paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Orbital Paintball Field / Orbital Paintball Field / Orbital Paintball Field / Orbital Paintball Field

Orbital Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
73Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (813) 789-8159
Address: 12771 US Highway 301 N
Tampa, Florida 33592
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Paintballdudes Tuesday, February 22nd, 2011
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 20th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Rather not Say
Directions
to the Field:
Tampa Florida
Review: Well i took a friend with me out to play and i can say Iíve played paintball for over 10 years and i have never seen a paintball field so sad in my whole exp playing paintball.
Ref"S Donít do anything to in force anything. Thereís no one that checked your marker to see what the velocity on your marker. Itís not ever checked and we all know that if thereís no one making sure your marker is between 260-280 fps then right away that put up a flag. I ask the two guys that work behind the counter about this and their answer was (we go on a trust thing)????? So they just donít care at all. Itís all about the money and not the safety!!!! So most of the people out there which were only about 25 to 30 most used CO2 and it was hot that day so we all know about co2 and of course no one on the field was ever checked on Fps? The field wasnít a very good site to see. Everything is bunched up together and most of the ads on their website arenít true. The games were set by Refs that have no clue on what theyíre doing. We played a woods ball game if you call it. The whole game was only 5min and then when time was up the REF says times up and the game is over. And then you walk all the way back and wait until the REF calls for another game. The REFS set 9 speed ball games and then after i went up and said something then it was time after the speedball games were over its was time for woods ball which lasted 5 min again. The only thing that was good were you can bring your own paint (20.00 to play and free air) THIS PLACE IS A BIG JOKE AND I WASTED 3 HOURS AT THIS PLACE.
AND THE PAINT PRICES ARE REALLY OUT THERE.
DONT WAST YOUR TIME COMING HERE YOU WILL ONLY WAS YOUR DAY. GO SOMEWHERE ELSE OR PLAY IN YOUR BACK YARD TRUST ME YOU CAN MORE FUN THERE AND ITS SAFER.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

stanley1271 Sunday, May 2nd, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: April 30th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: Patrick and the guys at Orbital are great. The fields are the best around the Tampa Bay area as far as I am concerned. The turn around for walk-on games is usually pretty fast and the refs always watch out for people to make sure it's a fair game.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

rojas1mg Wednesday, April 14th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 4th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Review: My son, brother, nephew & I went out to Orbital Paintball on Easter Sunday. We had a blast. My brother never played before and my nephew only one time before that. We played a lot on the hyperball field and searched for Easter eggs too. The field gave out prizes for each egg found. It was a lot of fun. Then they inflated the speedball course and my son & I went at it! Thanks for the good time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Florida Hitman Friday, April 2nd, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 18th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
BattleZone (Florida) C+ Mad Cow (Nebraska) B+
Blitzkrieg (Florida) C- Adventure Games (Florida, no longer around) A
Junglegames (Florida) D
Kohn (Florida) D-
PSI (Florida) C
Directions
to the Field:
Coming from Tampa Area:
You can just take Fowler Ave past USF, which runs into US 301 N, make a left and take it north for about 3.5 miles and it will be on the right.

Coming from St. Pete/Clearwater Area:
Take Hwy 275 north to I4 and take I4 to Exit 10, make a left on CR 579 until it dead ends into US 301 N and make a right and go about 1 mile maybe, and it will be on the right.

If coming from Hwy 75:
Just take Hwy 75 to Fowler Ave. Take Fowler Ave to US Hwy 301 N and make a left and go north about 3.5 miles and it will be on the right.
Review: Rating: B+

Hours of Operation: (Per website)
Saturday & Sunday: 9am - 4pm Week Days: Reservation for groups of 6+

Prices:
We had a group of 10+, so our cost was $25 per person, which included the Rental Paintball Gun and Mask, All day air plus a bag of 500 paintballs. Price was a HUGE bonus. I don't know what individual prices are since we got a group rate.

Safety:
The staff and refs made safety number one at this field, having a safety meeting right after everyone was signed in, and making sure everyone, even the experienced players, were included. The refs were on top of making sure the guns were chrono'd to 280fps or under, and that all the players were sticking to the rules.

Staff and Refs:
The staff and refs were fantastic. The staff in the shop, which they call the Bunker, made sure everyone were taken care of and were checked in as quickly as possible. They were nice and made sure we had everything we needed, plus made us aware of where everything was as far as the restrooms, air refills, etc. They had 8 refs out at the field when we were out there, and each introducing themselves at the beginning of the day, so we know who we can go to if needed. The ref we had was right on the money, mixing up the fields of play so we got a chance to play each, and made sure when we were ready to play the next game. Kudos to your staff Orbital.

