paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Black River Paintball/BRSportz Paintball Field / Black River Paintball/BRSportz Paintball Field / Black River Paintball/BRSportz Paintball Field / Black River Paintball/BRSportz Paintball Field

Black River Paintball/BRSportz Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
55Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 2500 Carson Gregory Road
Angier, North Carolina 27501
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
RedFlyerX Sunday, February 20th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 19th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: Overall, this is a great field! First of all, the good: The customer service people are very friendly and helpful. Registration was a breeze...much less complicated that I expected. The venue is also much larger than anticipated-- 7 great fields to play on. The refs are very attentive (VERY young, but attentive and polite). They have a self-serve HPA station, which is awesome-- no waiting in line to get your tank filled by someone else (since all day air is included with your field fee). The woodsball field is the best I've been on-- really top notch.

The "not bad....but possibly questionable": No one (including the refs) monitor the FPS of any marker on the field...it's sort of a free-for-all for velocity. Yes, there is a chrono area, but it's not monitored, and there are no required checks before walking onto the field. I didn't even see a sign anywhere (including in the chrono area) that stated max FPS regulation for the field. This can become dangerous....as I know there were players running hot markers.

Overall though, that's the only thing that could be improved. It was a great experience and will be going back on a regular basis. Black River is top notch!

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

nSTIg8r Saturday, January 1st, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 1st, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Gotcha Paintball - The facilities are not as nice at BR Paintball however their organization and the quality of their refs are much better lending to a overall better experience.
Review: BR paintball has a pretty descent facility and a proshop on site is a plus. The pricing is average with other fields.

The organization of BR is horrible as it was hard to know what games are being called. Instead of using the speaker system and microphone that I saw in the proshop to call the games, the refs attempted to shout over the crowd. Also while waiting to play a game some of the refs were talking trash and using language that I would not have my kids around.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Captain Kmerica Sunday, October 4th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 4th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: BR runs three fields: The Farm, Fayetteville Indoor and the Fort Bragg field. This is a review of THE FARM.

The Good:

+Excellent variety of fields include Hyberball, smaller open field with fort and woodsball field with pond.

+Friendly, well trained staff.

+Good prices: $5 entry fee, $10 all day air, paint $40-60 per case

The Bad:

-Difficult to locate without GPS or following Google Maps directions

-No Arm bands or ribbons to distinguish between friend and foe

-Airsmith leaves much to be desired

-Field Paint is WHITE fill which doesn't show well and makes paint checks difficult.

The Ugly:

*None*

Overall, this is a very well run field. The refs are attentive and stay involved from beginning to end. They don't hound you about speed checks every game and making the occasional mistake of forgetting to replace a barrel sock or pull your goggles down only results in a friendly reminder, and not an annoying scolding. Teams are constantly rebalanced from game to game to ensure fairness. Watch out for newbs. Newbs are newbs and will play as such, regardless of how much coaching and advice you give them. Facilities are quite adequate (overhead cover for players pit, airsmith shop, snack shack, porta-potties). Refs keep the flow going with 10-15 minutes between games and change the fields up constantly moving from woodsball to speedball to CQC so nothing becomes repetitive. Only big gripe is the lack of arm band or ribbons to distinguish friend from foe. I ran into numerous players that were on my team the game prior but not on the current game and I kept getting tagged because I couldn't keep track. Call me slow or stupid, but if I'm not playing with my teammates, I really need some sort of designator to prevent fratricide (eventually I just decided to shoot everyone, which annoyed some friendlies, but kept me in the game, so...).
Last edited on Sunday, October 4th, 2009 at 7:55 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Superdiver Thursday, April 2nd, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 21st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at all the fields in the tri state area for over 20 years, The feild was ok most of the games were ok, the woodsball games were run like a speedball game which was interesting but got bored with that after five or so games.
Review: Well my main complaint was the field paint was some of the worst crap i have ever used, severe hurricane i would have purcased better paint if they had any in the store but they didnt ( im thinking that they bought this crap and was def trying to get rid of it by not offering anything else)... The speedball/woodsball games were interesting however if i wanted to play speedball i would have played on that course, I had alot of fun shooting the speedball guys on the woodsball courses and watching them wipe the paint off... the kid who was running the Fort field was the most effecient Ref out there and was better at running the games than anyone else. Im not bashing this place too much i felt that the fees were reasonable, (except for the paint man that was really the worst crap ive ever used it was like brass eagle monster balls but even worse)... the air fills were ok, i had a noob that came with me, that had a co2 tank who couldnt get a decent fill but i let him use a spare n2 tank of mine so even that wasnt bad, i wouldnt go back there infact i was going to return to go to a big game the coming weekend but i will not now after my experience there, i would recomend it for noobs who dont have their own equipment ect... but for the most part if you like woodsball stay away.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

