paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Paintball Ridge Paintball Field / Paintball Ridge Paintball Field / Paintball Ridge Paintball Field / Paintball Ridge Paintball Field

Paintball Ridge Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
18Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 417-781-7703
Address: 3295 Coyote Dr.
Joplin, Missouri 64804
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Indian outlaw Tuesday, October 19th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 6th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
The Bunker, the D-Day field
Review: well I'll start with safety and refs , I paid my entry fee an walked straight out to the speedball field to play with some friends, I was told we could only play speedball at the moment as they were running a scenario on the other field, the ref didnt ask me if I had chronoed or not, (after shooting my A-5 an hearing how loud it was I went and found the chrono on my own) the ref didnt seem to care about the game at all, after yelling go he sat down an got out his cellphone, im convinced the only way he knew the game was over is because everyone quit shooting, now I normally wouldnt let one staff member bug me, but the rest weren't much better, prices were....eh okay, the paint was awful though, barrel breaks, chopping, breaks in the hopper, it seemed you couldnt shoot 6 balls without atleast 2 breaking (maybe they've gotten different paint now), getting air is kind of a hassle if you play the castle field, I dont mind walking normally, but if it costs me playing time Im not really a fan, I will admit the castle is pretty awesome looking thats about the only redeeming feature this place has
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheWikidFool Wednesday, July 22nd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: July 7th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
I played at Underground in Joplin once before it closed.
Review: I love Paintball Ridge. It's got something for everyone. There's the big castle, which is really cool to play in. There's the small castle, which I don't really perfer. There's a few speedball fields (I haven't tryed them, I don't enjoy speedball personally) and there's my personall favorite, the two wooden forts in the back.
Now, first things first. You've probably heard things about the staff being rude. I've played there around 10 times, and the staff have always be very friendly. Also, I've seen many reviews saying the field is unsafe, and I disagree. I have never encountered anything at these fields to make it seem unsafe to me.
Now, to get more in depth on each field. The large castle is pretty much the main attraction, and yes, it is really the largest paintball castle in the world. It's shaped like a square and it's about a sixty feet from one side to the other. It's divided into three rooms, the front with main door is about 60 feet one way and 2o the other. Imeaditly after entering that room you have the main ramp to the second floor on your right (I wouldn't recomend going up this ramp, it's almost alway covered). About 25 feet at to your forward right after walking in, you have a tunnel acess door (This is also almost always covered). A little bit forward and to the right you have another tunnel access door with several windows. (Going through there is a bad idea) Also covering the main entrance is a second floor tower in the dead center that always has one or two people in it, so it's pretty much impossible to go through the front. The back right room from the attacking view is innaccessible except from the front rooms access door to the tunnel, (the tunnels are inside the walls) So there really no need to go into that. And the back left has to be accessed from the left tunnels, the front tunnels, or from the second floor access ramp (If your an attacker, this is your best shot into the castle). All of the walls except for the one that divides the two back rooms have tunnes and bridge in them. If your protecting from the second floor, keep an eye out below, you can be shot through the cracks in the floorboards. All things considered, it's great fun, but it's often stacked in the protector favor due to all the little corners and stuff.
The small castle was pretty much a waste. It's really easy to defend from the top, but the problem is, you can't raid it. Everything inside the castle is well within ten feet, making it against the rules to acctully fire inside there.
The wooden forts in the back consist of two simple wooden forts and a space of about 100 yard (maybe a little less...) between them with some small cover. Extremly simple, completly fair and very fun. Paintball Ridge gets a perfect review from me.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

CriticalCrysis Sunday, March 15th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: March 14th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wild world
Bunker-haven't played there yet.
Directions
to the Field:
its easy to find.
just use yahoo or something
Review: I went there to get my ion fixed and found so much more.
the first thing you notice is castle.
IT IS HUGE. IT IS AWESOME.
and the speedball course is great.

everything is clean and they run HPA on some of the rentals vs co2.
great staff and good refs.
the shop is stocked well and staff are always willing to answer questions.
they clean the masks constantly.

made me start driving the extra five minutes to ditch my old field and go to ridge.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

