paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Real McCoy Paintball Field / Real McCoy Paintball Field / Real McCoy Paintball Field / Real McCoy Paintball Field

Real McCoy Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
24Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 919-936-2025
Address: 1947-H Progressive Church Rd.
Princeton, North Carolina 27569
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
fAstmAtic Sunday, March 28th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 27th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hemotomas- I would choose McCoys over hemotomas due to the simple fact that McCoy's is only 30 minutes from my house.
Directions
to the Field:
The address provided on the mccoypaintball.com website is accurate for google maps or any GPS system. Only thing I have to add is that the driveway to the field is asphalt and there is a rather small black sign with bright neon green lettering saying paintball. Can't really miss it if you are paying attention and not hauling ass through there.
Review: First off safety, Chronie set up right before the field entrance. All refs thoroughly briefed new players to the field about safety standards you will find on any field. I saw 3 fields there and cant say much about the woodsball course because I didn't step foot on it, not my style really. But its there for players who like woodsball.

The speedball field was somewhat balanced as far as the starting points, only thing I wasn't too fond of was there was a slight slope to the speedball field, giving one team a small disadvantage. The size of that field isn't too big, it is ideal for 3v3 & 5v5. But we had enough room for 8v8. Didn't get any time on the 2nd speedball field, none of the bunkers were inflated for use.

The overall experience of the field was great! Everyone was friendly and willing to help out with anything from giving advice to newer players to helping if you had a problem with your gun. The proshop was well organized with a wide variety of gear, guns and accessories. The owner Junior was extremely friendly and willing to help out where ever he could.

I recommend this field to any player regardless of skill level. They had hotdogs on the grill. I had an awesome time there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

barbourvill Monday, September 8th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: September 7th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
any where there is one
Review: I took some friends new to paintball there to play for the first time. need i say they loved it junior the owner made them feel right at home. there was many pro players there playing and geting in exp. they welcomed us in and let us play with them they even stayed posted in 1 spot and let us move. very fun game. every body there was so cool to my friends and me. even let us shoot their guns i would recomend mccoys to anyone. also his store has trades so you can buy a used gun and not have to pay full price no other stores do that . and that was the reason i ever went there in the fisrt place many years ago. i give this place a 5 star.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Eclifton Saturday, September 22nd, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 7th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hematoma
Directions
to the Field:
Horrible field location!
Review: You look at the place and it looks very low quality. These looks are pretty much on.

Porta Johns are nasty. (SO what if it's the woods and it's paintball, they had porta potties and they were nasty. plain simple objective.
poor off-field safety standards
no chronograph found.
Didn't get any reffing.
The nets, at least on the first field had to be put up by players and saw it down more than twice.
THE SMELL that riles up sometimes. UGH.
VERY FEW was playing both times visited. I played one on one with my friend and a worker.
Not used to having nearly 3.00 dollar fee for 9 oz tank. (yeah yeah 10 dollar all day air, but i just wanted one tank, and jeez)
Wrongly advertised food sold, NONE SOLD.
Bad leaks in some inflatables.
Hyperball in a pile.
no shaded staging areas

MOST OF THIS APPLIES TO ALL MY TRIPS OUT THERE.




This guy's review is almost perfect.


Ok, so let me describe my experience. First the directions on their website were wrong, even using the new directions we missed it quite a bit because you have to go through a few driveways, pass a few houses, go through disney world, then find the little field.

so we pull up, drive eh....but how's the field.

First of all it was terribly hot. Cool with me but their was NO SHADING, no ac building or anything we could sit in. Water cost a dollar but it should have been free!!! The proshop is nice, but like i said....RM's would get tons of more business if it was closer to a city, not behind someones house. Well we look around and we see just one xball field, somewhat hyperball field, and somethign of a mess down a hill. not looking good, oh and the smell of DOG CRAP wasn't great either. For all the money they had, they could have spent money for people's playing time there.

Ok, the pro shop is wonderful, it's just got to much in their to really sell because sure lots play there, but way to crowded with guns, jerseys, just too much inside. The paint's good though.

Air wasn't too bad, not a great setup I think but not the worst.

