paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Velocity Paintball Field / Velocity Paintball Field / Velocity Paintball Field / Velocity Paintball Field

Velocity Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
62Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: Warnock Dr and San Vicente Rd
Ramona, California 92065
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Windtaunter Saturday, October 29th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 29th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
First time in years in SoCal.
I play in Washington State, Montana, Virginia, Oregon, and Hawaii.
I have been playing for 25+ years, and like playing at rec ball fields.
When away from my home field, I usually bring my own mask and just use a rental marker.
Review: Very well managed field.
They're focused on new and rec players. Perfect if you want to play casual games.
Good central staging area. Very safe and well layer out.
Prices in line with the other local fields.
They turn the games around pretty quickly.
Te paint was fresh and the rental gear was in good order.
Local players are friendly and fun.

They get my highest rating - I'd play there again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

wolflord1 Monday, May 2nd, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: April 30th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Camp Pendleton - (Haven't tried the new fields yet), Jungle Island - (Haven't been up there in years), Weekend Warriors -(Bought by Giant Paintball and haven't played there in years either)
Directions
to the Field:
Hwy 67 to Dye Road, follow it around until you come to the park. The entrance is surrounded by trees and the park is easy to miss if you haven't been there before.
Review: Ok, I'm just now getting back into the sport of paintball. I used to play at Velociy a lot back in the early 2000's and it was always a good time. At the height of the sport about 5-6 years ago, this place would pop-off with hundreds of paintball players every weekend.

Well, with the crash of the economy it seems that the sport of paintball has taken a huge hit, however I'm happy to say that Velocity paintball has not been one of the casualities.

My friend and I drove up there and got to the park about 8:30 AM. Since the walk-on safety speech wasn't till about 9:30 we had about an hour to tinker with our guns, load our paint, and check our chrono. The nice part about parking at Velocity is that the parking lot has picnic tables near trees with shade and is in the center of the whole park with a short walk to each field.

The Price - You really get your money's worth at Velocity. Walk-on players with their own gear pay $20 to play which seems to be the standard, but it is only just $5 for air for the entire day. If you need to rent gear, it is just $10 more. Plus, you can bring your own paint, or just buy some at the field since they sell it for the same price that you would buy it at their stores.

Fields - Velocity has a little bit of everything for every type of player. They have concept fields with hyperball/speedball as well as some of the best woods-ball fields you will find anywhere in Southern California. The fields are big with room to move about and accomodate both large groups as well as the smaller private ones. That type of varitey Velocity has in their fields keeps everyone happy from the guys with the $1000+ electros to the guys with rental gear.

Food / Facilities - Velocity has a stand where you can purchase the usual candy bars, bottles of water, soda, and Gatorade. They can also sell things like barrel plugs, batteries, o-rings, and elbows. However, the best part is that during the lunch hours, they have a bbq stand set up for burgers and such that is awesome. I literally ate one of the best burgers in my life from this bbq stand... I even made the joke that I should drive up to the paintball field on off days just for lunch!

Refs / Mgmnt - Very professional. In fact, I don't think in all my years of playing paintball that I have ever encountered more professionalism in a paintball park. EVERYONE of their staff was kind and helpful from the Compressed-Air filling station, to the front counter, to the refs on the field. There were no arrogant attitudes, no grumpy people that wished they were somewhere else. Everybody was cool and very helpful.

Closing - If you haven't played paintball before, or have not played in a long time, you really need to go check out Velocity Paintball Park up in Ramona. I took a long time away from the sport, and after one trip back to play up at Velocity I'm hooked again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tyler916 Wednesday, March 11th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: March 7th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Mr paintball giant mir mar
Directions
to the Field:
15 to 67 then ramona then walkburn or something like that JUST LOOK IT UP!!!!!
Review: Its a great field. This is one of the best places that i have been too. There area like 4 teams from velocity. Everyone their is nice and they have stuff for everyone. They hav walk on woddsbal which is Novice, intermediate, and ADvanced. They also have walk on concept which they alwasy need people for. This place has a lot of fields. 2 airball and 2 hybperball. Hyperball is with pipes and spools for anyone who doesnt know what that is. And if you dont know what airball is then you need help. But yea anyways great place. If you are good and need a team this is a good place for you. If you want to get active with people that play their like me go to www.velocitypaintball.com AND JOIN the forums. Lots of stuff happens, sales, buyers, discussion, tryouts etc. So yea come play.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

