paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Bear Claw Paintball Field / Bear Claw Paintball Field / Bear Claw Paintball Field / Bear Claw Paintball Field

Bear Claw Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
28Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 931-433-9595
Address: 38 Bear Claw Rd
Fayetteville, Tennessee 37334
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
tHePuNiShEr44 Thursday, March 19th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: April 24th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pheonix Paintball-not as good as BearClaw they had a better proshop but their fields were awful.
Review: The first time i played paintball it was for a party. The safety was tremendous.The owners explained that if a ref saw your mask up in any way during gameplay theu would tackle you to protect your eyes,face,etc.They have penalties for breaking rules like suspended from 1 round or suspended for the rest of the day.The food was outragously great.Good prices on food,paintballs a bit expensive but what do you expect its paintball.I love how they give you unlimited refills all day if you have a birthday party there.The restrooms were great ; when i arrived i had to use the restroom and was expecting a porti-potty but was suprised toilets and showers. There fields are awesome.My favorites are WWll, Western Town, Granch Gully, and Roman Fort.When you are about to play i suggest you play the fields in this order and for these reasons:1. Western Town~it is a rather small field and is close to the proshop it is a great starting field.-2. Roman Fort~it is a good large field where one team has to defend the fort while the other team attacks it.-3. WWll~personally it is my favorite field,they actually took the time to set up roughly 7,000 sandbags for barricades camoflauged towers, great vegetation cover,(trees,bushes,brushpiles).-4. Granch Gully~it is a great finishing field because it is near the proshop,so you could get more paintballs,water,rest,etc.How the field is set up it is basically an uphill battle .One team defends the top of the hill and one team attacks up the hill. I hope that this review helps you.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Todd557 Wednesday, August 6th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: October 18th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
From B'ham
Review: I've played this field twice. Once last summer and then for the Iwo Jima event last year. My son and I drove up on a Sat. to play granted it was hot and we were the only two there until a youth group came up from around the Huntsville area. In the mean time until they arrived we talked with Mr and Mrs Juengel and they were some of the nicest/coolest people I have ever had the honor of being in their presence. He broke out dvd's of the shows that were filmed there for their scenario games and gave us tour of the fields. The youth group arrived and we concluded our first day there smoking noobs. What could be better? We took home the paperwork for the Iwo Jima scenario and started counting down the days.

We drove up the Friday morning of the scenario game, got registered, and started setting up our campsite. We had a fellow by the name of "Hillbilly" welcome us at our campsite. He explained to us what we could be expecting as this was our first ever large scale scenario event. He also made sure that we knew of all the facilities at our disposal i.e. HOT SHOWERS and WORKING REAL ACTUAL PORCELAIN TOILETS! I live close to the superspeedway at Talladega and am by no means a stranger to the large capacity camping atmosphere but my God that was freaking awesome!

The one lesson that I will remember though when we go back in October is to bring my own food. Granted there was food there but the lines were incredibly long and usually by the time we were able to get to the grub the good stuff was gone and/or cold. Please do not mistake that last statement as a slam against bearclaw. I am not naive enough to whine about this considering there were 600+ attending and that is no easy task to feed that many mouths. I do not believe in the whole society should treat everyone individually special so l totally do NOT have a problem with this.

Anyone who can not appreciate what they have done there to build those fields and appreciate them is nothing less than a simple minded fool. The game play for the weekend was incredible. We were on the American side and all though we got slaughtered we still had a great time. The only suggestion I could give on the game play was that when we began storming the beach the Jap players had already established a very strong foot hold on the entire field so that when we tried to advance it was nearly impossible and we spent the weekend pretty much mired at our headquarters which was over ran by just 2 Jap players at one point. That was pretty humiliating. Maybe the beach landing opposition team, aside from the beach defense force which was 50 players if my memory is correct, could start from their HQ.

This paintball field is incredible you just don't play paintball you have a life experience that you'll never forget.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Prophaniti Monday, May 21st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 19th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ft. Campbell Paintball, CC Range, Gateway Action Sports

BearClaw blows these away!
Directions
to the Field:
For the most direct route, follow the directions on their website.

