom I spoke with informed me that there would be an open session all day and that we were all welcome. So Sunday morning roles around and we all drive to Dicks and purchase paint (as it is BYOP). When we arrive at the indoor field (which the man whom I spoke with told us to come to), it is locked up, no one is there, and all of the lights are off. Thus, I call the OFFICIAL NUMBER listed on their website, and I kid you not, THIS OFFICIAL NUMBER IS SOME PUNK KID'S CELL PHONE which as a ring back tone of a death metal song (very professional). After speaking to inbred Cletus on the phone for 10 minutes, Cletus informs me that they are not playing indoor, but have conveniently re-located to the outdoor facility. Now mind you that it is March 28, 45 degrees outside, and POURING RAIN. Never the less, all 10 of us drive up to the outdoor (using possibly the worst directions ever conceived my man, off of their illegitimate website). We arrive at the outdoor, (where there is only 1 hyperball course available) and I finally get to meet Cletus (who also gave me attitude on the phone the entire time we spoke). There is NOONE at the outdoor field playing, and we proceed to tell them that this is ridiculous that they expect us to play in this ensuing monsoon. So Cletus (now joined by his inbred counterpart Jethro) proceed to tell us how they cannot move the game to the indoor facility w/o contacting their boss. So we ask the next logical question, "Well then are you going to call your boss?". Here comes the real ringer folks, Cletus looks up at me and says "Well I don't have my boss's phone number". REALLY?!? You really donít have your own boss's phone number? What is someone has an accident on the course, someone gets hurt, etc. So now that we have reached new level of stupidity, we finally hold Cletusus's hand long enough and persuade him to drive his obese ass down to talk to the owner. So Cletus embarks on the epic 2 mile journey to "talk to his boss". Now mind you that this same drive from the indoor to the outdoor took us aprox 4 minutes. We wait around for 20 MINTUES and still Cletus has not returned. Thus, we all get in our vehicles and begin to drive to the indoor, when we come across Cletus driving back up the hill. He rolls down the window and informs us that, "Nope, I just spoke with the boss, and he said that we have to wait out the rain". We then pull out an iphone and show Cletus the weather forecast for the day, as well as the radar which shows rain for the next 36 hours. Now mind you that this is probably Cletus's first time seeing this sort of 'devil technology', he seems confused, but never the less ,he sticks to his guns, "Sorry boys, can't help y'all". So the 10 of us decide to go down to the indoor ourselves and speak with this 'owner', who we don't even believe exists. We get to the indoor field, and there is a gray f-150 in the parking lot, but no one will answer out persistent pounding on the doors. After waiting around for almost an hour, we finally give up, But before we leave, I once again call Cletusís death metal cell phone and he informs me that there is going to be a private indoor game at 1p.m., and that we can play there if the private party will allow us (mind you that it is barely 11a.m., and they want us to wait around in the rain for another 2 hours, to see if we can POSSIBLY play with this private party). I leave Cletus with some parting words and we all drive home. All in all it was a great day, we each got to drop $40 on cases of paint, call of work, wake up early on a Sunday, and never shoot a single shot. So thanks a lot Urban Assault, for the joyess occasion and your amazing business sense.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

h0tsauce Friday, October 30th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 17th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: The field looks cool but plays like shi*....

Has this second floor/rafters type setup but its so damn slippery on the steps and floors while you are up there.

Very dangerous because of this. i was walking down the steps very slowly as i was trying to leave the field because the game was over, and its so clear how dangerous it is the second you step onto the first step, and i slipped and fell down a few stairs and smacked my right fore-arm off an edge of the step as i fell. hurt like a b****! its been two weeks exactly and i still can feel whats left of the giant bruise i had.

Friendly service

Doesnt play well at all because its too cluttered.

Noob field but all the noobs love it
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Tjppacman Saturday, April 4th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: March 25th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
None really
Review: Saftey- Indoor- did not use cronograph. otherwise the saftey was good
outdoor- I played tournament they did use chronograph and the saftey was good
fields-the hyperball field, the airball field(which they use in tourneys),the helecopter field (which someone burned down but it in operation), and the Normandy field.
Prices- open outdoor and indoor-$25
torney-$40
Refs are good
for the food they have a pizza place that delivers there for free.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Scythes Monday, March 30th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: March 29th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Urban Assault-very good field and competitive pricing
TRP-some what over priced for quality
AAPP-best field around if u got the money for it
PBworld-great field refs are very helpful and the price is fair.
Directions
to the Field:
Use mapquest /google maps
Make sure you get directions to which field happens to be open that day.(some days outdoor is open some days indoor is open. Call to confirm which is open for the day you will go)
Review: Price: $25 for admission on sat and sun (This is standard admission for game includes rental if you need it or if you forgot anything for your own setup.) I forget paint prices but on open games its BYOP or buy it there. Free all day air/ CO2 if you get there within 30 mins of when it opens.