NWA RAW Saturday, September 13th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 13th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Underground Paintball (closed), Wildworld Paintball (No comparison, Wildworld schools Ridge in speedball field)
Directions
to the Field:
Joplin Missouri(You don't wanna go there though)
Review: Paintball Ridge: I have one word to describe it. Lies.
I have only played there once, yes..just once, and it was TERRIBLE. I played in a speedball tournament on their "speedball" field. This field is placed at an angle, on a hill. The bunkers are rarely cleaned, they are very dirty. The grass is poor, and there are dirt spots near some of the 90's. This however is NOT my biggest complaint, I'm spoiled to perfectly manicured grass fields and well-taken care of bunkers (Wildworld).....
My biggest complaint is the owner himself. The people that run Paintball Ridge are liars. The tournament I took part in, along with my sister team and other friendly teams, was corrupt. The referee's let only certain local teams get away with EVERYTHING. For instance, an OBVIOUS shot, right on the mask, everyone see's it. The crowd screams for him to get out, and the ref just looks at him like nothing has happened. and gives him time to wipe the hit to keep playing. This occurred frequently, with 4 teams. AND get this, prizes went 1-4. And the teams that received them, were the cheating teams. I talked to management, and even the owner! And they 'seemed' to care, but they took their sweet time to talk to us. and did not take any immediate action. So they really did not care. We all believe they planned this tournament with a low entry fee and great prizes so that a lot of people would show up, pay entry, paint, and play and lose. And the teams that got "ref-help" would win, play for free, in exchange, give the winning prizes back to the pro-shop. So that the business does nothing but PROFIT!......Can you spell S-C-A-M? Paintball Ridge, it has great scenario courses, if you're a scenario player. I will recommend this field. but for Tournament players or speedball players, DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME AND MONEY!
Thanks for reading this, and please pass this information on. They scrwed my team, and my friends teams' over for the sole purpose of money. Corruption, and Scam.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
6 Comments - Add Comment

thunderbob Thursday, July 31st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 30th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
Camo Valley paintball in Nevada Missouri. Go to their website camovalleypaintball.com
Directions
to the Field:
go all the way south on rangeline,then take inerstate 44, then head southwest, then take exit 4, ttake a right by the Love's truck stop, then go 4 blocks down that road, they just relocated 2 blocks away from their old store
Review: Paintball Ridge is awesome! When I went there i played in the castle field. They have two different catsles you can that i would say are about 20 ft tall. The field was very nice. They had a very nice proshop with wonderful faculity that and the proshop was really big . They had good prices and cheap Co2 fill ups. Also if you buy house paintballs they will give you free Co2 fill up as long as you are playing. The store is very clean and they have many guns, chest protecters, masks, Co2 tanks, and a lot of rental markers. They have a three man airball field and another wooded field. The rentals markers are tippman 98's and Tac-5s. They have tournaments regularly which are begginer and rookie. All the fields are netted and saftey is a major thing there. The proshop has a lot of awesome tourny markers like invert mini and some wgp markers too. They have a lot of hoppers and have Custome Products one piece barrels in a lot of companys. Plus they can order just about anything you want. Plus they have Co2 and HPA filling stations. They also have some jersey (JT) and some pants (more than likely JT). House paint is okay, though the lowest one breaks sometimes but isn't too bad. They have some Co2 and HPA tanks for sale also. SO... proshop is awesome. Fields are awesome. Faculity is awesome. Paintball Ridge is awesome.
Last edited on Friday, December 12th, 2008 at 5:50 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pb_cmoney Saturday, July 19th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: June 28th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
The Bunker
Review: I have been playing at "the ridge" for a while now, and their new facilities are great! This las spring they moved from an old field that did leave a little to be desired, but all of that has been taken care of. There are currently 3 scenario fields, with two VERY well constructed castles, that can be played in a two seperate storm the caslte scenarios, or a castle to castle capture the flag game. There is also a nother scenario field which is constructed with wind breakers off of the top of tractor trailers. It is a creative way to set up a field , and they offer a lot of protection. The speedball field is still being fine tuned, but is pretty good right now, it isn't rocky at all, and is pretty level where the bunkers are set up. The new proshop is one of the best I've seen and is by far the best in the area. The staff is very friendly, and the prices are incredible $10 for all day this includes the good ol' tippman 98, a mask, and air. and if you want you can rent a lower end autococker for $20. There were complaints recently about the refs being too young and not doing their jobs. But nearly all of them have been let go, and replaced with refs that care. Really I can't think of a place to knock the field other than the speedball field not being finished yet, once it is done there is no complaints about this strong and entertaining field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

