paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Action Territory Paintball Field / Action Territory Paintball Field / Action Territory Paintball Field / Action Territory Paintball Field

Action Territory Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
16Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 262-857-7000
Location: Kenosha, Wisconsin 53158
USA
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
beniscool Sunday, July 17th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: August 31st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Breakaway Paintball (Old Paintball Sam's) not speedball though
Directions
to the Field:
right off I-94 in Kenosha
Review: So its been 2 years since i played there (maybe 3) and I've heard a lot has changed. I don't think there is an actual paintball crew and manager any more, i heard he quit (Andrew). They were all really nice guys and got to know them and their sponsored team pretty well (I heard the team switched fields too). I had some friends on the team too. The refs seemed to be a little biased towards the usuals and especially their home team (many of the refs were on the team). Good thing i was a usual and good friends with some members on the team. Their safety was good, sticklers on barrel socks and goggles which is awesome, one time this snobby rental kid that thought he was god at paintball kept breaking the rules. His dad wasn't too happy when he spent hundreds of dollars on his kid and his friends to play when the refs kicked the kid out because of the 10th time he had has barrel sock off in the staging area and he even shot his gun outside the netting twice. The field is good, the only speedball place i've played at. It went from plastic piping, to sucky air bunkers with tubes running all through the field to xball, which was really nice. i liked the pea gravel, it was pretty soft and you didn't have to use cleats. The xball bunkers were not always inflated and not cleaned often. The center x bunker fell down a lot and the snake was extremely close to the netting. The course is good for, at max a 5 on 5. But since i always had big groups, it was more than that, and sometimes rentals would play with us, it actually made a fun 10 on 10. I am planning on going this sunday for their open play, and maybe the field has changed again, for the good! But i am not excited about reffing because i heard its just the parks employees that usually work go karting and stuff that dont play paintball. 7.5 because the field wasn't the greatest.
Also, apparently there was an incident that happened in july 2008, someone want to fill me in?
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DYE4EGO Wednesday, June 23rd, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: May 6th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: Ok so action terriorty is family park mainly for young kids but the have a pretty nice field set up. I started playing here once black rain in Racine closed :( well when I started there they had a group of really cool super nice refs that would on some days give you free air! Unfortionatly some got fired and others quit. Now they have these refs that think they are top of the line pro guys and trust me they aren't. Me and two of my friends (our three man team) played there "sponsered 5 man team" and we run all day on them. It was pretty sad...

Anyways I highly recomend this place for any players! It's fun and you always meet new players!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Luxeballer17 Saturday, June 13th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: June 7th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Badlandz, Fox, Planet Extreme, Factory paintball (RIP), Stinger (RIP)
Directions
to the Field:
Just west off of I-94 in kenosha
Review: I have been playing here for 2 years now basically every Sunday in the summer. And since the days of tubed air ball and hyper ball at action they have defiantly improved and are slowly improving even more. Recently they did get in some new bunkers to replace some of the ones with holes that were always deflating. There is a team that I play with there on Sundays that is very helpful, and is ready and willing to help out any one who wants to know more about the sport. Take it that many of them are pretty good players they're not your average tournament players who bash and beat up on the noobs. But also the staff has also been getting better, they're still kinda lazy sometimes when it comes to keeping the field inflated and also cleaning the bunkers but hey no bodies perfect. Usually theres only 2 of them trying to deal with more then 1 large party at a time so i cut them some slack they get done what needs to get done. The pea gravel base in my opinion is pretty nice to to hard not to soft and allows for play right after or during rain without puddles and lakes cuz its great for drainage. And just this year the ragged netting was all patched up and fixed. I think this place is really taking some steps in the right direction. But with the type of field they have (xball) i really think they should try to do a lil more to bring in more tournament players. And my only other complaint is i wish they would clean off the bunkers. They're caked with paint and it would only take a good hose down to get them looking good again and then a good wipe down and the end of everyday. That alone would make the place look 100% better.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

CQB.Wardog Thursday, September 13th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: July 18th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: When you play here, remember that it's a family park and not a paintball park. This is a side business, not their main business.

The refs are a little lazy. Young kids who play tourney ball but aren't really into the working side of the game. They know all the PSP rules but can't enforce "Goggles on" when a kid takes his off. That's a pet peeve of mine. They also chrony guns, but rely a lot on the players to self-police.

