paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Victoria Paintball Adventures Paintball Field / Victoria Paintball Adventures Paintball Field / Victoria Paintball Adventures Paintball Field / Victoria Paintball Adventures Paintball Field

Victoria Paintball Adventures Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
10Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Location: Victoria, British Columbia
Canada
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Adol116 Wednesday, September 12th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 10th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None, I was there for vacation.
Directions
to the Field:
from victoria, we took the 1 north I think, and then merged to the 14, and took side streets designated by the online map
Review: The field is a rare sight for a So Cal'r like me. The forested area was beautiful and made things really fun in comparison to the flat lands I'm used to. There were a variety of game types which included zombie(a new one for me), center cone(king of the hill), attack and defend, etc. The games were turned around very fast by my standards and so I ended up playing more games at a half day here then when I go spend a full day in most California establishments. All in all, very good. I liked the cheaper paint! My lord paint is expensive in Canada, but there was good cheap paint here(in comparison to the rest of British Columbia). If only there were a little bit more people! (ALMOST A 10!)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pyroluvkitty Tuesday, May 8th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: April 14th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
TNT paintball is one of the best in BC( In my opinion) good food and refs
stormin norminz is not as good as TNT but its cheaper.
Review: VPA is pretty mush all good, The food is good, I like the pump option and its good fun.
But the refs were nasty Ninnys and they didn't have Hpa fills or co2 fills i had to use a 16oz co2 on my Micro phantom and I couldn't use my Ecocker with it. soo that was a bummer.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

alpha8808 Sunday, March 12th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: June 10th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Stormin Norman's
TNT
Review: Just looking at a few of the posts below - overall really accurate. Not sure if they are open yet for 2006 -but when I played there last year with a stag party with some friends, we had as awesome time.

Like the post below, I really liked the pump field, I played a lot when I was younger and still have a decent gun (Tippmann Custom Pro) but I left it at home for the trip so we all played on the pump-field and it was awesome! It was like old-school WW1, and the SL68 is a wicked pump gun for a field - I grew up on that thing, so it was like seeing an old pet!

Anyway, great staff, great reffing and great lunch! Just found this site guys -

SO everyone at VPA - keep it up, hope to be back next time I'm on the island.

RR
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

CannedMapleLeaf Monday, May 2nd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Midway: Still the most economical on Vancouver Island.
TNT: Free lunch included with field fee and just a little further down the road from Victoria Paintball Adventures.
Review: Victoria Paintball Adventures (VPA) is priced about the same as its closest rival field (TNT) when it comes to field fees, but players don't get lunch included. VPA's field areas consist of a lower and upper field, whereby the upper field is typically reserved for private games. Compared to the lower field where most games are played, the upper field is more level and offers less bush to hide. If you like a mix of small forts, man-made and natural bunkers, then the lower field is a bush ballers dream come true.

On the safety side, Peter and his crew run a tight shop when it comes to instructing both young and old on the topic of safety and rules of the game. Players who do not own their own markers are outfitted with very reliable Tippmann products and can converse more on any type of marker with one of the most knowledgeable gun/marker-smiths on the Island.

The grounds at VPA are kept clean and the ammenities could be brought up a notch with cash and VISA being the only means of payment. If lunch were to be thrown in with paid field fees, VPA would definitely be running neck and neck with its rival field.

Weekend showings over the Spring, Summer and Fall tend have anywhere from 35 to 60 individuals turnout for games starting at 10AM and going to about 4PM - depending on who wants to continue. Each game runs about fifteen minutes in length with ample time to break in between. Depending on which day you show up, you may meet a few of the regulars who play at VPA and you can quickly learn some effective strategies if you are just starting out to play bush ball.

Overall, VPA is a main staple in any bush baller's diet. With the right upgrades to ammenities and possibly throwing in lunch, VPA could be the best destination on the Southern part of Vancouver Island.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Poet1971 Sunday, February 22nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Stormin' Norman's (Lame)
TNT (OK)
Review: I have tried fields all over the province, and even a few across the country. Given this, there is a reason I take my business to Victoria Paintball Adventures!

Let's start with the equipment. They use the Tippman SL68 II for their pump and the Tippman 98 Custom for their Semi. Both are incredibly reliable. They are also meticulously cared for and cleaned. If there is a problem with a marked or you get a "major gooing" they will strip it down, clean it for you, or give you a replacement. They also supply you with a mask, jersey, barrel plug, throat protector, and squeegee for the pumps.

The fields are fun and challenging. There are great structures to climb in, on, through, over... The lay out is well planned and they try to change it a little bit every year to keep it interesting. I am not just talking about a few huts here! There are multi level towers with angled window, ramps, stairs, cat walks, gazebos, etc. The bush portion of the field is left natural. The brush, grass and trees give variety throughout the seasons and make it more fun and interactive, as it cuts down (but not eliminates) the "long balling" lucky shots. The Base camps are clean with plenty of seating, goggle rags, paint removal rags, and defog solution. And let’s not forget the target range for warming up on. It even has some swinging targets to make it a little more challenging.

Safety is of the utmost importance in this game, and the staff at VPA never forget that. Some "pros" think they’re above the safety lecture, but they forget that there are all different levels of player out there. The safety talk is always very thorough and consistent. On the field the staff are ever vigilant and will yell at someone (to get their attention quickly) if there are any infractions on the field. Safety is the most important thing, NEVER FORGET IT!