BigDaddyNC Tuesday, January 20th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: January 17th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Gotcha
Real McCoy
Action Tagg (purchased by Black River)
Freedom (purchased by Black River)
Adventure Beach (traveled there for tourney)
PBC Greensboro (traveled there for tourney)
Directions
to the Field:
Use the map link on their website. Its about 30mins outside of Raleigh, 20 from Cary/Apex.
Review: I have to say this is one of the best fields I've ever been to. They seem to always be evolving. When I spoke with both of the owners they were dissappointed they hadn't made any significant changes at the field for a while. I asked them what about the Urban experience they built? What about the additions to the Fort field? They were very humble and seem to always have the player in mind.

As for the field, they've got alot of diversity. Speedball, woodsball, urban/MOUT type, etc. Their refs watch the clock and don't allow for long "sit and wait" type games. They keep to a 10min game.

The airlines were great. I have HPA so it wasn't a big deal but even with the CO2, people were in and out fairly quickly and I believe they had over 150 people that day.

As for the prices, its something like $5 for admission, $10 for all day air or pay by the fill. Their paint is top notch- they had like 4 or 5 brands they were pushing; all RPS. I opened up one of my boxes and found a couple of dimpled balls in a bag. Took it up there just to tell them (not complain) and they gave me a new bag!

I read that someone said they only had 1 ref per field. That may have been a problem in the past but as of late, they had 2 or 3 at least. As for safety, I don't think you could feel safer if you were in a police station. Refs and Staff were always quick to tell players about masks or barrel bags. Even the patrons got on board with this.

GREAT PLACE TO PLAY- I would recommend it to anyone. Oh, if you're into bday parties or church groups or corporate team building things, they've got you covered as well. I'm taking my son and a bunch of his friends out there for his bday. I expect only the best!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

twaltz628 Sunday, November 9th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: June 1st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
All of them
Gotcha
predator
Paintball central
and BR's freedom field
Directions
to the Field:
Look for corn cause there is nothing else out there
Review: I've been to every other field within 40 miles with the exception of Real McCoy paintball and this is the best. Everyone was friendly, even woodsballers and speedballers were getting along...simply amazing. Read some stuff about the refs not doing much and there only being one out there but I thought the refs were as good as anywhere else. there was only one game were there was more than one ref though. they have an almost urban warfare course which is awesome and worth going or alone. very nice atmosphere. Also, I injured my leg pretty badly jumping over a trench and the ref there was very cool about it. he stopped the game got him and another players to help carry me off the field and asked if i needed to go to the hospital. All fields looked good, speedsball and woodsball. I recommend this field to be your main field if you live in the Apex/Cary area
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Storiagrad Wednesday, April 30th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 26th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Gotcha- Bad location for me as I have to drive through N. Raleigh and then even further to Rolesville. Somewhat ok field but too pricey for me.

Action Tagg- The place was located in Garner NC but closed down a couple years ago. I grew up playing there and always enjoyed it.
Directions
to the Field:
It can be kind of confusing getting to BR once off 210, but I only passed the place once.
Review: I arrived at the field around 10 15, they are open Saturdays from 10 to 4 I believe so you get a full day in. They have a large cabana shaded area in the middle of the central area, surrounded by their trailer which they sell pant and other supplies out of. Also they have another small house which they use to fill air and repairs etc. There was a good amount of people when I went, but also a large amount of private church groups. All in all it was a good turn out.

