paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Los Gatos Pursuit Paintball (Outdoor) Paintball Field / Los Gatos Pursuit Paintball (Outdoor) Paintball Field / Los Gatos Pursuit Paintball (Outdoor) Paintball Field / Los Gatos Pursuit Paintball (Outdoor) Paintball Field

Los Gatos Pursuit Paintball (Outdoor) Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
38Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: (408) 946-7676
Location: Boulder Creek, California 95006
USA
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Geoff[B.B.] Friday, July 9th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: July 3rd, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sequoia Paintball - [Closed]
Directions
to the Field:
Google Maps is your best friend.
Review: Let me get straight to the facts;

-All staff at this field do a GREAT job at enforcing safety regulations. First offense, you get a warning; second, sit a game or two out; third, you get kicked out of the field.

-In my opinion, this field is wonderful, plenty of strategy is involved while playing on this field. They quite often change up the layout of the field so expect something different every time you go. Although it can be a hassle for people who don't like hills. Me, I love them. Also, one more thing is that, playing during the winter can get messy. Lots of mud and it smells because of minerals and old paint. Regardless, that one time when I played and it was raining was really awesome, also because my lens actually didn't fog up in the cold.

-Hours of operation are about 0830 - 1530-1600 with the usual morning orientation. No matter how many times you've played or how experienced you are, you need to be at the orientation. Which is good.

-From past experience and being a use-to-be speedballer, the prices here are pretty good and the paint is average. Although price isn't too much of a hassle for the group I always go with. I play pump so I don't pay too much for paint, and we always bring our own air. So the only price I can conjure up from my knowledge is that entrance is $25 per person.

-Rules are high and tight, enforced from the get go and staff won't hesitate to yell to get your attention.
Chrono limit is 270.
All self-equipped players must chrono their gun everytime they bring it back onto the field. Rental players chrono their guns once in the morning, and once on the afternoon.
All of the other safety common sense rules apply on this field as should they on any other field for example: Barrel covers on at all times when not on the field, masks on in the field at all times, blind man rule, etc.

-The staff are all very nice and are willing to help with anything. Everytime I go playing with the group I usually do I always get banged up but I enjoy it all nonetheless. Like last time I went, I was sprinting toward the middle fort on the last game of the day to hang the flag and I nailed my elbow on a corner of wood. Got a puncture that had some good bleeding and I went to the shack and they cleaned it and bandaged it up for me.

-There's one bathroom there, and it's a port-a-potty. I don't have too many complaints about this but some people might be uncomfortable using it. Just use the bathroom before you head out to play. Also, parking can be quite a hassle since they have a small parking area, but the staff will help you get out if you want to leave early. One bit of advice that may help is that if you plan on leaving early, park closer to the entrance and if you plan on staying all day, get there early and park further in and also get your own bench.

-In the middle of the day, there's a lunch break. Two games before the lunch break you can make an order for food. They do some reeeeeeeeeeally good bbq there. And I mean REALLY good. They also sell drinks and snacks. Nothing too fancy, just the basics. But make sure you bring extra money for hot chow.


So all-in-all;

PROS:
-Great staff
-Great food
-Rules well enforced
-Fun field
-Dynamic field
-Great weather (most of the time)
-Everyone is really friendly


CONS:
-Some may find the outhouse disgusting and not want to use it
-Parking can be a hassle
-Hills may be a problem for people who don't cope well with them
-If you're a vegetarian you can't enjoy the awesome bbq.


So, that pretty much wraps up my review.
Overall, amazing field.
Oh, and one more tip, if you're plan on playing when it's warm out, bring loooots of water. I went through about six bottles in one day.

