paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Semper Fi Paintball Field / Semper Fi Paintball Field / Semper Fi Paintball Field / Semper Fi Paintball Field

Semper Fi Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
31Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 2149 E. Badger Rd.
Lynden, Washington 98264
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
trei Thursday, December 23rd, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: November 11th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skinny Joes, CDR, paintball station
Directions
to the Field:
Small yellow mailbox at the field turnoff is kind of hard to see.
Review: Pros:
Very big place
Lots of new players, not a overly competitive field
All woods
Good Price
friendly people
Photos taken by the field and available for free on there website.


Cons:
Little muddy in the winter
Donít get to play the whole facility if you only play the 2 hour session.
Rental gear was a little old.

Over all I would say that this field has more potential than it is using.
Last edited on Thursday, December 23rd, 2010 at 6:12 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

seatowncolin Sunday, March 8th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 8th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Directions
to the Field:
turn at the yellow mail box
Review: The fields are great. Karl is a really good guy and very strict when it comes to the rules. The refs are great, there are snacks to buy but if you want a meal you better bring it.There is a 10 dollar field/air fee which is a great deal. The paint they sell is a decent price, however the cases we got today were poor quality. There was lots of chopped balls by everyone. You may want to bring your own paint. Other than the bad paint this place is a ten
Last edited on Monday, March 9th, 2009 at 11:07 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

nicklenn Sunday, June 15th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 14th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
There are maybe 2 or 3 private fields in the area but this is the only regular rec field.
Directions
to the Field:
Easy to get to. East on Badger road coming from Lynden. Go past Northwood Rd. Watch for a house with a pond on the right. It's the second driveway after that. Big yellow mailbox.
Review: Since I started playing paintball I've only played on private fields and with new players so I decided I'd go check this place out to give me an idea exactly where my skill level was at and hopefully pick up a couple of new moves. Here's what I found.

Safety/Rules: Umm.... yeah. You don't have to worry about a lack of safety there. Karl's and old Marine and is definitely not lax on safety. I swear you can hear that guy a mile away yelling at people to put their barrel bags on. Rules seemed pretty fair to me and weren't unreasonable.

Fields: I guess there are numerous fields (3 or 4) but I only played on the main field. It's pretty much a woodsball field. Nice part is all the brush has been cleaned out so if you get in a speedball type situation or are moving for a fast flank you're not constantly tripping. There's plenty of bunkers with a large "god" bunker in the middle of the field. Overall, I really liked the field and enjoyed playing on it.

Ref's: They weren't too bad I guess. Mostly young kids. They did a decent job I guess but I can't say I was overly impressed. They're way too quiet though.

Staff/Proshop: These people need to learn to freakin' smile a bit. I swear every single person on the staff (except for Karl the owner) was straight faced and said no more than they absolutely had to.

Price: It cost us $20 to use the field and get free air all day. That was bringing our own paint. From the prices I've seen at his store in town and looking at the prices of the paint at the field he tends to run pretty high compared to others. However, a buddy of mine needed a couple 9v's for his hopper and only paid $4 for both of them. That's cheap.

Facilities/Food: Couple of porta-poopers. Not exactly the nicest setup but at least they were clean. There's absolutely nowhere to get a snack out there. That sucks bad! Closest store is way back down the road so BRING YOUR OWN FOOD.

Players: I would say there's definitely more newbies than vets out there. Out of the 18-20 walk-ons we were playing with I think about 5 or six were experienced. Lets just say I wasn't overwhelmed. The few vets that were there seemed pretty cool and seemed pretty excited when I suggest we actually plan some attacks out.

Overall: We really did have a great time. It was nice playing with a lot more people. The games rotated quite quickly and it seemd like we were only waiting about 15min to play again. I had a great time and will definitely go play there again.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jessecain1 Thursday, September 20th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: September 5th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none really, few Renagade around my freinds houses
Review: Alright let my break this down into catogries

Feild: pros
maintained well
large
lots of bunkers
paint prices our very reasonable
$27 dollar all day fee, 500 rounds rental gun ,all day air , and a good time
both hpa and air
concession stand with very fair prices
safety comes first

cons:
fireing squad, yet to have seen it be used, but it's just to keep you in check
no water, but who really cares

Managment:
karl: an hardcharging ex-marine who won't be afraid to tell you whats on his mind, but a fun and nice guy to talk to and will explain any questions you have.
Refs: more like ref everytime i have played there has only been one ref, but overall they are very helpful and make sure you have a good time well your playing there.

