paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Gotcha Paintball Field / Gotcha Paintball Field / Gotcha Paintball Field / Gotcha Paintball Field

Gotcha Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
46Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 176 Darius Pearce Rd.
Rolesville, North Carolina 27571
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Bismuth Saturday, October 23rd, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 23rd, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: I was referred to this field by shopping at the Gotcha store. I was looking for a place to paintball with some friends for a birthday party. All of my friends have never gone before, and this place look newbie friendly.

Safety is strictly enforced here. No problem here.

The courses are neat, especially the woodsball course. It's quite large, with two opposing forts and a larger central fort that's up for grabs at the start of the game.

The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Again, they don't mess around with safety, and they are quite knowledgeable.

I only have one major complaint. A bunch of guys that were obviously friends of the refs would play against us, some of which I recognized as employees of the Gotcha store. Needless to say, they had a skill level far above that of newbie players; however, the refs would always stack the teams so these guys always ended up together against new players. Furthermore, these guys would wipe frequently, and the judges would let them get away with it. In general, these guys were obnoxious (talking trash, complaining about getting out, etc.) I am quite disappointed with the lack of professionalism in the refs, as well as the lack of sportsmanship demonstrated by pro players associated with the shop.

Overall, the fields were nice and the staff helpful, but I've got to subtract major points for poor refs and un-sportsmanlike conduct from players affiliated with the refs. I don't think I will return to this field if the refs stay the same, or at least if their friends are still allowed to get away with wiping shenanigans.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

JahnCahduh Monday, June 28th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: June 20th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Black River Fayetteville - total crap. This field sucks. It's in the middle of nowhere on 12 acres, and they're only using maybe 4? there's only 2 real fields that they use, both suck. Don't let the pictures fool you, it's a piece of crap. Even the people at BR in Angier think this field sucks. Don't waste your time or money.

Black River Angier: OK. So, if this field wasn't an hour and some change from Raleigh, I'd like it a lot more. The facilities are ok, the shop it tiny and they dont really let people go in there when it's super busy. The registration is a total cluster F***. It took an hour and a half to register 100 people the last time I was there. It was ridiculous. Totally destroyed the cooler morning hours. The woods field is ok, i mean... it's a woods field. The "barracks" field is pretty cool. But there's no cover outside of the barracks so games get slow really fast. The hyper ball is good. Not the best ever, but pretty ok. The refs are nice, young, but that doesn't mean they're bad, they were actually pretty good. Overall the best field in the area next to Gotcha.

Triangle Paintball - Triangle is closed now. Kinda sucks. I didn't love Triangle,their fields kind of sucked except for one. Their Hyper-ball field was AWESOME. Sucks they're closed now.
Directions
to the Field:
North 401 through Rolesville. Right turn at Darius Pierce Road. Right turn into Gotcha

Address is: 176 Darius Pearce Rd. Youngsville, NC (sorry PBReview... you got it wrong)
Review: Safety: They're pretty serious about safety. The guys at the field do a good job of letting people know what the expectations are. Some may think its a little douchy, but they will ask you to leave if you dont follow their rules. I think its a good thing, it's all fun until someone gets hurt, and no one wants that.

Fields: I really like the fields at Gotcha. Really the fields are the major reason I keep going to Gotcha. Their X-ball field is pretty good. Its a little small, and a little to square, but it makes you do what it was designed to do, which is make you play along the tape. Their air-ball/speed-ball field is way sick. Most definitely the best air-ball/speed-ball field in the Piedmont hands down. They're woods-ball field is also really good. Good cover, nice and woodsey. Im not really a woods-ball guy, but I like this field a lot.

Hours:
The Field: Sat: 9am - 5pm; Sun: Noon - 5pm
The Store: Mon - Thurs: 4pm - 8pm; Fri: Noon - 8pm; Sat: 8am - 5pm; Sun: noon - 5pm

Prices: Ok... people complain about this all the time. Given that I think Gotcha is the best field in the area, the price is also best and/or comparable to other fields. BR charges 20 bucks, strait up. I dont care what the website says, they charge 20 bucks at the least. Gotcha charges 5 bucks field fee and various amounts from 2 bucks (depending on your bottle type and size) to 10 bucks for all day air. Def. cheaper. Also, their balls are of various prices and grades. You can get field paint for 40 or 45, or Diablo, MarBallizer, Premium, etc.. for more (50 or 60 a case).

Rules: The usual. Rules dont change much between fields.

Proshop: The gotcha store is def best. Its actually in Raleigh, which helps. They do everything from custom work, installs, hydro, etc... They also carry a wide variety of guns, accessories, mods, whatever you want. And if they dont have it they'll order it for you.

