paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Quest For Adventure Paintball Field / Quest For Adventure Paintball Field / Quest For Adventure Paintball Field / Quest For Adventure Paintball Field

Quest For Adventure Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
26Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Location: Gibbons, Alberta T6C 4A9
Canada
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
DodgeTheFather Saturday, June 19th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: June 5th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Grunts, P.A.G. (indoor and outdoor), Young guns, xcalibre
Review: This field is a great place to go with friends. Everytime i go there withing half hour were on a field playing.
Having my own gear i dont personally know what the rentals are like but ive never seen one malfunction.
The owner is very helpful when my power tube for my bravo one broke, i needed a part and instead of selling me one he allowed me to take one of his guns apart (having the same internals as mine) use the power tube for the day, and return it to him free of charge. Same goes for air tanks. I have a co2 tank and he lends me an air tank for free.

The other reviews describe the fields quite well so il spare that part.

If you really want a good game, every sunday there are regulars that play there, some military, who are also very friendly and willing to accept anyone into their group.

All in all, this is my favorite field of all the edmonton and area fields
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

MARKV Saturday, November 14th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: November 14th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
i've played at P.A.G., young guns, and grunts they are all good but Quest is much cheaper.
Review: I have been going to Quest for over 3 years and in my time going there, i have had nothing but good times.
The safety is heavily enforced and every group is given two or more speeches on safety. They cover everything from procedure, to rules of the field, to fair play, and to basic respect of facillity and people involved.
The fields are very well set up, there is many scenarios that the entire facility offers. it is a good mixture of urban and rural features. from the two different towns, to the many woodsball type settings.
The staff members are very friendly and are offering any help, ideas, or advide needed. They are also happy to accomidate reservation, or walk ins. The referees are more than willing to set up any game types that you may wish to play.
Although Quest doesn't offer the range of immediate selection of gear in the proshop, staff will be more than willing to order it in for you and contact you when it is there.
The prices are reasonable, and rental guns are always available with good, clean camo pull over coats.

AS A PLAYER I WOULD DEFINATELY RECOMMEND PLAYING QUEST!!!
thanks for reading.
Last edited on Saturday, November 14th, 2009 at 7:45 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Balla What Sunday, October 19th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 19th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Action Games Indoor: Excellent indoor airball
Young Guns Paintball: Unbelievable, safe, clean, helpful facility, Lots of GOOD fields to choose from.
Directions
to the Field:
Out past Fort Sask, Near Gibbons
Review: Safety- Unbelievable! The safety at this field.....well there was no safety. I and my friends were able to walk onto a field without our goggles on or walk into a safety area without a barrel condom on. Guys like me with our own equipment didn't get what i thought was the mandatory safety speech that every field gives out. We were never asked to sign out a waiver form. This fields Safety is a TOTAL joke.

Prices- The paint was 65 for a case which i didnt find too bad and a 15 dollar field fee probably the only good thing about the field.

Pro Shop- A joke just a bunch of equipment scattered all over with no price sticker on it so you have to ask what is for sale.

Refs- We didn't get a ref the owner asked us if we knew our way to the field and sent us on our way No One was there to enforce safety or fair play.

Fields- one good field (tonka town) other than that everything sucked. They just basically went out into the bush collected fire wood and stacked some here and there and called it a field

My final verdict- If you're a woodsball player go here you MIGHT have fun. If you're new to the sport and dont take it too seriously go you'll have fun. Other than that play Young Guns or Paintball Action games indoor they both have an excellent facility WAY better than Quest. What a joke.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jokerjoke Tuesday, August 7th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 12th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
ESG is the closest. Also have been to Young Guns.
Directions
to the Field:
It is North of Edmonton. By Gibbons.
Review:

!!!FORGET QUEST, PLAY THE REST!!!

I have alloted 5 possible points for good and 5 possible points for bad.

Features:

Lets start with the good:

1: The fields were large and had lots of things to hide behind.

2: They have good camouflage rental shirts and jackets.

3: Good bush to open ratio of trees.

4-Can not think of any more.
5-Can not think of any more.
6-Can not think of any more.

The Bad:

1: One of the men that was giving out rental paint was in a very bad mood and a hurry to start. He rushed us through the gun velocity test so any one under had no time to adjust. My friends gun was only at 173 velocity and was not allowed to change. She had no luck hitting people that could easily hit her.

2: Run down buildings in disrepair and bad medical help, I had slipped in a building and gashed my arm it was bleeding and when I went to the ref for help he said he was too busy to show me the way to the trailer so I had to go through the bush in the field for a good 10 minutes before I found the start point. This was the field with the old car on it and the big valley on the side.

