paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Friendly Fire Paintball Field / Friendly Fire Paintball Field / Friendly Fire Paintball Field / Friendly Fire Paintball Field

Friendly Fire Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
96Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 108 Grove Street
Upton, Massachusetts 01568
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Iram Saturday, November 1st, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: October 18th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fox4
Maynard
Boston Paintball Indoor
Monster Paintball
Review: ===Prices===
(as of 10/28/08)
- Self equipped full day package, including lunch and a case of Diablo Heat: $60
- Self equipped full day package, including lunch and TWO cases of Diablo Heat: $90
- Self equipped half day package, a cases of Diablo Heat: $45
- Self equipped full day entry and air: $25
- Self equipped half day entry and air: $15
- Rental full day package with lunch and 500 paintballs: $45
- Rental half day package with 500 paintballs: $30
- Rental full day package with lunch and 1000 paintballs: $60
- Rental half day package with 1000 paintballs: $45.
- 2000 round case of Diablo Heat: $60
- 1000 round half case of Diablo Heat: $35
- 500 round bag of Diablo Heat: $20
- 250 round bag of Diablo Heat: $13
- Jumpsuit Rental: $5
- Paint Grenade: $6


===Hours===
Games run from 10 AM to 3:30 PM. Half day packages run from either 9:30 to 12:00 or from 12:00 to 3:30. The gates open at 8 AM. Iíd recommend showing up around 9 AM in order to get your rental gear (if renting) or chrono your marker (if not renting). They generally break for lunch, though if there are a lot of people the speedball field may stay open for lunch.


===Woodsball Field===
Friendly Fire has one large woodsball field. The field consists of a village thatís approximately 150 feet by 200 feet and boarders the speedball field (there are nets in between), surrounded on three sides by woods. The woods on the edges of the field contain six individual forts spaced out along the edges of the field. There are a fiew small streams with bridges, though none are more than a foot deep or more than six feet across at the widest point. The total field area is 14 acres. A not-to-scale field map can be found at http://www.friendlyfire-paintball.com/version3/images/map.ht
m.

All of the forts are 4+ wall, single story structures made of plywood, board, and cut logs. There are also several 4-sided buildings in the village that feature windows and multiple doors. Most of the forts have a couple 1- or 2-walled bunkers set around them that can be used effectively by both attackers and defenders. Some of the smaller bunkers are just piles of logs or stones. They also have two gutted helicopters on the field that are used as bunkers.

The field mostly free of hazards. There arenít any dangerous outcroppings, cliffs, swamps, or any other natural terrain thatís likely for a player to break an ankle on.

The field is large enough that you can play some good games that involve sneaking around or flanking if thatís your style, but itís still small enough that you canít get lost.


===Woodsball Game types===
In general, all of the Friendly Fire games have a 20 minute time limit and are ďfull fieldĒ, meaning you can use the entire 14 acres during the game. The time limit gives players enough time to go around the whole field to flank the oposition and still have time to shoot when they get there, while preventing games from turning into a slow stalemate.

Each day starts out with two attack/defend games, where one team will have to defend a flag in the village, while the other team will start at a random fort and have 15 to 20 minutes to get to the flag.

Thatís generally followed by several ďcapture the flagĒ style games where each team starts at one of the forts with a flag, and needs to capture the other teams flag while defending their own. Usually there will be one game where each team starts with a flag and has to simply deliver their flag to the other teamís base. Occasionally they also run a centerflag game where you need to grab the flag in the middle and deliver it to the enemy base.

Right before lunch they run a game called ďfootlageĒ. Itís basically a centerflag game played just within the village. Since both teams are limited to the village, you start out within shooting rage of the other team. This ends up playing a lot like a speedball, just with different shapped bunkers.

The afternoon usually contains a special attack/defend game based around Tower Fort. In this game, one team has to stay near Tower Fort while the other team has to deliver a ďbombĒ to the fort. In the past they have used an old ammo box and a bomb, but the last time I was there it was a large beach ball. Iíve only seen the defenders win this once, but itís always a fun game. Iíve somehow never ended up on the attacking side of this one.

There is usually also a ďInvasion of NormandyĒ game in the afternoon where one team is limited to a fort at the top of a hill and the other team has to clear them out. Generally the defenders win this, but itís still a fun and challenging game.

The last game of the day is usually a copy of footlage, but with required bunker moves. About every ~5 minutes during the game, the refs will blow a wistle/horn, and at that point EVERYONE needs to move to a new bunker. While this sounds strange, in practice it doesnít seem to make a difference because most people move more often that than anyways. The game plays out a lot like footlage.


