paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / The Proving Grounds Paintball Field / The Proving Grounds Paintball Field / The Proving Grounds Paintball Field / The Proving Grounds Paintball Field

The Proving Grounds Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
19Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (317) 758-6622
Address: 4440 St. Rd. 47
Sheridan, Indiana 46069
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
BigShow Thursday, October 1st, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: September 5th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Splat Attack: One time fee of $15 for all year, BYOP @ no charge.
Air is $1/1000 psi, Co2 $?(I dont use Co2) 500 rds for $15 (Avg) case for around $50


Paintball Plex: Great indoor field, Have yet to use the Outdoor fields. 3000 and 4500 fill's
Directions
to the Field:
on 47 west of sheridan
Review: The field's are nice but what my buddies say is that they don't change the Hyper ball or the Castle field layout's which they should once in a while. The airball field need's a little TLC but are ok for practicing (need to be mowed more, tall, thick grass on all fields) . Prices are the best in the area and have more than one choice of paint starting at about $40 a case. Nice little pro-shop and friendly service. Co2 and HPA fills @ 3000 psi and 4500 psi. They say on the web site that a The Street' Urban Warfare Field is under construction but i have seen no construction and it has been posted for a while now. They do have the room for it thought and more. The mask and barrel sock rules are not enforced as they should be. Overall this field is great place to have fun and relax but you basically ref yourself but everyone so far is honest when hit.

I recommend this field over any field in the Indy area.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

WolfPackColonel Monday, June 2nd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: June 1st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Directions
to the Field:
Right on 47 in Sheridan Indiana
Review: Safety- Masks were required in all fields, but it wasn't enforced. Netting was not tied down on the castle and hyperball fields so when the wind blows we would put our masks on becuase we could get hit. Setting the FPS of your gun was up to you, the people there trusted you to do it yourself.
Fields- The hyperball and castle fields were very nice and fun, the X-ball field was ok but some of the bunkers were a little deflated.
Prices- The prices were pretty good and the Striker paintballs they sold worked well.
Rules- You set up games yourself and you ref yourself. They staff was at the X-ball field so they ref'd when we played there. The staff was very helpful and they knew a lot, they helped my friend fix his gun for free. the only problems with the staff was the one guy behind the counter, he was not helpful and he didn't know much.
Proshop- The proshop was nice, but the equipment they sold is not for newbs, when i was there anyway. They sold food and drinks there but we only bought drinks and they were cheap there.
Overall the fields are nice its a fun place, but safety is left up to you. As long as you play safe and DON'T CHEAT you will have a good time. Since the players set up their own games if you cheat your gone so don't cheat...ever!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

gerd11311 Monday, January 28th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 26th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Indiana, Insanitarium
Directions
to the Field:
outside of Sheridan on 47
Review: I came out to Proving Grounds with a friends bachelor party on Saturday. This is the first time I've been to this field but I have been to some other fields in Indiana.

I would rank this field over the few I've been to because it was more new player friendly.

They had the guns, mask, and paint already layed out for us when we got there so the paying process went quickly. The people working/ hanging out there were friendly and helpful. The weather was pretty cold and we had a problem with one of the guns but they fixed it quickly and seemed to know what they were talking about. They had a sign up saying they charged for working on guns but worked on this guys own gun for a good 15 mins and didn't charge.

There were three fields set up, a castle field, a field with lots of bunkers(black pipes?) and a field with air bunkers. The fields were set up with lots of bunkers and were fun to play, although there was a wooden house blown apart but was marked with caution tape and boards over exposed nails. The staff stressed barrel covers at all times.

The prices were a little better than some of the other fields I've seen and they said they price-match-beat other places, even online, so that was interesting for a paintball field/shop to do. But the proshop had a good amount of different items, even had catalogs you could look through and order stuff through the proshop.

There were signs posted around saying 285 fps max which is a little lower than what I am used to, but I guess safer for people.

The ref looked quite young and was quite but did his job. He was even kind of interesting to talk to in between games.

They had a variety of drinks,coke and pepsi products, waters, gatorade. and a few food products available but none of us got anything but drinks.

They opened at 11 and closed at 4 but I think they're open longer during summer, and we could have scheduled during the week which would have been nice.

Overall I would rate this field a 10/10 The owner was very nice and knowledgable, the rest of the staff was very good on safety and helping out some of the guys who were first-timers at paintball, the store was nice and clean, and we had tons of fun games on the fields they had. Only bad thing I saw was the house that had it's walls fall down, but they taped it off and it didn't affect our game at all. I would definately recomend this field to parties or new people, and they said more experienced people come out on sundays so this field offers something for everyone.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

20/20eyeguy Saturday, September 22nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 19th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Scyamor Sports, Fort Knox, Paintball Barn, Catfish Lake.
Review: We went to The Proving grounds because we live and Frankfor and it is one of the realy close fields in the area.

