paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Line of Fire Paintfields / Line of Fire Paintfields / Line of Fire Paintfields / Line of Fire Paintfields

Line of Fire Paintfields

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
42Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 828-891-2399
Address: 923 Gilreath Loop Rd
Horse Shoe, North Carolina 28742
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
davidh5751 Sunday, July 12th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 12th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Central Greenville (Wellford)
Red Fox
Outlaw woods ball
Directions
to the Field:
I used mapquest and the directions from the site...the site directions were killer and very helpfull
Review: Ok Ill list my review point….by point…

Safety…10 out of 10 …Safe areas are really---really safe….and hot areas are hot…
well organized, well posted and well enforced…Rules are clearly explained and make good sense… the only thing I found odd was I had to chrono at 260 or 265, but when I played the city field I understood why…it has the potential to create some very close quarters combat and did Several times…just make sure your marker can chrono that low

Fields…9 out of 10…I didn’t play every field…since it was a Sunday and I just randomly walked on there was a good size group but not big enough for the “big woods” field. We played the little woods field…the city and the speedball field each several times with different games ….at first glance the fields seemed kinda small and tightly packed…but don’t let that fool you they play very well and are good sized once you play em.

Hours of operation….10 out of 10…the hours are clearly posted on the website and were exactly what the web site said they would be (which is a super plus, some places aren’t) and the field is open far more then most

Prices…OMG…11 or 12 out of 10…They allow you to bring your own paint (with a small fee I think I’m not sure). To be honest I wouldn’t think of it …they have great prices on great paint the best I’ve seen so far…Field fee was less then 10$... all day air or CO2 less then 10$.... Like I said ..there paint prices are just super and I like to shoot evil or Marbilizer …they have a wide range of paint and prices…but that’s the cheapest I’ve bought GOOD paint for yet …even to go play outlaw

Rules…10 out of 10…Well posted well enforced as I stated in the safety section...Rules for each game were clearly stated…never once did I have to be the voice of reason. The other rules thing I’d mention you play with what you bring. I play on 10BPS psp…if you pay an extra $60 or 70$ (or more) to make your marker shoot faster or buy a faster marker….there like go ahead and shoot faster then…and I agree with that …Also this is barrel sock/condom only (as most places are) so no barrel plugs

Services….9 out of 10….if you need it for the most part they have it….which is completely new to me…you could come in, in a pair of shorts to play…and they have everything on site…markers for sale or rent/ pants-- jerseys…and any other accessories you could want or need…that was pretty impressive…I give them a 9 because if want food or drink (other then water) you better bring it. They had sodas somewhere, but I didn’t ask and they didn’t offer they have a concession booth but with so small a turn out it didn’t open

Pro-shop…10 out of 10…They had an onsite tech there the whole time hey was legitimately gunsmith-ing and a very knowledgeable and nice guy to talk too...while we were talking I was glancing at his work …everything… BT's, spiders and shockers and just really a-1 work… id let them work on my marker and I don’t say that much

Rentals… 10 out of 10…I didn’t rent any gear…but I looked over the rental markers pretty good…and they were top notch BT4’s, spyders and a couple other brands…they have tons of rental markers which in itself is impressive but they all look semi new

Staff…10 out of 10…just awesome ...really nice people looking to promote the sport in a good family way and help you any way they can

Refs…10 out of 10…Refs were good and experienced and enforced all the rules

Players…10 out of 10….exactly what you’d expect…really no cheating but a little crying…people are people dumb people play dumb etc…and quite a few kids …but no worse then anywhere else…and there players skill level is way up there…and I learned a thing or two or probably three and four

Facilities…8 out of 10…The parking thing was kinda weird… you park next to the street out front and when I first walked up…to be honest its not that impressive and looks kinda hookie but don’t be fooled or make quick judgements…Like most paintball places..your relished to a porta-jon so try and go before you leave the house or at a place on the way…but if you really gotta go…it was a clean porta-jon

Ok all in all a great field, especially (as stated below) to try out paintball with new players, or introduce people to the sport. Since the rental equipment I saw was so Nice id recommend this field as an active family activity for the whole family for anyone interested in trying paintball for the first time and encourage people to bring new players here

Thx to LOF and ill be back to your field again soon, and bring some friends
Last edited on Sunday, July 12th, 2009 at 10:21 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dragonghost Saturday, July 4th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 3rd, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Command 56-- My home field
pbc-- to commercialize
Outdoor Extreme-- great woods ball
Hwy 11-- Speed balls
Wolf Den-- Good woods ball
Review: Great field for the newbies. There is more safety stated on this field than most. I have seen no issues at all.
The field is not the biggest, but with all the builds that has been done, you will have so much fun. There is a small urban area, that has about 14 builds. Out of that, 4 of them are two stories. And with the rules that are inplace, making a trip up to the second floor, safe and worth the chance.
They have small woods and big woods as well. Both have a great section of wood that have little to no undergrowth. All is a fun playing area.
The hours are posted on the website.
Prices are great. One of the few fields that still allow you to bring your own paint.
The staff is top notch.

