paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Action Packed Paintball Field / Action Packed Paintball Field / Action Packed Paintball Field / Action Packed Paintball Field

Action Packed Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
31Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: Lenius Lane
Waterloo, Wisconsin 53594
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
ettenurb Monday, June 1st, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 24th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: I just recently got back into the game of paintball after a 12 year absence. Did some research, decided to play at Action Packed Paintball. My experience was great. The refs are on top of everything, the other players I met ranged from experienced to first timers and they were all about having fun. It was a good welcome back into the game.

A lot of hard work and pride went into creating this paintball field.

I rated this field as a ten because of the attitude of the players and the staff. It's a great place, check it out.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Xtremeistia Wednesday, March 18th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: March 7th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: Hey paintballers. If you want to play a a great feild well check no far there. I have been traveling all over the mid united states and have found one of the best fields around. Its Action Acked Paintball, there staff it nice, willing to help, have a great attitude tored to sport, and are noligible on paintball guns and equipment. Now the first time I went there was for a part on my gun. Then I came back the next day and found the owner Greg there greeting people as they came. When I walked into the store I found refs willing to help me out. When I was set to crono, their was a ref already down there. And after we had the orintation and equipment set we when out to the fields. The fields were set up as woodball with a bit of speedball throne in there. There fields were very well organized, the brush cut back but not to much. It still gave to the element of suprize when needed. Over all the Fields are some of the best I've been to, and the refs, they are great, and the owners are willing to help out in a insteant. But I do have to say one thing, if you try to wipe paint, dring your own paint out onto the fields, or try to turn up your guns. They (the refs) will find out and you will be kicked off the field for it. They owners are very very stricted about that. Thanks for reading this and hope to see you out at the fields. the Intimedator
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sgt. sixty fine Wednesday, March 11th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: March 6th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
This is really it...other than some woodsball.
Directions
to the Field:
From southern wisconsin, get to Lake Mills and then take Hwy 89. Just about five miles outside of Lake Mills. Otherwise the website, www.appaintball.com, has a good map.
Review: When you arrive to a day of paintballing at Action Packed Paintball (APP), your in for a treat. Most Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays APP is running an early bird special. This includes free gun rentals and no charge to use the field. It's 10 dollars for all day air. 5 dollars for a camo cover. Here's where they'll get you, $80 dollars for a case of paint! Yes, $80 dollars. I strongly suggest you take a friend and split the cost of the case. To be honest, 1000 paintballs is enough to last each person for a day at APP.
(Gun rental consists of a Piranha marker and HPA. For $10 one can upgrade to a Tippman set up.)
Okay, so you've paid for paintballs and set your paintball marker at 250 fps or somewhere around there. Yes, it's a slow speed; especially for some of the bigger fields. My marker had trouble getting down that low, but the owner and refs were knowledgeable and helped me get a replacement spring so I could continue play.
Once you've set your speed, your in for the usual pep talk and safety review. Everyone is here to have fun and safety is a priority. These guys are serious about safety too. They quickly reassure first time players that they're going to have a blast and be a little sore the next day and then split everyone into teams. You'll notice at first that people are hesitant to be broken into teams, so for the first couple of games one team might have more friends and experienced players on it than the other team. The refs do a great job of recognizing this and even things up quickly.
Now it's time to play. All of APP is pretty much woodsball. There are, however, two speedball fields. There are three forts in total making game play fun and fresh. The fields are large and accommodating to even the largest number of players. The refs are helpful and aren't afraid to get in there and make a call. They also are ready on hand if you need an emergency squegee or paint check.
When your game is done you'll return to the main area around the pro shop. There is plenty of room to spread out and find a place to relax and reload. APP's pro shop is pretty run of the mill. They mainly sell Tippman products. They also sell some food and beverages. Otherwise the pro shop is pretty much for renting equipment, buying paintballs, and filling air.
All in all, when you go to APP you're going to have a good time. Everyone is cooperative and there is enough space that you're not going to feel squished by all your opponents. Parking is a major plus too! There's tons of it. I'd say whether it's your first time or you're a seasoned veteran, check out Action Packed Paintball. There's bound to be fun for everyone. (They also do parties).
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sollo44 Sunday, January 25th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: September 27th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Daves, Do It All sports arena, BFG, Jungle Cat Paintball
Review: First off i'm going to say I've never been here for regular play. Both times i've gone have been for the big game they host twice a year. And now that i have the time and money again I'll be going back for all the future ones.
I'll start with the proshop. Not much there to purchase if you are looking for a proshop for that. They carry the bare minimums it appeared to me. But part of that could be because they were hammered with 100 players or so. Making it difficult to gauge properly.
The rules for the big game are a bit different from the regular rules. The fps was 270 but i see that this year they are going to raise it to 275. I'm guessing this was done because some of the rental guns were having troubles getting down to 270. And if your own fields equipment can't reach the speed you kind of have to change it. Other notable differences for a BIG GAME are that they were 1hour 30 minute games where they joined multiple fields into one big field and you had 3 lives per game.
As for the game itself they have made it into a scenario game in the past year or so, and as such it is a work in progress. Some rules need to be tweaked but that is normal for any game of this magnitude. I am sure in time they will get it right. As the rules will always change i will not go into specifics on those.
The refs were pretty good. Considering the area they had to cover and the number of players they had to watch. Lets face it big games are more about on your honor than anything else.
The prices on paint if you preorder are reasonable at about 60 for a case but if you don't preorder you will pay 80 for midgrade paint. And the $10 entrance fee, all of which goes to charity for this game, is pretty good as well.
In all I'll be going again and again and again. Hope to see you there for the big games.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