===Speedball Field===
The speedball field is a relatively small airball field appropriate for 3 man teams. Generally there is a home and two back bunkers on each side, a snake thatís close to the staging area, and either another snake or a few dorritos on the other side, and a few bunkers scattered in the middle. The speedball field is generally only used if there are enough players that are interested. Iíve seen days where there was a line for speedball, and Iíve seen days where they didnít even setup the speedball field. If youíre looking JUST to play speedball, Iíd recommend going to Friendly Fire on a Sunday when there are usually more people, or go to a field like Maynard or Fox4 that has a bigger speedball crowd.

Personally Iíve never played on the speedball field at Friendly Fire, so I canít give a good review of it. The field itself is just sand with airball bunkers. Iíve actually seen someone have sand coming out of their barrel after crawling down the snake, and I donít want to subject any of my guns to that kind of punishment.


===Food and Drink===
The burgers are one of the best tings about Friendly Fire. When you initially register, you have the option to buy lunch for $5 (itís included in most of the all-day packages) When you purchase, you need to tell them which kind of lunch you want. Lunch consists of either two slices of pizza, two hot dogs, or the best angus hamburger or cheesburger youíve ever eaten. All are served with a soda or bottled water, and gator aid is available for $1 extra. They also sell sodas for $1, gatoraid for $2, and occasionally have homemade brownies or other small snacks for $1.

Games stop in the middle of the day for lunch. In general, you can grab a burger or hot dogs early as they are cooked right there by the Friendly Fire staff. The pizza is delivered from a local shop, so you need to wait until that arrives if youíre having pizza.


===Field-Specific Rules===
- On the woodsball fields, gun hits donít count.
- Chrono limit is 280 fps.
- Barrel tagging counts.
- If you get within 10 feet of another player, you have to offer them a surrender, but they do NOT have to take it. Personally I dislike this rule. When you offer someone a surrender, it gives them the initiative. Boston Paintballís approach of making surrenders required works much better.


===Staff===
The field staff is friendly and helpful. The refs run a great safety orientation at the beginning of the day and right after lunch (for people only playing a half day, from lunch to close). They do a good job of explaining the special rules for each woodsball game in the staging area, and then again out on the field before each game starts.


===Special Events===
Friendly fire runs a series of 3-man speedball tournaments each year. Last year they also ran I scenario game. The scenario game they did was well run and had plenty of missions to keep everyone busy. If they run another scenario game, I will definately attend.

I canít comment about the tournaments because I havenít been to one at this field.


===Paint and Gas===
Field paint is Diablo Heat, with better paint available for self equipped players for extra money. Self equipped players can bring their own paint. Players with high end guns will find the paint harder than you would like (it bounces more of other players), but thatís needed in order to allow good operation in blowbacks that are rougher on paint.

Rental guns are Model 98s with gravity feed hoppers, 47ci 3k HPA tanks, and a 2-pod pouch.

Unlimited HPA fills are included with the price of entry. There is an extra $2 fee for all-day CO2. They usually only fill up to 3k psi for HPA.


===Proshop===
Friendly Fire does not have an attached proshop. They do sell some items such as barrel bags, masks, and tanks, but they donít have a wide selection. If youíre after something specific, Iíd recommend checking out one of the other stores in the area. Fox4 is only a few miles from Friendly Fire and has a full proshop.


===Conclusions===
If youíre in eastern or central Massachusetts, Iíd highly recommend checking out Friendly Fire for woodsball. If youíre a hardcore speedballer, you may not like their speedball field, but you should come by to at least give footlage a try. Personally I think that Friendly Fire is the best woodsball field in the area. The staff is friendly, the field is well layed out, and the prices are reasonable.
Last edited on Saturday, November 1st, 2008 at 4:48 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

hit man Saturday, September 27th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: September 20th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
to many to list
Review: I have been playing over 20 years. started when there was only pump guns. i have been to this field many times with my son . but the last two times i have been there i have felt very uneasy letting my son on the field. i was there a month ago when i witnessed a player get shot an started to bleed from the mouth and arm. today we went back .the same two guys were there my son was scared .the first game we went out my son was shot and my self .we were both bleeding i told the ref did NOT seem to care until i insisted that he crono there guns. and of course one was shooting HOT the ref told us those were bleeders. it happens ALL THE TIME maybe on there field because they do a very pour job at checking all the guns i have been on many fields over my 20 years playing and yes thing do happen an it is not the first time i have bled but when the field does not care about the safety of the players. it is time to get off there field. and last the field paint is very pour bring your own paint when you go .and yes you can bring any kind of paint they do not care .what you use not like most fields but again there is no safety on this field at all .
Last edited on Saturday, August 20th, 2011 at 2:27 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ionicballer Monday, August 18th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: August 10th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fox4
I like Friendly Fire better.
Directions
to the Field:
Enterance is hidden and kinda small. pretty far back.
Review: Safety 10/10 - They're really strict about it which is nice, I don't feel like blasting a 9 year olds face off.