If you believe I missed anything, please state so in the comments.
Last edited on Saturday, July 10th, 2010 at 12:01 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SurfCityPBall Monday, June 7th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 20th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Davis Paintball, Mt Diablo Scenario (closed), T.A.G paintball
Directions
to the Field:
check out the website
Review: Of all of the fields ive been to, this is probably one of the worst.ive ever been to. lets start with the field.
The field is pretty small for a woodsball field, with a few ok bunkers, but for the most part i felt like the construction was kind of half @$$ed.
The only word i have to describe the pricing is rediculous. 55$ for a box of mediocre paint, 25$ for admission and another 10$ for all day air. 90$ for paint air and admission is rediculous.its 30$ less at Davis.
The majority of the ref's had terrible attitudes. I went with a birthday party and i was one of about 5 our of 25 people who have experience playing paintball, and for not one, not two, but 4 games, the refs messed up and told the two teams two different objectives. So while the ref for the team on top told his team that they had to get to the bottom of the field to win, the other ref told them the opposing team had to get to the middle to win, so when my team managed to get to the bottom our ref blew the whistle, both teams had thought they won. And this happened throughout the day.
Also, my printer is kinda old and terrible, so when i printed out the waiver the margin was just large enough that the waiver printed out on two pages instead of one, and they (for some reason) believed that I had printed out the wrong waiver, so they wouldnt let me play, until about 15 minutes later when they ACTUALLY LOOKED AT THE WAIVER and realized that it WAS the right waiver.
Overall, the people working there are jerks, who give off the impression theyre being forced to work there, the field is alright, but kind of half @$$ed, and there are MUCH better places in the bay area for paintballing, and you can save around 20$ by going almost anywhere else.
This place wasnt worth my money or my time
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ventureballer1 Monday, October 26th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 18th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
scp, davis, midway
Review: well where to start
we got lost trying to find this place, its hard to find if u dont know your way

Pros
good refs, know what their talking about and very friendly

cons
to start 55 for a case of practice karnage...you can buy it for 35
field: one field, small, could be so much better if they wanted to spend a month or two building and when i saw that i mean get rid of the wood barrers and build some small buildings in the middle like a village, spools!! etc etc
people that attend are mostly new, or just getting started

i have played paintball for 4 years, a couple of 0-8 finishes in tournys and i have never been so discouraged by paintball, as i was when i played a few games at this field, i played 3 games, decided it wasnt worth it to waste paint that i could use some where else and get my moneys worth. This is a good field for the 1st timer and begginer player, not for some one who has played for a few years, its to small, of the "go" i think i ran to the middle of the field in 3 seconds and the way the field is set up you get the sun in your eyes and cant see anything over 15 feet infront of u. We thought it was going to be a field like Venture but it is far from, dont let the pictures on the website fool you, its one field that you can get long balled from the other teams starting postion...
if you are taking new players its a good field, really expensive tho
go to scp, or midway, and if you feel like making the drive davis is worth it, the rec feilds are 100 times better, nd the turf is amazing
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

kaimbanks Saturday, February 14th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 5th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
None, this was my first time paintballing
Directions
to the Field:
go to the website- you can just google it, they have really good print-out directions
Review: I recently went to Pursuit for a friend of mine's party, and it was my first time paintballing. The guys there hooked me up with a cheap rental marker, but I still had a blast, now I'm looking at a Tippy A5. Everyone who went with my friend had a ball! Here's my first-timer review:

Pros: (only listing the ones off of the top of my head, great field!)
-AWESOME refs, very kind to everyone, very fair, incredibly supportive
-Very nice lady in the "shack" up top, by the parking lot, fixed my rental quickly, will compassionately bandage up any injuries or scrapes
-HUGE field, there were only about 22 people there (so I hear is the average number), has an awesome layout
-Incredibly fun games, lots of diversity, I never got bored
-Has hot lunches (hot dogs, Polish dogs, hamburgers, chicken, drinks, snacks, etc.
-Rentals come with everything- even a harness with pods
-No full auto/ramping modes (this is a debatable pro/con for some people... I like semi)
-Very well setup field, lots of bunkers+obstacles and a great hill
-Sells paintballs
-Co2 refills are $5 for a 20 oz tank!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
-And there are about a billion more that I can think of, this is the best field to start on.

Cons:
-Has only minimal bathroom access
-Picnic tables are at a 40 degree slant on a hill
-PAINT IS EXPENSIVE, not that high quality, $55 per 2000 rounds... actually average price
-From where I live, takes a while to drive to
-When the sun hits the field, it gets really hot, but that's no biggie.

And that's all! I HIGHLY recommend this field to anyone. It's a perfect introduction to paintball for noobs (like myself)! 10/10!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Last edited on Saturday, February 14th, 2009 at 4:11 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

rbwalk Monday, February 2nd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 31st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Directions
to the Field:
Exit Bear Creek off of 17. Go West 3.8 miles, and as soon as you cross Hwy 35, take a right down a steep dirt road. Parking will be your first left.
Review: Safety: Mandatory safety orientation, chrono of all personal markers every time you enter the field, barrel plug and mask rules are emphasized and unambiguous. I did not feel unsafe at any point during my trip.

