paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Paintball Authority Paintball Field / Paintball Authority Paintball Field / Paintball Authority Paintball Field / Paintball Authority Paintball Field

Paintball Authority Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
42Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 1945 Urbine Rd (RT.676)
Powhatan, Virginia 23139
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
GI Johnny Sunday, May 4th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 3rd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splat brothers- great woodsball field, good scenario games
Rockwood- speedball only, only one field, if you're not with the "in" crowd it's hard to have fun
Review: I've played there a couple times in the past year, the fields are nice, but they are building a road through the middle of the woods field. The refs said they are moving the fields soon, and the whole place has a new owner that is going to make some changes. The field was run WAY better than the last time I was there, I guess because of the new owner. They only fill air, but they will trade you a rental tank for your co2 for the day. The airball field is only up on sundays, but is really fun and VERY fast paced. They had good refs who were quick to check players and VERY strict on mask/barrel cover rules, which is good. A good mix of new players/rental players and some more experienced guys, everyone seemed to play well together. Sometimes it gets crowded in the staging area, but usually everyone is cool with sharing a table.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

aquardiente Tuesday, February 5th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: January 2nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pevs- much bigger, nicer fields
New kent- smaller, better for woodsball
Richmond Paintball Park- great tournement fields and staff
Powerline- small but the people are great
Review: This is by far the worst store/field combo in virginia. The paint is expensive, and the paint is not very good. I hate a broken ball in every bag, they refused to refund me my money. I sent my tank to get hydro-test there, it took over 3 months to get is back, and it was not even tested. The products that they sell are way more expensive then they need to be, I have seen them sell gear that pevs have at half their costs. The people working there are also horrible, I had a drop off problem with one of my guns. I sent it in paid the repair fee and got the gun back 2 weeks later. It still had the exact same problem as it did before i sent it there.
The fields are not that nice or well maintained. Their airfield is never up and when you call to see if it is up they will always tell you different.
I would never go to this field, I have been there a hand full of times just to give it a chance but every time i go they always are horrible. If I were you I would never go to this field, go to one of the others listed above, you will have a much better time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

l33trobinson Tuesday, January 29th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: December 29th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pevs in NoVA
Review: First off i just have to say that his field is amazing.
One of the things i've liked the most about it is that even if your new, you will still have an amazing time playing here. The first time i played there i had a ton of help with figuring out how everything works from players and the staff.

Theres a great mix of people who go here and a great mix of skill levels and the refs and the players are good about splitting up the skill levels so that the games are fair.
The prices are decent. The place is field paint only but u can buy paint from their store before hand and save some money.

One important thing to note about this field is that they only fill HPA, no Co2.

Even though theres only 3 fields they are well set up. One is hyperball, one is a village, and one is airball (primarily used by teams). The games go quick and u can usually get in a lot of games by the end of the day. Downtime between games is usually around 5m.

Quick Review: Great field, Great for new and old players. Fair prices. only fill HPA.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

reddeath120 Thursday, November 15th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: November 11th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at splat brothers and they are good if you like woodsball alot.
Review: Well i moved to VA back in june and was dieing to get out and play some paintball in VA to see how it compared to washington pb. so i went to pb authority for the first time and when i got there it was pretty cool they had some nice fields such as a large hyperball field a town field that they call hollywood and they have a xball field. but there are a close nit group of players and teams that only use the xball field so there are hardly ever any walk-ons at that field. Any way as my first time i just wanted to get adusted i didn't want to just jump into a xball game my first time playing in like 3/4 months. so i played w/ a bunch of walk-ons about the ages of 16 and were pretty nice. so we play our first game on the hyper ball field and we get on the field by ourselves and im like "where are the refs? " and the walk -ons said they dont have any. Right then i was just shocked! And it was like that for the rest of the day.

Now the next time i went i had tryouts with one of the teams so i got to play on the xball field. I have just one thing to say about this feild...........its AWSOME its crazy fast pb. and the guys there are really good. This field had refs........lol i think they value the speedballers more than walk-ons.

so overall i think this is a good field if you only plan on playing the xball otherwise i would suggest splatbrothers if it is your first time playing paintball.
Last edited on Thursday, November 15th, 2007 at 1:50 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mashed_cows Saturday, September 22nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 16th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Rudy's, both lake and harrisonburg (both closed now)
Warplay (no speedball but fun)
PEVS(huge)
Review: I thought pba was a great field.
It had 3 fields set up, 1 town, 1 hyper, and 1 speed.
This is a great place for beginners as well as more experienced players.
I went on a sunday and the airball field was set up but i heard it is not set up on saturdays so if u go to play speedball i would recommend sundays.
Its hours were 10-4 on saturday and 11-4 on sunday.
Prices were great for air and field ($10 air and field all day) and paint was a lil high but it still comes out to a lil lower than I used to pay.
Rules are all the same except 4 1 stupid 1, no take home fills. I always fill before leaving but I was not allowed to.
Refs were cool no physcos and no slackers just how I like.
I am a in-the-middle player, im not bad but im not awsome. I went and every1 there had a tippy rental or an ego... so I was suck in the middle but overall it wasnt 2 bad.
They grill like hotdogs there which was nice but if u wanted, there was bout 5 fast food places 2 mins down the road.
Overall I think the field was great. I had a good time and saved a lil money so overall I would give it a 7 out of 10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jakelevy411 Thursday, September 20th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: September 16th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
all of them
Review: I have been playing for 11 years and at Paintball Authority for about 4 years. Recently the field has been making strives to get better tournament teams out here, and now it has really come together last weekend we had 5 teams and a throw together team and with new X-Ball field it makes a great day of play. If you have not played here lately you should definately check it out again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