Field 9/10 - Pretty nice, needs more bunkers especially in some areas. Speed ball is nice but no more than 5 on 5 or its pretty dumb.

Time 9/10 - Wish it went longer, whatever still have fun

Prices 8/10 - Paint is kinda expensive so is the food... free air and $2 all day co2

Rules 10/10 - Just regular

Services 10/10 - Pretty nice they try helping you and what not and are registered from smart parts

Proshop 9/10 - Decent, a bit overpriced but carries everything you need.

Staff 8/10 - Some are cool but some are complete jerks.

Refs 7/10 - Some are un-responsive and don't make proper calls especially when I give someone a new mask color, I usually have to tell them to go to them.

Players 7/10 - Some obnoxious minorities sometimes cause trouble... they cheat too. A few players cheat here and there.

Food 9/10 - Pretty damn good pizza, two slices and a drink for 5 bucks kinda alot but you're damn hungry.

I recommend this field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

girkyman Friday, May 2nd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: April 26th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fox 4 - Same type of setup , both really good fields...
Canobie - I haven't played there in awhile but it was pretty decent.
Directions
to the Field:
Keep an eye open for the turn off of the main road...
Review: Obviously safety is a huge concern... their speedball field is decent, but the worst part about it is the fact that its on dirt and not turf...their woods courses are awesome...they have a great variety of games that are mostly objective based. i guess i would complain about how big their woodsball fields are because i end up wheezing from runnign across a big sctretch of woods before i fire a shot...but i suppose thats a good thing..the staff in knowledgeable and they are willing to diagnose your gun if your having minor problems... the lack of a proshop is a slight downer, but on the other hand they have everythign you may need for a day of paintball...batteries, squeegies, all the necessary stuff. The prices are damn good for this area, and you really get your money worth. The ref's are calling you to line-up for the next game 10 mins after you just sat down chatting about how many times you got lit up...the lunch is cheap, and works great for fueling up for the last half-day of play. All in all this is a great field, and they can accomodate large parties well! we'll see you there!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

FriendlyFirepb Monday, August 6th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: July 12th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fox 4
Providence indoor
warriors pball
monster pball
Unhallowed pball
Directions
to the Field:
MapQuest works best.
Review: Safety:9. They are verry concerned with safety.

Prices:7 The prices are fair enough.

Fields:8 There are two fields. Speed and woods. Personally, I like how the woods area is set up, but not the speed.

Food:9 I loved the food. For two dollars you can get two hotdogs and a soda, pizza with a soda, or a hamburger with soda. The food tasts good too!

Rules:9 The rules are pretty much the same as any other place.

Hours:9 You can get so many hours in if you pay for a full day.

Cenario pball is the best there. The Manager is so nice. My friend bot a have day and his gun didnt work for like an hour so the manager gave him a full day. The woods ball field is like 10 acrs atleast. Great places to hide for snipers.
All in all, this is the best place to go.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

OffLightsEdge Monday, May 14th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 5th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fox4 (Haven't been there yet)
P&L Paintball in Bridgewater
Directions
to the Field:
Mapquest works fine. The field entrance sneaks up on you though.
Review: Alright, I'll start off by saying that I had a good time despite my complaints about the field. Overall they're not bad, but they could use a little help.

Safety: 9 Its their number one priority and they make it clear.

Fields: 7 Cool fields even though I sank ankle deep into solid looking mud.

Prices: 7 Fair, nothing spectacular.

Refs and other Staff: 6 While they made safety their priority they also didn't even try to make the teams fair. I was on a team with literally 15 kids under the age of 14, and the other team had a bunch of big guys and late teenagers with a bunch of experience. The staff didn't seem to want to talk to you with the exception to the air-hut worker, and I personally don't think that being so apathetic helps anyone.

Proshop: 0 Because there isn't one.

Facilities: 3 Outhouses? Sick, really. They even look sketchy from the outside.

Food: 6 They had pizza, not great pizza but pizza nontheless. Drink selection is pretty good.

