paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Wizard Land Paintball Field / Wizard Land Paintball Field / Wizard Land Paintball Field / Wizard Land Paintball Field

Wizard Land Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
10Edit this Field Listing
Website: N/A
Email: N/A
Phone: (270) 474-8712
Address: 958 Elderberry Drive
Dexter, Kentucky 42036
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
2tw!steD Tuesday, July 18th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: July 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Shooter's Field ----------> AVOID AT ALL COSTS, read review below.
West Kentucky Paintball Field ---------> great for tournament-style play.
Directions
to the Field:
mapquest people...mapquest
Review: SAFTEY: There are typically no refs on your average days of play. Having said that, each player that plays down here (with the exception of a few bad guys) are the refs themselves. We help new players, help keep the field in good condition, and make sure that nobody on our team (or the other) cheats in a game. Trust me, we've been known to duke out some issues, because if it's one thing everyon at Wizard Land hates, it's a cheater.

As far as netting goes, Rooster's got that covered. He's shelled out some pretty pennies to get high-quality saftey netting that keeps spectators safe at all times...although I do not trust netting myself (bad experience one time...)

-------> SAFTEY gets an 8 out of 10.

CONDITION OF FIELD/PRO SHOP: There are 4 fields available at this time. The airball, village, hyperball, and woodsball fields are all open for play. However, the woodsball field is basically a forest...I don't think it's been touched in ages, and the village field is a snakebite waiting to happen...which is why I don't play on it. The hyperball field is in the process of being repaired, so I won't complain about it's structural integrity.

The airball field is really the highlight of the field. It's brand spankin' new, and with 28+ bunkers set out on a level, mowed playing area you can't go wrong. Oh yes, the airball field is Rooster's pride and joy, and on Saturdays around 8 a.m. you can find myself and my team out there helping Rooster set it all up for 2 days of solid fun.

The proshop is really non-existant. He has no gear for sale (I'll talk about paint prices in a bit) and the only thing in the building is the fill station and his rental equipment (which isn't very good, they're old Tippmann 68 Carbines).

-----------> CONDITION get a 7 out of 10.

PRICES: Here's where Wizard Land begins making up for it's lower-condition field and pro shop. All day air is $10, and I believe entry fees are $5. Karnage paint is $50 a case (not a great deal, but it won't kill your wallet. and it shoots very good). Drinks are typically available (mainly water) and are usually free of charge. On tournament days, Rooster grills out and sells hot dogs and hamburgers for what he paid to get them. All in all, you can't get a better deal in the WKY area...period.

------------> PRICES get a 10 out of 10.

Last but not least...

ATTITUDE: This was the field where I grew up at. I couldn't have picked a better place either. I will not badmouth Shooters or WKYP, but Wizard Land has the nicest and most helpful people I've ever met. Actually, most of the guys that play at Wizard Land also play at WKYP. Rooster is one of the nicest guys I've ever met, and while his language isn't suitable for a children audience, he'd spend all of his day making sure YOUR day went well.

One last note, avoid Shooter's Supply Paintball Field at all costs!!! Zach, the pro shop guy is a cheater and a jerk. He'll rip you off and laugh at you while he's at it. I still have a scar on my side where he shot me with a gun that chronoed 350 FPS...which he refused to turn down. Because of this, I will NEVER return to Shooter's Supply.

--------------------> ATTITUDE get a 10 out of 10.

CONCLUSION: All in all, Wizard Land is a wonderful recreational field to play at. If you're looking for high-level tournament style play, West Kentucky Paintball (WKYP) is probably more suitable for you. But if you want the best deal, and the friendliest environment, Wizard Land pulls the flag and maxes the game!

--------------------> OVERALL gets an 8 out of 10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Fresh469 Sunday, March 19th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: March 19th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
none besides a friends field he set up at his house.
Directions
to the Field:
from Hardin - go down 402 towards Aurora until you get to Mathia RD, turn right on it and follw it till you get to a 4 way stop. Turn right and you will see a sign a little ways down the road that says "Wizardland"
Review: first off, the people talking about no netting anf what-not need to go back up there. he has netting.

personally i like it, and for the price, you definately cant beat it, $7 for entry and all day air if your using CO2 and $10 if your using HPA. it would cost that go play at your own field by the time you got a couple tanks filled up.