3: Horrible equipment that is in disrepair-many of the guns did not work.

4: We rented guns and about a third of our group had only enough gas to shoot 50 or so paint pellets, we had to re supply our gas after the first game.

5: Fair Play, or lack there of was a huge problem. The refs knew some guy from the other team and joined the game on their side, there were 2 refs plus we were outnumbered by 1 person already. We lost every game by a lot and had a very bad experience.

I give Quest 3 out of 10 for my review.

My suggestion is to go to Young guns or if you want something close to quest try ESG. ESG has much friendlier staff.
Last edited on Tuesday, August 7th, 2007 at 9:40 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jwst Wednesday, May 16th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 24th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
youngguns,screamin' eagle{crane lake}
Recently played at xcalibre
Review: Very unorganized staff who run this place.
Staff did not look very enthused about being there the day my group showed up,when you first drive into qfa,it looks like some bush league place.
Get your paint quotes and booking quoted to you by fax or mail because it will change when you get there the day of play,thats what happened to us and the owner did not care about how we got screwed over the price difference.
We had to chrono our markers by sound and look of how fast the marker would shoot the ball onto a tree-talk about a joke!
Half the group had marker issues and it was a joke for them to get other rentals issued.
The town is ok.
Save your money and go to youngguns or xcalibre,qfa will never compete with them,heck you could have more fun in a farmers field playing woodsball rather than palying at QFA!!
Last edited on Sunday, July 22nd, 2007 at 2:59 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

tau Friday, February 9th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 26th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Galaxy, TAG, PAG, Young Guns
Review: Found the place very disorganized when we arrived, granted there was alot of people there.
As an equipment owner I was dumbfounded when they told our group that Co2 was a thing of the past and was not available. One of our group had to rent a HPA tank for the day and for some reason his marker did not perform well
The paint was a little expensive for what it was, but I am picky about my paint.
They have some of the best fields I have played on and was impressed with the woodsball fields. We were in a large group and there was plenty of room to move.
Our group did not play all the fields, and would like to return to play the rest but only if Co2 is available.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Elfasto Monday, January 29th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: September 2nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PAG outdoors / indoors
Youngguns
Review: It's a good field with a good owner, who hires good refs that have a level head.
I really enjoy going there when I can just for Gettysburg course. It's quite good.
It's a great place to play woodsball and it has a nice milsim feel to it.
Decent prices on rentals. Paint is a bit stiff $$$, but it is good quality paint.
Parking is a bit lacking, but not a huge deal.

All-in-all, a darn good place to play.

'Nuff said.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Wayno Saturday, September 23rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: September 4th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Urban Paintball (Edmonton)-Urban quite small in comparison. Urban has a lot more staff. No waiting around for paint or CO2 refills. Very attentive.
Review: I've been playing here for at least four years. Longer as a renter. Purchased my first marker through them. Prices reasonable. Owner Lyle is a great guy. Though don't ever expect him to remember who you are, or your name, heh. I'm sure he has hundreds that are on a first name basis with him.

Fields include a Chevy Graveyard, a Town (quite a number of buildings), a nice speedball field, several wooded fields with varying foliage, trees, bunkers, hills, etc. This place is huge.

I love everything about QFA, except I sometimes find there to be limited staff operating the CO2 fill station, or the rental area. So you'll often have to be waiting if you're not thinking ahead.

Another thing I find is that they often discourage you from drop in when you call, but if you show up there, they'll have no problem accomodating you and/or your friends provided the other groups don't mind you tagging along.

On that note, if you show up wearing camo, factory shirts, electronic markers, etc, you're going to intimidate the beginners who are renting and you may find them reluctant to allow you to join them. So think ahead.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

arcanumdarkelf Monday, June 12th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: June 10th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tag: had friendly staff and several various game types ie: CTF, base vs base, assault a single base, town, fight in a small area with hay bales, trenches team elimination. The only downfall was the smaller playing fields in comparison to Quest. Prices were high $40 to start

Paintball Action Games: Staff was friendly. Very small playing fields. Best prices For paint if you bring your own gun out off all the fields I have played.
Directions
to the Field:
North of Edmonton near Gibbons.
Review: Open from 9am-4pm. Price was so so $30to play morning matches $35 to play afternoon. You got 300 balls if you rented or 500 if you had equipment. safety was ok except 3 games without a ref and the rental masks allways fog-dont they everywere? Thats easy enough to solve if you buy your own new mask though. The rental guns were tippman 98 so they were a good brand but poor contidion. Date May: My friend was complaining that I had my own gun so i just told him to stop wineing. I found out affterwards that he had to exchange his gun 3 times becasue of the following problems: 1 gun would not shoot period, 2 paintballs rolled out of barrel, 3 gun would shoot for about 3-5 quick shots and then 3-4 air shots 3-5 paint 3-4 air...etc. The next time I went June 10th I tested a differnt friends marker in the shooting range and it did the 3-5,3-4shot thing. Many people renting in our group had to exchange markers several times. The fields are amazing for woodsball several varying terrain types on each field.

