paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Command Paintball Field / Command Paintball Field / Command Paintball Field / Command Paintball Field

Command Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
17Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 570-288-2615
Address: Lower Demunds Rd.
Dallas, Pennsylvania 18612
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
mchainmail Sunday, April 22nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 22nd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
soley outlaw
Review: safety: Field owners and refs make safety a top priority. Mandatory barrel plugs, at the end of every game everyone gathers and pulls the trigger, then masks can be taken off.

fields: If I had to describe the field type, I would say "speedball in the woods" Most fields have a large number of bunkers, with little tree cover.

prices: prices are great for a field, okay for paintball in general. $10 to get in, $50 a case for Diablo Nightmare.

services: staff is knowledgeable, and can fix almost anything.

proshop: nonexistant, they are currently looking for a storefront.

staff: staff is fun and helpful, but several of them smoke.

refs: more than enough, about 8 refs for 30 players.

facilities: facilities are okay, though still developing.

rentals: rentals were good,
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

luder710 Saturday, December 16th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: November 26th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish, backyard play
Review: I got back into paintball this summer and starting playing at the command post field in May. There are a variety of fields for different styles of play; woodsball, speedball, scenarios, and regular bunker fields. Prices are very affordable compared to big time operations like Skirmish. I spend about $50 for a case of paint and $10 for entry. The staff is very nice and knowledgeable. Joey is always willing to troubleshoot marker issues. The refs are very strict with safety, especially mask pulls, which is great. During the summer there was a regular crowd of 20-30 people that played. There are also customer appreciation and scenario days where there are bigger turnouts.

If you enjoy the smaller, more personal games like I do then the command post is a great local choice. The prices are easy on the wallet and there are a variety of fields for different play styles.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntbller4life Saturday, December 9th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: November 24th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
mostly back yard play, emr once. too far but it was alright
Review: The first time I went there i fell in love. The field set ups, down to earth reffs, to crazy games. It's amazing to see. The reffs treats everyone great for the first timers up there. And since ive been there for awhile they still treat the new guys the same way after a good while comin up, not just pretend to be nice n then look the other way. They help out everyone as much as they could to make sure everyone has a great day. It's not like a paintball field up there, its more like a family outing, cooked hot meals, snacks drinks all for a cheap great price of like only a buck n under. For the games they always dont stick to the routine attack defend or elimanate. Times they come up with crazy games with the players input n combine them all at times. It makes very interesting plays. Like for the very last game of the day if u just wanna burn paint. Theres like 88 acres up there n fields r expanding. I was shown some of the new sections under development, theres a 2nd castle bein developed n i was told that once the both r finished there will be most likely a castle vs castle game. From the both its about 300-400 yards apart. that i cant wait till that gets played on. Over all i give this field 4 thumbs up *2 fingers, 2 toes*
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Baxterman Monday, December 4th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: October 8th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: Every sunday is great. You get to command Post at 9:00 and have time to load up and get your gear ready. Joey, the head reff along with the other reffs give a safety briefing. All players get chronographed and go up to play. Command Post has many fields to play on, along with many friendly people to play with. There is also a variety of gameplay options for each field. Every day there is an optional cheap homemade meal. The food at Command Post is always exelent.

The Command Post store in Wilks Berre is great also. They have a wide variety of guns and gear for sale that are priced great. They have wide varietys of camo also.

Joey is great with fixing guns. He is the first person that i would recomend to anybody with a broken gun. If joey cannot fix the gun at the field, then he will fix it at the store. Depending on the damage, guns are usually fixed very quickly.

I go to Command Post because it is my favorite place to be. I cannot imagine a better place to spend my sunday.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

thecore00 Sunday, December 3rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: November 19th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
EMR and Leigh Valley Paintball

These two places where okay but the prices where high. The refs and staff were not as helpful as the refs and staff at Command Post were.
Review: The Sunday starts off great meeting other players and staff at the field. Joey the head ref and owner dose the safety briefing. Once everyone is choreographed and understand rules and safety the refs take us up to one of the fields. They have a great variety in fields but mostly woods ball. The refs explain certain rules, boundaries, and dead boxes for each game. The teams are then separated evenly. The refs do a great job with this because of there experience. As games go through out the day they usually get bigger and better. There is usually warm lunch there every week when they are open. The day goes by with great games during all day.