OK, so the conclusion. I've read the other reviews on this field and I'm sorry... you're wrong. If you have a bad experience in paintball no matter what field you're at (in my opinion) is your fault for being too whiny. IT'S PAINTBALL. Chill out, get over the pain factor, get to business, and just play. People are gonna cheat, people are gonna douche out, whatever, people do it all. That's not the fields fault. There's nothing you can do about other people but beat them. So calm down. Moving on.

I love the gotcha field, and the store, and the people who work there. They've never been anything but helpful, courteous, and professional with me every time i've been there (whether it was the store or the field) and i've been to both more times than I can remember. They're good at what they do, they do it professionally, and they have the facilities to do it well. They also put on big games that are really cool and I just really enjoy playing at this field. The people are nice, the refs are good and it's only 30 minutes from my house. I highly recommend it. Maybe i'll see you there and I can shoot you! hahaha.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ClemsonS2k Tuesday, May 12th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 9th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
I typically play in South Carolina at PBC.
Review: I decided to take my brother-in-law out for a day of rec ball. We finally arrived to the field. It's way out in the country behind what looks like a salvage yard. The field were not in awful shape but not in good shape either. There were a decent number of people out there. Mostly kids between the age of 13-17. The lady that signed us in was very nice. It was all down hill from there.

The young refs were awful. They had us playing with their friends, who by the way complained about wiping every other shot. I have never cheated in my life and was quite insulted. The ref was standing right next to me and never once said "you didn't hit him" but in his defense he never called me out either.

We continued to play with the same kids the good part of the day (They claimed that we were not permitted to play with anyone else because of the electronic markers). The boys continued to get frustrated because the competition was more evenly matched than they would have liked. It was getting late in the day and the group of boys decided to put the markers on full auto. I described to the ref that this was quite unfair being that we had 2 men with rentals. He just shrugged his shoulders. At this point I called it quits and took it for what it was.

My above example is not about the young boys acting out. Boys will be boys. My point is that the field should really invest in some skilled professional referees. I think the experience would have been much better with a higher level of professionalism.

I will not return to the field and I do not recommend anyone else does either. If you do choose to go then be prepared to pay high prices for field paint while also coping with a poorly managed facility.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tesh Saturday, April 4th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 4th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
X-treme Paintball Winston-Salem NC
-Awful field, poorly maintained and staffed
Review: First off I will say this field is a great place to play. Very nice staff and nice people in general. Relatively small field but still a blast.

Pros:
-Cheap ($5 to rent on the first weekend of every month, $60 a case, $5 for entrance)
-Friendly staff (very helpful and polite. They actually tried to help people)
-Fun courses to play on

Cons:
-Refs were generally great but there were a few who didn't really care
-Facilities like the resting area were a little run down
-Small

Overall this was a great field and I had an awesome time. They could definitely clean up all the junk near the buildings and do some work to the facilities but otherwise this place is a great place to play.
Last edited on Saturday, April 4th, 2009 at 6:57 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

used ion Wednesday, March 4th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: March 1st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Directions
to the Field:
long straight road and then dirt road to junk yard your there
Review: The feilds are great but I havnt been in a while so I have no idea of thier conditions. The staff at the field are great nice and worried about safety. They are very strict sometimes but only about keeping you safe. Ive seen kids get kicked out for taking a mask off or not putting a barrel sock on. The old owner was much nicer than the new one until he passed away. The new one is still very generous. (your first hotdog is free :P) Paint is very expensive and you have to use feild paint. The store is not located near the feild and unfortunatly is a pain to find. The guy that usually works there is a jerk but they have a decent selection of equipment. Although prices there are a little high there too. Over all i love gotcha and highly rcomend it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Smfitz11 Monday, November 10th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: June 14th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Triangle Paintball
Review: Good field. Costs were a lil high. GREAT woods ball course. The X on the X ball course was laying down however, I thought it would have been cool if they could stand it up. speed ball courses were decent but not the greatest.
Never really checked our the store just because i could never find it.
all around decent field though
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

rabenj123 Tuesday, June 10th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: May 23rd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Only played at Gotcha.
Review: The Field is good. I don't have any problems with the field or the people that run it.

. . . Although the paint is expensive. Diablo Formula 13 is $55 a case at the store, and $65 at the field. I have seen Diablo Formula 13 for $39 elsewhere.

I DO HOWEVER HAVE PROBLEMS WITH THE STORE.

I recently got into paintball. Until recently, there were no other stores locally, so I was buying my equipment / paint from Gotcha's store. I have been to the store several times, and have spent several hundred of dollars there.

Without exception, every time I have gone to the store, the guy there has been VERY RUDE. Not just to me, but to other customers too. I was there two weeks ago (for the last time), and a guy came in with a Shocker PB gun, explained that he bought it from a guy at work, and needed everything else to play (mask, tank, hopper, paint . . . ). This guy spent some serious cash, and the guy at the counter was TOTALLY RUDE. Even though this guy was spending hundreds of dollars, the guy at the counter wouldn't answer the customer's questions, and was a total jerk. I ended up leaving the store the same time this other guy did, and he said to me that he had never had anyone be so rude to him before. We are both adults (over 40), and the guy at the counter is also older, so there is no excuse.

