paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Owen's Farm Paintball Field / Owen's Farm Paintball Field / Owen's Farm Paintball Field / Owen's Farm Paintball Field

Owen's Farm Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
13Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: N/A
Address: Route 175
Holderness, New Hampshire 03245
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
peta Thursday, September 14th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 10th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Review: Very new to paintball, first time on a real field, and first time using my own equipment. Found the crew in the pro shop very helpful to someone who didn't have much of a clue to what was going on. Came in late, but they helped me fit in. Played games on three fields out of the seven. If I was on time I would have been able to play on a few more. Prices are excellent, $15 for the day. They do sell paint and c02 as well as rent out equipment. Was impressed with the ref in that he made sure players kept masks on when going to the fields and after being eliminated. Thr phrase "Get your mask on" was barked to a lot of players. Players were also frequently reminded about covering barrels when not on the field. There were a few punks playing but I would assume that is the case at all fields. The comradery from most of the players was real good considering I was new. I had played once at a friends house with their equipment so I was very excited as well as anxious. It was like the first day of school. All in all it was a great day, more than fulfilling my expectations. I will definitely be going back in a few weeks. For the record, I am a 50 year old Engineer
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Yanksck73 Friday, July 14th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 9th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None in area, but Boston paintball, Canobie paintball and Cape Cod Paintball
Review: I have only visited here once but i plan on returning. The fields were great, I played games on 5 out of the seven fields and had a good experience on all of them except the village. They have 7 fields including 4 woods or speedball, 1 hyperball, 1 village, and one massive fort. They hyperball is fast and really intense, field is well laid out and mirrored. Out of the four woods fields 2 are terrible but we didn't play on those for obvious reasons. One of the woods fields is the best woods field i have ver played on. it is well balanced with many bunkers, a hill, and it is huge. The village is terrible, way to many bunkers, you can only see about a quarter down the field at one time, no backman support at all, people were blasting each other from 15 feet away.

Staff was friendly and very helpful. Is a pretty laid back field but they still have rules and high concern for safety. Only problem i found was that their were some so called "regulars" their who were arrogant and annoying. They refused to play some games unless we played on a certain field. Ref was good, called paintcheacks and no one really wiped, fair honest games. Balance of newer players and veterans but most people their had decent experience. It's cheap, $15 all day and you can bring your own paint to save more money. Although the paint they sell is decent, PMI Premium 500 for $15 so they don't gouge you like other fields.

The only real problem i didn't like was the lack of games, their seemed to be alot of down time between games. We would play 2-3 games on on field and then wait 30 min before playing 2 more games on another field. I wish they just kept things moving.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

JDaltonT_4 Wednesday, November 24th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: I played at Owens for about 3 months. The atomosphere was great and every one always had a smile on there face. No one really got to harsh on the new people thet came. When i first went to Owens I was really scared what it was going to feel like getting hit with a paintpall, I meet some one older than me and he told me to stick with him, so i did and then i was hit so as nice as the guy was he asked me if i was ok and told me what to do when i was hit. I havent been able to get back there for a little while and it is realy bugging me. I hope that next summer i can get out there and play some more with all the kind and friendly people.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

