paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Drop Zone Paintball Field / Drop Zone Paintball Field / Drop Zone Paintball Field / Drop Zone Paintball Field

Drop Zone Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
30Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: N/A
Location: Lawrence, Kansas 66061
USA
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
boberto327 Saturday, August 16th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: August 16th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
No we are from Omaha
Review: Okay so today we went out to Drop Zone and we have been there before last year, originally we are from Omaha, NE and play at Madcow Paintball in Louisville, NE.. Last year we had quite some fun only thing we really didn't like was the run throughs and how we had distance limits but oh well we got over it and only did to ourselves (friends and i) but this year just made me ashame to even play there.

The people at the front were nice at registration, but as we were getting our stuff set up we all have speed markers (we have ions, evil minion, and Indian Creek Promaster) so of course we have halo/empire hoppers and when we fill up air they are like you gotta change your hopper to gravity do you have one? And i looked at him like does it look like i would be using such a stupid thing on our guns. well so they gave us all gravity hoppers and we all we extremely upset, but we were like ok what ever. So as the day goes on and they give us the safety rules they extended their bunker rules to 20ft (even though at Madcow they play NPPL rules if everyone is ok with it which everyone who plays there is and is not scared to get up in everyones face unlike most people in KC who play paintball)... thats like shooting them from the 50 on their speed ball field... next some people have tippmans and they have e triggers with cyclone hoppers... we were like how is that not having a force fed hopper like being electronic... literally having this silly rule of no E hoppers it totally destroyed the game for us we could not even have fun we had to shake our guns to try to shoot while people who had tippmans shot 3 times faster than us crippling the game play if you are too scared to play with Speed Ball players then dont play speed ball at all it should not be gear dependent and not having e hoppers does not improve safety at all... then we all thought ok well if we just break off from the public because there were 6 of us we can PLAY REAL PAINTBALL instead of this crippled child version and so we asked the refs and they denied us i was like why can we not play paintball the way it is suppose to be played and if people are afraid of us then they can sit out and play castle instead of speed ball but he was like no we can not do that and i got frustrated and said some unspeakable words about how stupid this place was.. so over all through out the day the only good thing was the nice front desk staff the refs were lazy and just equally scared to be hit like all the other scared players and this crippling rule of no e hoppers totally frustated the rest of the day and fun was limited... so this was the last time we will ever go back to Drop Zone even if they do allow e hoppers back this experience just ruined them and the sport of paintball over all. But the only reason i gave Drop Zone 2 out of 10 was because the front desk lady was extremely nice and helpful.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

imslowashell Thursday, April 19th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: April 14th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Its the only one open on the week ends to the public
Directions
to the Field:
from topeka you get one 75 going south then ummmm yeah just get directions from their website just remember that it is not in anyway proportional lol
Review: Well if you live anywhere near here its the only field that you can just go and play at without having to organize a group to go and reserve the time at another field. its way out of the way from anywhere unless you live in the boonies or in overbrook or something so it take forever to get to and back. its open 10 to 5 sat and sun and open to reservation during the weekdays. they have a castle field and a speedball field and if you come on a team practice days you can play the air ball field. the castle field has a nice castle and is well designed but i could do without the creek in the middle of the field. the speed ball field is pretty good.

the refs are okay depending on which ones you get. some are horrible about watching for whipers but for the most part they inforce the rules and make sure everyone is playing safe. the prices are a touch wierd they arent even numbers. allday air is like $7.68 or some such lol. to get in is $15 ish and you get a discount if your in the military lol. the field paint is like 55 a case and its karnage bite so its alright quality but not the best. rental guns are tippmann 98s and theyre fairly exspensive and you have to use the field paint so it gets pricey.

good park just a pain to get to and i wouldnt want to rent a gun from them but im cheap and i dotn like tippmanns lol
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

camodogfighter Wednesday, March 28th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: October 28th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Topeka Paintball
Jaggers
Homeland
Directions
to the Field:
Go South out of town 10 miles on 59 (Iowa St.) to the Baldwin Junction where 56 and 59 meet. Take a right, heading West on 56 for about 7 miles. (Past 1039.) Take a left and head South on Douglas County Road 1029. Drive South on 1029 for 3 miles and you will see our Big Yellow sign on the east side of the road. Take a left heading East on this Road (the street sign for this road will read either N1 or Woodson Road). This is a dirt road on the Douglas/Franklin County line. Continue East past the farm house and you will see our parking lot) to the right.
Review: First off I want to say that the staff there is awesome. They strive for protection. The castle field is good unless it rains then the hill is all mudy but then that is when it is really fun. The speedball field is pretty good. The refs do a good job lett you know when you are hit when you dont know it. The tourneys are ran really well. They start pretty quick and each game is just flows into the next. I will give this field a 10 for it is the best I have played at. The prices are nice out there it is cheap for all day air and entry like $21 unless there is a special that weekend. There isnt any food out there but there is water, soda and gaterade. They dont have you buy paint there you can get whatever kind you want and they will let you play with it with no extra charge.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Xps21 Wednesday, March 21st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: First off I want to just state that this course is close to the best course I have ever been too.

First Refs- Personally I thought the refs did a great job, I would yell out paint check and refs would rush out there and was always checking for paint.

Second Refill- I asked for a bunch of things that I left at home o-ring squeege paper towels and everthing was free and he fixed my n2 tank also.

Third Scenerio Course- There scenerio course was wonderful I only had one complaint when you are attacking they can shoot at you right away from the castle your a sitting duck because the bunkers are pretty far away. But they did play alot of modes so it was fun.