Rooster is a great guy as well and will do all he can to help you if you have a problem with your marker.

there will be a tourny at Wizardland on April 22
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Homewrecker4L Friday, May 6th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
WKYP Shooters Supply
Review: If you like to ball come check this place out. Rooster has a new 5man airball field which is different every week. Rooster has put up a lot of new netting and is making this place better all the time. There are a lot of great players that come here so if you want a challenge or some practice this is the place to go. Players of all ages or experience can come out and have a great time. Rooster is the man your not gonna find a better guy. These fields are open any time you want to play or till you get tired of playing.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

tooold Saturday, March 26th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Shooters
Review: When you pull up this field does not look like much so with saying that let's go on. The fields are better that they look, and real fun to play on. What can you say about the owner (Rooster) he is a great person, realy down to earth and a welth of knowlage. If you have never played there than you need to check it out. The people out there are nice and a pretty honest group. I plan on playing there all the time. So check it out you'll have a great time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

front07 Monday, July 12th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
West KY Paintball (Wizardland and WKYP are the best fields in the area), shooters(sucks)
Review: Just like everybody else I'll have to start off by sayin how awesome the field owner is. Rooster is by far one of the coolest dudes I know and helps people out ALL the time. He has done so much for the sport and players in this area, its really hard to comprehend what a flippin awesome dude he is.

The fields are fun, while netting may sometimes be an issue it is always safe if players use common sense. If you play safe, then you are safe, thats the bottom line. Ive seen more people injured/unsafe at Shooters than I have ever even HEARD of happening here, so safety isnt much of an issue to me here because things are run differently to accomodate for the lack of netting in certain places.

I give this field a 9 because people like Rooster remind us all of what its all about everytime u play there or practice there, and that is having fun. Its not run by politics or money hungry leaders... its for the players and for the sport, and you gotta love that.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

arch_angel207 Thursday, April 8th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Shooters Supply and WKYP
Review: This is a great place for pro ballers and newbs alike. It's got a Village field, Hyperball, Airball (kicka**) and a woodsball field for all those tippmann lovers, lol. I grew up on this field and I don't think I could've picked a better place to do so. Rooster (the owner) is a nice guy and will sit down and help people all day if he needs to. He doesn't mind to sit out all day to fix someone's gun or to teach them the rules. He has the field for the sheer love of paintball and nothing could be any better than this place. This is by far the BEST place to play. Shooter's is pure crap...and WKYP has a lot of "cocky " people. Wizard Land is the only field around built by the players...for the players.
Last edited on Saturday, February 26th, 2005 at 3:46 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jack63 Wednesday, March 24th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Blodgetts,Shooters & Rec ball
Review: Overall condition of the staging area is poor the army tents have melted away to nothing. You get no relief from the sun. Pallets and spools are used for tables for your gear. They are in poor shape. Then wasp nest are everywhere. You need to bring your own chair.

We get to the netting (chicken wire around the village) bring you mask if your going to watch for you own safety. When you look around off the field nobody used barrel plugs. My mask and my sons stayed on the whole time.

Refs? What Refs? I was told "You ref yourselves." I encountered a lot of overshooting and wiping But, thats part of the game. Who cares?

Chronograph was a good table top model. The field did provide a water cooler with water and cups.

The fields played well. As a parent and player safety is number one concern.


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

twinkletoes Monday, November 17th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played lots of fields.
Review: Let me start of by saying Rooster is the nicest coolest guy you can ever meet at as a field owner. The fields are some what lacking. The neting (if it's not desnagrated) is not very safe for by standers. There are no reffs but other than that this field is pretty fun for rec ball'in and getting in some good tourney practice. But saftey is what makes our sport look bad to others. Just last week two people died in an acident and now people view our sport as the dangerous. All because of fields like this that don't have refs and proper netting people get hurt. And I heard that this place doesn't even have insurance.
If had netting and reffs i move this place up to a 10 but saftey is number 1 so i'm giving him a 3
Last edited on Monday, April 12th, 2004 at 9:40 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

electros4pussys Tuesday, July 22nd, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
shooters supply (trys not to laugh)
Review: i have no clue where to start, rooster is the nicest guy IN THE WORLD, we went there one day, got there at 11, he showed up right when we did, we stood around and messed around for a hour, talked about paintball stories and all that, he opens up, he didnt have any paint. so we went to walmart in murry, bought ALL there paint (lol) and went back to wizard land, we got free gas from rooster, and had a GREAT day of playing, just like EVERYTIME i go there we have the best time, and i always want to go back the next day
the field has a really nice village, woodball, and the BEST hyperball this side of kentucky. all the fields are really fun to play with, there are usually ALOT of pros there so there is plenty of competion. great field, great owner, go there this weekend :D
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

QuietRiot27 Monday, June 16th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
My small speedball field-----it's just a team practice field.
Review: Rooster, the owner, is THE nicest guy i know. If he sees that you're having trouble or you're not enjoying yourself, he'll come over and give you some tips or even just gas up his own angel and go out with you. He is DEFINITELY not in it to make money as the air fills are like 2.00 or something and the paint is priced at whatever it costs him. He's a great player and owner. Rooster is ABSOLUTELY the fairest, nicest, and friendliest guy into paintball in Western Kentucky.
Last edited on Tuesday, August 19th, 2003 at 2:01 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media