paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Cousins Indoor Paintball Field / Cousins Indoor Paintball Field / Cousins Indoor Paintball Field / Cousins Indoor Paintball Field

Cousins Indoor Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
72Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 114 Parkway Drive South
Hauppauge, New York 11788
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
blah904 Tuesday, April 22nd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: March 2nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
HIgh Velocity Paintball , Island Paintball...
Review: This field was probobly the best field on Long Island. I am really into X-ball and speedball games which makes this field ideal for me. Its a nice place, very big fields, not very hot inside which makes it a nice place to play for a day. The refs are very nice, they'll help you out with stuff even give you pro advice.

Its a very big shame that that field closed because no other fields on Long Island are anywhere near as good as this place.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

STA5248 Monday, March 10th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: March 5th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hi-vi, arena, boston paintball, NYC paintball, etc
Review: Used to be the best indoor field on Long Island. 2 HUGE fields with nice set-up. 1 problem...they are closing in less than 1 week. Their Lease ran out, so enjoy it while you can. Cousins promises a new project in the works, but nobody knows wat it is. meanwhile, those bunkers at the indoor place is going to be dragged to their coram field where they will set up an nice field, with good turf.

There are rumors of a new indoor facility by cousin's people opening up in belmore soon tho, so keep your fingers crossed.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mpaintballd Monday, February 11th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 4th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Arena
HiVi
Directions
to the Field:
check site
Review: Ok let me start out by saying that this is one of the worst overall fields i have played at.
The prices are ridiculous. I Ended up paying 80 bucks just to play for one night. 30 for entry and then another 50 for paint.
you have to walk up and down stairs just to get to the field.
the field is disgusting.
its like a freaking mountain range in there. some one could seriously get hurt running around in there. it is also extremely slippery i dont think they have ever cleaned that turf. the bunkers were all deflating and the snake 3 was completely deflated so the ref just pulled it off the field. wtf? blow it up. the refs suck.... well 'ref' just one ref on the whole regulation xball field!
how is that one guy supposed to see people all the way across the field get hit. i dont think i heard him say one thing except game starts in 10 seconds....go...and game over.

also i heard one of the managers come into the staging area and ask the ref to skip school the next day and come ref and they'll pay him double.
i dont think ill be returning to this field any time soon. ill just stick with arena.
Last edited on Monday, February 11th, 2008 at 11:23 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

whookid7 Sunday, January 13th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: January 12th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball madness (stamford .CT)
Hornts nest
Liberty paintball
Review: Possibly the best field i've ever played

The refs are very fair and cool they take there time to help you with whatever you need . If you need your gun fixed they will take care of you

They always try to make the teams fair but sometimes if a team asks to stay together the teams might get a little uneven but if you tell them you think there unfair the will mix them up.

The prices are very cheap

They have two fields one is huge and the other average

The store is alright

The players there are very helpful they will give you tips and won't over shoot when bunkering

They have two types of games a low tech for beginners and rentals and a high tech for more experienced players

I give this field a 10 out of 10 for all types of players
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

teknology01 Friday, September 21st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 3rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
ejam indoor&outdoor,fireball mountan,atlas
for and indoor this its the best by far
Directions
to the Field:
i live in kearny nj it took me about 1:45 min /1:30 if you have a heavy right foot.
easy to get to nothing but highway mapquest it.!
Review: safety average
price: entrace & paint 83 bucks not bad
nice store inside but lacking esentials my friend busted a burstdisk on his tank and they didn't have a replacement thats a first but besides that ok!

THE FIELD OHHH MY GOD!!!!!!
FRIKING HUGE . I played in others indoors like ejam1 small. peanuts conpare to this field i actually felt like a was playing out doors thats how big the field was bukers were nice and fill not like other places in nj the refs were on point with their call he actually call me out on a shoot on my foot as i was slydeding into a bunker. preatty impresive it shows he was not sleeping or day dreaming.

great field i wish it was closser but its worth the drive!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nagash1959 Friday, June 8th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: June 1st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Only renagade
Directions
to the Field:
LIE to Exit 53. Take Wicks Road to Adams avenue. At the end turn right and the field is down the road on the right. (double check, I'm bad with directions)
Review: Ok. First off I have gone to the range about 12-ish times in total. Other then that I played with a few friends out in the woods. I am fairly new to paintball in general so this review is writen from the viewpoint of pretty new player.