chaos567 Tuesday, July 6th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
planet paintball
Review: This was an awsome paintball expierience. There were many good people but there were also many begginers. There were seven different fields but i only played in six. There was a fort game were a few people were inside and a lot were outside and the people outside needed to run in and get the flag and then they switched sides. There was a mini speedball which was fun and then there was a bigger one. Then there woodsball was kinda like there speedball. There was hyperball w/ the pipes and stuff as bunkers. There was coke city with a ton of huts and a flag in the center. And there was another woodsball or sumthin i didnt play. It was pretty cheap. It was $10 to play, $10 for all day air, and $16 for a bag o 500 paint or i think $60 for a case. The refs were good and the main owner guy was hilarious. If u said u were shot and put ur gun up and if people kept shootin the refs yelled at u. They have a little lunch thing there w/ hotdogs and soda for 25 cents. All the people were nice and everything and it was very fun.
Last edited on Monday, April 11th, 2005 at 5:52 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SAPAINT Sunday, May 2nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
OSG In Barnsted NH, No comparison. OSG has a great fun professional playing enviroment with staff that know there job and work there tail off for the players. Owens is a non professional, lets go rough it, I have a few fields in my back yard so I can charge people with paintball markers to come play with us, sort of attitude. Tryed playing at Paintball Alley in Danbury NH. It was a beautiful day in the summer waited around for two hours no one showed up to play.
Review: The GOOD. Only $10 field fee if you have your own equipment. When I played you could use your own paint witch is cool. The paint they sold was reasonably priced around $60 case for pmi premium. Started playing on time. Played alot of games through the day. Always had people there to play. Bunkers where big enough for big people to get behind. Had plenty of stand up bunkers so your not always face in the dirt. Marker hits do not count. Strongly enforced, no blind firing. If your firing your marker you best be looking where youíre shooting.
THE BAD.
Very little parking. No bathrooms, Use the woods man. No real safety briefing. No customer service. Only had to chronograph once for the whole day. After that run the marker how you want and you could tell. Most the guys were good about keeping there speed around 280fps just a couple who didnít. Walking on the field to go play and having kids rip 10 to 20 rounds by your head so they can shoot a tree. Not cool. It sounds like a war zone just walking to the fields. I never got shoot that way but Iím sure some one has. Only had three fields we played on. Speed ball field is not level and in the middle of big pine trees. It has a side advantage for sure. The far side can reach the higher ground faster and it is all over from there. Most the bunkers have big voids in them where paint can get through, Very little security. The fort has big holes in the sides so once the opposing team gets close they will stick there barrel through the holes and smoke you from about 5 to 20 feet away. It hurts like hell and you have no way to return fire. Only one ref, usually the owner. His son not calling him self out when he is hit and lighting newbieís up. Watching the owner not do any thing about it. Capture the flag rules are very unclear. One time you play all you have to do is pull the flag. Next time you play you have to pull and push. Next time you have to pull and return. They do not make it clear as to witch version there playing.

PLEASE NOTE: This is a great lets go rough it paintball field with bunkers and stuff. Three of my friends and I had a great time playing there the three times we played EXCEPT for one thing. The owners son. I will explain. Third time playing: Game 1: speed ball, owners son last one left on opposing team would not call him self out after taking several obvious hits. Finally left after being lit up, walked off with like 10 hits on him. Game 2: Speed ball, Owners son, I hit him on ball pod system he was wearing with bright pink paint, drops back in the field takes off ball pouches comes back up other side takes me out and the rest of our team. Game ends he picks up his harness from be hind a tree. Looks right at me and wipes off the paint. Game 3: Capture the flag on the fort field. My team and I believe we are playing just pull the flag. My marker dies so I decide to pull the flag witch I did successfully. Owner come down and tells me we are playing pull and return asks me to step out and re hangs the flag. As I was observing the remainder of the game the Owners son shoots a new player. First time playing with his own gear. Kid stands up with his hand over his head yelling HIT, HIT, HIT. Owners son proceeds to shoot this kid 6 to 8 more times in the chest from about 20 yards away. We left and will NEVER go back. As we were leaving the owner comes up to us and offers us a half a case of paint to stay and play. We look at him and say no thank you. He just doesnít get it. We didnít want paint. We wanted him to pull his son aside and straighten him up. Stuff like this happened every time we played. Iíve played at a lot of fields in VA and have been through a lot but I have to draw a line some where. There is a limit and they went way by it.
THE EVENT LISTED ABOVE TOOK PLACE IN THE FALL OF 2001. THEY MAY HAVE CORRECTED THESE ISSUES BY NOW.
I would rate the fields and playability a 6
But because of the events that took place I can not honestly give an overall rating above a 3.
Last edited on Monday, May 3rd, 2004 at 5:09 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

hockeydude4001 Thursday, April 8th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Rogue Paintball in Maine and Paintball Alley in Danbury N.H (stunk) this one was bigger but Rogue has 2 fields so i'm not how big
Review: I thought this one was really cool becuz i went with a bunch of my friends and my brothers freinds and there were like 60 ppl there so we played everwhere small paintball was crazy though and also can u like have a private game there for birthday partys and such?
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