Fields: 1 large multi-tiered field, approximately 1 football field in area. The refs declare parts of the field off-limits depending on what type of game is being played. The multi-level aspect allows for a fantastic workout, and adds a nice variation from other woodsball environments. Bunkers are copious and in pretty good shape. Many are made from pre-existing trees/brush/etc, which gives a natural feel to the game.

Hours: 10am - 3pm Sat and Sun. 1st game starts at 10am, so get there early so you don't miss the first orientation and therefore the first game.

Prices: $25 for all day play, $5 for a 20 oz. CO2 tank, and I believe 1$/kpsi for HPA. Paint is $55 a case and is decent field paint, but not awesome. Plenty of non-spheres and dimples. All in all, a full day of play for less than $100.

Refs: There were 2 refs with us, both were very professional and friendly. Unfortunately, we had ~20 participants all day, so there's just no way 2 refs can cover 20 people over a field this big. Don't count on paintchecks for yourself or the guy you just hit. Refs are *fantastic* at helping eliminated players into the deadbox. The number one thing you hear being yelled is "Player out, let him by!" This cuts down a lot on how many times you get nailed after you're eliminated.

Facilities: Basic shed that they run the field from, picnic benches and a portable toilet. It's primitive, but you're there to get dirty and play paintball, not get a manicure, so I don't think many folks mind.

Food: The staff runs a little grill, you can order a couple of types of sausage and chicken. You place your order 2-4 games before lunch, they make it while you play, and then you pick it up during the 1/2 hour lunch break. Hot dogs were a little small, so make sure to order 2 if you're a normal-size human. They also allow you to bring your own grub if you'd rather, but don't expect a microwave.

Summary: This was a very satisfying paintball experience, and I'll definitely be going back. Another ref or two would be a big improvement.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

rixom6 Wednesday, January 21st, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: January 17th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Santa Clara Paintball - speedball only (not a fan)
Sequoia Paintball - great field, but doesn't allow outside paint or has HPA yet
Review: ARRIVAL:

The field itself is located down a steep dirt road and the parking lot is dirt. I recommend bringing a taller car, SUV, or truck to this field as a lower car will bottom out in a pot hole or in the parking lot. This is not to say that you can't bring your Honda or BMW, but you just have to be more aware of where you park and where you drive.

Also, if you arrive early, plan on spending the day (10am - 3pm w/ .5hr lunch break) Parking is stacked and early arrivals are shoved in the back about 4-5 cars deep depending on the crowd. It is possible to leave early (some car shuffling required), but if you think you might leave earlier than 3pm, you might want to think about arriving closer to 10am rather than earlier.

SAFETY:

Refs are big on safety and took an active role in ensuring the safety of all guests. When I arrived (about 10:15) the ref was just finishing up an orientation for the guests. Another gentlemen arrived late, like myself, and the ref pulled us aside, after dismissing the orientation group to gear up, and gave us a condensed orientation that did not include operating the marker (we were both self-equipped).

The major field rules, other than goggles, plugs, physical violence, etc. are:

-- 270fps (if your marker has a spike during the 3-shot test, refs will make you turn it down)
-- Every time marker leaves the field, it is re-chronoed
-- 20ft surrender rule
-- No pink or red fill

Refs take a very active role in the game as well, performing paint checks and stopping fire on a hit players to let them out of the game. However, refs cannot be everywhere at once and calling for a paint check may not be an option.

FIELD:

The field was very clean and free of underbrush. The outside edges of the course contained leaves and twigs, but the center of the course was very clean.

The field has three levels since its on a hillside. This makes this course an excellent attack and defend course. The defending team takes the high plateau and the attack team has to storm the hill and come up on them. The field is also versatile in that its wide enough to play side to side, which added an interesting element to capture the flag, in that, it didn't give one team the advantage of starting on the high ground.

The field is also very playable. There are many different types of twig piles, bunkers, peep-holes, fallen trees, etc. to move to, both in the middle and outer rims of the field. There is a proper amount of space between bunkers as well, which does not allow one team or another to advance unhindered.

