paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Bubba's Paintball Field / Bubba's Paintball Field / Bubba's Paintball Field / Bubba's Paintball Field

Bubba's Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
10Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: E7525 County Road J
Elk Mound, Wisconsin 54739
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
nchittendon Thursday, May 29th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: January 2nd, 2003
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
First Strike, Hidden Valley, Splat Tag, Northern Front, Back 80
Review: I played at Bubba's back starting in 2000. Mark, the owner, is a super nice guy. The thing that attracted me to Bubba's field is because of the Bubbafest game which was geared towards charity. I like that.

The only bad thing I could possibly say about Bubba's is that sometimes the reffing was a bit "lax," but otherwise, I always had good experiences.


I give Bubba's an 8 out of 10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

2wreckless Wednesday, August 15th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 7th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
First Strike is a lil beter.
Review: the GOOD....
Freindly staff and cheap prices. Good woods feild.

the BAD....
Not enough shade was provided. They ran out of water and only had soda left to sell. The reffs did not reinforce the scenario woods rules and seemed a little unknowledgable when dealling with "higher end" equipment.

the eh...
Speed ball is dece...home made bunkers...semi mirrored...has a snake. The reffs did a good job doin paint checks. But they have a rule that for bunkering you only touch the front of the bunker... which is lame. I could understand if younger kids or noobs were playing but we're not.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Petey14 Tuesday, February 22nd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
apoc,
Review: The field rocks staff is always friendly, they always have cheerful people their and no people that are just out to kill you ot somthing. there is always a range of levels their with a bunch of fields. and when tornoments thier is always teams ready to play. if they start a league it will be crazy(fun). if a gun brakes and you cant fix it i sure their is some their that can wheather staff or players.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

igotu Saturday, April 10th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
hudson thdy throw a really fun big game.
Review: I went to bubba's for my first turnament, It was a blade tourny but it was a blast the refs and the owners made my experience great. Although my team got yelled at for jumping on a inflatiable bunker, but we didn't know any better at the time. The owners really have a heart. There pro shop cool when we went there they gave us all free paintball magazines. All and all the only thing i can think of its kinda of small(at least compared to hudson).
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DocSilverhorn Wednesday, October 1st, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splat Tag, in Hudson and Baldwin. Hillcrest Paintball, east of Ladysmith
Review: I am fortunate that this course is local and I am a frequent patron. This is the first field I have played on and, I think, to the staffs credit, it is also one of the reasons that I have continued in paintball. Extremely helpful and courteous to newbies and vets. They have consistently given good help and advice, fixed markers, provided a cooperative club like atmosphere for members, have an awesome web site and some of the nicest manicured fields and speed ball courses I have seen. Air and paint have always been available and excellent. They host a variety of events that cater to all levels of play and do a great job of promoting the sport of paintball in general. I would give this field a rating of 9 out of 10. I wish they were bigger and open more often. If we had a larger paintball community locally this would not be a problem
Last edited on Wednesday, October 1st, 2003 at 10:31 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

luckydog Wednesday, May 28th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Mainly play at First Strike, like them MUCH better.
Review: The woods course is ok, I do like the fort course alot. The air field is cool, but speed ball isn't my thing.
The staff are friendly, and so are the dog and goat.
The only real complaint I have is about the reffing sometimes. It's been hit or miss around there. Some days they are right one, some days they seem to be lost. I had the occasion to have a pair of refs playing "baseball" with a stick and used balls from the ground. I can understand boredom, but that was both distracting and in my way.
I'll play there every so often just because some of my friends prefer it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Bushypds Saturday, May 3rd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Superior Fire Power
Review: Well I went to the tourney that absolution went too. I agree the paint was terrible but that can happen sometimes. The reffing was okay but you have to realize reffing can be hard. I think it could have been better but it was ok. The air system did go down but I Think that several bad things happened on the same day which is unfortunate. Some things could have been avoided some not. I am willing to give this field another try because they did have nice fields. I am giving it a 7 I think I had a bad experience but I do not see it happening again Editing. After this last tourny that they held I have to say that it is a good field. The reffing, and paint was great and the torney ran smoothly. Everybody was nice and helpful I am bumping mine up to a nine.
Last edited on Friday, May 16th, 2003 at 6:36 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

stolpy Friday, May 2nd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: Hey Absolution you are a real prick. So you go to a course once and talk A LOT of crap about it. Now i have been paintballing there for 2 years and i have NEVER HAD A PROBLEM. The Staff is just awesome. Mark (the owner) is one of the nicest guys i know i mean my gun broke while i was paintballing and he fixed it for me, is that good service or what, plus it was free right on site.