XballPaintball Tuesday, February 13th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: June 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Rockwood
Training Day
Review: The fields without question are some of the best in VA. The management itself such as the owner and the refs have become a love it or hate it relationship. In my expierence i have seen where the refs have let a couple things slide. I've played in a few of the PAPL tourneys they've had and when there is a large amount of teams it works out great but we have been screwed when the novice division had very few teams. If you're a real player then by all means come out and experience the vast ammount of professional fields they offer but if you're starting out I'd recomend somewhere elese. As far as prices are concerened they have dropped dramatically but still arn't the lowest around. The store offers great deals when you can catch them and for the most part i've enjoyed the company, but like i said either you'll love or hate PBA.
Long story short if you're looking for the best fields around and some great competition then come on out. If you're just starting out I'd recomend somewhere like Training Day or Rockwood
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ionpbplayer Sunday, August 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 12th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
I played at Slat Brothers, but they don't have a good airball field...and they have higher prices.
Review: All I have to say is wow. I just got an ion for my birthday from Paintball Authority, and they helped me set it up because it was my first nice paintball gun (besides my crappy viewloader triton). My first time at their field was yesterday and it won't be my last. I got there right when they were opening up and the guy that runs the field was very nice...he gave me lots of advice on getting started playing and helped me fill my tank because I had no clue how. I bought paint at their store when I got my ion for my birthday...they are a lot cheaper than other places.

the entry fee was $10 for all day air and play...and I got 4 cases of their house paint for like $33 a case....that should last me a while lol.

My parents stayed and watched for a while because they wanted to make sure that I wasnt just going to get stuck playing with people way better than me. The ref would not let that happen. He made sure all of the teams were even both skill wise and gun wise....I'll admit at first I was scared to play with some of those kids wearing all the paintball pants and jerseys and stuff....but the ref made sure that he split those kids up. They were really good. I got to watch some people play that were really good....and I learned a lot. Some of the kids out there even gave me tips on how to get better....so I'll definitely be back.

My parents had me write this review because of how impressed they were with paintball authority, and they said it's the only field that I can play at because of their safety and their prices.

I would recommend playing at paintball authority if you want a good deal, like playing speedball and want to improve your game.


hope this helps...if you have any questions IM me at ionpbplayer....thanks
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dravont Saturday, May 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 13th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Savage - Can't compete price wise
Review: Wow, all I have to say is that over the past year, PBA has undergone a complete makeover. They have lowered their prices, fixed up their fields to be both team-happy and walk-on happy, and have overall made the paintball experience more enjoyable. All I have to say is keep up the good work PBA, with 5 dollars all day how can you argue?
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Big "E" Monday, May 8th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: April 30th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: I'll start by saying that any review prior to 2006 should be ignored. Those reviews do not apply anymore because of all the changes over the winter.

Paintball Authority has a big woods field, a mid-size air ball field, a regulation size X-ball field, a large town, and a very large hyberball field. The hyberball field used to be two seperate fields, but over the winter, the netting was taken down and one large field was made. It can be played as one large field or you can just play either half of it. It's three fields in one. There is also another X-ball field that is used by AFTERMATH. They are a Division 2 X-ball team and they practice there every Sunday.

One of the biggest changes was the field and paint fees. It's only $5 to play and includes all day air. The paint prices have been dramatically reduced. I mean all paint not just house paint. Over the last few months, there has been a dramatic increase in the number of players coming out and now there are more teams that are there every Sunday.

The staff that work at the store and field are very knowledgeable and have a lot of experience. I know that some people expect to have a referee for every field for every game. There are just too many people and too many games going on for that to happen. The more experinced players help out by running their own games and the field staff can concentrate on helping the newer and/or younger players.

Paintball Authority has several specials throughout the year. They have free play on Wednesday evenings, they have an "All You can Shoot Day" coming up at the end of May. They have Friday evening play and overnight camping a couple times a year. In December, they have a day where you bring a gift as your entry fee and all gifts are given to a local charity. They are always looking for new ways to promote paintball.

The players at the field are really good people. Team members and experienced players do everything they can to help out newer players. Several teams even let walk-ons run drills with them. AFTERMATH lets people run drills with them and even let's others play with them when they're playing games. Those guys have a lot of experience and are willing to help anyone out.

My overall evaluation is that Paintball Authority is a great place to come and play paintball. Whether you are new to the sport, just someone that plays every now and then, or you're on a team and play there every weekend, they have a field and a game for you.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media