You will not be ill. you will need to go out and have alot of fun of this place.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

lofpbplayer09 Tuesday, June 2nd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 28th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
wolverine blackhawk
Review: well i started playing paintball at line of fire about 2 yrs ago.and let me be the first to tell you the minute i walked in that place ive never seen a place soo full of life and willing to help you with whatever you need the owner TOBY is a great guy he has soo much paintball expirence its not even funny anything you need he has the anser to.now onto the prices of the field man the prices are veryyyy resonable a case of paint is about 40 bucks and it is high end stinger paint the field condition is great very nice fields have been inproved over the years like i said everybody in that place will help you with whatever you need although the retail store is a bit small it is a great atmosphere for familys and such toby has alot of really nice stuff
HONESTLY THIS IS IN MY OPINION THE BEST PAINTBALL FIELD EVER I GIVE THIS A 10 BECAUSE IT DESERVES IT
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

GrizlyBear18 Monday, December 22nd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: July 18th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wolverine-pretty good fields, not really a fan of their shop. Great folks.
Review: I've played at LoF for roughly 3 years and only recently did I move to Wolverine. In the 3 years that I played there, I never once had a problem. Well other than the friendly disputes with a ref of two but come on most of the refs at LoF I'm pretty good friends with. Their shop is tiny and I can say that cause I'm a big guy but it is WELL stocked for bear. Toby is one of the best people I've ever had to work on my gun and hes a helpful guy too. He will actually tell you whats wrong with the gun and show you how to fix it. The first time I ever played was at LoF and what I know now as an unoiled bolt was giving me problems so I took my Triad to Toby and he told me what to do and showed me how to do it so that I didn't screw my gun up. Pops is a wizard when it comes to guns. Hes also a great guy. The rest of the staff will always help you out if you have a problem. The refs are ok. They aren't pros but they get the job done. Yeah they are teens but everyone starts somewere right? I can go to LoF and feel good and secure about the experience I get. In my book there is no one better. Bear gives it two thumbs way way up.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

LionheartJM Saturday, March 22nd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 15th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: I played at this field for the first time for my Bachelor's party. Overall it truly was a great experience. I had been there one time before but only to go to the store and to take a look around the field. The City field left my drooling and itching for the chance to snipe somebody from the top of one of the three two story buildings. The woodsball field (small) was pretty good although if you start on the side closest to the store you have a major advantage due to more bunkers and a better view of your opponent. I also played on a day when it rained profusely and everyone was fogging up, but for some reason it was still pretty fun. The only two things i had a problem with. They didn't have any changing rooms/bathrooms. It was pouring rain and I had to change in the middle of the road next to the place. AND i had to see my best man put on his cup right in front of the store. (I can still hear the screams at night) And the other serious thing is that the refs we had sucked. They were these little 14/15 year old kids who were on a serious power trip. If I got told to put my sleeve on my gun one more time I was going to shoot one of these kids in the face. I KNOW, I'M AN ADULT, I GET IT. jeez, and it was every time a game was over. I could have the thing in my hand getting ready to put it on my gun and they would still tell me that i have to put the thing on. Also they kept asking all of the people out there if they wanted to play airball. Okay everyone in our group was wearing camo and had some form of a scenario gun. No one wanted to play airball and they would not stop asking. Before the game they hype up their rules like no blindshooting, and always call for paintcheck. I called for paintcheck three times with a ref within 15 feet of me and not once did the little pre-pubescent child come over there. They wouldn't call anyone out and when we were in the city they just stood on top of the two story buildings and watched. The last game I shot one in the face (accidently, wink wink). They said we couldn't played up top ( meaning go upstairs on any of the two stories) just so they could keep their little newby ***** up there. These little pre-teen ******* almost ruined the whole day. Also there was this little 12 year old girl running rentals and other things and she had one of the piss poorest attitudes ever. She didn't mind letting you know she was pissed off. All this being said I'm still giving this place a seven because the city and woods are great, the store is great. Small, but great. Toby is the man, if every one of his employees were like him there would be no greater place to play. Thanks to my boys that came out with me i still had an excellent time, soaked clothes and all.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Briant392 Saturday, April 28th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: April 22nd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Review: Very good paint field. I love playing there, the owner treats our group like we are the only people there. I couldnn't even think of playing at another place. The woods, city, and air ball fields are great to play on (even though i'm not that good at airball).
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bangalore Sunday, April 22nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: April 21st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Played all across the southeast US.
Review: I have played on and off at Line of Fire for about 13 years, almost as long as I have played paintball. I have played in big games and tourneys across the Southeast US, and Line of Fire is hands down the best field I have ever played at. The city field has to be experienced by any pantball player at least once to be appreciated, and the theme days are like a big scenario game rolled into an afternoon. Toby, the owner/operator is an absolutely great guy who will do anything for anybody and honestly cares more about the sport of paintball than making a buck. If you are within a few hours driving distance, this field can't be beat.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

