paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Rampage Paintball Outdoor Paintball Field / Rampage Paintball Outdoor Paintball Field / Rampage Paintball Outdoor Paintball Field / Rampage Paintball Outdoor Paintball Field

Rampage Paintball Outdoor Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
10Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (403) 251-5166
Location: Calgary, Alberta T1X 1E1
Canada
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
warrdogg Friday, August 17th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: August 12th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bragg Creek
CTF
Review: It's my opinion that this is the best field in Calgary. The staff are helpful and easy to talk to. They have 4500 psi fills on air. The 'dead-boxes' are completely netted so it's safe to remove your mask. They are on the fields so you don't spend half the day walking to them once you are out.

The fields have good variety and are the biggest in the area. The trench field is an intense experience. It's unique to most paintball fields I have played on. The town field is designed like a real town, not like a speedball field with buildings. There are dozens of small buildings and 3 large ones. One of the big buildings is a 2 story structure. There are also walls, towers with walkways and numerous bunkers. The field is ringed by woods so it provides avenues to approach. The hill field is big and very woodsy with lots of area to flank and is one of my favourite fields. The castle field is also a large woodsball field with 3 structures spread out in a hilly forest.

Where Rampage has it over their competion is their monthly Big Games. They are designed to have a Milsim feel to them. The scenarios are designed around an objective. They have secret objectives that only the team knows and can challenging to complete ie prisoner escorts, find a down pilot and return him to an extraction area, demolishion a certain target. There are medics, special forces, generals to make the games more interesting.The players are 90+ with a good mix of gun owners and renters. Everyone is trying to complete the team objectives or preventing the other team from completing theirs. The games are all based on points. No one seems to really care about the final score as they are having too much fun playing.

The only thing I think holds the field back is they are the priciest in the area. I really think you get what you pay for. You can see that Brian puts the $$$ back into the field.

If you haven't played here before I suggest you come out and if you are looking for a Milsim experience try one of the Big Games. You won't be disappointed.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

--weezl-- Tuesday, August 7th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 6th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
that i've played, bragg creek

other, rampage indoor, capture the flag
Directions
to the Field:
west on 22x till you hit 22 south, follow to 549, take that east, turn on first road, there is a big sign, hidden behind another sign, turn right to go south, it is quite far down, you will probibly think you passed it, gravel driveway on right, tip, don't go up there with a low car
Review: good feild, they have spent what i concider too much money on the feilds themselfs, GREAT to play, but safety is an issue, there are no nets around the feilds, the safezones are small boxes where you can pull your mask off, not big enough for everyone, the end of the game, the ref calls out barrel plugs in masks off, most people take their masks off then put their plugs in... safety needs to be stepped up a few notches, there is one feild right on the road, if a car goes by while a game is on, it will get hit by paint, not just a possibility. There are also too many branches at low level, i'm 6'2" and a few branches nearly pulled my mask off as they were just too low, cannot shoot through it at all, and paint prices are quite steep, 100$ for a case of white box, overall it was good, main concern is the safety and price, staff is very helpful, the tech i spoke with was more than helpful! i would gladly go back to this feild

rating is a 6 because of safety, would be an 8 if safety was the standard of other feilds i have played
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

PAINTKING 00 Thursday, September 23rd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Braggcreek, Mr paintball, Rampage indoor, Capture the flag indoor and outdoor(cochrane). ALL OF THESE FIELDS CANNOT COMPARE TO RAMPGAE OUTDOOR!
Review: Rampage outdoor paintball is the best paintball zone in Calgary whioch is saying something as there are lots of decent zones in this city. The staff are really nice especially the head manager who always comes up with a way to suit the player's needs. The paint is decent with a few bounces here and there but all around very few chops in the gun. The rentals, well, no zone has great rentals and this place is no exception. The Xtras work fairly well but this is the upgrade marker. THe PMIs and 98customs are noisemakers, not much more. The paint is 10c a ball and is about 5c if you have your own euipment. Its a great field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lando23 Friday, August 6th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Zone (indoor)
Review: This field was amazing. They are way better than Bragg Creek's outdoor field. The staff was phenominal and the prices were great. My co-workers and i went and after that we are going atleast once a month, only to Rampage as well. We were treated so well, everything was taken care of for us, and it was all wonderfully set up.