Too bad. I will not go back (neither will the other guy), and I won't go to the field anymore because of this, either.

There are other stores that will take my money.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bbboy657 Wednesday, May 14th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 17th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none, only field i go to

but others are

black river

triangle paintball (now closed)

a few others
Directions
to the Field:
look for a sligtly hard to miss dirt road on the right, and youve found it
Review: I will cover a few things.

FIELD- Decent rates but 50 for a case of whitebox? i think diablo is 55 though i havent checked in awhile so mighty as well spend the extra 5, or save 5 and buy it at the store because whitebox there is 45. and good fields although they could add a little more variety. Alot of new players go, but there are still good turnouts of decent players. Fields are as listed.

1.) Hyperball- Medium, and Awsome layout, and liked how it has a snake.

2.) Super Airball- Small, but great. Altough typically only the experienced people go on it, they are still a good turnout. It also has a snake.

3.) Xball- Large, and takes a bit longer in general for the game to end. The only thing i would change about it is adding a snake. Has alot of bunkers, but not too much to make it easy.

4.) Freak- Very small, only good for 3 on 3's. Pretty decent field layout, and one huge bunker in the middle right next to the snake. Speaking of the snake, its very small, shaped like a very wide angled "V". Its low, so you have to either crouch very low, or get on your stomach or back. All in all, its cool.

5.) Woodsball- Large with very cool field design. They have 1 large fort in the middle thats circular with 2 door openings, and numerous windows. and 2 other smaller forts on the opposite sides of the fields. lt has a slightly elevated path nicknamed "Lambridge" which offers great shots on the opposing team. Only downside of the path is it dosent have very many bunkers, but the ones it does have have 4 sides and offer great protection. Other bunkers on the field are a few "Tiki huts", and numerous bunkers made of stacked logs, twigs, branches, etc...


STORE- They have a great inventory, and good well trained employees. Very good operating hours, and if they dont have the part they will order it for you. Only downside is there prices are too high in my opinion i mean 20 dollars for labor? come on!. Mark, the guy usually working the counter can come off as rude or you may get the feeling he outright hates you. give it some time and you will come around, hes actually a decent guy.


TEAM- Believe it or not, gotcha has a team. they practice every other sunday from 9-12.
Also, every couple of months, they hold tryouts. Ive never actually played with them, but im hoping to this weekend. Thats another cool thing, they let walkons play with them when there practicing. Im not sure if they get discounts on paint or not though. But overall, i recomend them.

BIG GAME- one of my favorite aspects about the field is that they host these "big games" every 2-3 months. the game goes on all day played on the woodsfield. they hide plastic balls throughout the field and for each one you collect you get a ticket for the raffle where they give out pod packs, pants, jerseys, mask, etc and 1 grand prize of a brand new gun. the last few years its been i think a mini, DP fusion, and this year its going to be a macdev droid.

Last edited on Thursday, September 11th, 2008 at 5:01 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

phantom01231 Thursday, April 24th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: March 16th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: Kinda costly but not to bad. People are friendly. The store sucks! Field is nasty! They have a good nuber of fields though so thats a plus. The woods field is the nicest i think. Staff is friendly but kinda slow and dumb. LOTS OF NOBS! They run an electic class and a Mech class and when they combine the two they only let the Electtric guys use hoppers no tubes! Paint is Ok.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tippmann_dude** Monday, October 8th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: November 23rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Black river, and Triangle paintball. thats about it.

Gotcha Paintball- www.gotchapaintball.com

Triangle Paintball- www.trianglepb.com.com

Black River- www.brpaintball.com
Directions
to the Field:
Well, its a bit hard to miss. when you are going down the road, on the right, you shoud see a small dirt road, go on it, and BAM! your at the field.
Review: This field is awsome. they currently have.....

1. Woodsball (large)- built "forts", now its even better!

2. Airball (small)- they re-arranged it a bit for the tournament, but still the same basic layout.

3. X-Ball (medium)- re-did x-ball with new bunkers

4. Hyperball (medium)- still the same...

and another field right by the hyperball field that is going to be a speedball field made of barrels.

staff- Are awsome. they are strict about safety, and pay good attention in games.

paint- Well, a bit expensive if you ask me, but accurate.

fields- Routinely kept tidey, and clean

players- everyone ive met so-far was nice, and 1 person even let me use there tournament gun which probaly cost up to $600. Also alot of noobs.


A great field in my opinion. although alot of "noobs" usually go, theres still always a good amount of experienced players to play against. GREAT FIELD, GO.
Last edited on Saturday, December 8th, 2007 at 1:43 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media