DO NOT USE GOOGLE! It is way off.
Review: Having used pbreview in my research for places to try out, I'm contributing my own review already knowing what many others have said.

First, let me say that the day I played was very slow, but very rewarding. Throughout the day, there were rarely more than 6 persons to a side. As I understand it, it is a rare thing to have so few people at Bearclaw.
Of particular note is the fact that 7 Tennessee Titans NFL players were there. It was almost like a private party was being hosted...only that wasn't the case. Great guys, all...and not being a football enthusiast, I can say that this is based on personality alone, not the view of a goggle-eyed fan.



Right then...on to what will be a more typical experience:




If you've never been, here are some things to set your expectations...

If you are a SPEEDBALL player, don't bother. There are plenty of other courses around that offer speedball on a much more pleasant level for your playstyle. BearClaw does have a speedball field or two, but many of the obstacles pull double-duty as extra bits of cover in and around their woodsball fields during scenario games, so you may be limited to a single course of wooden buildings.
If you are a die-hard Speedball player, you might as well stop reading...the rest of this concerns people who are either woodsball-oriented, or are willing to give it a try.

If you are a WOODSBALL player, a 4-hour drive wouldn't be a waste just to experience what Bearclaw has to offer. Maybe not every weekend, but at least once. I myself traveled 2 hours and have zero complaints.

First off, there's the owners & staff. Mr. Robert & Miss Suzie treated me like royalty.
I got a tour of the various areas within the woods (courtesy of a golf cart ride along the varied trails made especially for Scenario Tanks) by Mr. Robert. The way his eyes lit up and the depth of description he used to talk about the history of certain areas (such as the downed airplane and the swimming pool-turned-bunker) let me know that he wasn't just a business owner...he was a true enthusiast. I got the impression that the fields are never truly "done." There's always something more in the works.
Miss Suzie made a huge impression on me. The nicest gal you'll ever meet. She truly made me feel great about spending my day at Bearclaw even with the small number of players on that particular day.

The rest of the staff ranged in both age and experience...from the first-time "paintball serfs" who were working in order to get playtime, all the way through to more mature (read: older in age, not behavior...we're all giddy kids when it comes to shooting Nerf rockets from a cannon!) scenario veterans who helped mentor the newer refs. All were knowledgeable and more than willing to facilitate the interests of the players.

Having met the people, let's go into a bit more detail on the scenery.
Some so-called Woodsball courses are basically nothing more than speedball fields with trees as obstacles with everything else bush-hogged to the dirt. Zero undergrowth, and a fairly cramped field of play.
Not so at Bearclaw! The expansiveness of the wooded area seems incalculable your first time through...it's as if the field (and buildings, sandbagged bunkers, and other terrain) go on forever. Inbetween these obstacles and pieces of cover is the concealment factor. Yes, there are trails and pathways big enough for a golf cart...but the rest of the area is absolutely covered in undergrowth...great for concealment.

Painstaking effort has been put into not just creating a facade, but a well-bodied field of play.
It's not a Hollywood set with a singular attraction and nothing behind the scenes. There are buildings, bunkers, and bits of cover everywhere...not just enough to define a particular section as "The Fort" or "The WWII camp." The focal points of the areas are there, but the surrounding areas all have something to offer players who don't want to get bottlenecked into one particular area of the field.

By the time lunch rolled around, I was overdue for some chow. I grabbed a Chicken Finger special from their concessions and couldn't handle the amount of food I got for my money. I think even the voracious appetites of the NFL players were satisfied.

Facilities were great...covered areas to sit in the shade and eat, plenty of outdoor seating, showers & toilets...not Porta-Potties...real toilets (and two designated especially for ladies), and a Pro Shop with merchandise, cold drinks, etc.

Field paint is required. Anywhere from 45 to 55 bucks for a case of Procaps (Either X-Ball or Draxxus). I saw another reviewer griping about the cost of the paint here and frankly, I don't understand. Why complain?
It's a fact that in order to play paintball, you will spend money. Everyone knows the price ranges for a case of decent paint, so what's the problem? It's not like they're selling Brass Eagle crap at inflated prices. It's actually worth feeding into your hopper.

