paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Dark Armies Paintball Field / Dark Armies Paintball Field / Dark Armies Paintball Field / Dark Armies Paintball Field

Dark Armies Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
41Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (317) 353-1987
Address: 2525 N. Shadeland Ave.
Indianapolis, Indiana 46219
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
dmjames68 Tuesday, April 12th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: April 10th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
White River Paintball - similar price but MUCH more included at WRP
Review: Been there 4 times but won't be going back again. Lets talk about the positives: very helpful and friendly staff, large indoor layout/playing area, various games, and easy location to get to. Now for the negatives: price is WAY to high for what you get, playing surface is way to slick and easy to get injured, the staff is helpful but customer service stinks in a major way. On our last trip none of our "upgraded" guns were not working properly or so the staff and customers stated. Then the owner proceeded to tell me that there is no way that I could have gone through the paintballs that I said I did (which I did purchase 400). He states in 20 years of business that it is highly unlikely that myself or my party could have gone through so many painballs with poor equipment. Ironically it is was the same equipment that we had successfully gone through 400 paintballs on 3 other trips without incident. If your equipment doesn't work 25% of the time, or your mask doesn't work properly then that is ok. In the end, there are many better places to spend your money.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

manman408 Thursday, August 19th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 14th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
A bunch, that are a million times better. Like Indy Extreme
Directions
to the Field:
On website, but dont bother going.
Review: DARK ARMIES YOU MIGHT GET MAD BUT LOOK AT THE OTHER REVIEWS. GET BETTER INSURANCE OR JUST CLOSE. IM NOT TRYING TO DESTROY YOUR REPUTATION BUT SERIOUSLY. CATER TO YOUR PLAYERS BETTER. IF YOU CHANGED A LITTLE ID LOVE THIS PLACE. Before visiting I called them. After reading many youtube comments saying "they kicked me out for using my A5 with egrip" and "The owner saw my dm5 and told me to leave!" I wanted to ask to see if it was true. So I called up the field owner. I asked him if I could you my eclipse ego on the field. His respnse was "What the hecks an Eclipse ego?" (after being in the sport since 1980, shouldnt they know what an ego is?) I told him it was an electro marker. His response "No electros, just semis insurance wont allow it"
So I grabbed my old tippy 98 one saturday and drove to the field. First thing we watched a video that took like an hour. Finally we went to the field. It was like an ice arena, so slick. So many people falling and getting bruised from the floor not paint. And you cant see. at all. I personally loved the field and layout. It was fun. But the pricing is ridiculous. You have $20 for 200 and $50 for 500! Thats $200 a case! And airs like 3 times expensive as it is at other places. The workers are dicks. They dont help you. And alot of the people for the first time playing hated paintball.
OVERALL:
Pros: Fun (sorta)
Cons Expensive and dangerous.
This is based off the owners teenage youth fantasy's of playing "dark armies" with his freinds. But he turned it into an overpriced arena. This is killing the sport. If they changed id gladly come weekend after weekend. Like if they lowered prices and weren't douches. If you dont like it dark armies, maybe you should look at the other reviews..
AGAIN NOT HURTING THIS FIELDS REPUTATION IM JUST EXPLAINING WHY I DIDNT LIKE IT! THIS IS MY OPINION AND IM ENTITLED TO IT! Thanks.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BigKP Thursday, September 10th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: August 20th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Indy Acres, Black Reign (OOB), Gator Joe's (OOB), Paintball Indiana
Directions
to the Field:
Don't bother, Shadeland Ave and I70
Review: Lets start at the top...

My wife won a FREE party worth over $400 for up to 30 people. I had 26 people show up, they charged me $10 each for the 4 people that didn't show up. Tippmann pump carbines are the standard set at (I'm guessing) 230fps. Upgrade to a semi auto for $25. Upgrade again for $10 more for a semi auto with a laser site and a flashlight. $6 for 50 crap paintballs (unused paintballs turned in for credit [like I'll ever be back]). More "upgrades" like rental gloves(79 cent Jersey gloves) for $3, Used rental painter paper coveralls for $8, They do sell cups (that's one of the few good things). They even charge you $3 to rent a lock for your locker (you can't bring your own). Here's the good one you can bring you own gun for a $25 Chrono fee, any mods make it not useable (then you have to pay there fees for a gun). So, after an average of about $50 per person for a FREE TWO hour party, we spent the first 30 minutes watching a safety film on 2 ancient, failing TVs that looked like it was made in the 80s. I feel safety is important, but you can only say "keep your masks down on the field" and "Keep your guns socked off the field" so many times.
Then we entered the "Control room" they spent 15-20 minutes on more instruction and handing out the guns. We all enter the field. The only thing I can liken it to is wearing dress shoes on ice. SO SO SLICK. We had a player fall and break both lower bones in her arm. The 25 minutes it took to get the ambulance there ( we performed first aid while they stood there and looked stupid. We made a splint from a clipboard and boot laces.) the time counted toward our 2 hours. So real play time was next to none. Everyone had extra paint and have vouchers we'll never use. We played capture the flag twice and then an team elimination that turned into an everyone for themselves as everyone goes through another door to turn in all the rental stuff. One of the few good things is the layout of the "underground city", its a good concept, but there is fish oil seeping out of the hot wood making it extremely slick. It smells too.
We all received vouchers for $7 fee on a Sunday, I used it to use my paint I had. It was just as bad. I was hoping for better experience, I was WRONG. When I returned, they were getting ready to open a haunted house, so only half the lights worked. It was DARK AND SLICK, great combo.
Don't bother complaining either, they don't care.

