paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / J&J Sporting Goods Paintball Field / J&J Sporting Goods Paintball Field / J&J Sporting Goods Paintball Field / J&J Sporting Goods Paintball Field

J&J Sporting Goods Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
14Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 220 Casto Rd.
Marietta, Ohio 45750
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
turtleman452 Monday, October 20th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: July 12th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None.
Review: This is a very nice field run by very nice owners. They do everything they can to make sure you're having a fun time! The fields are pretty nice I'd say. My favorite would have to be the Big Field. The field is only open on Saturdays. They run a very safe field and greatly stress the rules. The prices are actually really affordable with $6 all day air and around $40 a case of 2000 paint. Also, the free repairs (only paying for the parts) is awesome!! Sometimes I wish they had hired refs for every game because I do see wiping every now and then but other than that the rules are followed. I'd give this field an 8 out of 10. Id REALLY like to see the Extreme Field revamped and opened back up!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

AsphyxiateHeart Tuesday, September 30th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 5th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Not really any fields "in the area" unless you count a couple of hours away.
Review: My group and I went to try this field out, we all kind of had mixed thoughts on it. We went in hoping for some good woodsplay, but the fields are set up in a more speedballish manner. With the first field (smaller field) the people attacking are already at a disadvantage because the entrance is very narrow unless you decide to jump down in the creek, and the cover is very limited. The next field was a bit nicer, it had a couple of places to lay low, and a cliff to "snipe" from, but really was lacking a lot of cover, space, and overall just places to be. The prices there wern't bad. They had average prices on paint, cheap air fills, and no field fee. They required the first couple people there to chrono, but once things started moving other people showing up did not have to chrono. Some of the locals seem to be shooting higher than what should have been, but oh well. There were a few instances of wiping paint the ref didn't call (An audience to the side caught a couple of people doing this) and the ref seemed to constantly be in the middle of everything. Always blocking shots and just lazily walking around the field.

I suppose the speedball field was alright, but since I'm not a big speedball fan I will not rate that.

The guy's shop was decent, he had a good amount of equipment to buy, I lost my barrel cover in the woods and they let me borrow one....They were pretty strict on barrel plugs and masks on at all times...

Overall the field was ok...Not much of a desire to return if I can play locally in some woods, but if you're a speedball fan you should like it.

I may have had more fun if I wasn't as strict to woodsball as I am.
Last edited on Tuesday, September 30th, 2008 at 9:48 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

t_kirl Saturday, July 22nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: July 22nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: J&J's is one of the best fields I have ever been to. Frank and Tammy really run a great field and shop. They dont charge to play and the prices are the lowest around, internet or otherwise. They are always willing to answer any questions you have, and will help you anyway they can. Frank does free repairs and you only have to pay for parts. They are field paint only, because of the crap paint that is sold at the local retail stores. There aren't usually any refs, unless there are alot of people, but everyone that plays there are honest and always call themselves out when hit. It really one of the best places around. The field speed is 285, which is common around the country. There is a no shot rule under 10-15 feet, which is for safety of the newer players. They have HPA with fills to 3k, and all day air for only 6 dollars.

The Fields-
*Small Field-The small field is a speedball type field set up in the woods, with a hill to one side and a creek to the other. This is the field were most games are played. If you plan to go on the hill, I would suggest cheats or boots with good traction, because it can get slick when it rains.
*Big Field- It a large field with two hills and a gully and creek running between them. This field is natural, with only a few log bunkers. This fiels also has the Castle. A four sided bunker with no roof. Just recently a large plastic drum was added. The drum is large enough to fit 5 standing people in. This field is only used when there are alot of people playing.
*Speedball- The speedball field is a playing card style field, with drums. Just recently a snake was added . The field is good for 3 on 3 or 5 on 5 play. Normally you cant cross the 50, but the rules can be changed to fit whoever is playing.
*There is one more field, but I have never played on it, or have known anyone to. So I cant review it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

gunninforu Tuesday, November 15th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: November 12th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: This place is sweet, its very simple and good fun for any level of player. I go to J&J's all the time, they have a "playing card style" speedball field and a small woods ball field which is most used and then they have big field games which last well over a 1/2 hour. The best part about this place is the service, no field can beat it. Frank does free repairs on any gun, only pay for supplies which most of the time there is nothing to buy. Frank will beat any legit price on the internet and not just by like $5 he sells brand new Ions at $245 good luck finding that anywhere else. I give this field a 9 just because there is no airball field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

xspaintballer Sunday, September 26th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: I know this is supposed to be a review of the fields, but I think the people who read about this place should also know about the guy who runs the place... because I think he is really what makes this place so special. This is a guy who loves paintball who just got into it more and more and started his shop and fields because of his love of the game. He really wants everyone who comes out to have a great time, and to that end goes above and beyond for his customers and friends... it seems like he will do just about anything for anybody who comes to his shop and fields, regardless of their experience level, to increase their enjoyment of the game. this really seems to set him and the way he runs his shop and fields apart... he isn't out to just make a quick buck off of a few paint-ballers.. he is in it for the right reasons and treats everybody fair and honest... I don't know anywhere else that offers free repairs... it just feels right supporting a guy's shop and fields when he runs the place with such integrity and love of the game... (and he's a hell of a shot, too!)
I give JJPaintball a 9 out of 10.. there aren't a ton of fields, it is a drive out there, and it can get very busy on a weekend.... but there is no other place that has good people and as much helpful information as this place. check it out!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bdbush007 Monday, July 26th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tri-county in Evan's , WV
Review: J & J sporting goods is the best place every. You get to play for free, use to be you didn't have to use their paint, but now that has changed. But the price for a case of paint isn't bad. You have to pay to get your tank filled each time. Would be better if they could work something out to where you just pay once for all day air. They have woods and speedball. Frank is the man he will work on your gun for free. He will order you anything you want and match the price. Great place.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