_turbo_ Wednesday, August 13th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: August 9th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
There is Camp Pendleton I don't really like woods so I went to Velocity... but Camp Pendleton is remodeling to be like a paintball training facility, well see.
Directions
to the Field:
Directions are easy to obtain. Just keep your eyes alert for the sign, it is easy to miss.
Review: Safety: They are good on safety however you do see on occasion the refs taking their mask off them self.

Prices: To play it is reasonable but I do believe it should cover air. Capitol Edge in Sacramento does this and air is covered until you pack up and leave. Its about 20 bucks an air card and 20 punch holes. And its one punch hole per psi. I think that pretty expensive esp if you play all day and need to fill your tank after about two games.
Buy paint off the field its cheaper.

Staff/Ref: The majority of the refs are teenagers.

Fields: They have a wide variety and good fields. I have been playing there for a while now I just like playing the nppl and x-ball field. However a couple times they didn't have the nppl field till about 12pm.

Facilites: The women's portable restroom is keep up, but not the mens. They should air freshener in all of them. They need to invest in new air blowers to blow up the bunkers and new bunkers. The bunkers deflate after every game and there is always a 10 to 20 min delay between games because of this.





My story: About years ago this was the place to go, but this place has been going down hill ever since from what I've seen this year (2008) When I come out it just isnt that busy anymore. Staff, they are easy to get along with. However, they seem to be way too laid back for a business. They refs they have are all kids 20 and younger the least! I don't think they have been trained properly.
example: A game is going and there are three refs, sometimes all of the refs are on only one side. If you ask to do a paint check on your opponent they lag. So during the time the ref is lagging that same opponent may hit you out, even though you hit them way before. What happens? You are both out! Ridiculous. I don't even know if they are even paid well or even at all.

Tournaments:
I haven't played in a tournament here, but as a supporter of a team that plays in the tournaments I would say don't play here unless you are sponsored by Velocity. It is not worth your money and if you want a good experience, don't.
The refs are also players from other sponsored team by velocity. So if they had to make a call between a sponsored team and one that is not... isn't it obvious that they may/ will be some favoritism?? Note that they are all friends. You just get that "vibe", if you watch closely. Again with the paint check situation, has happened every single tournament.
You think the owner would think about the possibility of this happening, guess what they don't care. It is never guaranteed a fair game.

I don't know what happen this season but my field rating went from a 7 to a 2 won't be my number one field to go to anymore.
If you chose to try out this field... just see for your-self.
They need to get there stuff together...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

shadow474747 Saturday, November 24th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 23rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Don't know. Was only visiting the area.
Directions
to the Field:
Once you know your almost there, make sure not to miss the road as it can be a little hard to see at first.
Review: Staff/Ref's-- The staff at the counter was very friendly and helpful. The girls behind the counter seemed to be happy to be there which is good because it was Black Friday. The Ref's were very good.I give props to the new Asian Ref. (Sorry I forgot your name) He was very good at what he was doing. He one time ran more than 3/4ths of the way across the field just to check me for paint that I didn't even realise hit me. The only problem with the Ref's was the girl ref (Once again, sorry I forgot your name) didn't seem to notice the guy 20 feet ahead of her get hit and not call himself out. This happend about twice. Only one more problem that I will mention below. Otherwise all was good. 8/10

Safety-- Safety was very well enforced in staging area and the target area by the girl behind the counter yelling at people to put their masks and barrel plugs on. They made everyone listen to their safety speech. The only real problem here is that sometimes when people were out and waiting for the game to end, they would take their mask off during the game with the Ref's standing right next to them. I almost wished that a paintball would hit them I the eye. Other than that, barrel plugs were always in after games and in the staging areas. 7/10