If you can't afford to buy the paint at the field, don't bother showing up. Would you go to a video arcade with no money and expect to enjoy yourself? Would you decide to take a cross-country road trip and not budget for gasoline?

Paintball isn't the cheapest sport out there. Not by a longshot. Most of the time though, you get what you pay for. Bearclaw was a great investment of both my time and money.


Thanks for the great experience Bearclaw...I'll be seeing you again real soon.

Regards,

Tripp aka "Tree"
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

H2O Thursday, May 3rd, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 27th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none in the area
Review: I attended the LUZON event. Let me start off by saying that I came up to Georgia to see my brother and attend this 24 hour scenario game which I have never played. I heard about how good this series was and that "...you have to see that tanks...Ē so I loaded up my equipment and flew up to Georgia to meet my brother and then we drove to bear claw. On first sight it looked like a seen from Woodstock, all you could see was tent city which was great!! So we drove down the road passing the landing crafts and had no clue where to go, so we parked to start our hunt for the rest of the team which did not take long at all. $16.50 for all event air I guess wasnít bad but I heard a lot of complaints, I am personally used to it being part of a field fee here in Texas but what ever, the pro paint ($65) was good the rec paint ($55) was rec paint, so spend the extra $10 and get the pro paint. The field was great reminded me of SC Village with the level of detail. There is a western town speedball field, and a hyper cube field that is not setup. The people where great the ownerís wife was very nice we meet her during a hotdog break which by the way was only a buck each. The $6 breakfast was well priced for the food however the $12 dinners where not, (we went to tocobell and got 10 tacos and burritos for $11.52). The pro shop was good had a couple of arcade games in it, it did smell like cigar smoke as so many posters have noted. I never meet the owner but I did meet Ben from mpp, this guy took time to talk to you, never rushed even when it was something like "how do I get to my base from here", he was very polite and helpful. There were mixed "reasons" for the night play being called off, I was there to play a 24 hour game and it was more like 12-13 I believe, which was a little disappointing and if you do the math with 2 cases of paint and your all event air you are paying $15.42 and hour to play. Now donít take this as complaining, I am just stating what I experienced I DID have a blast, one of the best times ever here. There was one huge issue I have to bring up, the drawing. The drawing begins with the owner getting one the speaker and saying "you guys shot a ton of paint, YOU MADE MY MONTH!" With extreme excitement. Later in that drawing a number was called and he said that it was his niece I believe, however didnít have the card or any proof that this was in fact true other than he is the field owner, Ben asked the crowd what to do and the crowd responded draw another number as we have been doing when the person was not there and the player card could not be shown, and Ben turns, to my amazement, and told him to pick a gun.... wtf why ask if your just going to do what you think is PC. Later in the same drawing a number is called, lets say its 146, Mario from nitro has 145 and 147 but cannot find 146 however since the numbers whet in sequence for the teams it is obvious that it is his, Ben told him he had to have the card ..... But wait... the owner didnít have to have the card???? He didnít even have the cards surrounding that number???? a major wtf, Mario did eventually find the card and got a gun, but this goes to tell me a lot of the owner of this field, he has all these players that just "made his month" and he is going to take an X-7 and laugh about it, as a small business owner myself I believe that you and your family should be excluded from any drawing that you have for your clients, I would not be surprised if that gun ended up for sale in the proshop. So Ben, if youíre reading this, change this to prevent other players from feeling like I do. Oh and our XO (Jap) was awesome !!

Ricky Vaughn

I played with Team Nitro at this event however I was a guest with them and this is my sole opinion not the opinion of Team Nitro.

