paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / The Edge Paintball Field / The Edge Paintball Field / The Edge Paintball Field / The Edge Paintball Field

The Edge Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
53Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 316-773-0537
Address: K-96 & Ridge
Wichita, Kansas 67205
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
smcarr134 Monday, May 17th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: April 25th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Directions
to the Field:
4305 N Ridge Rd
Wichita, KS
Review: This field is really nice and so are the staff. Sometimes the refs can tend to not pay attention to the game and when you call for checks that sometimes do not respond. The people that go there, that I have had the pleasure of playing with are really nice and helpful. One field, however, is a little lop sided to the defense because its very easy to defend but not so easy to attack because as soon as the game starts the defense already has a clear shot at you from a tower.

PROS: nice fields, people, and staff. Fun environment, All Day Air, not too expensive, variety of different games/fields.

CONS: refs don't always respond to paint checks or to the game.
Last edited on Monday, May 17th, 2010 at 8:51 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dubk_PB Wednesday, May 5th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 25th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
frog holler is much better.
Directions
to the Field:
off of K-96, turn north on ridge and its to the left. real easy to see.
Review: Cons: offense, defense games are really one-sided. refs aren't too nice.

Pros: Cool Ada (all day air) refill set-up, air ups

I played this field and it was terrible. The offense, defense games are too hard for offense cause the defense starts anywhere behind a certain point. The refs aren't too involved in the game and don't protect, like make sure other players know someone is out. I was shot about 5 times point blank with no walk-or-die option. I don't recommend a serious player go to this field, unless using air ups.
Last edited on Wednesday, May 5th, 2010 at 1:40 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

[the]red Tuesday, May 27th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 18th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tornado Alley - podunk field, only a few woods courses, far from civilization
Dropzone - also out in the country, only played woodsball there, but it is expensive
Directions
to the Field:
K96 and Ridge
Review: The Edge is a great field. Ever since i've been playing there, everyone is really nice and very helpful if you need tips, or if your equipment goes down someone is there to lend a helping hand. Prices are great, with a $10 field fee, and $7 ADA and very reasonable prices for paint, which is always fresh, and even the cheapest grade of paint shoots awesome through my Marq Rapper. The sponsored home team, EDGE ARMY, is a great group of guys, and they are always willing to help out newer players, especially if they are running a team practice. They will include anyone that wants to learn the game and get better no matter whether they are running drills or scrimmaging on that beautiful Xball course that the field just got. Playing woodsball there is another whole world, with a multitude of courses available to play, ranging from Assasin's alley to Fire Base Bravo. The refs all know what they are doing, and make sure that everyone is chrono'd and have a safety breifing before anyone gets to play. Also, the field enforces a 12bps cap on everyone's guns, and we are only allowed to use semi-auto for safety reasons. this leads to lots of people coming back week after week to play since they know that they will not be getting overshot by a runaway gun. Overall, this is the best field i've played at, including a few that i've played in NJ when i'm home for the summer. Whether you play speedball or woodsball, you will find yourself having a great time all day.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

muchacho Tuesday, May 13th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: May 10th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
grafiti-kind of run down with a mix and match airball field and players that practice in unlimited ramp and cheat all day long
tap-decent field, but way out of the way
frog holler-good people, but field is not anywhere near as nice
dropzone-nice field, but love the Edge way more
Directions
to the Field:
corner of k96 and ridge
Review: The Edge is by far the best field I have had the opportunity to play at. They have a 2008 Xball field that just got in on May 9th and the owner let walk-ons be the first to play it. That goes to show the atmosphere out there is extremely friendly. It hosts also several woodsball fields that are fun to play such as bunker hill, firebase bravo, sleepy hallow, assassins alley, savage village, and I believe there is one other one that I am forgetting. Anyways, the staff there is very friendly and is on top of everything. Ever since the infraction cards were instituted along with the 12bps semi only cap, it has become an even more safe and friendly environment. It keeps things fun and family friendly.

