paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Ground assault paintball Field / Ground assault paintball Field / Ground assault paintball Field / Ground assault paintball Field

Ground assault paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
4Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 2019867600
Address: 245 Paterson plank rd
Carlstadt, New Jersey 07072
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
zazor18 Sunday, June 19th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: June 18th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cousin's SI Paintball - I have a review on them.
Directions
to the Field:
Please refer to website since using a GPS or internet map based on their actual location doesn't seem to work too well.
Review: Safety: They are very good on making sure masks and barrel sleeves are in place.

Fields: There are three fields and a pistol field if I remember correctly. I've only played on the large field but I find it quite fun since it's set up differently from the majority of indoor fields I have been to. They also have a speedball field down the road which you would need to drive to but I don't think it's any more than say a 1/4 mile.

Hours of operation: I know the are open weekends and I believe weekdays as well.

Prices: The prices are decent here compared to most other places.

Rules: The only ones that come to mind is that you can't go automatic or use ramping.

Services/Proshop: They have some stuff for sale. They have a store as well but it isn't on site and you would need to drive to get there. They do offer gun smith services but I haven't tried them out as of yet.

Staff: Quite good and what they do and know their stuff.

Refs: They call it as they see it. I have no issues with their calls.

Players: You get a nice mix from kids to some tourney style guys.

Facilities: Everything is still pretty clean esp. being an indoor place.

Food: None to be spoken of.

Notes: I like this place. It has the feel of woodsball in an indoor setting. They have an office and fast food restaurant scenario areas which I still need to try out. I also need to try out the pistol field. The large field is quite fun especially when I spent the entire day there without getting bored simply because of the layout. At the very least people should try it and get away from the standard inflatable bunkers to come up with their own opinion on the matter. It's different and worth doing at least once if not more.

I'm giving it a 8 based on uniqueness and staff. There are a bunch of things I could complain about like having a fully stocked proshop or food services but solely based on just playing the game of paintball a 8 sounds reasonable. I may give it a 9 once I get a larger sample set of game time here.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Major Konig Wednesday, February 23rd, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 23rd, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
E-Jamm
New Breed
Directions
to the Field:
Behind Redd's on Paterson Plank Rd.
Review: Safety: Excellent netting throughout. The refs ensured that masks and barrel bags were used constantly. Chrono is to a reasonable 240 fps, which is perfect for these fields.

Fields: I only had a chance to play on one field (the largest of the three) while I was here, but it was excellent. The only other indoor place I have played at was E-Jamm, and this place is significantly better. The setup in general was almost perfect for ensuring fair positioning for both sides. The games were mostly capture the flag, which I really enjoyed over playing just rounds of elimination. The cleanliness of the fields, bathrooms and facility in general were far above what I expected. They clean the field every few rounds, so you are not ankle deep in paint and sliding all over.

Hours: I believe this field is open 6 days/week...can't complain about that. Furthermore, as it approached closing time, it seems like the refs were willing to stay until the players were finished.

Prices: Prices were reasonable; the quality of the fields and staff here make it worth every penny.

Staff: Everyone at this place was very helpful and friendly. The refs were among the best I have seen. They explained the rules well, maintained a safe playing environment, and ensured that everyone was having a good time.

Players: Since it was a week night, the place was not overly crowded, but that seemed to work out well. There was a good mix of new players and experienced ones, and teams were always divided fairly to ensure an equal chance.

Overall, this is the best place I have played at so far. The location is great, the fields are fun, and the staff is friendly.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

kpellon Thursday, February 17th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: February 13th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
NYC Paintball, Newbreed, On Target, Allstar, PSI, ABC, High Velocity, PB Depot, Cousins (multiple), Liberty, Yankee, Ironbound Outlaw, Oldbridge Outlaw, West Point, Skirmish...
Directions
to the Field:
Use Michele Road address as the address on Plank Road will leave you at the edge of the IZOD complex a good half mile away from the field.
Review: Safety & Staff:
The netting is brand new and special attention was paid to the field entry and exit areas so as to maintain extraordinary safety.

The staff makes sure that everyone keeps their barrel bags on before leaving the field and entering the field with goggles on. They are also very approachable and work hard at making everyone feel invited and having fun. This field does not seem to skimp on referees and staff.

They are so focused on safety that you must watch a safety video before playing in a dedicated "paintball safety theater." Very cool concept!

They chronograph every marker and check throughout the day to make sure everyone maintains the 250fps. I had never played at 250fps and I found that my marker accuracy was not affected but more importantly I didn't have that "beaten up" feeling I get every time I play other indoor paintball fields. The lower paintball speed made close quarter play much easier.