FACILITIES:

This is, after all, in the woods of the Santa Cruz mountains. There is a porta-potty and a splash of picnic tables to set up gear or eat lunch.

The staff has a small grill and provides hot dogs and burgers for a great price (1.50/hot dogs, 2.50/polish dog). They also provide ketchup, mustard, and relish condiments. In addition to the grilled items, they have chips, cookies, drinks, etc. I always order food at the field but bring my own drinks. Many others do the same as well.

The staff is also capable of making minor repairs to the markers as well. You may be out of luck if you lose a hex-screw (like I did), but most simple repairs can be made. The staff does not have an HPA compressor, but they do have scuba tanks and fills were very reasonable at $1/per psi or $10/day.

RECOMMENDATIONS:

-- Plan on spending the day
-- Bring layers (can be colder in the am and hotter in the pm when the sun hits the field)
-- Wear a shoe with an aggressive tread (some parts of the course are steep and dry dirt is slippery.)

RATING and CONCLUSION:

I'm giving this field a 9 because:

-- staff is great
-- play was good
-- field is good
-- I had a great time

This is simply a fine and unique woodsball field. The attack and defend alone will draw me back as well as the myriad of other games played. Additionally, the work of the refs and the experience they provide make this an excellent field.
Last edited on Wednesday, January 21st, 2009 at 5:53 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

lethalpanther Thursday, February 21st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: January 19th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Santa Clara-not nearly as good
Directions
to the Field:
see website
http://www.bearcreekpaintball.com
Review: This place is the best!

Safety: During orientation, the refs cover this thoroughly and make sure everybody understands. I have never seen an accident before(or even heard of one)

Field: It's one large-ish field. Think of it as a huge speedball field, that's also a hill. It's a straight platform(roughly size of speedball field), then a hill sloping up and down to each side to two other platforms
So there's basically three platforms: Lower, middle, and top. I call it a large speedball field 'cuz everyone brings speedball guns. But I bring an A-5, and I take them all out! xD

Hours of Operation: Arrive between 7:30 and 10:00 am. By 10 am, if there's not around 15+ people, they won't open. (HINT:come saturdays there's usually ppl)

Prices: $25 for admission, $10 for rental(or $15 for upgraded), $10 for all day air. C02 fills vary, depending on the size of your bottle. Usually $3-$5.

Rules: Fair rules, plenty of safety, point blank rule, they almost never have problems with people disregarding rules(I've never seen it) NO FULL AUTO/RAMPING

Proshop: Not much, but most of the refs can fix your gun if it breaks

Staff/refs: Great, fair, nice. My bro and I came twice, and they didn't have enough people to open. On the third time, they said "what the hey, I don't wanna keep you guys waiting forever" and opened the field, even though there weren't enough ppl by normal standards.
One of the refs, JR is the best dude ever. He likes to play, and has a trunk full(literally) of guns, barrels, air tanks, etc. Sometimes he plays, and instead of being in a bunker, he stands in the open and just dodges it.
When we ask him why, he says "That twig there at my feet counts as a bunker"

Facilities:Port-o-potty

Food-Bring your own, or they have lunch there. BBQ chicken, hot dogs, chips, water, gatorade.

Overall, I think this field is the best there is in the bay area. Come here and you won't regret it. 10 out of 10
Last edited on Thursday, February 21st, 2008 at 4:10 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

HazardousSS Saturday, June 2nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: March 16th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
TAG (was a reg at their old old old location many years back), Woodstock, Ft. Ord indoor field, TAG new location. Only field I enjoyed more was TAG's old school location in Watsonville.
Directions
to the Field:
See site.
Review: I drove up from Santa Cruz, and it wasn't a bad drive at all. The directions were easy to follow, though bear creek road is kind of sketchy, as is the steep dirt driveway that leads down to the field. But hell, this is woodsball in the SC mountains right?

I arrive there and there is a relatively small group getting geared up, probably about 25 total. I paintball alone considering all my friends have backed out of the sport, so I needed no reservation. I was actually later glad that there wasn't a huge group. as BC consists of only one field, and it's not that huge a field all things considered.

One really cool thing was that my tank is being hydro'd at the moment, and I can't run CO2 on my guns. They don't rent out nitro tanks, but I had been talking to Clint, who had done some work on my spyder years ago and it turned out he reff'd at this field at times. He said he wouldn't be there the weekend I was going but to call the field up and ask a ref to bring me a tank to borrow for the day. So I left a message at the field and they called me back promptly, asking what kind of tank I needed (hp/lp) and told me they'd take care of it.