First of the actual location. I find it to be poorly chosen. The location is flat out bad. If you miss the first turn into the industrail area then your likely to have to drive another 15-20 minutes to find your way back, unless you happen to know the area very well, which is doubtfull unless you work in that area.

Now for the look of the place. The parking lot is a total disaster. There is more space that they likely could buy and expand/repave the parking lot. THis would cost a bit but make the place much more inviting. The building itself is a standard industial building, so you shouldn't be expecting too much. The lighting throughout leaves a lot to be desired, especially in the pro-shop area, where all the light is coming from the enterence. The upstairs area is pretty clean, though really under-utilized in terms of space and product.

The Rec area (or staging area if you prefer) is ok enough. Basically there are a few vending machines (overpriced naturally) and a series of folding tables set up for you to get your act together before the fun. Howeverall the tables and chairs are complete filthy and partly colapsed. If you pick up one of the chairs to move them, they typically fold up, annoying...

The fields (the most important part!) are good. The lighting could be better, a problem that seems to plauge the entire location. The fields are a good size and I have never had a problem with the bunkers being underfillled. They could be tacked down better, but on astroturf I guess it is hard. The astroturf itself has long ago passed its prime. While playing the snake I typically cannot get enough traction with my feet to push myself foward. The bunker placement is usually pretty one-sided, whihc would be my ownly true complaint. Many times one side has not only more cover, but closer together then the other side. Which is fine if the high-tech players are on the side with no cover ;-)

I can understand some of the complaints about the employees there, but I find that it usually isn't as bad as some claim. The guys are generally nice and if you bring a concern to their attention (wiping, excessive bunkering, etc) they tend to respond well. I don't find it fair to say they are not actively doing their job, when many of the ones I see actually try to ref the games in play. I would like to see a minimum of two refs on the field each game, especially on busy nights when the teams are almost 10v10. However not neccessarily all the refs area acutally paintball players, some may simply have taken the job because they needed to work. In that case they are probably only concerened with people playing safely. If the ref is acutally a player then they seem to work harder at it.

The rental gear is a mixed bag. Case in point when I was there last time one of my friends was give an extremely old Tippmann carbine to use. It had no safty and the feedneck was made from plumbing pipe. The gun was in such bad shape that it leaked out the entire tank during each game. After using it twice he demanded they give him a better one and they replaced it with a 98C that looked nearly new (probably just cleaned much better) and had an HPA tank. Of course, if you own your own gun then you won't have this problem, but when trying to get new people into the sport with bad gear that is bad for business.

The proshop itself is usually nearly empty. I have no problem with that becuase they have a dedicated store in my town, which is likely the reason the Indoor proshop is little more then immediate needs. The prices aren't bad. If your trying to compair them to online stores your forgettting that online stores will always be able to charge less then a real store, so that comparison isn't really valid to me.

Overall there are some things I'd like to see worked on (better lighting!, more spacing on the fields, an extra ref on the field). I give the location a 7, it is very good to play at, but there is room to improve.
Last edited on Friday, June 8th, 2007 at 10:27 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

D_METHOD Friday, April 13th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: November 24th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: Cousins aint bad at all. Its not the best but its good. Its the first place i ever played paintball and where i really got good at the sport. I have entered a few tournaments there and their great.

The safety is good.
The fields are the best i have played, very big and set up well with the bunkers.
The hours are normal.
The prices are a little to much, it is the highest prices i have seen.
The rules are followed.
The proshop is OK, not to much in it.
The staff can be good at times and bad at times, but mostly good.
THe refs are decent and could be better.
The players are high tech and low which makes the place a good learning place.
The facilities are not the cleanist, a bit dirty.
The food i have no clue.