Fourth SpeedBall- They have two courses I played both one of them is right next to the waiting area and one of em is like a 4 min walk not to bad so both of the courses were small but fun easy for quick ball.

Fifth Tournements- They have more tournements than I think anyone has in kansas so its perfect and cheap.

Cons- I only had a couple maybe 1 or 2 or 3 first was the castle thing which I told you. Second was the time they are open barly 5 hours I like to play alot so thats a opinion. 3 Its secluded you drive by so many farms to get there but its pretty easy to find with the signs.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

clementcrew Saturday, January 13th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: September 16th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
kcw,never open.Homeland,woodsball crowd.
Directions
to the Field:
south of Lawrence north of ottawa
Review: Dropzone paintball park has always been one of my favorite places to play.The staff is some of the best I have seen,service,safety,its all done with a smile.One of a few fields in kansas that always has a crowd,and the staff makes sure games start soon after the last finished.prices are good,and you can byop.they have an 06 x-ball field set up like two times a month plus several other fields.all in all its a great place to play paintball all season long..
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballar6600 Wednesday, January 10th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: October 27th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Drop Zone, Homeland, Tornado Alley -El Dorado,Frog Hollar
Directions
to the Field:
www.dropzonepaintball.com
Review: I like to go to DZ becuz my friends don't ever play, and there is always people to play against there. I like to play on the X ball field when it is up. I totally pwn some people on it. This year I want to do the Dynasty clinic if they do it. My friend did it last year and said it was cool. I like to play on their castle feild for fun, and sometimes dog leg. I don't really like the feild by the castle, and I haven't tried the others.

Last time I was their my gun broke, and they fixed it for free, and I only missed out on one game. I think it is pretty cool that their is netting around the Xball feild so you can see the games really well. They do lonts of things their and i try to go to a lot of them. It do not cost too much and they have free bring lyour own paint, so I do every time. They are also open all weekend which is cool. I wish i could go on sat and sun but I can't drive kyet, and my mom doesn't want to be their all weekend. Grenades ar e cool and they let you use them their. They let you bring your own food and drink if you want or you can buy some pop or dirnk water for free.

I think this is a REALLY GOOD feild and I tell people to go their. I pick a 10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bang Tango Tuesday, January 9th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: October 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Jaegers, Battle Splat, Big Sky and most in KS & MO. DZ has the best staff of any field in the area and beyond.
Directions
to the Field:
Just south of Lawrence KS, direction are best found on their website dropzonepaintball.com
Review: Overall a very nice place to play, with several courses speedball, woodsball, hyperball & Sup'Air X Ball Field. Plenty of bunkers on the woodsball/recball courses.Games are fun with different objectives such as elimanation, center flag, castle attack and defend etc.

The staff always attempts to have even teams by skill and the amount of attackers/defenders. The two story castle in a woods enviroment is top notch. Make sure you check out dogleg for a great speedball/hyperpipe course. They have excelent service with experinced staff and referees on all courses.

Facillities are two well maintained porta-potties (if there is such a thing). There is a nice shady rest area with plenty of trees. You can bring your own chairs and use the spools provided for tables & gear storage.

Safety is taken very serious, all guns are chronoed under 280 (I think), goggles on inside the playing areas and barrel socks on at all times. Rec play has a ten foot surrender rule where the approaching player must give the option of surrender. All players are given a briefing of the rules, and they are enforced.

There is soda, water & gaterade, but no food on site, you are welcome to bring your own... you will likely forget about it, because who's hungry when you are having this much fun!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

its_big_drew Thursday, September 14th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: August 12th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Homeland-in Ottawa area, kicks major @$$
Jaegers-Downtown KC area
Directions
to the Field:
directions are best found at the fields website
Review: Dropzone is a pretty good field. I personally prefer Homeland but Dropzone has been around longer so you see more people out there on any given weekend. Dropzone has a pretty good castle field, in my opinion the castle itself could use some work though. I like there speedball fields because they have bunkers and a little bit of natural coverage so it's still kinda like being in the woods. They do however have an air ball field set up something like twice a month for those true speedball freaks and geeks. THE REAL DRAWBACK OF DROPZONE-the damn steps. I thought it was just because of my slight knee problem that they sucked so bad but I keep hearing people in perfect health complaining as well. I believe they keep entertaining ideas of a fix but last time i checked nothing was decided. I'll have to give dropzone an 8 of 10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

tehgreendog Sunday, June 4th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: March 20th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Jagers: crap
Homeland: kick ass
Review: hmm nice field, good castle, all that and all
im not to sure bout the last time i went, but not to long ago, and its a fun place to be, the ppl that work there are the best element, they make sure u are habving a good and safe time. The biggest problem with it is that it is kinda dirty (but then again it is outside) and when u just wanna sit or eat or something u dont rele feel like u have a spot to go, also the stairs (if u will) that lead down the field are steep and slippery and not very fun to have to keep goin up in down. But once ur down and ready to go, it is one of the best places to paintball
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SmokeyDaBear343 Saturday, May 20th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 14th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
None so far....if any can beat this field.
Directions
to the Field:
Don't be confused by the store. There are a total of i think 3 stores in different cities. The field is out in the middle of no where inbetween the cities.
Review: Probably the best field in Kansas. From what I hear, no fields in Kansas let you use your own paint. Drop Zone on the other hand lets you bring your own paint. They are very keen on safety and make sure everyone is safe. They have 3 main courses which are all really good and there are always a good amount of players to play with. I give it a 10/10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media