Fields:
Just for the record: I detest indoor paintball places. Having said that, this field blew me away. I never thought I could enjoy indoor ball until I played at Ground Assault. This field shows us just what a great indoor experience can be. These guys are at the top of their game.

The Pistol Field will give those players looking for that swat experience everything they are looking for. With offices and bank counters, it makes for fun CQB play. It is not what I usually play but I can see how the realism and props would make this fun. Also look out for the fish eyes mirrors to look around corners.

The Large Field was incredibly well designed. For a new field it was amazing how well gel-ed it played with all sorts of exciting gameplay. This field played like it had taken years of adjustments to make it perfect. It had something for everyone from beginner to veteran, making it fun for everyone. This field was so large I forgot I was indoors.

The L Shaped field offered some interesting play but still feels a little clunky not having found itself just yet. However bear in mind that in any other place this medium field would be perfectly adequate but because the other fields raised the bar to such a high level it is natural that it felt like it had not reached it's full potential.

Cleanliness:
Did I mention the fields were constantly being cleaned between sets of matches? It is the only time i returned from an indoor place and wasn't coated in paint.

Very clean set up areas and the cleanest bathrooms in the industry.

Amenities:
Whether your a player, a parent or a friend, this place provides many areas to relax even for those that are not playing. Order food or use any of the vending machines.

Did I mention a very cool "tech bar" where your marker can be serviced and repaired on the spot.

Hours:
They start early and are open late and are open during the week for those of us that need a midweek fix.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DaveAnyc Tuesday, February 15th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: February 13th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ground Assault is laid out ideally for the hardcore recballer who doesn't want to play tourney style, but enjoys the intensity of speedball. The juice you get from having to snapshoot and stay 110% awake is why airball can be so much fun, and this field provides it without the intimidation of having the other team ramping 13bps on you from Go. It's not a tourney field, but any player worth his balls will find it plenty exciting and challenging in different ways.
There are other indoor fields around, but anyone who wants to just have some fun and not worry so much about being lit up by a tourney team, will find this to be a great place to play ball. They split the groups into levels, so newbs and rentals will not have to worry so much about jerks who want to just shoot faces off of squids. For those tactically minded, the field has many secret ways that can be exploited and explored, which is fun since the usual airball indoors is pretty straight forwards. This field has all kinds of little tricks to it.
All Star PB is the best other indoor field around, but it's all tourney style. NYCPB in queens is fun, but smaller and laid out like a tourney field without enough space. GA is laid out more like a theme field and there's enough space to play ball.
Directions
to the Field:
GPS directions work- 245 Michele Place. But check the website in the Directions section to be sure. We used the 245 Planters Planck or something like that and ended up on the wrong side of 3. The online directions are straight forwards and tell you what GPS setting to use.
Apparently there's a NJTransit bus161 out of Port Authority NYC that goes 3 blocks from the field! That's great for us NYCers without wheels!
Review: Good field. Open weeknights and weekends. Priced decently.
Paint was fresh Heat and cheap enough. I used half a case and played tons of games. Since it's CQB you don't always shoot so much, and most games were hopperball for me.
Facilities are very clean. They're serious about keeping it clean too. You can still get a little slide going, but it's not like the indoor muck that accumulates on most indoor fields.
Three fields- Big Field One- break out from the corners (or center) leading to seriously fun fighting positions. Good solid cover, plus nice hidden movement lanes and secret shooting lanes, make this a very interesting and fun field.
Field Two- The Mall and Food Court. Brutal field with a choke point that you had better crawl through if you want to get to the other side. And if you get to the otherside, they're not going to be to glad to see your barrel pointing at them cuz no-one expects someone to crawl through! Very fun field with great looking arrangement and props.
Field Three- The Bank, limited to pistols and pumps because this is a real hardcore tactical swat field. You don't go into the bank unprepared and psyched up. for those tac-teams this is a dream come true or a nightmare as you try to get into the bank against any kind of bad guy who's still standing. Haha, it's actually going to be a real proving ground to those guys who like to dress in black and pretend their a tactical squad. But with practice it could really define that team.
TechBar is well stocked and the head tech Joe is an old hand at fixing guns, especially cockers!
Refs kept the games rolling, and the cleanup squad was always out there wiping things down and keeping the field clean.
Good staging areas laid out by color so when it's packed they can keep newbs and rentals in one area, and veteran players in another. Lots of tablespace. Vending machines and a waterfountain and restrooms with room to change in.
Didn't see so many tourney guys, but plenty of recballers and everyone was pretty friendly.
They're setting up some league stuff, including Pumps and pistols as well as Tactical Team stuff. Should be fun, and the proximity to NYC means it's going to be a regular place for me.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media