In summery this is a great field! It is safe, reliable, and well thought out. The staff are friendly and helpful. Because they do not sponsor teams, or do tournaments it attracts regulars that are there for fun and socialization, and not target practice on a bunch of newbies. It's a great place! GO!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Fabulous Monday, November 24th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: Hi
It was my first time playing paintball yesterday.And I must say that I havn't had so much fun in a long time.Me and a freind of mine from work thought that it would be a blast ,never trying it b4,and were in search for the closest ,most appealing pb field.So we got online surfed around and found VPA.There website was really helpful and everything was exactly as it stated.

So we went down yesterday (sun,nov 23,03)despite call of rain and chanced our luck.
Well low and behold we get to the Macs and theres a Troop of guys and 1 girl in camos.
So being the noobs we are, we were instanly intimidated.lol lol.
Anyways everybody turned out to be really cool after the first game,sharing "war stories"
and what not ,really settling the tension .hehe.And for my first time out I think I did pretty good with 1 point 7k and 6d despite my 1tk hehehe.But member this was my first.:)

The staff there were also very helpful,and payed very close attention to the rules,which I think with a game like this is very important.
thanks Peter,Sean,and Richard
SAFTY FIRST ALWAYS


So I had a great time and am definatly looking forward to going back in 2 weeks. So if u c me,I wear a black bandana .say hi.




Thanks,Rob
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

boilinghell Monday, June 16th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
TNT Paintball - Top notch field. Best on the island. VPA is second only to these guys on the island.
Norm's Paintball - Field is too rocky and hilly. Quite dangerous when wet.
Review: VPA has two fields, but I only play on the pump field. It's the only field that I know of on the island that plays pump. It's so refreshing to play with a little strategy instead of the old "hail of paintballs" sort of game. While I have played on larger fields, the terrain is quite varied from one base camp to the other, although the brush can get a little thick at times. The rental equipment looks to be in good working order (I own my own gear. Yes even a pump.) The refs are strict when it comes to safety, and so they should be. Trust me, if they don't yell at the guy comitting the safety infraction, I would! They always do though, it's like they have eyes at the back of their heads. The staging area could have a few more covered seats, but it's still well laid out.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Battle Axe 687 Wednesday, April 30th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
tnt, storman normz
Review: I thought this course was ok, it didn't impress me a lot. the layout was neat but the bunkers were in terrible disrepair. The brush was so out of control, it was like impossible to hit anyone unless u we a 15 ft or less. They did have good markers Tippmann 98 Customs, a respectable marker. The thing i really hate is the staff, they take it so dam seriously. Like i thought this was like a marine drill camp, thy treat u like ur a freak if u ask a stupid question. in the "talk" before the day begins they tell u "you cant expect ur gun to hit the enemy if u don't aim at him. Your gun will not fire if u do not pull the trigger, and to pull the trigger u use your index finger to apply pressure to this little mettle road." Ok now lets review this shall we any child thats been borne within the last 80-90 years has seen a gun on TV, a game, book . we all have seen cap guns, and bb guns, and dart guns, and Nerf guns, and i could keep going on and on and on. The point im trying to make is that the staff is a bunch of stuck up jerks that think there superior to us in every way. save ur money and go to TNT, nice people nice courses nice gunz.
Last edited on Wednesday, April 30th, 2003 at 8:52 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

MrFodder Tuesday, April 22nd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Nanaimo one. Good Play, Questionable Safety.
Review: VPA is the meter stick to which all other paintball fields I play are measured. Period.

Safety is emphasized at this field. Did I mention safety. Sorry, didn't quite remember if I brought up the safety aspect. You get the point. Even though I have played at this field many times, they drill in the stringent rules for safety into all who play, regardless of how regular they are. If you want to a yelling at that rivals a drill sergeant initiating new recruits, take your mask off on the field. As far as I know they have a perfect safety record. (If not, it much be damn close to perfect)

The equipment there is top rate. While the guns may not be all pretty and shiney, you can be assured that they are in perfect working order. If by some odd chance you do get a lemon, they have many replacements.

What about the field you may ask. Well, they have 2 fields (as elaborately described on their web page). The upper and lower. The upper field is gear towards Semi games, of which I don't endeavor to play in. The lower field is a very well constructed field with a swamp (no too much of it tho'!), forest with light and dense foliage, a small city with towers, cars, grass, a stream, fortresses.. Hmmm What else..

Almost everyone will enjoy this field, except those who are against safety.

I recommend this field who heartedly.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Radius Friday, March 21st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Never tried any others in Victoria.
Review: This place has two offerings, pump and semi play. There are also two fields, pump and semi.

I play pump and I must say, their pump field is great. There is one main "village" in the center of the field with a tall tower, and two other bases at either end of the field. Scattered tthroughout are numerous bunkers and other obstructions making for a very elaborate field.

One half of the field is mainly grassy with little natural cover, and the other half is wooded with dense foliage in parts. There is a very wide range of terrain types just on the one field which should suit just about any player.

This is by far the best field I've been to on Vancouver Island, the forts alone are worth the price of admission. Also, they are one of the few paintball places around still offering dedicated pump games for those of us who like to sneak around and play a slower-paced game.

The staff is great too, and there is a definate emphasis on safety. There is a nice spectator area surrounded by netting so people can sit and watch the game, with the added bonus of being able to see directly into their most elaborate fort from the sidelines.

I give this field a solid 10!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media