PS I live life like I type, fast and full of mistakes :)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

Violentbeef Tuesday, May 1st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: April 28th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
-none-
Review: I recently went to Bear Claws' latest 24 hour scenario game. Let me say right off like in years past, i had an absolute blast! The refs were, for the most part, very knowledgeable and fair. Safety was as always paramount, the playing fields were outstanding, and the coordinators of the event were very friendly. However, there were some things about the event that did not set right with many of the players. First off, its advertised as a 24 hour game, when in all actuality, the playing time was more like a 13 or 14 hour game. When you take into account all the mandatory breaks for meals, and some mishaps during the night play all together about 11 hours were cut out of the game. The missions were also another point of dislike. I have been there 3 times for scenario events and three times they have all been relatively the same. Not to say that they are not fun, but they basically consist of "find/get this" and "hold/capture this". A little change would be welcome to make an awesome game even better. The last thing, and from what I could tell, the thing that made many players very upset was at the prize drawings at the end of the game. They called a number of a player who was not there, a female. When no one stood up to claim the prize, which was a brand new tippmann X-7 marker, the FIELD OWNER stood up and said that it was his nieces' number. She was not there and he had no tag to prove it, but still got to take the marker. Although some things were disliked among the masses, i feel that this field is an excellent place to play and will recommend it to anyone.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

CamoJester Friday, March 9th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: October 22nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Dont know any
Review: Bear Claw Paintball is one of the VERY BEST. Safety is #1. We play a ton at this field for scenarios. They have the best promoter in the business (MPP Games) put on all of there scenarios. The pro shop is great. Bob & Susie, the owners, are 2 of the best poeple you will ever meet. Hillbilly the head ref is on top of everything. All the staff are great. I cant say enough good about it. Its the only field I drive 6 1/2 hours to & feel like I'm coming home every time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Raven66 Tuesday, February 27th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 3rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Phoenix Paintball Division, Wiley's Outdoor (indoor paintball) And they are all even in their own ways, with maybe phoenix on top.
Review: Well the barrel plug thing seemed a little ridiculous especially if you owned a semi auto non electronic gun, but oh well. It was a nice place to play paintball. The paint cost a little too much and it didn't have speedball, but the scenario fields were great. Refs were average and they were pretty big on safety.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

nohbody Saturday, February 3rd, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: January 3rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at Middle Tennessee Paintball at Spring Hill and Bear Claw does not Compare.
Review: This place is horrible. The last time i played there, i had forgotten my barrel cover. Normally any place would have let you borrow one for a time being, but not Bear Claw. I was forced to buy one, leaving me with no money. I left and my friend had told me that some other kid had forgotten his also. the man asked who all else had forgotten theirs and handed them out while saying these exact words "here but don't tell that other guy please." Another time i was working the scenario and they were telling me jobs to do. At the end the woman told em that she would not pay me because she had not told me she would. I put in fourteen hours of work at that place and got nothing. That shows the service that bear claw gives. pitiful. Their prices are outrageous, and their ion was 230 when you could get it anywhere else for 200 even. The only good thing is that they know how to fix guns, but they charge an outrageous price for work on guns. To play there you must pay all of this. The field fee is 12.50. There is TWENTY - FIVE DOLLARS IF YOU WANT TO BRING YOUR OWN PAINT. THEIR PAINT IS SIXTY DOLLARS and its terrible. I got it once and they were flat and shot crooked. They have absolutely no speed ball and their woods ball consists of maybe three good fields. I could go to my grandparents and do better than this place. The pro shop also reaked of cigars. and the Refs were mean and terrible. If you want to spend a lot of money and get ripped off, then go here.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
17 Comments - Add Comment

hi_hi333 Sunday, January 14th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 19th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
nothing compares
Review: wow, been here three times and hope to come alot more. Great refs, great food, great gun techs, is there any thing else you could want? But the best time to go is scenario. trust me you will love this place. they have the gun knowledge to get your gun fixed, to install youre new upgrades, ect. just an all around good place.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

thetipman Sunday, December 3rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 23rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
i didnt play i just looked at paintball USA and it stunk
Review: This is the coolest place i have ever been to in the US there are 7 outrageously cool fields the place is well kept up and the owner and the refs are really cool and really nice i think this is the best place to play for everyone of all ages. I couldnt believe how cool this place was i think you should go right now. do it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media