2wreckless Thursday, June 12th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 3rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
This is the only field I have played in the Madison area.
Directions
to the Field:
Its outa the way for sure... good map on website.
Review: I was there for a 2 day big game event. Only played the first day.

The Good: Lots of parking. Good facilities. Big field with lots of bunkers. (Like a woods filled with a speedball labyrinth.)

The Bad: High prices. Reffs were questionable(good luck getting a paint check).
Poor organization. Rules: 250 fps is kinda low.

They ran reinsertion kinda lame:
A gun or limb hit was a wound, 2 wounds = a kill and 3 kills = elimination. Those rules seemed to turn the capture the flag game into just an elimination game. People really didn't care about the flag since there was really never any lul in the amount of players on the field. This created really repetitive game play and a lot of camping.

I got a stiff warning for my marker running hot at 270fps!!! And was labeled a "flagged" player.

I give the field 5 out of 10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DaPwner Monday, May 12th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 3rd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
BFG's. i went there for my first time. i thought it was awesome ukntil this place. i would now give this a 9 and BFG 7
Directions
to the Field:
Waterloo
Review: i went here for the big charity event, batle in the red zone. it was a very good, not excellent, scenario game. i went for my b-day.

Pros: the owner is awesome. my gun sometimes double fed so i cound't use it, of course it was a new gun that i had tested only once. i couldn't use it and i thought that i would have to pay for a new one. i just went into the pretty well kept pro shop and got a new rental for free. the new rentals were shooting hot on compressed. they just cut the spring without a problem. the rentals are well kept i survided 4 hours wiht it and no promblems cept for the fps. the player there ranged from my age, 13, to 50, it was rlly varied. player never looked at you and said o no we got the kid, they said ok your small go in there, and quick there he is get im. always helpful on hints. since it was my third time paintballing i thought it would be just a normal game. this had medics, engineers, officers, and generals. the regs didnt give the saftey rules and were rlly stict with a "no tolerance policy" you cant get away with anything. you have to get chronoed after every time you die, by the owner. the owner gave the rules. the refs range form, as i could tell by the masks, 18-40, only small amount of "paintball punks". always helpful
Cons: Price is the only one and it is kinda in a remote location. but thats not a con rlly cuz how do ya get a good woodsball with the city right next to you. price is steep, cant rlly see the need for 80.00 dolla for feld only paint.