Over all i like the place but dont really get to go much.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

billy_11118 Tuesday, March 27th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: March 26th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
cousins outdoor, hivi indoor and out, paintball arena
Review: the place is really nice to me i love there x-ball its the only one you'll find on li lol and i go on Monday mights its really fun its a even mix of noob and good ppl get there round 7 or youl b waiting a lil bit and wes nights r not for the faint of heart... that's bout it
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kwapz Sunday, March 25th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: March 24th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
IF YOU READ THIS YOU'LL GET COUSINS THE WAY IT REALLY IS.
Review: :THE ULTIMATE REVIEW:
I have been playing at Cousins indoor for close to 2 years now. I played there back when the field was so dark you could shoot the corners bc you couldnt see them. And when the field changed into a full size xball field.

Anyway, here's my review.

Cousins Indoor Arena is amazing (most of the time). Back in 2006 I started playing every Saturday Night. And, almost every week the paintball was really good.

Field:
The Full size Xball field is amazing. I love playing like the pros and getting the practice to become one. The bunkers are nice and the turf is ok. However, with that said now the negative. The bunkers as nice as they, are NEVER FILLED. I mean NEVER. There usually tipped over out of air so you have to crunch your body to shoot. THE SNAKE set up is decent however, it is also never full. They leave such a critical bunker dead and almost noone wants to play it because your pack will get shot if your laying down. THE DORITOS are usually filled and prob. the best bunkers on the field. There is another FIELD other than the Xball but its small and crappy and is usually want the parties play on. THE TURF is getting to that point where you may have to cough up a little cash to get it reset and cleaned. HOWEVER Cousins is cheap and really doesnt care about its players enough to do this cough up the cash. 6 out of 10

The Refs:
Most of the refs are ok. As much as they care about paintball they seem to care about other refs boring stoires more. I cant remember how many times I have waiting over 15mins for a game to start. Secondly, they are LAZY!!!!!! Prob. the LAZIEST REFS around. They do nothing on the field and nothing to make the game interesting. They stand on the side and say not yell say go. Thats it no checking if someones hit. Finally I give them a 4 out of 10

Customer Support:
There's customer support at Cousins????? Pretty much you have to do everything yourself. The other day I was at the field and I was standing to get my air tank filled( I know how to do it) but I wanted them to do it...The guy was like you know how to do it, so fill it up and kept reading his magazine. Not a good move on his part. Another, time I wanted to buy something and everyone was gone. They went outside to talk to some people. There loss not mine.
I give customer suppoert 1 out of 10.

The Facility:
Its hard to find in the dark and its a horrible parking lot for cars. Its all rocky and bumpy and awful. COME ON GUYS PAY SOME CASH AND GET THAT PARKING LOT PAVED. YOU MAKE 100 BUCKS OUT OF ME EVERYTIME I GO. Anyway, The inside Is ok....Theres a small area to buy things, although there so over priced noone ever does. Example: A halo B online: 99.99 DECENT a HaloB at cousins 125.00. Anyway, THE STAGING AREA is not even close to perfect. The ground is so greasy that you cant find an Allen key if you dropped it. There is paint all over the walls in an area where paintball should not be seen out of a shell. THE CHRONO is finally set up and yet itis just a piece of crap that noone ever goes in. Finally the facility gets a 3 out of 10.

Additional Info:
Cousins spilts the Xball field down the middle 2 and a half weeks before a PTS, so dont go if you expecting a full size xball field the week before. THIS REALLY PISSES ME OFF

CONCLUSION:
Cousins is a fun place. It needs some serious work, that the owner and refs are to lazy to make happen. So I would recommend to go, but dont expect the best experience ever.

OUt of a possible 40 points Cousins Scores: 14. Not EVEN HALF. Time to get to work guys because this isn't shaping out to well.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

cakret Saturday, March 10th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 17th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hi Vi, Arena, Coram
Review: Let me first say that i really enjoyed the field, The refs, Didn't do there job, there was a guy in the pro shop that was a D2 player, and showed no respect to any of the other players, the refs, barly ever called someone out, i saw alot of whiping, but the refs didn't seem to notice and if they did they didn't care. i really like the location and the fields, but i hate the customr service, i will most likly never return to this arena, i enjoy hi vi and arena much more.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media