All in all I think there were just way too many players on the field at any one time making it hard to make sense of your goal and harder to accomplish it with little or no teamwork among the players. Overall I think I give this place and 6 out of 10.
Last edited on Monday, December 3rd, 2007 at 10:06 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

sdrpaintball Monday, April 23rd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: March 22nd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fox 4 (never been there)
Directions
to the Field:
I just remember to turn left or right
Review: Great great great great great great great, I went there yesterday (3-22-07) and it was so great.The refs are great.The admission price is great, the paint though is a little pricey, I don't like that but other than that everything is great for me. The ref's ensure a great safe and fun day. My only complaint was that once this 10 year old on my team shot me twice from 3 feet away and he didn't have to leave. I was pissed, but it was an accident, but i still wish he had to leave that round.Pizza there is the best pizza I've ever had.Great place go there I'll add more but i'm to tired to now.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pballer4190 Friday, April 6th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: March 31st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
fox 4
Directions
to the Field:
right after a turn, its on ur right. watch out, cuz itll sneak up on ya
Review: This field is so awesome! i went there on opening day and it was so much fun. ok, so lets get down to business......

Safety: very strict, but they should be. i don't think any field wants to be known for a kid losing their eye.

Field: awesome. big field with lots of forts and different terrain. they have thick woods to open villages. its good for every type of player.

Prices: excellent. i played for $25 and am able to come back again for free because of a special they had i guess. free day of paintball is good for me, ill take it.

Rules: they explain every game in detail, and if u don't understand, the refs will answer any question u want with sincerity.

Services: they have bathrooms, a small proshop, and food all around the same area. so its not like u hafta walk a far way and miss a game because you have to buy a barrel condom. everything is right there so it makes it extremely easy to just pick sumthing up. they dont have a lot of stuff to buy, but they have the necessities.

Staff: very friendly. always willing to help you out and explain stuff to you. if you don t understand, they will go out of their way to help you. guys in the fill station are very friendly and help you out. when i came last year, i needed an o-ring for my tank and they gave me one for free instead of charging me like...$5 for them. they said i could have it because it was my birthday, even though it wasn't. haha.

Refs: awesome, awesome, awesome. they are always around and are willing to risk getting hit for your safety. and they are fun to talk to. they are just ordinary people and like to laff and joke around just like the players. on the field they are serious and watch for safety. off the field they are chill and like to have a good time.

Players: range from 10 year olds to 60 year olds. all different skills. the team numbers werre a little lopsided, but we kept winning anyways. we had like, 20 less people, but we kept winning. we prolly just had more experience on our side. players are also all nice and willing to help you out if u need something.

Facilities: a wide variety of snacks in the concession stand if u get hungry and need a quick fix. i dont know what people were talking about with the bathrooms........theres a full working girls and boys bathroom just a small walk away. they have an outhouse, but about 4 steps away is the other bathrooms with working toilets.

Games: huge variety of diff games. attack and defend, ctf. raise the flag, speedball. all very fun and interesting.

In all, i love this field. its not so big that you get lost, and its not small either. got enough cover and brush if u wanna sneak and flank, or you can battle in open spots like the village. very fun and i plan on going back once i get more money.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

20paintball26 Tuesday, April 3rd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 31st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
not sure
Directions
to the Field:
parents drive
Review: Well the first time i went to play were it was ok when we were playing but i only played 3 to 4 games because the refs take way to long to start a game. the gun techs are pretty cool but there's one who is kinda mean but hes human. the hours aren't that great because its not open that long, i wish it was open longer. this place is huge and it could hold so many people. but when there is a lot of people the teams are never equal. i was on the blue team with almost 30 to 40 people and the red team had about 50 to 60 people so it wasn't to fair..... The field is great, you can play many different games on the huge field. what i think they should do is make one big fort and play attack and defend because that is a great game to play. but i do have to say that this is one of the best fields that i'v played at for a long time thank you a lot have a nice day
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

pve8400 Sunday, April 1st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 1st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Randolph Paintball
Review: This place is phenomenal. The refs keep games very interesting, the field is huge and more than able to handle any players that show up all at the same time, there is a great mix of players, great prices if you have your own gear ($25), they have periodic deals (me and my brother played there for two full days this weekend for only $50), the technicians are GREAT (the guy there taught me and my brother how to properly clean our spyder mr-2s being that we had done piss-poor jobs) and work for free as long as you've paid entrance, and everything is just great in general. A couple of people complain about the bathrooms but the outhouse they have there is pretty ok for guys at least. The food isn't great either but its tolerable. My only complaint is that the first day I was there they let teams become lopsided and the games became too easy because we outnumbered our opponents by about 20 people. However, that seemed to be a one-time problem because it was corrected the second day I went. It is a great place to go have fun and play good paintball.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media