paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Hillcrest Paintball Field / Hillcrest Paintball Field / Hillcrest Paintball Field / Hillcrest Paintball Field

Hillcrest Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
15Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: N5605 Woodlawn Road
Kennan, Wisconsin 54537
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Bartender Friday, October 17th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 9th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Zingers
Directions
to the Field:
Mapquest
Review: AS OF NOW, HILLCREST HAS CLOSED ITS OPERATION FOREVER.


I went to this field for their big game in August of 2008. All I can say was WOW! It is an awesome field in every way shape and form.

The People
Their owner, Bob, is a very nice person. He cares about his paintball players. He employs many refs to help keep the game safe

Safety
Safety is the #1 priority on this field. There are signs that say "Mask On" all around the field. There are many chronographs. There are refs all over this field too

Fields
WOW. Just WOW. They have 2 speedball courses, which are amazing. The trench system is also a major feature of the field. There are quite a lot of earthworks there. The woods are also very cool too. They took the time to place a lot of bunkers in there. Then, there is the highlight of this field. The castle. It is amazing, with 4 towers, and walls running through the whole place, it is a heaven for players.
Last edited on Tuesday, March 31st, 2009 at 5:38 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

harrytwang Thursday, April 10th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: June 25th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
zingers in tomahawk, hillcrest of course
Directions
to the Field:
look it up on mapquest
Review: Great fields for both speedball and scenario games. Ample amout of space for woods, attack the fort, trenches, speedball. Well rounded place to play just because it hits everything and combinations. The trenches is a combination of speedball and trenchs and i think its a great combo. Woods ball there is a bit of a walk but it's a good terrain field, but there isn't alot of cover or barriers to cover you. Unfortunately it's a little to open for the common scenario player. The two speed courses are well rounded. Ample amount of cover and movement. Great all around place to play but the best part about hillcrest is that it has a castle and there is enough cover to assault and enough view to defend. The castle is such a great plus.
Prices are fair. Walk on paint is allowed which is a big plus. A little bit for co2 for the day but it's expected. Food is expensive if they even provide it for the day and the facility isn't really that cozy since it's a barn and an old milk shed.

Summary
Great all around field and it offers a lot for both the scenario player and the speed ball player. Hillcrest also provides a different atmosphere compared to other fields and makes paintball more exciting just because it's not just the same fields over and over. Just make sure you bring enough food and water to last the day and make sure you have directions. If you haven't gone go it'll be well worth it compared to the other local fields.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

2wreckless Thursday, August 16th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: August 11th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
There aren't any really.
Review: To give an idea how the owner is... the first time me and my buds came to play last year back from Iraq it cost $20 to play .. then when leaving Bob(theowner) gave us $20 to pick up some beer on the way back. So we played for free. Bob knows what he's doin... hes been hosting Big Games for 14 years. Everyone who plays there has good sportsmanship. And the reffs are ok... he has no choice but to hire highschool kids that come and go as they graduate. But Hillcrest is a major land mark in this part of the state and playes a large role in the community. What other big game can you think of that offers a free breakfest buffet in the mourning? Sure the food isn't that great but your drunk and can't taste it anyways.... its from Happy Days a bar down the road... and I don't think I can trust a man who doesn't drink. : )
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

lieniesdude Thursday, August 17th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: August 12th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
The area is Kennan Wis. In the N.central part of the state. The only field in Wis. that compares 'in my opinion' is Stalker by Wiconsin Dells.
Review: 2006 was the 13th annual big game andonce again the Tegan family has done the greatest job in making the event run smoothly. 300 players and NO LINES for air, c02, or Paint. This is hard work for anyone, but at Hillcrest everyone knows their job. How rare is that in Paintball? If you have not been to Hillcrest's big game, and I hope there will be one in 2007, plan to be there now! The field is huge! large woods, a Trench field, a'village of small buildings, a corn maze, and the castle. The Castle is the best I've ever seen in any field. BOB, PLEASE HAVE ONE MORE BIG GAME!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