Fields:
This field had more different fields than any other Paintball Field I have been too. They have 3 Woodsball Fields, Field to Fort, 2 Hyper Courses and a XBall Field. The 3 Woodsball Fields had plenty of props, trees and shrubs for scenario play, plus each is unique in its own way // Field to Fort was fun with the amount of people out there, but fort is needing work, which they promised will be coming soon // XBall field isn't the best XBall field I've been on, but was fun for the little time we played on it // 2 Hyper Courses were fast and furious, and are next to each other, so when we played with other groups, they put both together for larger group play! Excellent idea! The fields need some work, but some of the players informed us they have been making improvements regularly.

Players:
The great thing I really liked about this field was the players. Everyone playing there seemed like they were enjoying themselves and were fun to play with. They have a complete mixture of players, from newbies to the very experienced. Another important thing that stood out for me as well, especially having some inexperienced players with us, was when we did play with the other players, the refs split up the teams as even as possible, balancing the fact of trying to keep players who wanted to play together on the same teams. I have been to too many fields where they try to pit everyone against paintball teams and it makes it no fun at all because the sides are so unfair. More Kudos to your refs.

Food:
The food was great! They have a concession stand out there that is out of this world!!!! The two guys running it were very nice and made sure we were taken care of. I will be honest with you, because everyone in our group was able to find something they liked, we stayed even longer than we were going to because we were thinking of going out to eat afterwards. They had hotdogs, sausages, hamburgers, pulled pork, french fries, etc..

Overall:
Our group had a great time and we will be going back out during Spring vacation. The mixture and number of fields at Orbital Paintball make playing there fun throughout the whole day! Probably one of the biggest reasons why I don't like going out to most of the fields in the area is because they are very limited, and why we had such a great time at Orbital Paintball! The staff and refs were great and made sure my nephews and their friends had a great time. Orbital Paintball will be seeing us back as loyal players.

Thanks Orbital
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

MikeDaKilla Thursday, December 3rd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: November 28th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Central Florida Paintball - A+, Several tournament fields, solid woods, lots of players
Kohn - A, 2 tournament fields, solid woods, fair amount of players
Blitzkrieg - B-, tournament field, small woods, limited amount of players
Genisis - B-, tournament field, scenario inflatable field, limited amount of players
Jungle Games - D, overall lackluster, obviously targeted towards first-timers
Directions
to the Field:
If your coming from 275/75 take Fowler all the way down past big-top flea market until it ends at 301. Make a left on 301 and continue down until you see the orbital paintball sign.
Review: Please respect that the following is my interpretation and experiences at this field. This is a subjective matter and as such opinions will vary.

Orbital paintball is an ok field. It's a C+ field on it's best day. Years ago, it was the go to field but it has degraded severely in quality over the years. The fields include the long woods, short woods, castle to castle, hyperball and the rare tournament setup. The long and short woods are a decent woodsball field but are mostly open. Lots of spools, wood bunkers, drums, and mini-forts. The hyperball is your standard hyperball setup with the grey tubes. The tournament field is the most lackluster and is very unsatisfactory. They field lacks any sort of grass or turf making sliding useless. Also, it is almost never put it up in the first place.

The staff, reffing, prices, and hours are all satisfactory.

The skill level of players varies greatly but is at most B+ players. The amount of player is usually very limited.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jemini Tuesday, August 4th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 1st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Directions
to the Field:
Take Fowler Ave east past I-75 until it meets US301. Make left, follow US301 4 miles and look for sign on right hand side
Review: First time going. I had a very good experinence. The players were friendly, the staff was courteous and helpful. The field was large and diverse- hyperball, woods, scenario. I like how you can BYOP. The price is reasonable: $25 all day play with fill ups included.

Players of different skill come there, from newbies to big-gamers, but it's mostly catered to beginners to amatuers.

Overall, it was a very good field. One of the best I been to in a long time. I would definately recommend it and I'll definately go back.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

shewolf_ronbo Wednesday, April 30th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: April 20th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Central Florida Paintball-Lkd
Adventure Park- Lake Wales.
Waynes World Of Paintball-Ocala
Review: Castle, woods, hyper,speed, there all there at Orbital. There very strict regarding safety.
Player calliber there are from all levels of players. With the teams that go there, you
will deffently get in a good practice. Refs, there all cool, and if you have a problem they
will be more then happy to talk to you and help you out. And the young bloods are well watched and taken care of.
The Attmospere at Orbital is one of many that I like there, You just feel comfortable there. Jeff and Scott are Great guys, and yes there Paintballers. Gun problems, they will do whatever they can to get it fixed. And also many players out there that would be more then happy to help out someone in need.
They have drinks, and always give the players a chance to order for lunch
when they call in for theres. Give them your order and $ and they will do the rest.
Porta potties are kept up. There is plenty of covered areas and tables for your gear.
I also like the fact that there is always someone up front and they can see all of the staging areas. The prices are great there, you can deffently tell that this field is not out
to get rich from the players, {for an early retirement}. they care about Paintball and the players.
And as for the young bloods again,they have a paintball camp they put on that is very inexpensive, and great for our young players.
Okay Now the Cons----> I can't go every weekend because of work. Or we would.
If you have not been to Orbital or if it has been awile, ck it out, I think maybee you will
enjoy yourself.