Players:
most experienced players from what i can tell come out and play sundays, most are willing to show you there gear and help you out, you do get some jerks though but thats a very rare occurence.

Overall this is a great feild to go to, and you will have fun no question about it, everybody there looks after you and ensures you have a great time, i have yet to experience a bad time.
Last edited on Saturday, December 22nd, 2007 at 9:13 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DavidMartin007 Saturday, July 14th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: April 1st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Everywhere.
Directions
to the Field:
Don't bother until Semper Fi changes it's Nazi rules.
Review: IF YOU ARE A HARDCORE REGULAR PLAYER, SEMPER FI WILL RAPE YOU.

I've played at SemperFi since I was in Junior High, and in the past two years Karl has been raping the regular players. His new rules which he implimented in 2005 are as follows:

1) FPO. And you can only use what you purchased that day. You cannot bring any left over the following weekend.

2) All paint that you purchase is required to be left behind the counter, so that the Staff can issue it to you as you need it. Their real reason is to monitor your paint useage, so you can't supplement some other paint you have in your car that you bought at 1/3 the price.

3) Semper Fi charges the HIGHEST prices for paint, which is either seconds, old, or left in the sun in the front window of his shop. IT IS DOUBLE THE PRICE FOR THE SAME PAINT DELIVERED FROM THE INTERNET. If you can catch Karl's new shipment of paint the week it comes in, you might get some good stuff. The prices don't hurt newbies, since they only play once or twice a summer. But for the regulars that translates into an average of $175 per day--assuming you shoot a case or more in a day. (that allows for equipment repair, paint, gasoline, food, etc.) On a really good day, I will shoot 1.5 to 2 cases.

4) Semper Fi has NO speedball, hyperball, etc. Just woods, barrels, and a few pallet 'bunkers'. Karl did build a barn/shop so we can get out of the rain, and widened the parking lot.

At CDR Park in Mt. Vernon, they charge less than the internet, and they are NOT an FPO field. My budget for CDR is $70, including gas, equipment repair, paint, food, etc. And they are 50 miles away from me! (Semper Fi is about 2 miles away from my house.)

Before the gas prices hit $3, I averaged $50 a day at Semper Fi--and I grew up on that field so I love it. Now Karl is just in the business of raping the regulars.

Yeah, Semper Fi has no field fee--that is to entice the newbies out to play. They shoot 200 rounds and go home. Regulars, which are what make up the best competition on the field, are refusing to go out to Semper Fi. I often see regulars at the mall where I work, and they always tell me "...as long as Karl has his Nazi rules, I'll never play there."

The only regulars left are real jerks. Mark Shockey and his gang are the worst. The old regulars used to be real helpful to us newbies when I was in Junior High, and they made us feel welcomed even though we were kids. One dude would sometimes intentionally miss, so a newbie could shoot him. That was so cool, because he did that for me on my first day which made me have fun--until then I was just getting shot. I finally figured it out when I got better and realized that that old dude almost never missed.

I really like Karl personally, even though he always tried to hit on my mom. I wish he would realize that regulars CANNOT afford $100 - $300 every weekend! He should at least offer hardcore regulars a deal: let us play at cost, and we will make sure the newbies are treated well so they will come back.

Now only newbies play, while the jerk regulars light them up--intentionally trying to hurt the newbies.


That is my take on Semper Fi. If you have any questions, email me; DavidMartin007@gmail.com
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
6 Comments - Add Comment

gman536 Tuesday, April 10th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: April 7th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Semper Fi, Doodle Bug Indoor, Operation Paintball, Black Diamond, Paint A Mania, Doodle Bug Outdoor, Danger Zone
Directions
to the Field:
Look for the big Yellow Mail Box on the south side of the road.
Review: Yes, Karl is a SHORT, EX-MARINE. That explains Karl! HaHa

He has been in the paintball business longer than anyone else in Washington.
He knows paintballing.
He runs a SAFE FIELD!
You will go home seeing with both eyes at the end of the day. And so will the rest of us.
Not only does he enforce the rules but the other players will also remind you to put your mask on or your barrel bag on. Ain't no fun if someone gets hurt, right?

YES, EVERYONE chronos before we play at the start of the day. If you turn it up after wards the other players will know. So don't do it! It will hurt!