conclusion
with a good field like this everybody should come.
AAAAAAAAAAPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Edit:
I just went for their memorial day special. I just wanted to not that i found two ticks on me after playing. I suspect taht they were from the grass when i was laying down. Not their problem so rating stay the same. Also for normal days the fps max is 250.
Last edited on Tuesday, May 27th, 2008 at 12:58 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

rsphaktory Monday, June 4th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: June 3rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Directions
to the Field:
see website
Review: pros: awesome fields, great staff, owners extremely nice and knowledgeable makes for a great playing atmosphere. Refs were fair and available for paint checks. Prices were reasonable (paint a little expensive) $10 all day air. have early bird specials on sunday they waive the admission and rental fee if you're there before 10 a.m. i'm considering buying a membership (shaves off a few bucks from paint).

Cons: low fields velocity (250 fps) difficult for range and accuracy on their bigger fields (one is 200 yards accross). Prices of paint are a little steep $80 a case.

Overall my experience was outstanding at this field, I'll definitely be coming back.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pookister569 Tuesday, May 1st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 29th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
paintball blitz, factory paintball, fox river games paintball, cpx sports
Directions
to the Field:
use the website
Review: this field has an overall great atmosphere. the staging area is great, the proshop is great. I was having problems with my gun shooting too hot so i took it to the proshop and one of the owners helped me out and fixed the problem. the staff was great and they knew what they were doing. the paintball fields were set up very well and i enjoyed them very much. the only problems i have with the field is the paint price, $80 for a case and the speed you have to chrono your gun at which is 250 fps. 250 fps is way too low for an out door field like action packed paintball. it really should be 280 fps. although the paint they sold seemed to be pretty quality paint (i didn't break once the whole day i was there but it could also because of the low fps) 80 dollars a case is way too steep. 60 dollars seems more reasonable.

in conclusion, overall this place is a great field and i had a great time there and would love to give it a 10/10 but the high cost of paint and low speed you have to chrono your gun at brings the rating down to 8/10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Automag18 Sunday, April 29th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: August 28th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Patriot-The Edge-Challenge Park-Promisedland
Directions
to the Field:
Check website
Review: First off this is the best field ive ever played on. I only go there 2 times a year for their annual big game events because i live 90 mins away from the field. This is best field ive ever played on.

Pros-
-The $10 Admission fee from every player on the big game events goes to local food pantries to help feed the hungry
-Theres a ton of parking
-Alot of tables for all the players
-Incredibly friendly staff
-The owner has played paintball for a very long time so he respects the game and players
-Pretty good paint prices for a field $80 for 2000
-Alot of players at big game events
-Good food
-Very clean fields and staging area
-Excellent fields
-Awesome 2 story wooden castle forts
-A TON of refs, there was never a time i didnt have a ref around to get a paint check.
-Much more

Cons-
-Semi-small sign May be a little hard to see if youve never been there. But they have ballons on it :]
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gulfstream Monday, April 16th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 15th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Dave's Splat Camp, Promised Land, Paintball Sam's, Apocalypse Paintball
Review: Field speed - This is my only complaint.
I came for the Walk-on Novice and Advance Game on Sunday. On there web site it says that field speed is 270fps. This is a little low, but attainable with my markers. But what I found out is I had to chrono @ 250fps and to get that slow I had to pull out my backup gun. If there is any walk-ons that are considered novices then everybody has to chrono @ 250fps. There was more than one of us scrambling to reduce our equipment to a speed that slow (mods, changing springs or cutting them).

Every thing else was great, the people, facilities, fields, employees and owners. The prices were reasonable. They treated you like gold.

But in a world were field speeds are around 280fps, I wonít be returning for any more Walk-on Novice and Advance Games @ APP.
Last edited on Monday, April 16th, 2007 at 4:30 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media