If Command Post is not running the fields on Sundays they would be there stores in Wilke-Barre. With great amount of supplies in stock, great prices, and special orders at the beginning of the week. The store is a great place to buy your paintball gear. They also have great amount of different types of camo

This place is my favorite to play at because Joey is a great person and knows how to run the field. He is also great at fixing guns if you have any problems. If he cant fix it at the field he will take it to the store and fix it there. His locations for both his store and field are easy to find and located at great locations. The refs have great experience. His big games have excellent turnouts and dose a great job and planning out the day.

This Paintball Store and Field is The Greatest In North East Pennsylvania Paintball
Command Post is my FAVORITE
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dadof11 Monday, October 23rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: October 22nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
skirmish usa
Review: This was my 1st time playing at this field, I took 3 of my sons with me to play. They have very strict safty rules which I was happy to see. Joe the owner and head ref knows his paintball and is always ready to lend a hand. The other refs are also very helpfull,as this was the 1st time my sons had ever played at a reg. field they would give them tips and ideas as the game was in play,which was nice to see so they didn't get beat up to bad by the reg. players. They split the teams up even with a mix of experienced and newbies agian nice to see.I will play there again and bring more friends, nice day of paintball at a cheap price 10.00 per person to play 10.00 for rentals 50.00 for a case of paint(paid 100.00 for a case at skirmish usa) plus 2 of my boys just bought markers at there store in Wilkes Barre and each got a free pass to play that day which was a nice touch. In all very nice time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ssgtsmith7489 Wednesday, August 2nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 30th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None in this area, but there were some worse, some better.
Directions
to the Field:
Easy enough to find if you know the area, still easy if you don't.
Review: I have very mixed feelings about this field. Some people might not think my negative comments are actually worth mentioning, but I want people to know *exactly* what to expect when going to this field. I'll start from the beginning of my day and work through the end.

A few of my buddies and I decided to meet at this field for a day of play because it is only roughly ten minutes from my driveway, making the distance, what with the price of gasoline, very attractive. A few fellow players I know had patronized this field, and they had nothing bad to say about it, so I didn't worry much. Being they are only open on Sunday, we pulled in around 9:00 sunday morning, since we were told registration starts at nine. Their staging area/workshop/everything else is what appears to be an old warehouse, relatively small, about 60' x 20' x 15'. It is obviously quite old, and the smell of mold fills the air, and can be quite stinging until you spend a few minutes breathing it (which I am not sure is a very healthy thing, but nonetheless). The head ref/owner, Joe, is a very nice guy, and obviously knows just about everything there is to know about paintball, especially the equipment used. Upon arrival I chatted with him for a while, and must say that he is perhaps the most down-to-earth, laid back owner/ref I have ever met. We b/s'd for awhile, then he went with another ref to make sure the field was ready.

For almost an hour it was just my gang and the refs, all of them younger guys, and all still in high school or lower. They all were decked out in speedball attire, something I found odd given that this field was almost exclusively woodsball oriented. Being a hardcore woodsballer, I felt rather out of place in my camo fatigues, Special Ops Broadsword Vest, and tricked out Tippmann A-5A2 while amongst players sporting Empire uniforms and toting Ions, Cockers, and DM4s, but not a one offered a condescending remark, as some would at other courses I have played at. I can only offer two complaints regarding the staff, one being that they all smoked excessively, even the ones too young to purchase cigarettes of their own (The head ref supplied them), even while around very young players, which I thought did not set a very good example. The other being that the head ref talked about routinely packing as much as 60 oz. of CO2 into a 20 oz. tank, and that he filled players' CO2 tanks by hand, literally just holding the bottle, without using a scale or any other similar apparatus, and filled it until it felt heavy enough. This was obviously *very* unprofessional and quite dangerous, but when I commented he thought little of it. If this alone would anger or alarm you, as it did I, then you should either avoid this course, or come with your bottles pre-filled. That is really my only complaint.

On the positive side I can say many things. For starters the prices are decent: $10 entry fee, $10 for rental gear, $50 per case of Origin field paint, $25 per half case, and $15 per quarter case. They offer drinks, such as bottled water ($1), Gatorade ($1), and Energy drinks ($2). Included in your entry fee is free all day air refills, for both CO2 and HPA, which is very nice. Lunch is often provided, and is normally a home cooked concoction prepared and delivered by the owner's mother. I unfortunately was not around to eat lunch, but saw it arrive and it appeared quite tasty.