The day we went their we had a lot of problems with markers and they didn't apear to have any one there that could realy help with that.

The proshop was nice. They had a lot of stuff that I hadn't seen any were ellse.

I liked the fact that they have changed to a Bring your own paint policy.

I didn't like the the fact that their weren't any reffs around the hole day. Because they didn't ever have any one there I will probobly not go back again.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jjgoforward Monday, August 20th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: May 10th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sycamore Sports-Kokomo--now defunct
Fort Knox-best in the area
Bunkers and Lunkers-Logansport
Paintball Barn-good facility, but no byop
Directions
to the Field:
Very accessible off of Highway 47 just west of Sheridan, IN
Review: This was my second experience with this field. We got there later in the afternoon. Apparently most the busiest part of the day was over. It was sort of a who cares sort of attitude.
1. Check in was pretty unusual. The cash register ran out of money and so they gave us change back in the form of candy-taffies actually. Also the person checking us in got a little confused. I'm still not sure that I paid the right amount. I had to help him through a couple of the other people that came with me as well.
One of our guys wanted a basic marker rental-they didn't even get him a mask. So they charged him more for renting one. I thought any basic rental package included a mask.
They did not make us watch the safety video. At least the last time I was here they made you watch it. One of my crew was a newbie, so we just talked him through the basic safety rules.
Chrono was completely on the honor system. Many people walked onto the field without doing the chrono at all. Maybe they were regulars and they just knew they would be under the limit? Who knows and who cares? At least they had a posted Chrono limit. The last time I played here, some guy just walked by and said, "just keep it under 300." Like that is real official. And what about the guys who didn't hear him?
2. Prices: Hey the posted prices are great. The field fee is reasonable, and they charge you an extra fee if you want to byop. Again I think this is reasonable, since I buy bulk case specials of paintballs off the internet. The marker rentals were ok, but charging extra for a mask? Again, I'm not quite sure that usual and customary.
3. The referees: Well this is pretty easy to rate. There wasn't one all day long. We played for about 2 1/2 hours and never saw anyone. We refeed our own games. We had a good time, and since I'm an eyedoctor we strictly observed the safety rules. We went over to watch some speedball teams practice on the the Xball field, I guess they had a referee. I didn't see one on the field. Maybe he was in the observation platform. There were no refs the last time I was here as well. But at my first visit, they were having a practice tournament, so all the refs were playing on the teams that were practicing.
When we first started playing there were some 20-30 somethings playing in a small group. They totally ignored all the safety rules: walking into "safe zones" without a barrel plug/cover, lifting their helmets while on the playing field etc. The same thing was going on the last time I was here as well.
4. The fields. They are great as before. The tile field is maybe my favorite field in the area. They have moved some things around since the last time I was there. They had really improved things. Really well conceived bunkers. Creative layout. The snake is awesome. It is easy to move in without getting pinged. The castle/fort is pretty challanging. There are nice wooden barriers. Some of these needed some repair. But they were safe and usable. I hate the wall that is out in front of the castle! It makes it hard to hit approaching players from the ground level of the castle. My son and I decided to play the wall outside the fort instead of staying inside on the ground level. Maybe it worked a little better. We lost the fort anyway. They say that there are 4 airball fields. I only saw 2. One was occupied by the two teams that were practicing. The other was deflated. We saw no signs of the proposed "urban scenario" field.
One other annoying thing. The safety netting that separates the field from the "safe zones" are not secured at the bottom. When the wind blows the netting flutters in the breeze sometimes almost as high as your head. I wonder how the netting is helping with safety at that point?
5. The pro shop: BE VERY CAREFUL of what you buy here at the proshop. They have used markers on the board, but they aren't MARKED AS SUCH. In our experience, they are not very good at standing behind the used stuff that they sale
6. The snack shop ran out of hot dogs while we were there. No big deal-we weren't hungry. It just seems to be another thing they were just not prepared for.
7. Overall: I think this place is really great for the teams that are sponsored by the field. That is all they seem to care about. If you are going to just play a little rec ball-they don't seem to care
Last edited on Monday, April 19th, 2010 at 10:20 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jp_brown Monday, April 9th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 1st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Dark Armies - don't waste your time
Gator Pit - always a good time, muddy when it has recently rained
Directions
to the Field:
Real easy to get to, right off 47 just west of 38.
Review: Had a good time at Proving Grounds. The fields were excellent although they didn't have all of their nets up yet and we couldn't use them all yet. The day we played they had team practice for all of the tourny teams with a CTS tournament coming up. There really weren't that many open play players even though the weather was awesome. Our ref seemed very new and didn't know the answers to alot of the questions we had for him. My one big complaint was their lack of organization. They have a great location and great field, but for novice players at the field, they really don't offer much direction. They made us all watch a safety video, but they didn't even make us chrono in before we started playing. We didn't really have much trouble with the lack of organization, but I can see how it would be a turnoff to new players to the field, especially when contrasted with how well organized play has always been at the Gator Pit. We will go back and check it out again.

