paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Combat Zone Paintball Park / Combat Zone Paintball Park / Combat Zone Paintball Park / Combat Zone Paintball Park

Combat Zone Paintball Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
29Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 530-533-5300
Address: 4444 Pacific Heights Road
Oroville, California 95965
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Wish_I_Was_Good Thursday, April 29th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: April 24th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Deans before it moved
Review: This place has definitely change since my last time and this most recent time out. I took about a 3 year break from paintballing, and CZ has definitely improved.
Since I have been there last they have probably doubled their size. There used to be 2-3 fields, now there are at least 5.
Also the refs/staff have improved. Back when I went a lot it seemed like it was run by just a bunch of punks who really did not care about the customers, just wanted to shoot their own guns. It was impossible to get someone to ref your game, even if you were the only group at the field that day. Now there is AT LEAST one ref per game (many times we had 3 refs out with us). The staff also much friendlier.

Prices went up slightly, but it is pretty much the only course for about 100 miles (that I know of).


All in all, its a fun place to go, but do not expect a super high (skill) level of play or fields.
Last edited on Thursday, April 29th, 2010 at 12:35 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

brianKBI Monday, March 16th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: January 27th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
deans
Review: Combatzone is the best place to go for good woodsball if you live in Buttecounty. It has great fields and great staff. it cost $20 for admission with your own gear and $25 or $30 for rentals and admission. Its a great place for a birthday party and tons of fun. i did have a bad time with some of the refs. they were listining to ipods and texting and i had to scream at one when he was 5 feet away because of his ipod. only fun when u get the good refs and that doesnt happen to often
Last edited on Sunday, April 5th, 2009 at 4:12 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tummynator Friday, July 6th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: April 15th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Boot camp
Deans
Vietnam
Wood ball areas
Review: Well combat zone is a great place to start playing paint ball if you are new. They have alot of pretty cool fields behind the trees and stuff. Prices for playing has raised to 20$ which is sorta a rip off. And some of the rental guns really blow ... But they are tippmanns so it doesnt matter. The rental and entry fee is 30$. Some of the staff is pretty cool there is one dude that is like bored and slacks off but hes cool. The rules arent too strict ... Although they dont go over them so you are expected to know some.
Overall i think this is a pretty good field because the first time i played there it was really fun and they gave away free stuff.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jamaka Tuesday, June 5th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 13th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ghetto Field Highway 32- paintball basic training
Oroville Wildlife Refuge- special ops, jungle insurgent training, navy seal tactics.
Review: Combat Zone.
Pros- The only legal paintball field within 30 miles from where I live. Combat Zone usually has a good turn out of people on the weekends. My friends and I usually go Sundays and Sundays usually have about 40-50 people. We went one Saturday and there was about 60-70 people. Some weekends they have events, so expect almost 100 people.

Cons- The price for field entry use to be $15 dollars, which was fine for a decent paintball field, but they raised the entry fee to $20. For $20 on a under staffed and unprofessional field, I'd say its not worth the drive.
I have my own marker, but if you rent one, just watch out. My brother rented a Tippman 98 that had all sorts of different screws attaching the gun together. In addition, his hopper was falling off because of missings screws. He didn't care because it still shot fine so he didn't return it. Crono, ha, thats a hoot. They tell you to crono your gun, but no one cares. I've seen plenty of people come to the crono machine and shoot above 285 FPS and just walk in. I admit, I do it too. Whats point of cronoing your marker at 285 FPS while everyone is above 285 FPS, right? UPDATE: They still don't check when you crono.(4/13/08) Parking can become a pain if you show up late. Bring your own tent, no shade in the parking lot.

Fields-
I don't play speedball too much, but the speed ball field is small. I say 40 yards length by 15 yards width at most. Airbag bunkers, dorritos,etc. UPDATE: The air bags look even in worst shape then they did before. Some were flat. (4/13/08)
The woodsball field is pretty cool, lots of cover, a few army trucks you can hide behind and on. Lots of gallon drums and satellite disc you can hide behind also. Lots of tree cover, so plenty of shade. Problems with the woodsball field is limited tactics. The key to winning is the take and hold a small mound/hill that basically gives firing range in most directions. The field, in a ways, leads to the middle, so most of the shooting takes place there. If you have any good tactics, pull it off on the very first game because after that its back to taking the mound/hill.
The ammo crate fields is fun to play on. There is 3 small separated ammo crate fields, but if you have enough people, 14+ and the ref is cool, you'll be able to play on all 3 at once. So it becomes a 100+ by 40 yard field. Nothing special about the field, just some stacks on ammo crates, some metal or plastic boxes, and some plastic walls.
There is the Lego field which I've only played on a few times, so can't recall the details on it.
There is the another field which is a circle. I've only played on that field once, so once can't recall too much details except that it was really bushy.
Combat Zone has a few more fields, but they rarely let you play on them.


Staff:
UPDATE: Combat Zone hired a few more refs. If you want to start a game, just head over to the pro shop and get a ref.(4/13/08)
Pros-Some of the staff members are cool, they come and talk to you or your group. If you find yourself on a day where they have a event going or they are sponsering another paintball place (Foothill Paintball), you meet a lot of cool staff members that gives you tips, hints, etc.

