paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Gonzo Paintball Field / Gonzo Paintball Field / Gonzo Paintball Field / Gonzo Paintball Field

Gonzo Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
7Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 6568 North Ridge West
Geneva, Ohio 44041
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
deezl Sunday, May 13th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 13th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pinnacle woods-Way more expensive, but far more proffesional
O.C. Paintabll- Best field played on, expensive paint, very nice facility
Indian Creek- nicest staff, awesome fields, cheapest prices
Paintball City- one small indoor field, nothng impressive
many others......
Review: M y overall experience at this field was anything far from GREAT. I live in the suburbs so the closest fields to me are about 45 mins out kinda far. But this field i drove an hour n half to get to and boy what a waste.
Starting off with the Pro Shop; but it was anything but PRO, it was the size of a small garage, smelled like urine (could have been his dog) had barely anythiing in it. The seletion of equipment there was definitely lacking, as far as prices go dont know never bought anything from there.
Ive played many fields all around OH and even in other states and i must say Gonzo was the worst field ive played to date. The bunkers, consisted of rusty old garbage made you feel like you needed a tetannus shot after playing, totally unimpresssive. As far as the refs they were anything but impressive as refs and players.


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Saber Friday, March 2nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 23rd, 2002
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pentagon Paintball, Jaw, and other various fields
Review: Unless i am mistaken this field is not longer in operation. I work in area and store is no longer there instead a nail salon is. Their website is also non-functional so i would have to recommend that you find a way to contact the owners otherwise i would not plan on being able to get any paintball related items from here.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hangr Friday, October 17th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Our group won't play to pay anymore unless it's a special event and a great field.
Review: OK - This is weird - there use to be many more reviews here. Many warned about Gonzo's. Wish I had listened!!! My honest opinion is that Gonzo's field is just that a field with some junk called "bunkers". I'm all for woodland play and everyone's gotta right to try and have a field but come on that was just ridiculous. The owner John seems a little high strung and over opinionated (aggressive) and his wife lacked product knowledge when I called in about some items (and i still went, DUH! I gotta get a clue). Overall my experience was shocking. I guess I expected more. What more??? Well better customer service, no pushy salesman (John), a pro shop that looked like a pro shop (not someone's messy garage) and a field worth paying for to play. Sorry guys nice try but no cigar. Never gonna see me again!!
Last edited on Friday, October 17th, 2003 at 8:52 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Oracle Monday, August 18th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Heard prices at Pinnacle were high
Review: I hope that all people with any sense would please try out Gonzo's before they read these insanely one sided reviews. I personally know John and I happen to enjoy being around him. I have never seen him get worked up before in my entire life as these other reviews say. Its the best service I have seen in a long time. They are always willing to go the extra mile to make your experience at Gonzo's more enjoyable. I have seen John let someone rent a gun for free because this kids gun broke down. He didn't want to see someone lose 10 dollars because their gun broke down. I have never seen such generosity in a paintball field.

I HOPE YOU GO THERE AND SEE FOR YOURSELF

Sincerely
Dan Hemphill
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

cookie23 Thursday, July 31st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pinnacle woods much nicer
Review: Personally, I don't like the staff at Gonzo Paintball. It is true when people say he tears you apart for not using his gun of choice or a gun he doesn't sell. I have seen him push a shocker because he had one then I saw him push an impulse because that was his new gun of choice. Then of coarse he had to rip on the shockers he was previously talking up. As for selling he is way to aggressive and should calm down. As for the selling of a Impulse with verticle regulator for $389, check his website and it claims $449 a little bit of a difference huh? Yelling at a person is not going to make them want to buy a gun. He gets disgruntled when you have to ask for a price more than once. He does have a rather decent machine shop in the back from what he has told me, howver I have not seen the fruits of his labors. I had a friend go in for a custom spyder bolt and he indeed paid up front. About a month later his bolt was finished. It wasn't bad for waiting for a Shocktech knock off. However, I felt it would have been better money spent if he were to get the decent bolt online because I was in no way impressed with the machineing ability of this man. As for prices I find them decent to say the least. Shirley does indeed fill co2 tanks under capacity by at least 2 ounces. I know it doesn't sound like much but I want to get what I pay for. Their "pro" shop is anything less than pro. Peg board was cool when I was in grade school but it is time to step up and clean up shop, literally (and by the way what is that funky smell?). I like to buy from a fiendly clean atmosphere and you get neither at Gonzo Paintball Supply. The field is under par. It is just ply wood bunkers in an open field. This needs alot of work because it give Gonzo Paintball a cheap and cheesy feel. As for the refs they do have a couple of good ones (maybe about five out of 12 or so) and the rest are afraid of taking a hit and actually checking a person. There are a couple of better players there that are willing to help out the younger kids when a gun problem does occur. They do make up for the cheap field with the cheapness of the field paint. I believe it is $65 a case. That is great for a field. But they still need improvements in many aspects. I have not seen any improvements going on at Gonzo Paintball and I would be surprised to see some in the future. I have to give the angry John man two thumbs down and Shirley only one. She kinda seems not to know fully what is going on but she deals with John and his attitude so I have to give her some credit. Overall if I had more money I would not hesitate to play at another field. But then you pay for what you get.
i have to say something on the behalf of some of the reviews... if you are a ref there then you are not allowed to post a review. also when i was there maybe only like four refs were tournamentplayers. four out of twelve doesn't constitue everyone being a tournament player. Secondly, good reviews seem to be only coming from people who are friends with john. does this say something? A friend of an owner is just going to say whatever is needed to make all the negative reviews look rediculous. The only thing that looks rediculous is john having to conn his friends into writing a review to help his poor paintball shop and field.
Last edited on Friday, August 22nd, 2003 at 11:04 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

spdfrk2003 Thursday, June 26th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: just wanted to say that i have found gonzos to be well run and the fields
are decent with owners doing everything they can to make your experience at
gonzos enjoyable,improvements are being made all of the time to the fields
and pro shop before you take the word of others plaese go and try it
yourself and form your own opinion
all i can really say is jonn and shirley are doin one hell of a job
Last edited on Thursday, June 26th, 2003 at 11:48 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mrdarryl Friday, May 30th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: I see many of my fellow northeast OH paintballers ripping up gonzos, so I feel I must defend the crew there for just a moment.
I hope anyone looking for a good field does not judge this field on the previous reviews without trying this field out themselves.
First off, lets get some info straight. They sell field paint, diablo blaze, for 62 dollars a case. A very good price, seeing as that most fields charge you 80 a case for the same quality paint.
Second, the fieldhouse is not second rate. They have any non specialty item you could think of in stock, so if you have marker problems on the field,, the crew there can normally help you out.
The owners are both helpful and do a nice job running the field. This is also not counting the experienced players for frequently play at the field who are all more than willing to give you a hand with repairing small problems you might run into.
The courses themselves need a bit of work. The speed ball field is a bit small and could possibly use some expanding, although the owner is making strides to put in new bunkers and is also working on new field types for everyone to enjoy.
So in short, I ask you all to not to judge this field from the reviews you might read until you have a chance to try out the field yourself. I play every sunday and plan to continue to play throughout the summer, so please give this field a try.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media