fox436 Thursday, September 4th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: I guess you could call me a regular at Owens paintball. I play there every sunday almost religously, there is just something about it that keeps me coming back. The owner chris is a real nice guy and he runs things well. Group sizes vary from 20 to 50 depending on the season. During the summer there is a pritty equal mix of regulars like me, guys with a good deal of paintball expierence and who play at chris's alot. Then in the fall the summer newbies leave and it leaves the regulars so that games start to feel more serious and more turnament like.
For those of you who complain about chris not having enough feilds he just cut off the back 150 feet of the big woods feild and made another speedball style feild. There are also plans to rework what is left of the big woods feild and there are plans are for adding as many as two feilds for next season.
I really couldent think of a better place to play paintball just because people are so friendly. Chris may not have a compressor or a fancy pro shop but he gets by. i think that his not over dooing it, he cares about all of his customers because the groups are small so he will go out of his way to hepl people out. so if uou havent played at owens farm before i would recomend you go try it sometime.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

truballa Monday, August 25th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: I only played at this course once, I went with a friend who plays there a lot. I absolutely loved this course, it was cheap for one thing, except the co2 which i thought was a little pricy, but that was all worth it. It was really cool how everyone there was really helpful, there were some people who had trouble with there guns and the staff was helping them, i forgot my hopper and they let me borrow one of the rentals for free. The owner Chris is awsome and hes not a bad ref either, he did a really good job of keeping the games going, i got a lot of paintball in that day because the staff kept things moving with breaks that were the perfect amount of time to get more paint and have a drink, nothing more. I really like the course and am going to try hard to get back there soon
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bigtoe Sunday, July 20th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at PGX Rye, which is very unorganized but the fields are thought out well and it more set up for tournement style play.
Review: I drove pretty far to get there but I didn't mind cause I figured it would be worth it because of the 5 dollar field fee, and 8 dollar HPA all day. Well it turned out to be $10 and $9 for HPA that never got me over 1900 psi. so it cost me $19 to play strange it just cost me $18 to play at PGX yesterday. SO, I it's not really cheap after all. It is all woods ball. The speed ball field that I played was fun but it was a woods field with hills. The fort was good too if your into that kind of play. There were alot of cockers and Angels there which didn't expect for a woods only establishment. The owner Chris was an outgoing guy but had a foul mouth, as did many of the players. I wouldn't want my kids playing here.

I gave it a five because it is average nothing special. the way people rate things around here is ridiculous. 10 should be for products or fields that are amazing.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

ANW171 Tuesday, June 17th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ive played at Adventure Games in Weare and it cannot compare to Owen's Paintball. At Owen's Paintball more games are played, you don't have to walk a mile to get to each field and its a much friendlier environment.
Review: I have to say that this field is one of the best in NH. I enjoyed it because it was such a friendly place and we played a lot of games. The owner also made it a very good time. He was friendly, funny, and he was highly involved with all his costumers and constantly trying to entertain and also making sure everyone was having a good time. Unlike most of the other paintball fields ive played at, this one was not about making money, but making sure everyone enjoyed their day and had fun. When I played there I even saw a few fathers bring their kids who must have been about 10 years old and they all were treated very well. If the little kids came down to being the last guys left, the other team and ref made sure that they were given a chance to surrender. I also liked the little 3 man tournament that was played in the middle of the day. Everyone who showed up was broken up into 3 man teams and every team played about 4 or 5 quick 3 minute games. The team that came out on top was given a free bag of paint. Over all I have no complaints about the field. If anyone had gun troubles there was always someone there to look at it, it was a safe place, a lot of games were played and the prices were good. You could also bring your own paint or buy the paint there (Big Ball or PMI Premium). I would highly recommend that you give this field a try. Even if you live closer to Adventure games or Canobie paintball it would be well worth the trip to go to Owens paintball.
Last edited on Tuesday, June 17th, 2003 at 5:48 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media