Cons- Combat Zone is under staffed and unprofessional. My friends and I played on the woodsball field, it was 14 vs 15, and we only had one ref. So therefore lots of wiping and people kept going out of bounds. We also played on one other field. This field was the 3 small fields with lots of large metal ammo crates that makes up into one big field. Anyways, it was 10 vs 10 and we only had one ref, so once again, lots of wiping. I'm not just saying wiping to be a prick about Combat Zone, but when a guy wearing a wife-beater has a big green paint splat on his shoulder, runs behind a stack of ammo crates and comes with the green paint splat gone. Its kinda obvious some wiping took place. We watched a 4 vs 4 speedball game and there was 2 refs. They dont need 2 refs to watch a 4 vs 4 game on a 40 by 15 yard speedball field.
A few of the staff members, I think are there just to kill time. We were trying to get a 12 vs 12 game going. Players on both sides were waitng and picking sides, basically ready to play and the ref was just laying on the ground, waiting on who knows what. It wasn't just one game, but he did this almost every game that we played.
I don't know the guys name, but there is this skinny guy that works at the "pro shop". I went into the pro shop to buy some sodas and there was 4-5 other guys waiting on that skinny guy to pay for something. He was filling air on some tanks, so we waited for him. He clearly knew we were purchasing items, still we waited on him. All he had to do was stuck his head out the door to yell for some help and we would of been on our ways, but I ended up waiting 10 mins on this guy to finish what he was doing. The point is they are under staffed.


Conclusion-
Combat Zone is a fun place to play if you just started playing paintball. It's also a good place to hang out with your friends and shoot eachother. If you plan to enchance your game, I would recommend going somewhere else. Honestly, Combat Zone can do a lot better if they had more customer service and spent more time developing the place.
Last edited on Monday, May 5th, 2008 at 1:39 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

MR2 Woodsballer Thursday, March 8th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: March 3rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None in the area a couple scenario games in Southern Cali.
Review: I play alot of woodsball and their fields are awsome. I only played two fields all day and each and game was different. You can take a different approch every time. The staff is great very friendly and welcoming. Even if you have never been here before you will feal right at home. The only bad thing I could say about Combat Zone is they have little to no shop. Other than that this is a great field take a drive you won't regret it. One note: If you use air, the compressor is only there on Saturday and Sunday.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Iceman187 Wednesday, January 3rd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: December 31st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Lincoln
Review: This field had gone over some major renovations they just got a new manager and hes super cool he listens to what you want and like hes in the process of getting new air bunkers and building a new lego field and hes getting a climate control box so the paint is perfect hes really doing alot so if you've stopped by here before and didnt like it trust me try it now you'll love it you have my word
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

StrykerIon Monday, June 19th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 9th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Lincoln (they need to get there act together)
Review: Ok to start the review you should probable get to Combat Zone early or else finding a spot to park is near impossible.
Next the field set ups:

Lego: It always falls apart and is always been the same layout, but when you get a good game of 3 on 3 it's the bomb.

Airball: Awesome though it is a little small constantly being changed and currently they just bought a new set of bunkers, last time i saw some Extreme Rage and GAP bunkers.

Woodsball: I never play there but have walked it a couple of times seems good to me but i never play woodsball (just aint my type of play).

The staff is awesome and is focused on safety and fun, they are pretty understanding of dumb mistakes and really cool with anyone from the new guy/girl to a veteran but they do not tolerate cocky losers who focus on showing of there 4 letter words. The proshop ...well there aint one all there is in there is some little things batteries,barrel socks, gun cases, paint ect. They have rentals AKA tippys. The fill station is kinda old looking but does what it should (fill your tank) it only fills up to 3000psi ... but i've never tried to see if they will change it to fill to 4500psi. They do have Co2 fills.

If you have any ?s then there # is 533 5300 and there web site is www.combatzonepaintball.com
Last edited on Saturday, July 1st, 2006 at 5:58 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

robster55 Monday, March 27th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: December 26th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Lincoln Paintball and Sykes (Marysville, closed)
Review: This field has decent set up, but some of the refs are not that knowledgeable about the game.

The upside is that if you're in the mood for speedball, they've got plenty of SB fields. If you're in the mood for woods ball, they've got plenty of those, too.

The biggest downside to this field is they will close the park on some weekends for soft air tournaments, which puts a hamper on your weekend.

It costs $15.00 if you have your own gear and paint, and $25.00 for rental equipment, and field paint is reasonably priced.

The staff is fairly knowlegeable for the most part, however, I once brought a CO2 tank to be filled and they told me they could not do it because I had no pin valve. I had to point out the fact I was using a smart parts on/off valve to save o-rings.

One major plus for me (an avid lover of woods/speed ball mix) is that the games on the hill field (trucks, tires, a couple of big hills for bunkers) is that they were really intense. I was playing with a few newbies and even they got into the game more than I expected. Seems like the mix gets everyone's blood flowing good.
Last edited on Monday, March 27th, 2006 at 1:56 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ogilviedude Monday, February 20th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: February 19th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Review: This paintball park has really good fields, it's really fun to get a lot of people and combine two fields, the games just go on and on. The only bad thing about combat zone is that the refs do not do thier job. You have to rely on your teamates to tell you if you have gotten out because the refs will just look at you with a dumb look on thier faces.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintball4255 Monday, January 9th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: January 8th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
The only one
Review: From what i can tell Combat Zone is a great park.I live in Oroville so its easy for me to wake up and drive out there pay my $23 and play. I've always had great help there from when i started playing there to now being a experienced player. John(the owner) has always helped me in gun repair to just being a all around nice guy. For me ill always go to Combat Zone because of the service they provide and the all around great atmosphere it provides. Thanks to all the staff at combat zone for a great park.
Signed,
Nick Marlow
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media