Another good thing is that they all are adamant sticklers to safety rules, which I was very pleased at. Masks are worn at all times around hot markers, which are all chronoed to 285 fps. As stated, Joe is quite a technical whiz when it comes to markers, and when my stubborn A-5 wouldn't go below 300 during chrono, he took it into the building, made a quick modification to one of the springs, and got it shooting a consistent 280-290 fps, even on CO2. He obviously knows his stuff, something that is somewhat of a rarity at most courses.

There field layout is a little cramped, but altogether very enjoyable. Their website describes their fields adequately, so I won't do so here, but suffice it to say that if you like woodsball *or* speedball, you won't be disappointed. The only complaint I have about the fields is that the airball field is *very* close quarters, being only about 50-70 feet long, being a little frustrating with their "20 feet rule", which is self-explanatory. No CQ bunkering to be had here. They even have a castle game, played around a fairly cool "mini" castle, composed of two wooden outer pillboxes, and a main fortification with high walls and a center pillbox. If you enjoy desperate defenses against sieges, then you will love their castle game. The only other thing that irked me a little is that while we were there, a decent sized speedball team showed up to play, and from then on play was pretty much exclusively speedball, which might annoy other hardcore woodsballers out there.

One final good point is that they have a fairly extensive "safety procedure" that takes place at the end of every game to ensure that all markers are safe. All the players, still masked, meet in the middle of the field, BBDs already in place, where they are told to place their markers on safe, pull the trigger, and then, once each marker is *individually* checked by a ref, they are placed on the ground, after which players are allowed to demask their heads. Sticklers to rules and safety, like myself, would be very pleased with this course, so long as you don't watch your bottle being filled. (also: they are very strict on keeping your mask securely in place, even while in the dead box, and don't even allow you to pull the mask an inch from your face to vent, something else I was very happy to see.)

My day here was unfortunately cut short, but I plan to go back sometime soon, as, despite some problems and lax adherence to some safety guidelines, this course is decent, and being only ten minutes away does not allow much room for complaints. So if you are interested in a good day of woodsball, at a fairly decent price, then check out Command Post, just bring your bottle pre-filled!

If you found this review helpful, then please leave a comment saying so, and if you didn't, then let me know what else you want to know, and I'll be glad to edit in an answer!
Last edited on Wednesday, August 2nd, 2006 at 2:19 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Maj Payne Tuesday, June 20th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 18th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Dont know area beacuse I was visiting
Review: I've been to this field twice with both very good experiences. I went in the dead of winter when it was freezing with snow. And I went in the dead of summer with 95 degrees. Both were very different from the California weather I'm used to. The prices had to be the best part of this whole field. When I rented in the summer( I couldn't bring my hpa tank for my cocker) it only cost 46 dollars for field entry, all rental gear( tippman, goggles, hopper), all day c02, and 1000 paintballs. If I got this at my local field it would cost double.

The field lay out was very interesting. It is all woodsball, with some added bunkers and other little things. There was the hill, which was a hill where one team defended and the other attacked. That was very fun. There was a speedball course made out of wooden bunkers which was also very fun. The best field was the csatle. There was a castle with two forts about 100 feet. One team would try to defent while other would attack. The defenders could only go in the two forts or big castle. This made the attackers have many differnt ways to attack. One fort over looked the speedball course while another over looked another hill. At one game I crawled through brush 3 feet high to get 10 feet from the fort when I jumped up and pounded on the fort three times which eliminates everyone in it. The only problem was the road to get to the field. You have to walk about an eighth of a mile to get to anyone of these fields. Another problem is that there aren't mnay games. Since it takes a while to get ready there aren;t many games, but you still get plenty in. Overall this was an excellent field and I would go there another time if I have the chance
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bad Company Sunday, April 23rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: April 23rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played EMR and it was ok The Command Post Experience is a Rush let me tell you.
Review: The field is good, rules are fair,proshop is close to the field and good. Players and very cool, easy to get along with. Hours are good 9 to dusk. Safety is just and deserving. Food allright but could be better. The staff is great I believe. Joes crazy but always cool. I think the field is a little on the un selective side but alot more fields are going to be added so it will be greater than it already is. Definatley a 10 in my book.


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

llwrestler11 Friday, April 7th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: April 2nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: Excellent feilds ans staff. Very cheap for what you get. 50$ for a case of 2000 paintballs. Walk-ons start at 9am and admission is only 10$. Many new and experienced players for all types of players. Refs are very nice and help you with any problems you may have. If u havent already played at Command Post i suggest you try it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media