cmabry Sunday, April 22nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 29th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: Everybody has woodsfeilds, everybody has an airball feild, but nobody has a city course quite as impressive as Line of fires. The one time I played there it was snowing, my gun was acting up, and I was playing with some of my friends who play tourney airball. there was 4 of us so playing there was no reason to city, but it is still amazing. They also have an airball feild and 2 woodsball feilds. The retail store is small so have you have to squeeze in, but the selection is huge and the prices are good. They'll fix anything, especially if you have a tippmann. If they had to fix one thing it would be the size of the indoors place. If your in this area it would be a great choice.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nightwriter Wednesday, March 7th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: February 10th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wolvarine
Directions
to the Field:
Ashville Highway, on right if coming from I-26
past Mills River Resturaunt about 1 to 2 miles.
Review: As a paintball player i'm glad to have this field around, it's large enough too hold a good number of people but small enough that you get that one on one with the staff. Toby Joe is the coolest most helpful guy ive ever encounetred, every time my gun needs maintanence or i need to specail order something he always goes the extra mile. He's very honest and straightforward.
The field in my opinion is cool, but i've played on a farm my whole life-i love the city course and woods course, the speedball course could be better but i dont like speedball.
I hear people complain about the conditions like a porta Jon for a bathroom, well i dont go to line of fire to use the bathroom, go before you come.
Ive also heard people complain about inadequate food and drink, once again i dont go thier to snack, grab something from Bk on the way.
The theme days are awsome and so are the people, some people may have different experiences at LOF, but paintball is no different from every other sport in that players have good and bad days, perhaps you had a bad day there-that shouldnt discourage you from playing there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheMasterChief Wednesday, January 24th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: January 19th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wolverine, Carolina Extreme, and Black Hawk
Review: I have played at LOF for about 3 years now and I have never had a serious problem there. The worst part is the shop. For people that use c02 life sucks because you have to wait in a big line of people getting ready to play, buying paint, etc. before you can get down there to fill up your tank. The field paint there is actually pretty good. I play on LOF's team and thats what we use for practice it's also pretty reasonably priced at $40 a case. The reffing staff (including myself) is always willing to help and there is ALWAYS an experienced ref there. The majortiy of the players there are nice and respectful to everyone. Toby will always help you out and Pops will aswell. They always have plenty of drinks (gatorade, root beer, yoo-hoo, coke etc.), snacks (beef jerkey, star burst, and skittles, nachos etc.), and pizza. Unfortunately there is no real bathroom. There is a port-a-jon outside that all the players have to use. The theme days are also fun but if you plan on going to one remember to preregister, if you don't then you'll be waiting in line for a good 30 minutes if your lucky before you get to get registered and be able to buy paint. You can also pay for your all day air (which is 8 for c02 10 for compressed air tanks) and paint before the theme day and pick it up at the concessions window. In addition to that it is very easy to fill compressed air tanks they have two filling stations set up on the field that players can use to eliminate frequent trips in and out to refill. LOF is also one of the most safety oriented fields around. Barell socks are required in all safe areas or one of the refs will put a pink tag on your mask. That means that you have had one offense so far that day and you have to sit out one game. If the ref sees you do it again then you have to leave the field for the rest of the day. The same goes for wearing masks on the field. In addition to that there is an observation both beside the building where parents or other spectators can watch the speedball games. Overall I give LOF a 9 out of 10
Last edited on Wednesday, January 24th, 2007 at 5:01 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media