The speedball players out there are also very helpful and will be out there to help you if you need it. They offer great bits of advice and are really good. I can't remember the last event that the main group of players did not come in the top three. Very helpful in also reffing games on the speedball field when a group of walk ons wants to play.

The owner also runs great deals for practices. $200 for field fee, all day air, and 5 cases of premium paint, or 7 of rec grade, for up to 6 players. He also offers great deals and holds competitions on the website's forums frequently holding drawings and competitions on their for prizes.

The Edge is by far the best field in not just the area, but the state and is always making improvements. It is professionally operated with the highest regards to customer service, satisfaction, and a fun, family friendly atmosphere that caters to both walk on recreational play, and hardcore speedball players.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

RayIAFF179 Sunday, April 13th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 12th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: Hello All,
Yesterday was my first paintball outing. I took my 10 year old son and a few friends. I had called first to check and see if rental equipment was available and was told it would be no problem to accomodate us, "$20 per person would give us everything we needed". Upon our arrival I was excited to see such a nice looking facilty and the appearance of a professional atmosphere. Here's where things went a little bad. At the counter we were helped by a very young man who didn't really seem to know what was going on. He told us that he had a birthday party on there way, and that he couldn't rent us any equipment. He then went on to say it was first come first serve, and since they had called they were first? He then decided to rent us equipment with the stipulation that, " If the Birthday party needed our guns he was going to have to take ours back". He then proceeded to get us our equipment, which I must say seemed to be in very good condition. It was at this time I was informed that the $20 per person would give us everything we need didn't really mean everything. CO2 and paintballs are extra! This is probably the norm, but for a first timer this was a bit confusing. I thought about asking to speak to someone in charge, but it appeared that the young man I was dealing with was in charge?
Now for the good stuff. WE HAD A BLAST!!!! The courses were way better than what I expected. The rules were very easy to follow and the other walk-ons quickly took us under there wings and offered some great advice. The "Birthday Party" showed up and had most of there own equipment, so we never had to have to try to pry the guns from a 10 year olds hands.
All in all it was a great time and I understand that this type of small business relies on young cheap/free labor to keep the doors open. If a few things had gone differently I could have walked out of there as a new person to the sport who was never coming back? Luckily that didn't happen and instead I spent the entire evening, mainly cause I couldn't move my leg's, looking online for information on this great sport. I was very happy to see this type of web-site devoted to the consumer and felt I should share my first time experience so as to maybe help this from happening to other "Newby's".
Thanks for the outlet and see you on the field,
Ray
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

FrankTomlin Thursday, February 21st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: February 15th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Have played other area fields
Directions
to the Field:
The field is located on the NW side of Wichita right off of K-96 Hwy and Ridge rd exit.
Review: I took my son to this field for his Birthday party and was amazed by the service this field provided our group. The price for ten kids was only $99 and that included paintguns and paintballs. Our assigned reff was very friendly and helpfull to this group of new players. Great Price and Service thanks Edge for making my sons birthday party a huge success. We had a blast playing all of your new courses the town in the woods and Bunkerhill rocks!

Now I have played for many years and here are the things I noticed about this field. They are a gret place for beggining players.

**Players can only use semi-auto at 12 rds per second max (((( Greastest thing ever)))

The attitude of all the players thereis spectacular they all get along and seem to care about the game of paintball, there was practically a potluck lunch that differnt players brought out for everyone. The Edge implimented a new card system, that in my opinion is the best thing I have ever seen. There is no way a player can miss a safety briefing or a chrono check as these cards are attached to the back of the goggle and can be seen by evry staff member and player. The infractions are spelled out on the back of the card so there is no excuses for breaking them and I never heard of a complaint of a person getting overshot or cheating while my group was there.