Ok, going on the field was fun to considering we had to play with their teams because they get it free and get first dibbs on anything yet we paid our money and have to wait on them. reason number 1 i got jipped on money.

oh yeah, and im 20 years old and pay my way kids.

so were playing, the bunkers are tore up in some parts, falling over and such, but not the worst. field is half grass and dirt, that sucked huge. number 2 reason.

number 3, CHEATING!
Sure having a ref half the time on the field was good, but the ref telling their buddies were we were freaking sucked. That and people playing on, taking it in the hopper and walking off seeing them wipe it off. the ref looking at it and cleaning it for them. oh yeah, never going back now.

Just they need nppl style fields because im not a fan of the xball style, bash me if you want....dont care to hear you whine and say you love xball, it's your comment and this is mine.

All in all, i give it a 2 out of 10. Bad location, bad people, read the bad reviews because it's amazing how their disputed but their almost all the same bad things. why dispute, take what we say and fix it! but i wont be going back, sorry.
Last edited on Saturday, September 22nd, 2007 at 2:50 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

teamhelghast Sunday, May 27th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 27th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Review: Great place to play. This was opur frist time playing on a real feild and we had a blast. The staff was outstanding and we will be back soon to hang out and lay down some paint . The shop is great. Lots of guns, gear, paint, goggles, upgrades to chose from. The owner is a great guy. Knows what he is taslking about so listen what he says. They have a few really good feilds to play on. We plaied mainly on the back speedball feild due to some heavy hitters playing today then we got a chance to play on the big feild. Both were great .
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paintballmama Tuesday, May 8th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: May 6th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Black River - nice field and staff
Hematoma - nice field and staff
Directions
to the Field:
Copied from the field web site:


Traveling on I-95 take exit 97. Travel east on hwy 70 about 11 miles. Look for Princeton Church of God on left (big church) take the next road to the right, there will be a sign that says Holts Pond 1 mile. Go about 1 mile, at the stop sign take a right onto Progressive Church Road. Travel 1 mile after you go around a small curve look to the left for the paintball sign. Turn left onto a paved path continue straight, the path will turn to a dirt path go all the way to the woods paintball field is at the end of the path.

Traveling from Goldsboro, take 70 west to Princeton, look for a big white house next to a pond take the next road to the left. There will be a sign that says Holts Pond 1 mile. Follow instructions above.
Review: This field offers many things to the player:
team practices
recreational play
woodsball play
group play
corporate play

There is a brand new X ball field. Also, there are newer NPPL bunkers too. The woodsball field has many natural style bunkers. Fields are grass with the usual wear areas of any paintball field.

The field is open for play on weekends and by appointment on weekdays. The store is open everyday except Wednesday. I would venture to say, Mr. McCoy has the best selection of guns in eastern North Carolina. In addition, there is a variety of clothing and other gear.

HPA is self serve with 3 fill stations. Staff are always available to fill CO2 for you.

On weekends, Mrs. McCoy is cooking hot dogs and hamburgers. Drinks are available too.

This field is out in the country, like most other paintball fields. It's about a mile off the Hwy 70.

There are porta potties. If you don't have toilet paper, just ask. However, I have never seen the potties out of paper in 4 years.

Refs are readily available, very friendly and safety oriented. They will answer any questions or address any concerns of the player.

Junior McCoy has been running a field almost 20 years. He has accomplished this goal by listening to his customers. If you need anything, just ask him, he'll take care of you.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

fallachi Saturday, February 24th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: February 16th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Just moved to the coast have not had a chance to play any other fields
Directions
to the Field:
Call Junior , he will get you there , It is not on 70 that is his old store it is off 70 about 1 mile
Review: I do not know why some punks have bashed this field , It is a damn good field !! There are great players here and all equiptment is there , he has air fill stations , no waiting for staff to fill an air tank . Anyone who cant find something like the chrono needs to simply ask or look around you can't miss it !! As far as asking the staff for anything you will get anything you ask for except for winning lottery numbers . They are really great people ! NEW XBALL field should be up later this month and that will make this field awesome !! I play speedball and based on talking to a few rec ball players they also loved the field and loved the option to play speedball with there group of players , you can do this because there are 2 spedball fields and 1 hyperball field. I have not been in the woods but hell woods are woods , you have to play what you have to work with. And he has pleanty of them. I have only been to a few better fields , but they have taken 10 plus years to build and develop, And I have been to many fields much worse. The pro shop is HUGE , it has anything you will need and Junior will help you with any gun . Prices are great !!! This is a great place to go for a player on any level and a great place for a family outting or company rec day !! Prices are in line with most fields if not less than most
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

vslsub Sunday, April 23rd, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: April 16th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Gotcha - Great staff, attentive, played BIG GAME. had tons of fun in the woods.
icky portapotties. lots of people playing, refs, players of all ranges
Review: You look at the place and it looks very low quality. These looks are pretty much on.