C-Long Tuesday, February 24th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Insane Dayz
JUB's Place
Review: Although i haven't played there, i go there alot for supplies, they are very cheap and their quality is very good on there stuff. there service is very good they will tell you what is good and what is not. They will beat any Internet price on guns and other stuff.

Field's ...
i have only walked their fields i haven't played them what i have had seen of them they are alright could use bigger bunkers in the woods i am six foot and could not get behind half of them i saw on the one of woods courses anyways. there speed ball course is made of palates the bunks are tall enough but it needs to be wider and longer and put different object in there instead of just the same thing. it looks fun though.
i really like this place. service is good and prices are low just don't let him talk you in to buying a tippman! i am giving it a 8 because of the fields. please put in a air ball Field!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

gonadotropin Sunday, November 9th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I don't think there are any others left in the area.
Review: Just reading the reviews and thought I would add that J & J 's field is a non-profit field that exists to give us a place to play with no field fee or anything. With all of Insurance hikes, there are no other fields within an hour of here. They have great prices, and do it for paintball, not for the money. The Owners are very safety minded. Sometimes that is annoying, with no shooting under 10 feet, you just lose that bunkering effect. The had to move a boundary for safety reason, and I lost my favorite "sweet spot". They use a new Radar chrony and some of the local team members carry the new pocket chrono's. The owner is usually working, but if he plays, he is known for letting damn near anyone and everyone try his gun ( a really old worn out 'mag that is very consistent) out while playing. He also believes in some Magic Number of setting his gun at 277 fps, even though the limit there is 285 FPS. On ocassion there are people that are used to 300fps, and playing at 285fps messes up their game. Anyone and everone can and does ask anybody else to chrono. (On one review it sounds like somebody didn't do to well, had a bad day, and felt some flaming would make him feel better)
On lens problems, let me add some safety pointers.
Goggle subjected to ammonia, like windex, can crack & fail without warning.
The chemicals in cigarette smoke and ozone can also make lens life short.
Lenses should be replace once a year, no matter what. All of this is on the instructions that usually thrown away and not read.
P.S. Don't hold against anything "Leader" for making the Brass Eagle Goggles that failed. They make shrapnel-proof googles for the military, and only made the Brass Eagle to the specs that they were told. On April 28th, 1998 Brass Eagle issued a recall of its Xtreme Vision 280 lenses, model 7472, ALL serial numbers and lot numbers. Brass Eagle was responsible, and they publicized the recall for years. All of that old junk obsolete, and not even made anymore. None of those Goggles are still being sold. I can't belive they still turn up, and I hate to see that some vendors are still selling old stock when it could have been replaced for free.
Brass Eagle has since aquired J.T., and now sells JT Goggles.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jdmm72 Wednesday, November 5th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tri-County Paintball, Scary-Creek(YUCK!!!), both in WV
Review: First of all, I have played there with the owner and been hit by the owner, I don't think he was shooting hot then. Also, you would trust you eyesight to Brass-Eagle(shoot from 30 feet busted my brass eagle z-leader lens)? Hello, think about it, the most important safety equipment and you cost cut and buy brass eagle.

I have played at this field a few times, and it can be tough. The field itself that is. It is steep slick, muddy in places, and the creek is freezing. But it offers a good layout that allows good players to play for a while and perform sound paintball maneuvers. The surrender rule is kind of shady, but understand that all fields have had to implement that due to insurance. I ran into an incident of that on my first day.

A guy pretty much bunkered me, but gave me a courtesy surrender from about 20 feet. I turned and fired upon him and hit him, his friend immediately got me. All surrender rules leave too much variables to contemplate at split seconds, just don't blame the field, blame the insurance companies.

Like I said though, I had a great time at this field, and prices are nice too. Anyway, if you have to decided and are within commuting distance of Parkersburg, WV, or Marietta, OH, then you should check it out.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

josh_90 Thursday, September 18th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: Like some of the other reviews on here all of the positive things that were said are true.I
Have played for a little over 4 months, I purchase all my paintball needs at J&J's. The owner is very kind and he enjoy's going out in the woods and playing with everyone.
The service is great and you can't beat the prices. If you need repairs done on your gun
the owner is happy to repair them at no charge. Occasionally the owners wife goes to Mcdonalds and orders lunch and brings it back. There are 3 playing fields to choose from there is speedball field,small woods, and the castle also known as the big field.
I have bought all my paintball needs there and I don't shop anywere else b/c you cannot beat the price. I strongly recommend playing there if you are in the area. There is not a field fee to play also.
Josh Williams
Last edited on Thursday, September 18th, 2003 at 4:09 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media