paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Capture The Flag Outdoor Paintball Field / Capture The Flag Outdoor Paintball Field / Capture The Flag Outdoor Paintball Field / Capture The Flag Outdoor Paintball Field

Capture The Flag Outdoor Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
20Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (403) 247-8887
Address: 7th AVE-28th street N.E.
Cochrane, Alberta T2A 4L6
Canada
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
PB-Dan.S.J. Monday, July 6th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: June 21st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bragg Creek Outdoor
Directions
to the Field:
Go to website (www.capturetheflag.ca) or Google Maps to print of directions. Hint: Just keep driving, and driving, and driving, annnddd driving.
Review: It is a great field. It is a 110 acre area split into 17 huge fields that you and your buddies can play on for hours. The staff are very nice and are willing to help you if your gun isn't working. There is no refs which can be good and bad. Good because you don't have to hear "Masks on!" or "Barrel plugs in!" every two seconds of the day, and they don't give away your position (they usually hang around a large group of players). They also provide free hot dogs and powdered drinks, which aren't half bad.
On the other hand the parking is increadibly limited (you have to park in a grass area once the lot is full) and there is animal poop all over the fields (one of my friends slid right into a pile...). Infact there was a Lama sitting in my teams fort. It took ten minutes for us to make it go away. They should also increase the size of their proshop and coveral room it's VERY cramped!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Notimpressed Monday, April 28th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 12th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: I don't have many nice things to say about the management at this facility. I had planned a trip to this place with over 20 people and had an understanding with the manager (over a month in advance) of this facility that all members of my group would be billed to me to keep things simple (the specific agreement was for 400 rounds with a level 3 gun since my crew had all pre-paid with me). When I went to settle the bill, I realized that not only did this company over charge my group and unknowingly upgrade my group to more rounds and higher level guns but members of my group had overheard the manager explicitly instruct his employees to "run up the bill [since] it was all being paid by one guy". I am utterly disgusted with such business practices and advise all those interested in visiting this facility to take a high degree of caution. There are many other outdoor paintball facilities in the Calgary area - be sure to look there first before even considering a trip here. Five thumbs down for poor ethics.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippmanownage Wednesday, April 2nd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 14th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: I would actualy go to this field again (unlike the indoor).
The place is huge and they have about 20 fields but you have to schedule what field you want to play at.
They have a fire pit which is really good when you go in the winter with free drinks and hot dogs.
tTe fields are big but they have alot of horse and other animal 'poop' everywhere( i dived behind some tires and landed in a huge pile of it)
But otherwise its a pretty good place.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

KingMe Sunday, July 29th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: July 14th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bragg Creek (recent)
Millarville (over 7 years ago)
Directions
to the Field:
Yikes!!! Use their directions, and... keep going, going, going....
Review: Well, they win nicely for SIZE. Big fields, some nice setups...

Frankly, I've played this field several times over the last 10 years or so... and am disappointed...

1) Getting there: hey, how about some SIGNS?!?!? Yes, if you are following their directions, you'll get there... but you won't even know you are in the right path, untill you pull into their drive. Again, how about some SIGNS?!?!? Perhaps something every big intersection, or few KMs (how much will the farmer charge to post a sign??)

2) Parking???? Yes, my people carpool, but a place of this size needs PARKING, enough for the amount of players playing. Set up some proper, assigned stalls.

3) CROWDED! A tiny single room hosting coverall room/singup room/ "pro shop"... Hey, here's an idea!! Rent one of those shipping canisters you get from rail/shipyards if you don't want to Build!! Jam the coveralls into there, and redesign the signup/proshop area to better handle big crowds. HEY, now this place can actually work!

4) SIGNS AGAIN?? Few of the fields are posted, and when you ask where the field you are supposed to go to is, expect a grunt and a gesture (yep, a pointing gesture). If they made a Sign Post with all the field names posted on arrows, be a good start.... follow it up by signs AT the fiels, so you know you are there. (if they had peoples/refs guilding you, ok to skip this... but labor is $$$, so how about the signage??). Perhaps even signs pointing towards the different bunkers.... too much? Ok, at LEAST some boundary ropes or fencing (HA!). Played one field, people from next field kept spilling into our field... or did we spill into theirs, how can you tell??

5) Prices: Ok, they want to make some money, they ARE a buisiness, not a charity, but... Hey, and why signs everywhere (too many signs? lol) saying NO OUTSIDE PAINT, but if you ASK, they allow (at a price of course!)... Gun owners want a place to play, and you do NOT want to ailenate the only REPEAT Customers you will get. Just POST THE PRICE for Gun Owners to use their own paint (or offer reasonable prices on reasonable paint??!??!)...