***SLICK--EXPENSIVE--STAY AWAY***SLICK--EXPENSIVE--STAY AWAY***

Save your money, save your time, save your body.
Last edited on Thursday, September 10th, 2009 at 7:55 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BigShow Thursday, August 21st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 11th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
White River Paintball, Indy FOG, Paintball Splat attack, Blast Factory (closed)
Directions
to the Field:
Turn away now.
Review: SAVE UR MONEY AND RUUUUNNNN!!!! And if dark armies dosent like this review, then maybe they should read all the others too! You think it would give them a hint.

Con's:

Prices are way to high
Max play time of 3 hours.
can't even run for Cover.More like Slip & Slide for cover
Floor was so slippery it's like they never clean it.
It's Always dark inside, no lights other than Black Lights.
they spend all this time talking about safety, and they dont try doing it them selfs
50 rounds cost you $5
start off with a pump gun
$25 if you want to upgrade to a semi-auto
$25 if you BRING YOUR OWN STUFF! WTF
No true Games. Basicly you get shot, wait 2 min. And go back out

Pro's:
Nice Layout but other than that, nothin.

Short story :

A friend and i went to play for the first time there, and i called to reserve a spot for us. I asked if we could use our Elctronic markers. They said ok, Asked what we had and i told them. but when we got there, they said we couldn't. Gave some lame excuse that if you had a magnet in your glove, you could make the markers shoot full auto. I have a Spyder Imagine, my buddy had a Pirrana GTI.

Conclusion:

first timers might have a good time, but thats beacause they didnt go anywere else, and dont relive they are getting ripped off.
The only thing that will make this place better is if it was under new management or CLOSED! I know i'll never go back again. If you want a gurenteed GREAT TIME, go to "paintball splat attack" , "White river paintball" or any other place. its worth the drive if your further away. Trust me.you will probly save money in the long run. For those who say it was a great place, you must have one hell of a boaring life or it;s your first time!
Last edited on Saturday, September 6th, 2008 at 12:15 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bbtaylor970 Friday, July 11th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 14th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Gator Joes but out of business due to bankruptcy
Splater Zone but out of busienss due to bankruptcy
Review: I took my kids to Gator Joes field only to find out that it was not open but permanatly OUT OF BUSINESS... (why do they still advertise?) I phoned DARK ARMIES and they not only opened their wonderful facility on very short notice but they provided it with the best service I've ever received at any paintball facility. They really saved what initially seemed like a ruined day. My son and his 10 friends had a great time. My son who usually shoots thousands of rounds, used less than 100 rounds in two hours of play. (much ea$ier on MY pocketbook) I would recommend it to any mother wanting to provide a most pleasant memorable birthday party.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

flyboyz Sunday, February 17th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 23rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Gator pit- 60 x better
proving grounds- 100 X better
Directions
to the Field:
somewhere in indy, near great times arcade.
Review: In my opinion this is the worst place in Indiana. If you are a newb don't go here. It will ruin paintball for you. But if you like close quarters shooting and your parents pay for your paintball, or you make a lot of money, i guess this place is for you. I prefer speedball and having a little money when I leave.

Price- Rediculous, you would probably spend $70 if you wanted to have a good time. You have to buy their paint which is $6 for 50 paintballs. I CAN GET 2000 for $25.00!

Facility- Its an old dumpy warehouse, it could be cool if there were lights, but you can;t even see where you are going. All you see is the glow-in-the-dark vest that your opponent wears. One team wears orange, the other wears red. Orange and Red!? there is so much friendly fire! Since it is an indoor place the paint doesn't go anywhere, it just builds up on the ground. So it is slippery and dangerous.

Guns- don't bring your own because they'll jack it up. I went two years ago and paid $22 for a 15 year old pump gun that shot 60 feet.