The fields which I played were their Xball field which was fairly short compared to others I've been to, but it was a blast. They have 3 to 4 other wooded fields which were also laid out very well, none were too over balanced or giving the other team an advantage. The fields get a 9/10 in my book as the only gripe I have is that they only had one sup air field up.

Prices were great with a 5 dollar field fee, 10 dollar all day air for co2 or compressed air. Paint for a case was 42 dollars, cheapest I've found in the triangle area. The prices if anything should bring people in to try out the field. The rental packages were cheap and having the advantage of picking which level of rental you wanted, basic, advanced, electronic etc. ranging from 20-30 bucks I believe. All in all the prices are great and the service was somewhat quick. (if the private groups would not take their sweet time checking in)

The refs and safety were my only complaints. Yes the refs are high school kids but there is usually one per field and some of the fields are massive. If they could have more than one in a game, which rarely happened that day, then it would be fine. I was there at the field from around 10 to 3 and not ONCE did they have a chrono check for everyone. You could go to their staging area and chrono yourself, but that was mainly on merit or honesty. This needs to be changed to protect people.

My day was a blast and I met some great guys as I went by myself. I shoot an ion xe and do not consider myself top tier, but the competition was balanced and I will def. be coming back to BR.
Last edited on Wednesday, April 30th, 2008 at 8:34 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

phantom01231 Thursday, April 24th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: March 28th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Gottcha - Fields arnt keep up as good but they have more and better. Always alot of Nobs. and they run an electric class and mech class. So Electic guys it kinda sucks for unless you just want to practice then its all good. Little bit more pricey but not by much.

PBC- Nice very nice. Dont like the gravel on the courses. The x ball field is the sh!7. Best field I have found In NC but bring some $$$$$$. Nice stores!
Review: The field is ok if you want something close and you live in the area. Like most people I find in the area there are alot of cry babies. The paint I havent had any trouble with. Prices are somewhat fair. Id say the best I have found here. The store is real nice and fair priced. THE FIELD IS IN BFE! The people are nice. The Tech on hand when i went to the night games let me in to use the work bench to fix my marker and lent me his tools! Not many will do that! The refs suck though. they dont do anything but stand there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

rajinmajin986 Monday, April 14th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: February 17th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Adventure beach is way better then this field, not even in the same league

Paintball Charleston - even better then adventure beach, dont waste your time at BR
Directions
to the Field:
1 stoplight town NC
Review: This field has been nothing but a letdown every time. Paint has always been very crappy, dimpled, brittle. Never have I had a good case of paint from this field, I go through 3 cases trying to find one good kind, nothing. Their staff is nice, the local refs are their home team. They are bad, they are never where you need them, they just stand around and talk, I can do a better job then them, oh wait I did and had many players tell me so. The field has 2 sides the bottle necks in the middle to a big opening and fort. Whoever owns that, owns the game. Teams are almost always one sided. HPA seems to break a lot which gets annoying. Prices are decent, but what you get sucks.

there are a lot of regulars with speedball mentality. Every game I catch people overshooting and whipeing. There are a couple good local scenario teams that play there, but also some I wouldnt care to play with, cheaters.

just dont waste your time or money at one of this fields "big games" they always blow
Last edited on Monday, April 14th, 2008 at 1:28 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

forcerecon85 Friday, March 28th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: January 4th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Gotcha-No...just NO
Real McCoy- Not bad, they have a new NPPL field.
Directions
to the Field:
Mapquest it
Review: When I first started playing here over 4 years ago, I played more woodsball more than speedball. They had one woodsball course, and it was a good one. Then I started more towards the tournament play, and my team got sponsored by BR. They are really giving at the BR, and they will help you in any way they can.

If you approach any of the regulars there, we are really easy to talk to. (at least I think that, but I have heard otherwise) The refs are usually players from the sponsored teams, and do it for free. If you are usual rec-baller, stay away on tournament weekends. Especially if the CFOA is in town, you won't get service, and people will kind of ignore you.

All in all it is a great field for recballing, woodsball, and tournament play. I have played many a tournaments here, and it's a great field with a lot of people that are willing to help on the drop of a dime.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media