perlox Sunday, August 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 12th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Just home fields in Wausau
Directions
to the Field:
North of Wausau to Tomahawk and then West from Tomahawk
Review: My team was just at this field about 3.5-4 hours ago for the Big Game. This year it was called "Outlaws." Ive never been to the field before, but i would definetly go again. It was one of the most exhilerating experiences ever. Hundreds of people screaming, guns blazing everywhere, it was paradise!
The system for checking in and camping, and then paintballing worked really smoothly and was great fun. The field and woods area where the game took place was built nicely with choke points and good cover. The castle was great for defending and their flag capturing system was a good idea.
When not paintballing, we stayed in camp. You get a chance to meet all kinds of cool people and have chats with them. You can have campfires (free wood!) and there are porta-potties to use. At night expect many many drunk people and loud music. But no one cared because everyone was so pumped for paintballing the next day that sleeping wasnt really an option.
The only down parts i can think of is their point system for flag captures wasnt posted at all or well enough. My team and other people i talked to had no idea how to points worked, so that kind of screwed us up. But it was cool cause it was more about having fun than winning. The other thing that kind of screwed us up was that they didnt update the website for this year and had no information about this place besides that of the old 2005 info, which was different. We talked to one of the guys running the show and he said that it was because the website designer lost the password or something.
On saturday night, they had fireworks which totally rocked. We walked up and sat almost underneith them! It was so awesome. Other misc info: Ice cream, tank fills, really friendly staff, fun enviroment.
Basically, if you can make it, come. Its really awesome!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ichbinganzgeil Friday, July 1st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: O-M-F-G...I haven't been to this field in such a long time but I have had some unforgettable times here at Hillcrest Paintball. They have got it all there. Something for everyone. Your one stop paintball shop. Cheap entry. Variety. THE CASTLE. I could go on and on. Email me if you want to know more. I love you Hillcrest Paintball!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

A Vicious Hobo Thursday, April 7th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
friends' backyards
Review: I know I have next to none experience wise, but let me tell you: Hill crest is AWESOME! They have a giant castle courtyard that is really fun for a big team, a speed ball course, and another course that is really bumpy and has lots of cover. Sweetness. This place rocks. Cheap to get in, too. If you're ever in northern WI, stop there. It is amazing. The best thing is, I have never heard of anybody using an Angel or anything else comparable to it there. Plus, the owner and refs are great people to be around. At the end of the day, the refs took my team on at speedball: what a blast!
Last edited on Saturday, April 9th, 2005 at 10:38 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DpNick Monday, August 16th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hillcrest is the only field to go to in the area. (IMO)
Review: Awesome field! They keep it groomed and looking nice. The Castle field is amazing, their woods has hills, creek beds, all kinds of terrain.

We go (or at least try) every year for the Big Game. Camping, awesome fireworks show, tons of people to shoot, and get shot at by! Worth the trip!

Keep up the good work Bob!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Adam 1 Thursday, July 29th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: I think that this is one of the best fields in all of the US. I have been playing there for about 4 months and all of their fields are very different. They are all very fun. There is a trenchs field, life size castle, 10 man speedball, 5 man speedball, and a huge woods course. They all are very fun to play on. There big game is also the best that i have ever been to. A lot of people have gone the years that i went though.

NEED TO GO TO BIG GAME
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballinqb Monday, October 13th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
First Strike-woods speedball courses are a blast
Paintball Thunder-speedball course is fun and so is the town course
Review: First of all i would like to say that Hillcrest has a variety of fields including a fullsize castle which is the coolest thing around. The owner is a great guy and very easy going. The refs there are great and fun to play with. There isn't a deadzone where a bystanding ref could get shot in, and they don't bring there guns on the field while they are reffing. They do play some games but from what i have seen they are very fair for both sides. I have been at hillcrest practically every weekend this summer playing and i haven't seen an angel once. If you are looking for a place to have a blast and be able to play with some great people go to Hillcrest.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media