Fields-- There are about two dozen fields but I only played on 15 of them. The Airball fields were not set up. All of the fields were good except I really disliked the field past the Spool field up the hill. All it mostly boiled down to is who is the better camper at the back each side the best. For some reason I really liked field 6, the Woodsball field with the creek running through it. It was my favorite. Other than the three Hybird fields (A mixture of Woodsball and Spools) the two Airball fields, and the Hyperball field, (Made up of black tubes) it is all Woodsball. Thats a good thing for people (Like me) who like Woodsball and a bad thing for those people who only play Airball. Also I wouldn't play on the Hyperball field with more than 10v10. Both times I played on the field with about 20v20 and both times all the bunkers off the break were overcrowded. Otherwise every field was great. 9/10

Players-- Most of the people there were using rentals except for a few pros but they didn't play more than four games with us. All of the players were nice and cussing was extremly rare. Even when someone slipped it wasn't even bad. No stealing had occured wich is a huge plus for me since some feilds have dirty thieves... 10/10

Price-- Admission was 20$ and since it was after Thanksgiving, they had a special, 5$ for all day air/Co2 which is realy good. I beileve they fill to 4500 PSI for those of you wondering. They also had many other special deals on Markers and such that lasted all weekend. 10/10

Rentals-- I do know that its 35$ for admission and everything you need if you don't have your own equipment. It includes Spyder Victor II, a 12 oz. Co2 tank, a pod harness and two pods, a mask, (Not sure what kind) and I believe 500 paintballs (Not sure on the paintballs). Can't say too much about how they preform because I didn't use them. By watching others, they seemed to not be having any problems at all with their Markers. 10/10

Paintballs-- They had decent paint for reasonable prices: Toxic for 45$ and some other paint for 40$ (Cant remember what its called) which they also had on sale 3 cases for 99$.

Overall-- Velocity Paintball is easily one of the better paintball parks I have been to. I would recomend Velocity Paintball to anyone looking to have a relaxed, family friendly paintball park and just to have tons of fun.

Correct me If anything isnt accurate. Thanks
Last edited on Thursday, January 3rd, 2008 at 6:24 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbstar19 Wednesday, February 21st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: August 20th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tombstone Paintball - Lots of fields
SC Village - Lots of fields
Camp Pendleton - High numbers of people playing
Review: Staff / Ref's/ Safety:
The staffing can vary from weekend to weekend depending on who has been scheduled to ref the games & always have enough. You do have your regulars behind the 'sign in' counter & they're cool people. The manager of the field is a die-hard on safety which is a huge plus. I've seen her yell at kids across the parking lot to put a sleeve on they're barrel's & she sometimes will make an example of someone by getting on the megaphone. Pretty humerus actually. The entire staff is also strict on safety as well & will not hesitate to fix the problem if you don't hear them. Overall the staff is well rounded & very knowledgeable of the game w/ a few exceptions but that's normal anywhere you go.
The ref's are, for the most part, young. Most in they're late teens and mid 20's. The 'beginner' / woods ball games have between two & four ref's depending on game size. While the 'advanced' / tournament style games are looked over by more experienced ref's, usually two or three. I can only count a handful of times this happens but very few ref's will seem to be oblivious to the game or chum with a buddy on the sideline which is annoying. Like I said before, this is going to happen anywhere you go. On a good note though, the Sup'Air fields do not have this problem!

Facilities / Food:
The park is in the mountains of Ramona in 'cow country' by a lot of ranches & is only open on Saturday & Sunday unless you reserve a day during the week & by their guidelines, see website. It's hot in the summer (90+) & cold in the winter (65 & below). The area will warm up around the afternoon usually. Parking is hard to come by if you don't get there pretty early & I mean early! Tables are the same way too. I've had to share a table & even an electrical cable spool most times but I've also met a lot of great people that way too. The grounds are rock & there is a lot of shade because of all the tree's. There is a set of 4 or 6 porta-potties that can be used if need be. There is also a tech shop available for basic repairs. I havn't had any problems with my Angel '04 Speed that I couldn't fix myself but they can fix nearly any gun. A compressed air system is available & a CO2 fill station that is only operated by the staff. Around lunch time a BBQ cart is there to sell burgers, bratwurst, chili fries, water, soda and a few other things. Don't get the idea that you can bring your BBQ though! You can also purchase small items at the sign-in desk like chips, candy bars or Gatorade.