Rolling Pines (R.P.): 1 team starts at the top of a long hill while the other starts at the bottom both sides have small bunkers that could support 3-4 people defending. There are many baricades in between. The top has an advantage if they can get to a slope directly infront of the lower bunker-the lower team then becomes pinned in the bunker and almost sure to lose.
The Town: For more speedballish play. It has bushes on the both sides if you take the time to sneak around.
Gettysburg: very thick bush with a few buildings deep in the woods. Too hard to see all battles took place at close range or mercy kills.
Chevy graveyard: Large field with lots of cover good percente of bush to open space, a gully on one side that is covered in dense trees is good for getting to the other side while avoiding the main fighting in the middle. 2 of 5 refes we had were good. The ones that were bad blew everyones cover allways by going up to them to see what team they were on.

1 of the staff was very GROUCHY. He is the manager and heres what happened. We phoned and booked and said we would be there by 8 so we could have time for us to setup our won epuipment. When we arrived he was locked inside the rental building so we simply got everyone suited up that had there own equpment. Once he came out he was already fuming about something. we had to crono our guns ourselves and the reader didnt work on my gun so the owner tried to crono it and eventually gave up after 5 tries and said forget it and stormed off. We had our teams assigned but when the owner came out with armbands he just assigned us random teams and when we protested he just ignored us. He nearly blew up when we told him we had CO2 to fill for our guns rathar than air. He said we needed to buy an air tank as soon as possible and that they were phasing out CO2. So we paid the $5 each he charged the 4 of us with our own tanks. The Man asked us if we were ready and we were but 1 guy was fiddling loading his paintballs and said no so before anyone could object the man was of at a fast stride to help 2 people that just pulled up at 5 to 9:00. It was 15 after before the man sent the two of them out to join our group saying that we should go to R.P. without him because he had to get ready for a group that was scheduled for 9:00-gee good thing some of us had played there to know which field it was not to mention that we played 3 games on the same field with no ref.

I have said enough negative stuff about him for you to get the idea.
On the games we have played there the experience always degraded once we joined another group. Starting with any game type from CTF to defend a base on R.P.The game type would imediatly change to team elimination or center flag in town where everyone takes aim at the flag and just waits for someone to blunder out after it-with respons on this made the gameplay degrade.

Summary out of 10:
Fields: 10 (except gettysburg)
Refs: 7
Safety: 8 usually but once a large group shows up there is no safety
Game types: 10 or 3 excellent in small groups-terrible in large
Prices: 8 or 4 alright with own gear, poor without
Hours:10
Rentalls: 4
Staff + Manager: 3

If your looking for a paintball field try Sniper Paintball or Young Guns
Last edited on Monday, June 22nd, 2009 at 12:13 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

youngandloaded Monday, May 22nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: May 20th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Young Guns
Evolution
Hangar 51
Paintball Adventure (in and out)
TAG
Directions
to the Field:
go to www.paintballqfa.com it gives you a map
Review: Everytime I go out there, it is usually just me and a buddy looking to join a group and have a good time. I get there and instantly I am given immediate service by the owner or one of the staff. I am looked to see that my air is full, I have all the paint I want, and my gun is going at 300fps or less. The refs will not only put us into a group... but ask the group if they mind if we join, which in my opinion, is very respectfull, because we all know a group of newbies does not always want someone carrying a 1500$ gun to light em up. Usually they say yes, and if they say no, the refs always make sure that I find a group to play with.

The fields are very nice, especially the town, which in my opinion... and many others is one of the ebst in Western Canada. The ground is a nice white sand and the fields are well mantained. There courses vary from Airball to Pines, from Town to Brush, it is almost every kind of terrian out there.

If I have a problem with my gun, I just tkae it to the ref, and he will try his hardest to fix it or let me borrow a part (or a new gun in some cases) to make sure the rest of my day goes assuredly.

I have been coming out nearly 10 times a season, since the age of eight. I can willingly say that this is by far the best field in Alberta. Try it out... You'll love it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media