Now to deal with the issue that you said the paint was bad at this tourney you played. I find that hard to believe i have never ONCE had a problem with there paint. It works great for my gun, and shoots like an arrow. But i will give you the benifit of the dought, ok the paint was bad have you e er heard of a bad shipment, you have been playing for awhile, so you say. Have you never gotten some bogus paint. I know i have, but not from bubba's. IF you did get bad paint i am sorry but i have never heard or seen people complain about the paint.

This Nitro problem you speak of. So THINGS BREAK DOWN, i will be happy to say that this YEAR THEY GOT A BAND NEW NITRO PUMPING SYSTEM....WORKS GREAT!!!! I think even a little lolly-pop like you might even like it absolution.

Also Bubba's is just an overall great place to play. Their speedball course is AWESOME it is all inflatables. A Sup Air Course.

Also the employee's there are just great, they try there best to make sure you have a great time and most of all things are SAFE. Safety is a very big issue there, i mean i saw a guy having to sit out a game because he took his mask off on the field after the game was over.
Last edited on Friday, May 2nd, 2003 at 6:42 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pinboy Sunday, April 27th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: i also played in the tourney the day before for the rookies and the paint wasn't the best but it wasn't there fault they got a bad shipment of it and it work alright the day before. the paint was just for that tourney and they no longer use it the owners are awesome. the refs were great to the team kij was reffing and there not all about winning they're there to have fun and if u look at there records the have got some sportsman's and 1st in tourneys. the tourney was set to donate the money so when they got paint they got cheaper grade so that they could give more money could go to make a wish foundation. i like the idea of having the limit of only three hits because if you are playing and some one bunkers u and shoots u like 10 time its going to hurt like hell. ther actually have 8 fields. the crono was set in that area because they had to make it available for all the fields being used. i like this field very and the owners are very kwl i will give this field a 10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Absolution Wednesday, April 16th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Apocalypse - 10x better,
Review: Played a tournament at Bubba's last season. It was the one time i actually was disappointed after a day of playing paintball in my entire life. There was 1 airball field with poor netting on 2 of the 4 sides of the field. The chrono station was set way too close to the staging area with NO netting or barrier to stop an accidental shot in the wrong direction. That is a HUGE safety hazard. They only filled to 3000psi, and their fill system broke in the middle of the day leaving us with 2000psi fills after long waits in line. They didnt even have a second system ready to go as a backup. The paint was the worst crud i have ever shot in my life. It was WorrPaint -competition, which happens to be the lowest WGP paint quality. The sizes were inconsistent, and they were way too brittle. EVERYBODY in the tournamet had tough times with the paint/ Hopper breaks, barrel breaks, and even breaks while dumping your pod into the hopper. It was horrible. We even had LP guns like Matrixes w/boltkits and trinities, a viking, 2 angels, and a nice shocktech cocker at 250 psi. I am sorry, but paint should not be breaking like this. Poor reffing from their sponsored team "Kick in the Junk" also was very disheartening. We got a penalty for overshooting....4 shots to someone. Hey, this is tournament paintball, you MAKE sure your balls broke on them. 4 shots is NOT overshooting. We also got a penalty for yelling "You're out, right on the pack! Get outta there!" Typical tourney banter on the field. No cuss words, no arguing calls with refs, just yelling to get out from a hit on the pack. The kind of stuff you hear EVERY game in tournaments. We ask how much we were going to be penalized, and they said 5 pts for each penalty. Well, 2 penalties x5pts = 10pt total right? Nope, they took 50 pts off of our game for penalties without informing us. We only found out about the 50 pts when we checked the scoreboard a few games down the line. Blatant lying is not appreciated in tournaments when it comes to point totals. Oh yes, and we were playing 70 point games. So we got a 20pts from our max.

The one good thing about the field was the owner. He was friendly and listened to the complaints and problems well. He understood and dealt with it in a nice way. He offered us free entry for the next tournament, but we kindly declined. So props to the owner. Great Guy.

I give it a 5... 0pts for the field itself, reffing, and paint/air. the 5 pts are for the very nice owner.
Last edited on Tuesday, June 3rd, 2003 at 2:03 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media