The field has changed a lot. I liked playing on the hyperball pipes way back when, but they changed to airball and now currently they have X-ball bunkers. I'm not a fan of x-ball, but the kids seem to like it. The field is small, but not too cramped for 5 on 5. Several people hate the gravel surface, but I like it. It's different, and it's a softer landing than dirt. The staging area is covered, and shaded, a nice touch. And it's a quick walk to the main building for full bathroom facilities, food and drinks, and air conditioning. In mid-summer, a 30 minute lunch break in A/C is a great thing.

Paint is whatever they got, usually blaze, but the price is good. You can't beat the entry fee on walk-on days, or the BYOP rates. For the money, it's a decent deal.

Addition on July 18, 2008. The place has taken a turn for the worse. It's obvious now that the management has no clue what happens in the paintball area, and the paintball staff wishes to keep it that way. The referee staff come back to play when "off duty", still wearing their work shirts with the "action territory" logo, and bash on the new guys. The off duty staff bring their own paint, which is not allowed but thankfully it is the cheapest they can find and not "anti-wiper" tourney paint. Plus when I was there I had to perform basic first aid on a player who took some of the ref's paint in the eye, the staff was nowhere to be seen.

They still have X-ball style bunkers, no HPA fills (going on 3 years of promising it now), but the attitude has taken a very bad turn to the staff believing they're elite and better than the customers. They also have little, if any, respect for the management (who they call "downstairs") who are kept in the dark as to what's happening at the paintball area. I also did not appreciate the referees removing their goggles on a field with live guns so they could check their cell pones and read text messages. I'm a stickler for safety, especially referees leading by example. The place is still good for a "quick fix" for paintball, but it's very much a "locals only" attitude currently.

Rating changed to 5 / 10. It used to be better, now it's just average. Unless management does something soon it'll keep skidding downhill. The place looks like it's run down now, it needs some serious TLC before it can be as good as it used to be.
Last edited on Friday, July 18th, 2008 at 3:36 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

HIMYNAMEISKINZ Friday, December 22nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: December 22nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Factory Paintball (North Chicago)
Siege
BFG
Promise Land
Review: This field is amazing. The only problem is pea gravel. The refs are crazy nice and they can help you fix most problems with your gun. There are two guys who are usually there and they are real cool and funny. They both play so they actually know what they are talking about. They are huge on safety. They also have food and drinks and the prices are CHEAP!! The proshop kinda sucks....so does the manager in charge...i think his name is summin like Side Burns, idk cant remember. They are open from 2-10 on weekends and 5-9 on weekdays. In the summer their hours are real nice. I give this place a 9 but next summer it will be a 10 cuz i heard they are getting a Texas PSP field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

punishers9337 Monday, December 18th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: November 18th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: I play here like every other week except for in the winter because it is too cold. The field has air bunkers now and the refs ushually do a nice field set up. The prices are awsome here. it is 55 for a case of nightmare. they have byop wednesdays and fridays now which is only 20 dollars for all day admission. they have all day compressed air fills for 5 dollars. The refs here are extremely nice and helpful. They have chronoed us before every first game. they have a huge selection of food and drinks in the main building. I hear that they are adding on to their paintball section with a brand new field. it will be next to the old field. I think it will be made with the more competitive players in mind. I also hear they will start doing tournaments on this new field. their hours run from 2 to 10 on fridays and i think 2 to 9 on wednesdays. I love this place and hope all who go there will enjoy it as much as I do.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

a1exweibl Saturday, October 7th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: July 30th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: Well, I had a bad review on this before but I would like to say they have improved a LOT. I went there a little bit ago and the Refs are very nice only thing I can say is they don't get into it as much as a normal ref does but thats ok. The field has gotten MUCH better they finally got better bunkers. It is where I learned how to paintball or ever tried it so it definetly is a good time for me to go back and see where I all started out. They still don't chrono as much but they got better at that too. Then the only thing that got to me was them never having air but that might just be a coincidence.
Last edited on Tuesday, October 16th, 2007 at 9:16 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

dyepaintball21 Thursday, August 10th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 7th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Blitz
Factory PB
The Badlandz
Review: I went there on the BYOP mondays. My full review:

The safety here is okay. The highly enforce the barrel sock rule. What I would like to see more of is them chronoing. I don't think anyone was chronoed that day. And there only measure of it was if someone was complaining about it, they would chrono after the incident occured, which defeats the purpose of chronoing to begin with.