Safety/rules: Safety was good but chrono wasn't mandatory check in like most fields. Web says semi only but when i was there they said semi or ramp only but limited to 15 bps at max and preferably below. Gun hits count as outs.

Fields: Hyperball-- medium size flat field with large plastic pipe bunkers/obstacles/snakes
Trenches/Mounds--medium flat field with raised mounds to simulate trenches
Helicopter-- large unkept (in a good way) field not, watch out for thorns and avoid the helicopter(looks like a good spot but far to open to defend.
Normandy--large field setup to be like Normandy. top team starts in a well defended plateau and has the distinct advantage, although they are not aloud to go beyond the brim of the hill. Bottom team starts at the bottom of a hill, they have to work their way to the top and plant dynamite at the missiles and it has to saty there for 30 seconds to win. However bottom gets a medic that can revive fallen players not shot in the head.

Staff/refs: both the staff and refs are very helpful. if anything on you gun breaks they will work to the best of their abilities to help you get it fixed and get playing again. the refs are good but cant be everywhere and i have had instances of people wiping paint even after somone has bunkers them and continue to play.

Overall: good field for the value i was there from 9am-4pm for $25( brought my own paint and got free all day air/co2 because i got there before 9:30.)

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ajppacman Sunday, January 11th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 11th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
none im just a beginner
Review: Saftey: Was very good but did not use cronograph

Fields:I only played indoor because it was snowing and it was really dark inside and with my gogles fogging up i was screwed anf ran out of balls.

Refs: Only one reff for whole game(i accidently shot him)

when i was to rate this field i would rate it a nine because of the dark lighting

***********EDIT*****************
i went to this field today but only 3 other people were there. the manager came over to me and gave me 4 free admission/gun/co2 passes. my gun malfunctioned many times and the people there weare able to fix it A.S.A.P
Last edited on Saturday, February 21st, 2009 at 5:21 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

darqshock Thursday, July 31st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: July 27th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
crazy daves, all american paintball park (great place to meet the guys of the philly americans), operation, and encounter sports field
Directions
to the Field:
mapquest or call urban a
Review: The field provides the best of both types of paintball, the fast pace and the stealthy woods ball. The fields are great cuz not many fields have hyper ball and woods fields based from things that happened in history like d-day and what happened in black hawk down.

The staff is friendly and there are always people who are willing to help out the new player to start learning this game. safety is the first thing that is in the minds of everyone at urban.

This is one of the best kept fields in the area.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

schmidt Friday, November 23rd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: November 24th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
I've played at crazy daves, all american, three rivers, and operation which is no longer open.
crazy daves has a lack of good fields and the staff aren't really that helpful. three rivers was garbage i only went there once because i was disgusted by the fields. all american is good but it only has speedball, urban offers a lot more variety to fit speedballers and scenario players. urban has the most helpful and friendly staff i've come across
Review: I first went to urban and it was a great time. The prices are competitive. Every other place i've been to has been more expensive for open play. The staff was very helpful. My gun has broken down on me a few times and the staff has helped me to fix it. I see them do it often and they even gave me the parts i needed. They have a variety which means none of that boring repitition to the game. They also take care of the new people, which is good. I like this sport and i'd like to see it prosper. This is the field i always play at because you only get the best.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

JCB_332 Monday, August 13th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: August 12th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Review: Well this feild is seriously sick! The staff is the greatest and the owner phil is the greatest guy you will ever meet! He is rlly cool and alot of fun to play against ! No matter what the point of it is to have fun regardless and thats what that place is all about i mean for a beginner i am very good but there are a bunch of people there that help you out and give great tips! the feilds are awesome and in great condition! They are excellent to lay on and have great cover!

This Paintball feild has made my experience as a player the best
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

dfo636 Sunday, July 29th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: June 28th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
three rivers
Review: When i got to the field i was pleasantly suprised at the fields, they have something for anyone and everyone, and their woods courses are among the best, its not bald and open like other places, it thick dense brush nothing like i have ever played in

The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable (most of them) and the refs listen to the players and basically let them play what they want to which is a huge plus

Best of all it is one of the few places where u can bring your own paint and its 25 bucks admission, u cant beat that

The one downside of it is the field isnt very well known because in past years it was said to not be in the greatest shape, but all who play paintball should go play there now it is the greatest balue around

Im only giving them a 9 because nothing is perfect
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media