lion_47 Sunday, April 20th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: April 20th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Directions
to the Field:
get it off <maps.yahoo.com>...................or their website. <www.paintballridge.com>
Review: Awesome fields nice speedball courses...........but could be better..................best buildings i've ever seen. They have 2 two story castles and are planning on building 2 more. Not a lot of vegetation and stuff to hide in but nice bunkers and nice field sizes. Refs were very good and very nice. Only downfall was it took a while to get the games going (just because we were trying to figure out who was on who's team) Who ever wrote a bad review on this place must of went before they renovated everything and got their act together. Top of the line people, prices, and fields. 10 dollars for gun mask and all day air. 11 bucks for 500 paintballs, 22 bucks for 1000 paintballs, and 43 for 2000 paintball.s
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shadow14 Monday, April 7th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: April 23rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Oklahoma D-Day feild
Bunker Extreme
Underground Paintball
Directions
to the Field:
1 mile south on shiffendecker
Review: this is a horrible field for safety. i was playing there; my team of little kids went out (youth group) and my batteries in my halo went dead, the ref let me change them out and come back in. mostly because they had no clue what to do. so i changed them out and watch the field refs....more like 5th graders sit around and watch the game. i got them changed and got ready to go back in. i went in a mild sprint, and in no time i was on the ground. it seems the wire that they hang there net with (k this was electrical wire, not cable.....i think they were despert.) well is was sprawled all over the ground. i was fell and my hand hit the very pointy rock and my guns (at the time an Odyssey O3x) feed neck snapped off..... well i pulled of my glove, and the was a 1 1/2 inch gash and 1.2 inch deep. little blood, but i was pissed mostly....i mean a little field matinance would be nice!!!! well i went up to the building...mind you up hill almost vertically.....i mean it is almost. but 10 minutes i get there, i asked if they had a band aid to cover it up before i had to go get my stitches my parents were nagging me to get. well they did not have any........ya thats right.....they gave me the flag....to wrap my hand up....a used flag........ya. well i took my new 07 proto jesery off, and forgot it on the counter....i get my 7 stitches and they did not ask if i was ok...they did not clean up the field, and my jersery magically disappeared.....strange right....over all this is a run down field, bad air fills, high prices, and crappy refs....
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

The Billdozer Wednesday, January 30th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: January 19th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
The Bunker is the closest field but is almost 45 mins away and the Underground was close but has since shut down.
Directions
to the Field:
They have just opened up their new fields and pro shop which is about 2 blocks north of their old field.
Review: Let me start off saying their new proshop and fields are a giant leap from their old facilities in every facet. At the moment they have 3 fields, a speedball field that has an X on it and is a huge improvment from their old one being flat and not rocky, a castle which they say is the biggest in the US and I don't know its size but I know that we were able to play on it with about 50 people and didn't have any problems finding places to shoot from, and they have a wooded field with bunkers that I believe are air dams off semi trucks. I asked the guy working the proshop and he said they are working on building 2 more castles that will be 2000 sqft each and then some sort of fort made out of slats and maybe 1 or 2 more speedball fields. The way he talked it sounds like they are going to have some cool fields ready by the summertime.

Now on to the proshop, they had just finished building it and hadn't fully stocked it yet but said by spring they will be fully ready to go. I can only imagine how big it is after being inside their building. They guy behind the counter said the building was 2500 sqft and that it would be split half proshop and other half deli/coffee shop something like that. They said they are planning on carrying full lines of all the best gear and had a good selection of guns.

The customer service was very good the day I was there, I've been there a few times at the old shop and was nervous about the service because it was such a big place compared to the old one but they had plenty of refs watching all the fields. It was also nice having a lot of space to stage in with netting everywhere because that always seems to be a problem at other places I've been at.

Well I hope this helps and would highly recommend to check out their new place, it is so much bigger and different you won't even believe it is Paintball Ridge.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

STL Wednesday, November 14th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: November 4th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Underground - managed significantly better
Review: Safety is the problem here. The children they have as refs hang around wanting to play with the customers. That'd be no problem except these ref-children don't plug their barrels off the field and they bring large groups barging into our games, requiring us to move somewhere else, or just sit out.

They never have enough air (CO2 doesn't seem to be a problem, though.) and can barely fill my tank most days.

This could be a great place to play - but it'll require better management
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media