Gameplay- capture the flag is fun, its nearly impossible to find it but...its still fun. The pink ball game is suicide. You roll a giant pink ball from one end of the field to the other while getting shot from the darkness numerous times. The littlest kid usually gets stuck pushing it.

enough said....

the place would be good if they lowered the price and put some lights in the building.

enough said
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

IndianaION Monday, February 11th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 1st, 2003
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SplatterZone-much better
Fort Knox- Not in same area but in my neck of the woods. Best Outdoor field in North Central Indiana
Blast Factory/Sycamore Sports- Best indoor field in north central Indiana
Directions
to the Field:
Somewhere around Keystone in Indianapolis
Review: This field is horrible. I've never quite played anywhere so bad, and whats frustrating is that place has so much potential. Honestly, the only time I played there was about 1996. I was using a Spyder Compact at the time. I was lucky I was even allowed to use it because most people dont get to bring in their own markers. Needless to say, my gun could'nt chrono down to the 220 fps (lowest I've ever seen anywhere) , the guy ended up cutting the main spring of my Spyder down buy about a 3rd to get it there. Why did I let him, simple, he did'nt ask and at the time they didn't let you chrono your own gun (unbelievable) they did it for you. I had to order a new one after I played here. The paint prices are outrageous, the price for play time is outrageous (20+ dollars for just 1 hr). They also dont let you take your extra paint home, yes, they actually make you empty your hopper and your pods back to them and they give you a card to bring back the next time you come to get your paint back. I know its been a long time since I played there, but, from what I hear its not any better. The field itself is pretty cool, one of the neatest set ups I've ever seen for an indoor field, however, its definately not a set up where you could play tourny like settings. To make a long story short, this place caters to only newbies and people who will probably never play again. If your an experienced player, with your own equipment, definately go some place else. I find it funny that this place is a paintball field that snubs actual paintballers. They could do so much better, I dont understand why they have the philosophy they do, but it stinks.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8baller 93 Sunday, January 13th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: August 1st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
proving grounds, gator joes
Directions
to the Field:
east side of indianapolis (the bad part)
Review: .....i play paintball here to get it out of my system. in other words this place is not the best. its expensive, you cannot use upgrades that help your bps such as cyclone feed system (A-5), responce trigger, electronic trigger..nothing (you can use electronic loaders) i played here more than thirty times i know all the employees names so i know everything about this place the rentel guns are tippmann pro carbines pump action and semi auto
depending on what firepower your looking to get and you can get upgrades like red dot scope and or flash light ect.
they are somewhat "rip offs" like how you cant bring in your own paint and they over price theres to $18 for 200 pbs AND YOU HAVE TO PAY TO BRING YOUR OWN GUN!!!!! thats off the wall. because i cant use my epiphany i bought a autococker trilly comp. with HPA and a egg3 one of the best mech. guns on the market and i own them all... so i have fun. if you are very familar with sport you wont like it here if you arent its a good place to start out.
(i played here more than 30 times because at the end of the day you get a coupon that allowes you to get in for $6 makeing it a little less money (about $32 per person)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TJLEE50 Thursday, January 3rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 2nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: I took my son to DARK ARMIES for his birthday party and I can't get him to calm down now. He and his friends had a wonderful time. When I made the reservation, it seemed as if there were lots of guidelnes to follow but after experiencing the process, I understand. The check in process seemed highly professional but geared to emphasize the safety of the customers. I told the staff that none of these kids had ever played before and they explained that the training will cover all the questions and encouraged me to attend the training even though I was not participating. The trainer did exactly that and the trainer would not let us leave the class until all of our questions were answered. The game started on time and everything promised was delivered. I felt that my son was placed in most capable hands from the moment we entered. My son said he and his friend had the times of their lives. They were a little messy when they finished but to see him enjoy himself so much is fantastic. I was very surprised that they had been here for 17 years. We had 10 players in our party and the fee was about $25 per person. It included just about everything needed to play. Thats only $12.50 per hour and seemed very reasonable. I don't know where I can entertain a group of teenagers for any thing close to that and know they are supervised the entire time. We will certainly return!!! ... and suggest anyone with a sense of adventure give it a try.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

medic67 Sunday, July 29th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 2nd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Too many to count
Directions
to the Field:
You dont want them
Review: I had to put a date on the last time I was there, but it really would have been in 1992. First and last trip. From what I can tell it is worse now than what it was then.

It was expensive, dangerous and unsafe. The floors were so slick that you may as well have been running on greased ice. My brother in law slid into a bunker and it moved, the referee pulled him out of the game because the ref said that he had willfully damaged property by moving the bunker. It was stupid.

Dont waste your time or money, this is not what paintball is about.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media