paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Herbies Paintball Field / Herbies Paintball Field / Herbies Paintball Field / Herbies Paintball Field

Herbies Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
9Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: P.O. Box 2434
Fernley, Nevada 89408
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
dylpkl Monday, September 10th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: September 8th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
no other fields in the area
Review: I love herbies - considering it is the only field in the Northern Nevada area. I have been playing there for about 2 years now. and recently I joined the Herbies speedball team. For the past year I have been playing there every saturday. He is open rain or shine - hot or cold. Herbie is always there and offers a great experience for everybody. There are many fields for rec ballers to play on, and two tournament style fields. Herbies is all on dirt, there are some rocks, but its not too bad. There is a good amount of benches and all of it is shaded at the staging area. There is a chrono and firing range, CO2 and HPA. He also sells paint. It is usually GAP seconds or BONUS BALL. The staff/refs (other than Herbie) consist of a couple dedicated teens that are friendly and knowledgable.

Herbies is open EVERY Saturday from 10:00am - 4:00pm.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BigDaddyTee Tuesday, April 24th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 15th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Don't know... I don't think there are any others locally.
Review: I went up to Herbies for a Sunday game. We took about 12 people up with us from Fallon. It was my first time at an actual field. We normally play in the desert at some self-created sites.

First off, the place seemed well setup. The unloading/parking area was less than 150 feet from the staging area which was well stocked with plenty of tables, a chrono/targeting area, HPA and C02 refill areas, and the rental stations. I have my own equipment so I didn't use that portion of Herbies service.

THE FIELDS:
Herbie's field run the gamut from Big Tires to Cable Rolls, A lego-like field to a small village. There were two specific speedball fields although all could have been used for it. It was a great set of fields.

STAFF:
There was a ton of people there. Probably more than 40 or 50. A couple of groups. The staff was good. Most of them were extremely professional mostly to the point of being extremely friendly. I was greatly impressed. The refs were okay... but there didn't seem to be enough for that day... but the ones who were there, seemed to be good.

PEOPLE:
The people there were great as well. There were a few players that I was unimpressed with, but you always have that and that was in no way a reflection on Herbie's.

OVERALL:
I'll tell ya, I had a blast at Herbie's. I'd definitely recommend the place to anyone. Herbie sure seems to run a class act. From what I've heard from my friends, it's THE place to play around here!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

lstinthwrld Monday, November 6th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: November 4th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Desertdawgs. Was cool closed now. Nfinite in Sactown. Very cool place to play
Directions
to the Field:
I 80 east to fernly 95 south take a right at the fernly raceway. Signs are very clear.
Review: Well since DesertDawgs and HPA closed Herbie's is now our home field. And I say 'our' as in the greater Truckee meadows area. But its cool at least we were left with the best field in the area. The fields are many and they are large with a couple of segregated fields for the tourny players so they can play the way they like to without messing up any newb's day of play. This in itself makes it worth the drive to play. At the end of the day A few who still have a few games in them might ask to walk on to your last couple of games. They are very mellow and they usually take the time to teach a little during these games so take the opportunity and watch them and ask questions. Your game will come up. Having said that they do tend to run their markers a little hotter and me and some of mine have been zapped with some hot paint a few times. Not a big deal but if you can't handle it DONT play with them.
Herbie's is a place I would and do take my kids to play. The staff is awesome. Very helpful and knowledgeable. Good Ref's. Always willing to help. The guys from HPA have set up a pro shop at the field so parts and guns are for sale on sight. FIeld paint is good and fairly priced but you may bring your own to play with. I play pump and with the set up of the various fields always have options for movement so I never feel out gunned or intimidated playing with a field full of semi's and electro's. The only complaint I have about Herbie's is the hours of operation. I am one of those guys who like to play all weekend if I can and Herbie's hours of Sat. only 10:00AM to 4:00Pm is just not enough for me. I want more.
Last edited on Monday, November 6th, 2006 at 10:51 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Zach B. Sunday, October 16th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: November 12th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
None that I know of
Review: I went to Herbie's with about 8 other people about 3 weeks ago. This was the second time I had ever been paintballing. The first time was at Gotcha Paintball in North Carolina (I just moved to California and this field isn't too far away). There were 3 people working there that day (the ref, Herbie, and some other guy) and luckily we were the only people other than two guys on a team sponsored by Herbie's, a father, and his son.