All in all great safety, good prices and a friendly staff with some of the coolest fields I have ever played on. I would give this field a 10 out of 10 and the other people who play there an 11 heck I had a free lunch and desert not mention the guy he loaned me a pod of paint.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

AggSauce69 Friday, February 8th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: February 3rd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Directions
to the Field:
96 and Ridge rd
Review: This field is great. There are several new fields including Sleepy Hallow and a reconstructed Assassins Alley. The referees are very friendly and pay attention to safety. their new green tag system helps insure that players are not breaking the rules. Tag infractions include over shooting, gun on ramping, gun not capped, shooting hot, foul language, no barrel condom, and removing your masks on the field. Three strikes and you are out. All in all this makes for a great experience for the new player as well as the experienced player. I would definitely recommend anyone in the Wichita area to go try out the Edge.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

severe-exposior Friday, January 4th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: October 15th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
frog holler and grifitti paintball
Review: The paint ball field is fun you can play woods ball and speed ball. The prices are not that bad its like 5 bucks a day and 5 bucks for air all day. The staff is great they play with you and are extremely good at what they do and are great refferies. The rules are simple no wipe of the paint and if you are to close to a person and they see you then say "walk or die" if they say walk then they are out with no pain, but if they say die they can fight you back so keep your finger on the trigger just in case. There is a great pro shop that will give you great deals on the paint balls and they only have you use carnage paint balls because they are picky like that but those are good balls anyways.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

daywalker554 Friday, July 20th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: July 15th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
frog holler, tornado alley, graffitti, drop zone
Review: first of all its a great playing enviroment, there is plenty of room to get set up and to park, the fields are maintained weekly by the local owner, they do serve food and have plenty of water and drinks, as for fields go theres 5 woodsball and 2 speedball, the woodsball courses are unique in their own way as in sneeking around attacking defending and ctf. The staff is helpful wen needed even though they could use improvements for the most part they are great i no most of them have been in the paintball world for about 1 year and they know wat they r doing. The Speedball courses range from a full xball feild with the x set up (wen the wind isnt terrible) and a sup air course which is very exciting and fast paced. The hours of the field are 9 to 5 on sat. and 10 to 4 on sun. which allows plenty of playing time in the morning. Safety briefings are offered to newer players, groups, and whoever wants them but most of the people out there are seasonal players with a few newbies here and there and the teams r usually fair..yes there are some unfair teams but that happens wen people come on to the field late. The staff is large they have many ppl to help out with needs, as for the break downs most of the problems are small but u cant just take a shop out there for security reasons, paintball prices are about the same everywhere and yes some might be alittle different but your going to pay the same anywhere. As for paint with the experiences i have and im out there every weekend the paint shoots great but we have had a bad batch here and there but for the most part it shoots good. The edge paintball adventures is in my opinion the best well kept and ran park in kansas i would highly recommend it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Symptom454 Friday, July 20th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: July 15th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Frog Holler- fun but the edge is better
TAP-Also fun but still prefer the edge over all others
Review: The Edge has everything amazing staff, players, and fields. There is this one woodsball course that is called fire base bravo, which is probley one of my favorite woodsball courses, it's so much fun it reminds me of the old fort at the old edge where you can attack and defend, personally i love to attack, and they have a big tower right in the middle of it, they've also got another one called assassins ally which is also really fun cause you have pretty much a straight course which you shoot at each other and hide behind the hills as cover. Another one that is called Savage Village is another great field which resembles the old chaos mixed with bushy areas for more cover, Bunker Hill is also one of my favorite you have plenty of cover on both sides of the field a pond on one side along with a big hill next to the pond where you can play CPT or other types of games. The Speed ball courses are among the best i've ever played their main field is an X-ball field, they sometimes have the X standing in the center and sometimes its laying down you never know because the field is always different each time you come out so you get to play a different set up every time. The air ball course is also fun it gives a whole different type of play than the X-ball field. The Refs are really good but there is always things that they dont see which is expected at any field you go to because nobody can ever see everything and if you have a problem with you gun they will always try to help to the best of their abilities so overall i'd give the staff and A for the effort and making sure it is a safe and fun environment for all players to enjoy.

So Overall I'd give The Edge Paintball an A in all aspects. A 10 out of 10
Last edited on Friday, July 20th, 2007 at 11:33 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media