Perhaps I'm TOO critical, but ... nothing has changed for YEARS!! Truthfully, I think, as a Buisiness, perhaps it is time to bring in a new Manager, and set up some Stuffff!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

06egomaster Sunday, July 15th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: July 10th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
brag creek it doesnt even compare and rampage out door to they dont have enough equiment to support large groups capture the flag has 600+guns and the fields are way better
Directions
to the Field:
look on the site www.capturetheflag.com
Review: Pros:
it is the biggest course in Canada

There awalys a empty feild

The big games every month are some of the most fun you can have and cheep paint 80
a case

If you come a alone there will awalys be a group you can hook up with

The owner use to be in the CFL

Friendly staff:

Caleb Owners the blonde one son really good with guns a great little player and goes the extra mile for customers

Harry owner the old guy nice guy talks a little to much but he awalys gots an answer to your questions

Jake gelled hair runs heaven awalys will have a course when you need one

Dave short guy gun hog he can awalys fix your gun no matter what

Eric red head counter staff really efficent gets every thing done fast

Blaine really tall guy camo hanger can awalys find the right size of camos for the noobs

Colby short puffy hair a little gun hog great with all kinds of guns

Paul really skiny awalys makes sure there is a fresh set of hot dogs on the grill

Garet short and blonde another gun hog who is a great player you awalys wnt him on your team for big games

Justin short blonde with glasses another camo hanger and goggle cleaner

Rachel only girl that works there she calls her self the paint abll princess she is awlays behind the counter helping people

they have one of every kind of feild and all the different kinds of terrians your awalys in for a treat when you go there

Con:there really are none except they only fill to 300 psi

But i reccomend first timers and vets come out you will awalys have a good time
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

AK.47 Thursday, July 5th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 2nd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bragg Creek Paintball
Directions
to the Field:
Just past Waiprous town.
Review: I went to this feild for the first time last weekend, and i must say it is awesome. When you park and get your gear all set up, a guy will brief you on the rules and some safety advice, after that you are good to go. All you gotta do is find a group and sign out a field.

Feilds.

I got to play on 5 different fields. They were really impressive there was a lot of obsticles around to duck behind and nice forts and whatnot for senerio games.

Safety.

There are no reffs on the fields which in my opinion is a good thing, as i dont hear "barrle bags" and "masks on" every 2 min of the day. The fact is this is a moderatly dangerous game so play responcibly. USE YOUR HEAD AND KEEP IT.

Price.

We bought a case of "premium" paintballs for $105! If they were infact premium balls that would have been nice. I noticed that alot of the balls wouldnt break, and my X7 broke a couple in the barrel. BRING YOUR OWN PAINT! Vet prices are decent. They also rent a veriety of guns from ok to awesome. But be prepared to PAY.

Staff.

I have read some reviews on here that are bashing the staff for not being there and basically no service. These people couldnt be any more wrong. The staff from the second we got in were informative and helpfull. i think that the best part of this place is the casuall vibe and nice people.

I give it an 8 out of 10 because of the paint, but if i brought my own i would definetly give it a 10. Great times.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Luv Paintballin Wednesday, April 4th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: June 21st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: Decent place. Alot of fields if you dont mind walking for 15 min.

PROS****
-Like eleven or something fields. But a long walk.
-Free food and drinks (always nice)
-pretty cheap piant. But you get what you pay for.
-huge variety of field styles, including all tir fields , forest fields and some building fields.

CONS****
-the cups for the drinks are dirty and digusting.
-no refs on any fields.
-paint is pretty sh*ty. either the balls are extremely hard and dont break, or they break in the marker.
-tiny a** pro shop. But i can live without.
-service is absolutely teribble. I f you can even get any all.
-personaly i thought that the place was kinda isolated from the worl.(it might just be me though because i live in Calgary, kinda a far drive.)

Overall i loved playing there despite its flaws. Great place for work groups or large parties.

7/10 rating.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

thermalGoggles Monday, October 23rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: October 14th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Much Outlaw at Random Fields
Capture the Flag Indoor
Rampage Outdoor
Review: Capture the Flag has been around since before I began playing paintball (1993). It is a great space for every woodsballer, as there are about 20 different fields, all with interesting terrain, and that are a lot of fun to play. They have barricades, soft cover, dense foiliage, and even two storey forts! The staff is not entirely objectionable, but the bottom line (ca$h) is of high importance, as is the case with most commercial ventures.