The staging area was nice. A good amount of benches were sitting there, and they had a nice covering to block the sun. The chronograph and shooting range were only a couple of feet away.

In the distance, they had plenty of fields. The walk to the fields wasn't that long. The only gripe was that it was hot. The fields were pretty good, but there weren't any boundaries that were too visible, and that wasn't good because the fields are very close to each other. My favorite fields were the village, the Lego field, and the huge tire field.

The rental guns are the worst I have ever shot. I think they were called F-4 Illustrators or something. I broke about every 7 balls I shot, and when a ball breaks inside the gun, I had to walk back up to the staging area, where they had to remove the entire bolt and squeegee down the gun. And sometime the gun would go screwy and after firing two shots the cocking bolt would reach the top so I'd have to pull it back down. And they were so inaccurate to boot. I was told they had 1 Tippmann 98 Custom for rent but it had been damaged and was being repaired. The goggles we got weren't good either, I had to frequently use anti-fog. Not good at all.

The paint they supplied us was Combat something paint. It had a black shell with gray fill. It broke kind of easy and the paint was hard to see. There was some orange paint that they had thrown in there that wasn't much better.

The staff was very nice and helpful. The ref looked around 15, and he did a pretty good job explaining the rules to the group and helping me with my frequent gun problems. He also did a good job reffing, though we were a pretty easy group to ref. Herbie and the other guy up there were cool and knowledgable guys. When I had a bad ball break (where he had to remove the bolt) Herbie did a quick and efficient job. They always had Gatorade's ready in a cooler, and at the end of the day they passed out free copies of Paintball 2Xtremes Magazine. The ref and guys up front were the best, and I wish every field's staff could be as good as Herbie's.

Overall, this was a very nice place to paintball, and if they could get better rental equipment and fix some very minor tweaks they would definitely deserve a higher score.
Last edited on Sunday, November 13th, 2005 at 3:56 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

matthewryanc Friday, May 14th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: Long time shooter, second time paintballer. Herbie really comes across as one who loves the sport, and is not just looking to make a quick buck. Other players seemed friendly, and fields were set up in good patterns. Even if there are better laid out fields (don't know yet), I can't see there being a better managed field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

heimerman Monday, April 12th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: This field was awsome, I have played at several fields but none like this one. HErbie is a very kind man and does just about anything for the common player. He repaired my gun and put in new screws and pin to replace the ones that fell out and when I went to pay him he said, "Dont bother, just go back out and have some fun." His wife makes trips to town to pick up food for the players out there. He has around 80 acres of fields when I went there and each one was very well planned out. He knows his stuff. I highly recomend this field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

AKA Slayer Friday, October 17th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Dont Know
Review: My team played this filed and had a blast! We played open class at his last tourney in Oct. we came from Las Vegas (drove 6 1/2 hours). Herbie was the best host we have seen in a long time. He caters to the players and bends over backwards to accommodate his guys. Best reffing i've seen around. We will definitely return for more!

Vegas Playaz!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Staypuff68 Thursday, June 26th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: This field is without a doubt the best field I have ever played at. The staff is great and will do anything to ensure that you are having a fun time. I drive alittle over two hours to play at this field but it is well worth it. The field isn't just for pro's, it's the kind of atmosphere that you would take your family to. I've played in fields all over California, Oregon and Nevada but this is definately my favorite.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Angel playa Sunday, March 16th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I don't know
Review: A very nicely run field, good competition and really good set up. If you like speedball this is the place to go. I play twice as many games here than at my local field in California. People are really friendly and have good prices. If your in the area definitely stop in for a great day of paintball.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media