Porta Johns are nasty. (SO what if it's the woods and it's paintball, they had porta potties and they were nasty. plain simple objective.
poor off-field safety standards
no chronograph found.
Didn't get any reffing.
The nets, at least on the first field had to be put up by players and saw it down more than twice.
THE SMELL that riles up sometimes. UGH.
VERY FEW was playing both times visited. I played one on one with my friend and a worker.
Not used to having nearly 3.00 dollar fee for 9 oz tank. (yeah yeah 10 dollar all day air, but i just wanted one tank, and jeez)
Wrongly advertised food sold, NONE SOLD.
Bad leaks in some inflatables.
Hyperball in a pile.
no shaded staging areas

MOST OF THIS APPLIES TO ALL MY TRIPS OUT THERE.
Last edited on Sunday, April 23rd, 2006 at 7:29 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

StrikerMuncher Saturday, February 25th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 25th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Gotcha Paintball - Best place around Raleigh
Directions
to the Field:
Dig a hole in the ground, keep digging. You'll get there eventually.
Review: First, for all you ADD kids out there that only read the first sentance, it sucks.
I went out there, after looking at their website that advertises 6 woodsball courses.
I got there, they had 2 woodsball fields. Noone was using them, even though the website said they were strictly woodsball.
Ok, I thought, maybe I can play some speedball and round up a group for woodsball.
1. People shooting their gun in the parking lot and in the store (yes, with paint).
2. People walking around IN THE MIDDLE OF A GAME in the playing field without a mask on.
3. No chronograph that worked was there, and noone really cared about it.
4. The safety netting was the worst I've ever seen, at one place there was a 10-foot span without any netting at all, I found this out the hard way by getting hit in the back.
5. EVERYTHING on their website was COMPLETELY wrong, even down to the opening time of the field. They claim to open at noon on saturday, they opened at 10, they claimed to have a newbie field, nowhere to be found. They even claim to have "sanitary restroom facilities", hah. Pair a porta-johns.

Even with all that, I might have played some, but the on-field reffing was as bad as everything else. Refs calling people they wanted out, out. Bonus balling every single game. Refs giving away positions, and yelling when people were reloading and stuff. At one point I saw a ref standing in front of a player, protecting him, and randomly calling other people out.

Please don't go there, no matter what you do. I would rather shoot myself in the face instead of driving an hour to get shot in the face. And i'm not talking about a mask, either...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
21 Comments - Add Comment

Icedairborne Sunday, February 5th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 5th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Review: Simply put is a great placed to play. I really enjoyed the speedball. The place had food and drinks available. Great staff, friendly players. Actually played some tournament style players. I realized an upgrade of equipment was needed so I made use of the pro shop. Great place, great people plan on going back lots.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dilbertrob Sunday, January 29th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Gotcha Paintball - Excellent staff, Great hyperball, X ball and woods
Action Tagg - Refs were shaky, but great woodsball
Review: I got together with a few friends to try out McCoys a few weeks ago. Junior, the owner was very helpful and had excellent prices at the store for everything including paint and CO2 refills. The reffing, as per other places was done by young kids who were ok, but not great. We were mostly woods ballers and were looking forward to trying a new woods field. The woods ball course was not up to par. The boundaries for the woodsball field were pretty much non-existent and were thick with briars and holly, we spent the first five minutes of the game going the wrong way and then when we drew fire from our side, finally figured out which direction they had started from. The refs didn't seem to sure of the boundaries and weren't much help in instructing us in which direction to go. That was our first and last woodsball game of the day. We decided to stick to speedball/airball for the rest of the day. The speedball was enjoyable. The upkeep of the fields were not as good as I would like, the safety nets didn't completely cover the some of the fields and woodsball was unplayable. I would score them less because I love woodsball, but I understand this is not their bread and butter, its just an afterthought. Overall, the owner and staff were very helpful, the prices were the best I have seen around. I would give the place another try, but would like to see the fields in better shape.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media