They had one field. I really liked that it was airball and the whole tubing system set up. They didn't have to refill the bunkers with leaf blowers. It's set up for 3-man but it's doable with 5-man. Anything over is too many people.

Their hours of operation are solid. It's from 2:00-10:00 but once the sun goes down, it's difficult to see in there. I duggest that they put more light on the field.

Thir prices are outstanding. It was $25 for BYOP and air or buy the field paint for $55 and $17 for admission and air.

The proshop could use a little work. I asked if they had any AA batteries and they didn't have any. It's mostly barrel swabs, squegees, stuff like that.

The refs were really cool. The enjoyed reffing the competitive players. If someone called for a paintcheck, they were right on it.

Competition is above average when at Action Territory. It's mostly people with Ions and kids with expensive guns their parents bought for them but it's getting better.

The facilities were okay. They need more benches though. I had to work on the gravel floor because all two benches were used up.

Lot's of food choices though. They have a cafe in their indoor facility where you can get pizza, hot dogs, stuff like that. Plus it's Kenosha, there's a KFC, Taco Bell, McDonald's, Arby's all within a blocks worth of walking.

Overall it's a decent place and I'll probably go there again. But they could do so many little things that'll make an average field into a great one.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

MR.XXX Monday, June 26th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: June 25th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: Even though this field is attached to a family fun park, and is supposed to be for the younger crowd and their parents, it is starting to become more friendly to the "hardcore" paintball crowd as well.

The field is and airball field with pea gravel. The pea gravel isn't all that great, but the new airball is pretty nice. The prices aren't all bad either. $9 for a field fee + 100 paintballs, and the cases of Nightmare run at $55.

A new thing they just added is $20 Mondays. Basically, you pay the $20, which allows you to play all day with your own paint if you want to. Once they get compressed air (which the staff tells me is soon), you get all day air with that too. Not a bad deal.

The staff is safe and pretty knoweldgable, but they won't fix your gun because of liablity reasons. The rules are pretty standard, and they have a rather small area to set up in; just two picnic tables and some 50 cent lockers to put your stuff in. The player crowd is starting to get a little more serious, but usually consists of 10-14 year olds with rental guns playing paintball for their first time. Otherwise, the crowd is mixed between 11-14 year old kids with spyders playing for their first time, and some hardcore guys every once in awhile.

The rental department is a little lacking, with the primary rentals being Diablo Inferno's, and there are some Tippmann Pro Customs as well. If you have a problem with rentals though, the staff is always glad to help you with that.

Overall, this field is just starting to gain some foothold with the more advanced players, and is pretty much average to great in other departments. Once the compressed air comes in, I expect it to take off in the right direction. This is a good place for beginners and rookies alike.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

scenario_player Sunday, June 25th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 20th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
I don't really know...
Directions
to the Field:
I got no clue...
Review: Safety -
I think they were pretty safe , they chronoed there rental guns once, so it could be better, but they again, it could bne worse... I dunno what the refs do for the mask off thing, because no one in our group took off there mask. They had a safety briefing -by movie- when you pay, although it was hard to see -sort of- because of the glare of the sun, but it was easily understood.

Field -
It was pretty good, it was a hyper ball field with pea gravel.
WARNING - This is the first field I played at, so I might be biased... But please don't dispute for this reason...


Prices -
They were actually pretty cheap -they recently lowered their prices...
It's $4 for 100 balls
$7 for 200
$15 for 500
and $55 for 2,000... Pretty good prices if you ask me...

Refs-
They seem pretty good on safety, however they only have 2 staff people working the paintball station, so they lack a little in the staff department... (Atleast, they only had 2 staff working when I was there...)

Pro shop...
I wouldn't exactly call it a proshop exactly... It was really more of a station where they sell rental equipment and stuff, how ever they had a gun for sale NIB and some o rings and tanks and other misc stuff, nothing too exciting here...

Overall, I give this field an 8
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media