When I arrived they had a nitro tank waiting for me and didn't charge me for the rental. Good stuff. The lady running the shack is really nice and helpful, hooked me up with some bandages for a scraped knee and evened out all the testosterone running rampant.

Staging area: consists of a sales shack, canopied fill stations and a trailer with gear. There are a few picnic tables next to where you park your cars. Parking lot is a dirt area, and there are plenty of trees to find shade under.

Prices: Prices are fair for the most part, save for paint which is WAY WAY WAY overpriced ($70 a case). I brought my own paint as a self equip so this was not a problem for me, but I felt sorry for the renters. I know this is one of the only ways for fields to make money but.. still. $70?

For me it cost $35 bucks for entry and all day air.

Food and water and energy drinks is cheap and very good. The hot dog/chicken skewer lunch was really nice and it really felt like summer had begun.

Orientation: orientation is quick and concise, all the important factors stressed. Easy to listen to, the usual safety and newbie info included.

Refs: Refs are NPPL registered and helpful and friendly. They will do paint checks (even if begrudgingly) and there are always at least 2 refs on each game, keeping things organized and ensuring safety and rules are followed.

Field: Field is found down a path and consists of a gradual slope with a flat area at the bottom. Plenty of bunkers, woodpiles, and a few trees and some foliage, though overall it is pretty much open. In other words, the field itself isn't in dense woods. It's open and sunny for the most part. There's plenty of cover but not so much that you don't take some risky slides. No poison oak that I saw. It really reminded me of the "Triangle" field from old school TAG. The "hill" is rather minor, it's just sloped enough that you get some exercise when assaulting it, but it's not really major. You don't need to be in that great of shape to handle it.

Teams: Teams were mixed pretty evenly between self equipped and rentals. Everyone plays together, which is nice as it allows for big games. It was also good for me since I'm still rusty having not played in years and using my old gear.

Gameplay: Gameplay is really fun. Most of the day was spent on elimination games, mixing up the start points for the teams. Other games played were capture the flag (though no one ever managed to grab the flag before the time ended.. these should be longer games IMO), and attack and defend (very fun) where one team must stay on the hill and gaurd the flag pole while the opposing team assaults it and are all terminators (can respawn as many times as they like). When we were defending they gave us one terminator as well. This place reminds me of the good old days at TAG's old location years ago.. classic woodball with a big group and everyone having a good time. They know how to work with what's given to them and make the best of it. Good stuff.

The format was 2 games (switching sides) and a "5 minute" break, which always ended up being 10-15 minutes. Everyone likes to relax in between games, but it would be good for the refs to rush people a bit more. Though, at the end of the day, our group stayed at the bottom of the path on the field to ensure we got another 2 games in.

Rules: Rules are fair and the usual safety stuff. Chronoing between games is fine and smart, even if it takes up a little time.

The only issue I had was the no-bunkering rule. It's not that I want to bunker noobs all day. It's not even that I really love bunkering people (though..I do), it's that this rule really can mess up gameplay. It creates these awkward situations with people yelling "SURRENDER!" from like 10 feet away and you're thinking to yourself "hm.. I could just shoot this person", or two people rushing each other yelling surrender at the same time and then not knowing what to do. Our ref even had to get 2 players to start over from opposite bunkers a couple of times because of this. Also at times there's simply no way to tag a player from the distance they desire, and running up to surrender the person would inevitably cause problems.

Though it does suck for noobs to be bunkered, the no bunkering rule causes real problems in gameplay, and should be modified. Refs should ask that players surrender, but should not require it in all situations.


Personal stuff: Well as I said there were a fair amount of first timers and renters there, so I took it easy at times. When I was up against self-equips I went all out, but a fair amount of the time I was relaxing, just walking around and giving my team info. I assumed a leadership role on my team and encouraged players to rush and move up, and I think they had a better time for it. Everyone had grins coming off of the field.