REFS. No one that owns a paintball field ever got rich. So they all get refs they can afford. Sometimes good Refs, sometimes lazy ones. Most fields have refs earning paint, ect. You get what you pay for, right? I've seen both good and bad. It doesn't brother me. It's not a tournament. It all comes down to you as a player. You set the standards. Just have fun!

Small covered area inside. Lots of tables outside.
So if it rains bring a pop-up canopy and chairs, we do.
2 Porta-Potties, no running water. No stores close.
Lots of parking.
He has Snacks and Drinks.
If your marker breaks down there are usally some of us that can fix it if Karl is tied up. We want you to have a Great time when you come out and play here.

NO field fee now.
$10.00 all day Air/Co2. Standard everywhere.
Field paint only. Paint prices are good. Comparable to the other fields.

Great place to come and have a good time paintballing!
Leave your attitudes at home! Foul langage or poor sportsmanship will not be allowed!
There are some kids and teenagers here in Camo that also play Tournament Ball.
They will school you if you come and act cocky!
We don't want to see anyone leave upset.
We all are here to have fun. If you want faster paced games, just ask. We"ll step it up just for you. SpeedBall?

4 fields total.
The upper field is the most poopular. It's the closest and it's a fast field. 4 differant starting forts. Lots of bunkers, ect. Small SpeedBall course.

The barrel field is the fastest field. Lots of blue plastic barrels with a maze. It's a fun field. Bring extra paint and air out there, you'll need it!

Now the 24 HOUR GAME!! This my FAVORITE GAME OF THE YEAR!!!
It's in late Sept (full moom)and starts Saturday and thru the night ,till Sunday afternoon.
Over 150 players. Two teams, on his 10 acre wooded field. Lots of Sniper hiding spots, 2 Castles, forts, bunkers, buildings, 2 helicopters, ect. We have a BLAST!!!
Lots of Canadians come down. One group comes from Oregon every year to play.
Some of us bring our travel trailers, campers, tents and spend the weekend there. Plan a weekend out of it. Check his web site for details. Stop by and Say hi, I'm in the 24ft Coachman Trailer next to the building every year. Garett

Overall this is a GREAT place to come out have fun and play.

Semper-Fi now has an Indoor Urban Field next to the store.
It's a 2-story building built inside a large warehouse.
They use 68 caliber soft rubber balls. Chrono @ 240fps. Or Air-Soft.
Unlimited balls and air per group.
This is reserved group play only.
Monday thru Friday 3hr slots 6-9pm and 9-12am
Saturday and Sunday slots also.
That's all I know. Call Karl for more info.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jedijed Friday, December 22nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: June 1st, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
STP, some place in Mt. Vernon, and an idndoor feild in the Auburn area.
Review: The feild is run well. Carl the owner has been involved in paintball since the begining. He is a really nice guy who has a Marine Corp attitude when it comes to saftey, which is great. Contrary to a prior review they do require crono-ing. The last time I played there they would divide teams up and you have to crono your gun before you could get an arm band. If you are a noob then you show up on Saturday when the kids come to play, but if you want some competition come out on a nice Sunday afternoon and you will get all you can handle. Compared to anywhere else it is very cheap to play paintball there, and Carl isn't trying to rip anyone off, he is always trying to build loyalty and return customers. The pace is great. It is aimed more at woods ball players (its in the woods, but playing half field speedball is always an option. I have had more fun at that field than anywhere else in my life.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dark_religion Saturday, March 4th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 4th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
just at friends houses
Review: They are very strict about safety, but thats a good thing. If you take off your mask on the field or mess with it you get kicked off the field for the rest of the day. You must always use a barel plug until all players are on the field and are ready to play. There are tons of fields and all are pretty good. Some have crappy cover available and have crappy start points. All the fields are different and have different types of cover. The field opened at 10am but all the set up took a while and didnt start playing until 11:30. The prices of balls are pretty good. What ever you do, buy low grade paint. So much cheaper and are still good balls. 500 bags start at $14 and 1000 is $25. I dont know the prices for other balls. One thing that sucks about semper fi is the all day air charge. No matter what they charge an aditional $10 for something you may or may not use. Its retarded. You also have to buy their paint on the field to play, but I can see why, they are a business and are trying to make money. Gun rentals are free, but only for the Tippman 98. If you pay a fee you can get an Autococker or a Tippmann A-5 for $20. They sell candy bars, water, soda, and gatorade. The soda and candy is $0.50 each and gatorade and water is $1. Their staff is nice and will help you when ever you need it. The refs are good, will do paint checks but only when asked. There is usually 1 for each team. The only have a portapotty and no sinks. That sucks when you want to eat and you cant clean your hands. The players are mostly little kids that suck or little kids that are really good and have awesome guns. Overall I played for 7 hours and only payed at total of $37.25 for an entire day of paintball. Very good experience and will go again soon.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

lcd2002 Monday, December 26th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: August 26th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
DoodleBug, STP, Various fields in Canada, One in Oak Harbor but its closed, and CDR
Being in the Navy, I have played at numerous fields across the country.
Review: Since I am on Deployment in the Arabian Gulf, this review will be on the last time I was there at the field, and may be a little outdated but everything was the same at their site so i guess nothing has changed.