I
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bbj Wednesday, April 23rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: April 20th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Break 50 ,first strike
Directions
to the Field:
275 to 1-4 go to 75 north - go to fowler exit go east until road merges to 301 turn left and go 3 miles , just past machinery auction on right .
Review: Great field , friendly owner and field manager , I recommend this field for new players as well as experienced players .The field has a good mix of games and objectives throughout out the day , games continually going on , so if you miss one another one will start up shortly ,the field flows nice and lots of good angles and bunkers . I also noticed that they change thing weekly , there are always new bunkers . lots of corporate parties here and lots of rec players on sat or Sunday . nice shaded picnic areas and good prices on paint and paint.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SeanGrizzly Wednesday, April 23rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: April 20th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Thunderbay-(closed) had more fields but the refs cheated

Florida Paintball-(Under new name and management since 06) only two fields to play on when I used to play there.

American Paintball-(been closed for years) this field was one large indoor airball field. It was nasty on the field and extremely unsafe in the rest area.

Gator- Only played scenario games here
Directions
to the Field:
There are good directions on the field site
Review: I started playing here regularly after Thunderbay closed down in 06. I played a couple times before then but I was not impressed and it was a drive compared to my regular stomping ground. In the past two years I have seen a lot of field changes in bunkers and playabilty of fields.

Safety- The safety is top notch. Regular players and refs do their best to keep it this way. Only improvement I can see is small net repair. 9/10

Fields- A hyperball (plus an extension for a bigger game), an airball, two woods fields, and a Castle for attack and defend games. The only field that I have not seen dramatically change is the hyperball field. They change the field layouts every so often to spice things up. Only improvement I can think of is a new entrance(which is being planned) so people do not have to walk the path next to hyperball when a game is going on. 8.5/10

Hours- Good hours. I wish it was open longer in the summer. 10/10

Prices- Prices are standard compared to other places when I played them except we do not pay for air. Paint is cheap compared to some places. 9.5/10

Rules- Rules are enforced rather well. The are some wannabe speedball kids that come out and shoot hot markers but they are either caught or do not last long playing there. Regular players also help to enforce rules and things usually run smoothly. The only rule I hate there is Dead Man Walking rule. This is when a person walks the field with his marker down, making himself look out when he is not. He gets behind the other team and either surrenders someone or shoots them from behind.This is a standard used in scenario games on A LOT of fields. I do not like this rule period, especially in a recreational game. Lately, I have not seen anyone do this in awhile. 8.5/10

Services- Hmmmm, well what this mean? Tech services? Well there is usually someone there that can help out whether they work there or they are a regular.

Proshop- Well, they have this and that. Tanks, masks, markers (they can order I believe), accessories. 8/10

Staff- Great people. Tom can be a smartallek. 10/10

Refs- Refs do their job to the best of their abilities most of the time. They need more of them in my opinion but with the regular players and home teams, it is kept in order. When it to summer time, I have noticed markers start spiking. When this happens or when people say there are a few people shooting hot, they make people chrono again. Works out rather well. The only time I have seen kid refs on the field is when they are helping out an adult ref. They are mainly there to learn. 99% of the time, it is an adult ref on the field. 8/10

Players- Beginners, a few tournament, and scenario players. There is a big mix. Most of the people are woodsballers and scenario players. Most everyone is friendly. Only a few grumpy looking ones. They warm up after awhile. 9/10

Facilities- There are two portolets unlike mentioned in other reviews here. They are kept as clean as possible. Unfortunately there is no electricity or running water. 7.5/10

Food- They sell cold drinks and they make a pizza order for lunch. There is a convenient store less than five minutes away. 8/10

Since starting to play here I have seen a lot of improvements to the field of play. Right now, they are in the middle of making new ones. With these changes it keeps the fields from getting boring and monotonous.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

fuse05 Saturday, March 15th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 15th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Thunderbay, Blitzkrieg
Review: First of all this field is over all good, but ONLY when you HAVE friends(about 3 or more) there to play with.

Pros:
- Cheap prices
- Free tools, all day air
- Woodsball/ A&D
- Some friendly players
- Good location
- Sometimes the Refs can be nice, one of them gave me 3k of piant! :)
- Little kid refs are gone.
Cons:
- Refs stack teams
- Refs don't do anything (i swear the refs are zombies)
- Refs are dicks. (Ref called for a last game when a few players told the refs they were going to play he complained under his breath saying "I should have F'ing left!"
- Players wipe (cause of the bad ref calls)
- Not enuff tables
- Fields are all linked together
- The workers hate to do their jobs and complain ALOT!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media