When we broke through their flank, and got behind the other team, I would tag a few players but for the most of my part I'd let my team do the flanking. Truth be told I would have felt a little guilty taking out the majority of their team so once we broke through I let the noobies have their fun and relaxed till the whistle blew. I was using a used angel I picked up on craigslist and I definitely was not used to the sensitivity of the trigger, so I did get yelled at once for hitting a player with a few too many balls, and with good reason. After the game I informed the guy (JR) about my situation and he understood.

JR is actually a ref there but played some of the games with us. I started shooting the sh*t with him and we got to talking guns and what not, and he told me he had an ion as a backup. I told him how I'd been looking into an ion and he offered to let me play the rest of the day with his ion, no problem at all. JR's the man! So I put the angel away (it was double balling anyway) and used his ion the rest of the day, and I might mention had a blast with it. He reffed a few of our games towards the end and I got to know the ion and overall had a good day of paintball. He left his gun and tank with me and I dropped it off to the lady at the shack (sorry don't remember her name) at the end of the day.


Overall, this place is a solid field to have a good day of recball in the mountains of Santa Cruz. They may only have one field, but they know how to work with it and mix up gameplay to keep things exciting. It really brought me back to the old days of recball and reminded me what paintballing is all about. Everyone was having fun and I met quite a few cool people playing there. It also reminded me why I love woodsball vs. speedball. The game brought everyone together and everyone was socializing and having fun in the sun, getting some good exercise in beautiful surroundings while playing safe and everything staying organized.


Rating: 9/10

This rating is considered in comparison to other local fields and considered what they do with the area they have. There are better woodsball fields in California, but this place offers a great time with just one small field.







Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Workday warrior Monday, September 18th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: September 3rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Santa Clara FairGrounds-very disorganized compared to bear creek, but still very fun, a good variety from speed ball to hyper ball.
Review: The safety at this field is extremely covered, there is a chrono before every two games to get the max amount of rounds into the hours that are available.
All of their rules are enforced very well to ensure everyone's safety.

The staff there is extremely nice I would give them all an A, the refs too.
The refs know what they're doing and try to make the game fun for everyone.
From what I've experienced the players at bear creek are always nice, since they're just there to have a good time in the first place, you'll encounter a noob every once in a while but they won't bother anyone.

Bear Creek serves food from their "Snack Shack" and their BBQ, which makes everything convenient. One great thing is that they do have objective games, rather than just shoot the other team.
3000 paintballs is more than enough at bear creek, and if you're going in the fall summer or spring bring some water, but if it's anywhere near the winter bring a heavy jacket for the morning.
Bear creek is great for having fun with friends or family.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Legree Wednesday, July 5th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 2nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Used to play at the old Bear Creek, Woodstalk, Venture Games, Carpet Bobs, Mare Isle, etc.
Review: I flew out from the east coast to visit a Bay-area friend. He usually plays arena-style ball, but I wanted to play some woods games, so we settled on Bear Creek. Neither of us were very happy with our experience.

CONS
• LONG delays between games. Playing from the beginning to the end, I think we managed 8 games. Back in the days of giant woods fields (anyone remember Prime Time Paintball in Vallejo?), 8 games a day was doing good. Bear Creek however isn’t much more than an oversized speedball field, and you should be able to get twice that number of games in a day. Having to chrono before every game is overkill, but even that shouldn’t take that long if the field operators tried to speed things up.
• No pink paint. I never heard a good explanation for why pink paint will cause more problems than any other color, but if you show up with that color paint, you’re screwed. Yes they do have a small sign at the registration desk, but wouldn’t a warning on the web page be expected?
• No field variety. Yes, their one field is nice. It’s good sized, has a good variety of bunkers and some interesting vertical terrain. Playing the same field all day gets old though. If they don’t have the land to add another field, how about playing occasional half-field games?
• Mandatory surrender rule. This is a personal peeve of mine. Whenever a field requires that a surrender be accepted (ie, you can’t turn around and try and shoot the person calling the surrender on you), you start running into people that will use it as a defensive weapon. That’s where a person hiding behind a bunker will tell you to surrender even though they can’t see you, and they don’t even have their marker pointed at you. It should be mandatory to call for a surrender within a certain distance. It should be optional if you want to accept it.

PROS
• As I said above, they have a pretty nice field.
• The people (workers and other players) were for the most part helpful and well-behaved.

This place has the potential to be a really great paintball field. All of the CONS I listed could be corrected without that much trouble. I would not recommend playing at the field until some of these things get fixed.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media