Strengths - location, excellent field setup and offerings

Weaknesses - Personnel not entirely helpful, lack of organization

I give this field a 7 because the fields are awesome and this place has alot of potential, however, I docked it because the owners/management needs to do a better job catering to the open play players and having resources available to the novice players.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mal Sunday, October 8th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 8th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Whiteriver Paintball (Better then Proving Grounds but more expensive)
Gator Pit (Same as Proving Grounds but cheaper)
Chase Paintball (Same as Proving Grounds but in Ft Wayne)
Dark Armies (The worse of the worst. Proving Grounds is better)
Review: Advantages:
Bring Your Own Paint
4 fields (Speedball, 2 x tube fields, and Castle)
Shelter to layout your gear
Stressed barrel bags and masks (...when they were around)

Disadvantages:
No safety instructions
No check for Chronoing
Rarely a Ref
Had to organize your own games

Prices Paid:
Entry...................$15
BYOP.................$10
Co2....................$2.50 for 9oz fill

Myself and 2 friends decided to check out PG on a Sat. Their website is out of date give them a call for actual hours and cost. Showed up alittle after 10 and had to wait about 15min to get checked in. Two large private parties were checking in before us. Finally, got to the front of the line and had to show mask, Co2 tank, and pay the $25. After that we were pretty much dropped. No safety instruction, no chronoing, no organization of games for open play people. We chrono'd our markers to under 280fps dunno what regulation for the field was, no one was around. We waited around for about 10-15mins then went back to the front desk to ask one of the worker how we get into a game. They said ask to join one of the private parties or wait for others to show. Uhh...ok. So we ask to join a group of co-workers, after some convincing they let us join. We split up and explain the rules to the 1st timers in the group and yell go. The games were alright and the fields were in good condition. Overall we enjoyed ourselves, but what would we do if the private party said no? Wait till someone else shows up? No thanks. Safety instruction and chronoing are important. Final rating is average. I have played better fields, but I have played worse too.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PIMPINBALLER Sunday, October 1st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: May 22nd, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
dark armies a no no
Review: this place has a speedball airball and castle. the fields r always maintained. great staff. paintballs r a bit high but its worth it. they hav food and drinks. GO NOW GO NOW GO NOWGO NOW GO NOW GO NOW
GO NOW GO NOW GO NOW
GO NOW GO NOW GO NOW




WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR GO NOW!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

P8ntbllr4lif3 Sunday, August 27th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: July 23rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Blast Factory(sycamore sports)-Great, almost as good as proving grounds
Ben Davis- waaaaay below what PG offers.
Gator Pit- no where near PG
PB Heat- Far from PG, but still a great field.
Review: Proving Grounds was the first true field I have ever played at. The prices on paint are a bit shabby but its only about 15 i think to BYOP. There entire staff are great people. I have never met any more paintball friendly people then the staff at PG. The workers that are there and reff treat it as its a tournament, even to a bunch of noobs.

Bonus- They have fields for everyone! Even if you like woodsball, the castle is pretty much the same. The barrel fields are always an excitement to play.

Weakness- They dont always have speedball fields up on saturdays, but they still have fields for everyone!


IF YOUR VISITING INTO CENTRAL INDIANA, PLAY AT PROVING GROUNDS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

empiredyenexus Thursday, June 29th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: June 25th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ben Davis and it doesnt compare because BD is a crapy field
Review: Alright i moved here 3 months ago and the first field i went and played at was PG. PG is the best field in the indi area. If you had the choice betwen BD and PG i would pick PG ALL THE WAY. you can play 3 differnt kinda of paintball there. Hyperball, Airball, Castle

Pricing:
Entry...................$15
Paint...................$40-$60
Rentals.............$10
BYOP.................$10
Misc.Rent..........$5

all day air included with entry and Co2 is $2-$4 depending on what size you have
Come down and visite us at Proving Grounds!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media