The best field here has got to be the Town setting. It has everything, and if you set yourself up right, you can see everything without a worry of being shot. The most unique field i have ever seen has to be the trenches. They are great, as someone said earlier in the reviews, there is no strong side, so no one can complain about anything. The woods they have there are deadly!! It was a blast playing that one.

If you are you going to be trying any fields out, i would very highly recommend this one. They are great and you will have the time of your life!!

I would definately give this one a 10 out of 10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintball man75 Thursday, August 21st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: This is the best field i have played on because of the different selection of fields. like an eg. is that you start on a woods field then you move over to a trench then to a town. My opinion is that the trench is by far the best field it is what got me in to paintball so this is why i thin it is the best place to go, you should check it out.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nero** Monday, August 18th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Mr paintball - Bragg Creek
Mr paintball - Paintball Zone
Review: Rampage is the best field ive been to so far, Mr paintball is a bit more expensive than Rampage. The Staff is very friendly, the owner is Very nice. i got my New Electra from him, and a nitro tank, ive played here for 2 years, they have an awesome field called trenches, WWI style trenches. the only drawback to the trenches, is that it is extremely soft ground, and everytime it rains the ground erodes and its always filled to your waist. They have an awesome speedball field and a great town field, the town field has well over 30 buildings and a couple 2 storey towers with pedaways between them.

I give this field a 10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rav3n Thursday, August 14th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bragg Creek - Rampage is much better.
Review: Awesome place. Trench area is wicked except when it rains. Lots of other great fields to choose from like the town and the hill. Nice helpful staff and not too far outside Calgary. Good Rental gear as well but its a little expensive if you don't have your own equipment. Over all it is a great place to play!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

theguyonthenet Thursday, August 7th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
MR Paintball
Capture the Flag (indoor/outdoor)
Review: This is the best field I've been to in all of my paintballing experiance. The trench field provides a hair-raising round of ball and is set up so that no side is completely secure, a feature which eliminates the whiners saying,"they got the good side."

There are three bush fields, though I haven't had the pleasure of playing on two of them as I'd like. The one I do have intimate experiance with is the one known as 'the Hill'. It is a large field (about 2-3 acres) and is entirely on a hill. Teams start on opposite sides of the hill, but not one on top and one on the bottom. It's covered with trees and barricades and there is a ridge along the top that is usually the scene or the hottest fire-fights.

The crowning achievement at Rampage is the town field. It is a large field, about 300 meters by 150 meters (400 yards by 200 for you Americans out there) and it ringed with bush. n the middle there is a huge amount of buildings, about 150, and about 6 2-story towers. Some of the towers are connected by walkways. The towers are great for sniping but they take a lot of fire during a game. Same with the walkways, use only if you have to, the guard-rail doesn't provide a lot of cover.

The kill-boxes are are an important part or any paintball field. At Rampage each kill-box is positioned so that the occupants have a good view of the field that you are playing on and is equiped with a timer, google cleaning supplies and a squeegee. Naturally each field has a kill-box and each one is near the center of the field and a little off to the side.

So there you have it. Rampage is the best field in Southern Alberta and, If you ave your own gear is very affordable on the cheap-days that they have about once a month. It has made me love the sport of paintball more each time I play there. For that reason it gets a ten.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

p8ntballer007 Tuesday, April 29th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
MR Paintball Paintball Zone
Review: This is an excellent field, it has a really cool trenches field that is a blast to play. There are big game days which are very cheap and over 120 people come out and play. The field has competetive prices, good food and a friendly helpful staff. The reffing is top notch, and there are some special events and cheap days throughout the year.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

punkhardcore101 Wednesday, March 26th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
capture the flag-good speedball
mr paintball-good airball
Review: this field is ****ing awesome! It has a few cool forest fields, one called the hill... it is just this huge hill splattered with trees, the other base is at the other side of the hill, but both are somewhere in the middle of the elevation. They have a very popular town field, where it is a bunch of toweres and a base, with walkways going from tower to tower. An the best field of all is one called the trenches! it is a WWI type field with long winding 6 foot deep trenches, under ground buildings, "no mans land", and a building which is the base. They are currently working on 3 new fields.

Rampage i would still say is a little overpriced which brings down the rating a tiny bit, but they have cheap days, canadian tire money days, and big events to cover up for the price. also if you buy a gun from them, i heard you get a free years membership which covers entree fee. I have not been to one of Rampage's "big games" but throught pictures what i can see is they have smoke bombs going on in the trenches.
if i could give this a 9.8 i would, but nine will have to do.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media