The attitude at CTF as far as safety goes is a bit different than one might expect. At the beginning of the day they go through all of the safety procedures that are required to play throughout the day. They don't send a martial out with you when you play, so they leave it to you to remember an implement all the rules. It is a good idea for vets to remind noobs to keep those goggles on on the field (hey, I kept my goggles on when I was a noob!).

As far as price goes, it is a pretty good deal for people with their own gear or without. The field fee is good for the whole day - until the sun goes down, which is about 10:30pm in summer (and since there are no martials, nobody is rushing your through games, so take your time!)! Paint for renters ranges from 12 cents to 8 cents, which isn't too unreasonable... For people with their own gear it is $10 to play for the day and 5 cents per ball, although I would not advise using their paint. They are garbage. I would advise all vets to simply bring their own balls and pay the $40 off-field paint fee. For $40 the field fee is included and you can use paint that isn't absolute garbage.

Just to illustrate the poorness of the paint, every 10th-ish ball wouldn't even load into my Q-Pods because it was not round but quite oval. Every 8th-ish paint was so hard that it would simply bounce off someone like a marble (I have some bruises thanks to that crappy paint!).

The rental markers are also quite poor. A friend that rented an A-5 noticed that a problem with the feeder caused many misfires. Still, they do have some good markers, and they also have not entirely horrible paint. All you have to do is refuse to take the crap! If you notice your marker is not working, go ask them for one that does. If you notice your paint is crap, insist that they give you the better stuff. They will usually help you out.

So, for people with their own gear, pay the $40, bring your own paint, and enjoy the full day. Also, they do provide free hot-dogs and powdered drinks. So all vegetarians, remember to bring real food with you or you will have to survive on potato chips all day!

Ultimately, my advice would be to treat a day at CTF like an outlaw game that costs a $40 fee up front. The $40 is well worth the great fields, the access to washrooms, ability to meet and play with many other players, and the ability to use their fire pit to roast your veggie dogs inbetween games!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DamnSteroids Tuesday, October 10th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: July 12th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
weekend warriors- is a lot better in my opinion
Directions
to the Field:
in the middle of nowhere
Review: Safety- good enough for me, kinda stupid they are so safe in the safe zone then dont care at all past there
Feilds- they have exellent feilds and playing areas just a far walk sometimes
Staff- i personally think they are terrible they give you a number an wont remeber your name unless you spend alot of money, three times in 5 minutes and they cant remember my name.
prices- they make you pay for camo which is just stupid pay for all c02 and compressed air, really bad balls but not bad prices for vets at least
couldnt stand they idiots inside so i missed the proshop and facilities
free food is always good but they need to get larger cups for their powderd drinks
one last complaint i can stand up in the main proshop area, just me but really annoying

overall good place to play if you can get over how incredibly annoying the staff is
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

pookguy Sunday, June 18th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 10th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review:
Before you read this: I am completely new at paintball, so if youre new at paintball i hope this will be helpful. If youre a VET, then you already know what kinda of operation "capture the flag" is already...

BOTTOM LINE: Unenforceable Safety Precautions, Premium prices for crappy/wet balls, Completely unmarked playing fields,

SAFETY: Their "Heaven" (nozzle plug zone) and "Play Areas" are unmarked.. As you exit the "Heaven" you're in the parking lot. The logistics of the playing fields and "heaven" is very unsafe as you do not know whether your standing in a playing fleld or the parking lot or "heaven" or the road.... This is not a place to brings kids

EQUIPMENT: The balls we bought were all wet. Apparently wet balls is a bad thing..

FACILITIES: The playing fields are fun.. BUT ...None of the playing fields are marked. The staff didnt even know where the fields were.. see below

STAFF: The guys that do the gun demo and the refliling of air where all drinking beer. Hey, im not anal about drinking and having some fun and they do allow beer there. But if you allowing customers to drink, someone should be sober to watch over the rowdy crowds. Terribly understaffed, there were no ref's,

RULES: UFC have more rules.

DIRECTIONS: On their website there are directions on how to get there.. be sure to keep track of how many KM's your going and follow their directions closely.

FOOD: Free hotdogs, and powder drinks,

Like I said.. if you're a vet, you prolly already know the ex-football player/owner of this place. But if you're new at paintball, and your buddies are new at paintball .. i would not recommend this place...



Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media