Fields:
There are around two dozen fields last I remember. Majority being woods-ball, three for advanced play, and an NXL style Sup'Air ball field. Even a hardcore concept field player like me can enjoy some of the woods-balls fields. Not saying all of em but a few are fun. A very good variety as well with many different strategies to suggest. The NXL, & Hyperball fields are the highlight of this park with the NXL field always being packed. There's a few triple level spectator benches to watch the games & a waiting bench for the players at the NXL field which is behind netting, of coarse. There are two hyperball fields, one a 5-man & 7-man style and a small 5-man & 3-man style field which I favor. Both are just as fun to play.

Prices:
The prices are a good deal. Admission $20 all day when you have all your own equipment. If you need any rental equipment, you give them a picture ID and pay for what you need. If you're just beginning, they have packages that include mask, gun, pods, hopper, elbow, and FREE CO2 all day. Check the website for pricing since it may have changed after I last played. Compressed air goes for $1 / 1000 PSI & CO2 varies per cylinder size but is still cheap. You can also schedule a personal all day pass during the week. Again, check the website.

Paintballs:
Hey! Guess what?! You can bring your own paint!!! That's a huge reason why I like this park so much. Just don't put the empty boxes in the trash cans, it'll tick off the staff. Paint can also be bought at the fields as well. They sell PMI Paintballs including Premium & Marballizers at reasonable prices. It's cheaper to buy a whole box than individual bags.

Overall:
I've been going to Velocity Paintball since the day I started playing & I've always been going back. I've been to three other fields & I still favor Velocity for all the years I've been playing. The staff is friendly & can help out everyone from a newbie to a Division 1 GOD. There's even been a few pro teams to grace the grounds including Dynasty. Yes, I have seen & made small talk w/ a few of em. Good advice to say the least. This is a great field to get familiar with & to experience the game. The park is rarely low in numbers of people playing & always a great time. I've brought three of my friends here who've never played before & I've got them hooked before the day is over.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

kb58 Friday, February 9th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 17th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Mr Paintball - easier to deal with staff, [edit] You can now bring your own paint
Camp Pendleton - huge, can bring own paint
Directions
to the Field:
The field is located right in the middle of a big grove of trees, so it can be hard to fine. The sign is small and easy to miss, at least the first time you go.
Review: Okay, other reviewers covered most everything, so I'll add just a few personal observations.

Refs:
To be kind, they're kids, and probably not very well paid. What this means is they can't be expected - and don't - care very much. We had to point out things they should have been catching. In their defense (somewhat) we had a huge group of 65, but there were four refs. They kept missing people wiping.

Being kids, they started screwing around in the afternoon, even throwing paintballs at each other in the parking lot, near customer cars - not cool. Because of this, we didn't tip them, which would have been a sizable amount from a group of 65. Their loss.

Location:
As others said, the field is nearly in the desert, but in the mountains. This means in the winter it gets pretty cold (30-50F), which isn't so bad since you're running around. In the summer, at least for me - forget it. It's just too hot, well above 100 degrees, literally sucking all the fun out of it. Obviously if you like heat, you're all set.

Staff:
And here we come to what annoyed us the most. The staff (and/or owners?) just doesn't seem to get it; are they running a business or what? The biggest annoyance is they require ONE person to pay, up front, for everyone in a group. For our group of 65, that worked out to about $1600 on someone's credit card. That poor soul is then expected to run around to get paid back from everyone. A suggestion? Take individual payments from everyone - deal with it. Business-101 says, keep the customers happy. I guess they get away with it because business is good, a dangerous assumption to lean on as far as ticking off customers. In fact, some of our group flat out refuses to play there ever again.

They require payment be received at least one week in advance. We had a couple of late signups, and we thought they could just sign up as walk-ons - nope. The staff wouldn't allow any additional players over our original number. Why? We never found out.

Rules, services, facilities, was about average, compared to other local fields. I'll give them high marks for cooking and serving food there; most fields don't.