PRICES: They charge NO field fee, but instead charge a $10 fee for all day air, whether you use co2 or compressed air. Paint prices are not that bad, compared to other places, 55 for "Premiums" and 65 for Evils. The paint there is made for the field, and is its own color, but the 55 a case is about the same quality as RPS Premium.

FIELDS: There are several differant fields here. The main field which is the biggest, consists of four forts, one in each corner and in the middle of the field there is a log wall that separates the two sides. The terrain is a little hilly, if you are playing the close left and far right forts, but is not nessessarly an advantage to be on the high ground, for there are a few more bunkers on the low side to make up for that. They also have a barrel field, a castle field, a helo field and a couple others. All are decient and are clean.

LOCATION: The Woodsball field is off a main drag and is marked by a large yellow mailbox, and is just past the 5 mile mark, easy to find. Driveway has a couple of potholes and is gravel. Winter time may be a little hard without 4 wheel drive, but i never had a problem getting up the hill.

HOURS OF OPERATION: They are open at 10am on Saturdays and Sundays, but are closed if a holiday falls on one of those days EX Christmas. I dont reccomend showing up before 10, because you will be parked behind a gate, and will be sitting there until they unlock it.

MINUMUM PLAYERS: It takes 10 people to play, but since you pay at the end of the day, its not bad if less than 10 show up and you dont play. Sometimes though if there is 8 or so left in the afternoon, they will let you keep playing for as long as their are people willing to play.

FOOD/DRINKS: They sell candy bars for 50 cents and Gatorade/water for 1.00. You can leave the field and return with food, but there isnt really anything close fast food wise to go to. I reccomend bringing your own food, just in case you do get hungry.


REFS: There are a couple of young refs that stand near the middle of the field, but when you ask for a paintcheck, they run over there and check it out. There was a ref there that had red hair and he was all over the field, always checking on people, a nice plus.

MARKER PROBLEMS: If something does happen to your marker, you better hope that you have the parts there to fix it. If you dont have the parts, a tippman rental will be given to you, or a ref will sometimes let you use there things to keep you happy and on the field.

CONCLUSION: I would rate this field a 9, just because nothing is perfect, and if you live in Canada, its a LOT cheaper, and Customs dont really give you a hard time either going across the boarder.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

nonameputs Wednesday, August 31st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: This is not a speedballers place to play, let me start with that. So if you are into woodsball, it's not a bad place to play. Lets talk about some price and all that stuff first....

Field fee / all day air: $10
Paint (you have to buy field paint): $40-80 a case depending on what you buy, but you can also buy it in bags of 500 if you would rather do it that way.

Now for some pros and cons:

Pros:
*you can play all day for around $60 if you don't waste paint
*you can get free fresh paint next time you play if you don't use all that you bought (when you get the paint you have a choice on wether or not you want to get it from them throughout the day or take the whole case, if you let them hold on to it and can get however much you have left for free next time. If you take it yourself you have to take it with you and buy more next time)
*lots and lots of room to play and a lot of different fields to play at
*great if you're a woodsballer

Cons:
*They don't check your FPS (there is a chrono there, but they don't really check your gun at all. In fact, when I played there if it weren't for me saying something at the begginning of the day the ref never would have said a thing about it)
*only good for woodsball
*not very well staffed or equipped (just hope you have the parts you need if your gun breaks down)
*If at least 10 people aren't there they don't let you play and shut down the field (you pay at the end of the day so don't worry about spending money and not playing)
*no power or water

If you think you'll get hungry or thirsty, bring some food because there is nothing even close to go to and I don't know if can leave and come back, and the food there is just a waste of time.

All in all, it's not a bad place to play if you're into woodsball, but don't even bother if you want to play speedball, because you will just get frustrated.
Last edited on Wednesday, August 31st, 2005 at 2:23 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media