I give them an Average rating of 5. While their fields are pretty good, that feature is lost on customers annoyed by a staff that make signing up and signing in harder than it needs to be. If they fix that issue, my rating would be 8-9.
Last edited on Friday, February 23rd, 2007 at 8:40 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

elite_35_zero Friday, August 4th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: August 30th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at S.C. Village, and attempted to play at Mr. Paintball, also at Camp Pendleton.
Review: This is what I consider to be my "home field" as I am my friends are beginning our team. The fields are quite nice and the staff is pretty decent as well. Here is how I would break it down:

Air Ball - Now that they have two fields it is a bit less crowded and you have more of a chance to get on without being on a team. The fields are still dirt, but you get over that with some knee pads. Good bunkers, although sometimes the ref's get a bit tired or are just undermanned and have a tuff time keeping them inflated. Over all I would rate these fields a 7.5 out of 10.

Hybrid/Speedball/Hyper - There is three of these fields, one large Hyper, one small, and one Speedball. These fields are my favorite because of the great layouts. The little hype is tight and allows you to get you back players in the action more often and makes the front players work harder to get up front. The big hype is nice because you have the freedom of movement, but be careful as some of the bunkers are spaced out enough to get hit. There are a lot of angles to look at on this field. The last one is the speedball field, or mini spools as I call it. This field is great and the games go quick. The reason being is that you have great cover so you can move up a lot, but that also means that the other team can as well; lots of bunkering on this field. Over all these fields get a 9 out of 10, just because its all still on dirt.

Field play - The rest of the fields are pretty large and I dont like too many of them except the spools course. The layout of most is good though. They use the surrounding sticks and branches to make the bunkers so on some of them there are gaps to get those guys that dont want to show there heads. There are plenty of bunkers on all of the fields, I have played with the novice group a couple of times with 30 on 30 and had my own bunker most of the time. Pretty fun to play if you have a couple of friends that you can use to move up with. Over all the fields are a 8.5 out of 10.

Facilities - Lacking on some parts but they make up with other parts. You can only rent CO2 tanks, but if you have an air tank $20 will get you an air card for 24 fills(1000 psi each) and it does not expire. The shop does not have a lot of equipment for sale but they do have some random items. The shop is on the way out to the field for any major purchases. The staff are great and always friendly, even the ref's. Sometime hard to get there attention but they are still really cool. As for food, there is a really nice guy and his wife that have a grill cart and they serve all kinds of stuff from burgers, dogs and sodas to carne asade and smoothies. The pricing to get in and for food is all pretty avarage. I do like however that they give military discounts, so that gets extra points in my book. Its $20 if you have your own stuff, and $35 to rent. You get $5 off for military. You can also use your own paint which is nice, but usually get my paint at velocity store anyways. (Awesome store by the way, Rich rocks!) The rules here are same as most, any hit counts even the gun or hopper and there open til about 4p.m.

I would rate my overall thoughts of Velocity Paintball in Ramona as a 9 out of 10, I have never had a bad day yet! I recommend that everyone check it out at least once, but bring some shade; it is hot out there. That also, needless to say means bring lots of water. They have two 10 gallon gatorade things full of water but not always cold.
If you have any other questions about the field check there website www.velocitypaintball.com Enjoy everyone! Hope this was helpfull.
Last edited on Friday, August 4th, 2006 at 11:44 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Vicktor6 Sunday, July 2nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: July 1st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
CAMP PENDALTON
Review: The fields are great speed ball and woods balers will be happy. I have no complaints about the fields, the staff well that another story. If you are not on a team or friends with the refs youíre screwed. I know some of the guys where shooting hot and wiping these things happen ok but the refs donít do anything about it. All there friends where on one team and they got away with murder. You can have the best fields the coolest staging area but if the refs and the staff are worthless your park is two.
I donít care how sick the fields are I want a fair game I wont be going back.
Last edited on Sunday, July 2nd, 2006 at 9:34 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

pbalr15 Thursday, June 8th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: May 28th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ive just been to Mr. Paintball other than this.
Review: I love this place
Lots of sick concept fields. Ive been going to this place for a while and every time is fun cuz the refs are cool and its just laid back.

Pros:
Close at least to my house
Sick fields
Good Refs
Good Help
Prices are alright
Fun

Cons:
Dont have a lot of Sup air fields
Not to many cons

I reccomend going to this field if you want to have fun paintballing
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media