paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / The Bunker Paintball Field / The Bunker Paintball Field / The Bunker Paintball Field / The Bunker Paintball Field

The Bunker Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
25Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 918-666-3411
Address: 68950 E. Hwy 60
Wyandotte, Oklahoma 74370
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Wolfpack6Reaper Monday, June 21st, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 7th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have not played any other fields in the area as this is a D Day Guide/Review only.
Directions
to the Field:
D Day Adventure park is not that hard to find but does require a little searching. The folks in Wyandotte will be more than helpful with directions. I am from New York and found it at 2300 hrs so it can't be that tough. The road into the compound is long and rough so 4x4 or take it slow. One thing you want to keep in mind if it is your first time; People camp in their divisions. i.e. 101 Airborne camp is in a complete different area than 4thID so when you get there ask around and find where you should be and check in with your units CO before you pull the tent out.
Review: THIS IS THE MOST AMAZING PAINTBALL EXPERIENCE YOU WILL EVER PLAY IN

That said, there are a few things everyone should know prior to joining the D Day fight.

1. It's hot! Really hot! Camelbacks are a must. You will sweat more than you have ever sweat in your life. Stay hydrated and know your limits. If you are camping you will want to bring some portable shade. Also if your mask fogs you will have a terrible time. I used FOGZERO -XTREME ANTIFOG RUB Best product (IMHO) for the Oklahoma sun and no fan noise. One application worked all week. Bring a microfiber lens wipe.

2.The game area is massive and you will most likely be walking most of it. Oklahoma is covered in baseball sized rocks and brambles. Good boots with good tread is also a must. Cleats are ok if you are used to ankle strain but boots are the best idea. There are also ticks everywhere so pants are a must.

3. Compressed air is available everywhere but CO2 is not. Bring an air tank. They are just plain better and there is nothing worse than having to hike a mile just for some CO2.

4.If you are planning on making any equipment related purchases prior to D Day, DON'T! The equipment at D DAY is far less expensive than retail. For instance I purchased RAP4 Magazines for $20 a piece while they retail on RAP4.com for $37. Hoppers for $5, Pods for a dollar, Shrouds for A-5s for $50 The list goes on and on. It would seem like they would charge more at the event but this is a misconception. Vendors are there trying to dump as much merch as possible so use this to your advantage. Don't be afraid to haggle.

5.Yes the showers are terrible and smell like egg salad. Bring some TP! Most of the porta-johns don't have any in them. Get over it or get a hotel.

6. BRING A RADIO FOR EVERY PERSON IN YOUR GROUP! Unless you want to lose them after the first 5 min of play.

If you follow those few guidelines your stay should be more comfortable than going in empty handed.

As for the Mini-Scenarios and Saturdays big D Day game...

1. Yes people cheat. There are literally thousands of people playing at the same time and not enough refs. It doesn't ruin the game. Shoot someone till they put their barrel condom on! Yell at them, tell them they are out. They might not know they are hit. The game takes place over 600+ acres of woods and recreated areas. A ref is not always available. Don't cry, this is what makes the game different than any other game in the world. There is a certain necessity for literally making people put their hands up and calling themselves out. Fill that necessity. Sometimes people need a little more reinforcement that they have been hit, like getting hit twenty times instead of once. I'm a long baller/sniper and I know how it feels to hit someone from good range just to see them run away. Do what we did, hunt them down and make sure they know they are out. (by hitting them a "few" more times)

2. The entire compound is dangerous. You can fall down on any square footage of this place and find rocks, concrete, re bar, rusted metal and any other hazard you can imagine. BE CAREFUL! Wear knee pads and elbow pads if you like getting down and dirty. You need to protect yourself from the environment as well as paint. The night game(s) are EXTREMELY dangerous and not for the faint of heart. You will get shot by your own team and by others, A LOT and AT CLOSE RANGE. One of my teammates I came to D Day with was literally shot eight to ten times from ten feet away by their own teammates within the first 15 min of the game. While the games you have the chance to play are the most fun you can ever have they can also leave you seriously wounded if you don't act accordingly and take the proper precautions.

3. The rules that are on the D Day website are not enforced by any means as hard as the tone of their language implies. Yes there are a lot of kids there. Yes it is a family event. Those things are obvious but others are not. There is a lot of drinking going on and almost every night there are many parties you can hang out at. There is a lot of swearing, yelling, fighting, late night battle crys and just all around craziness you might expect if you were to put a few thousand trigger happy people in a camp together and have them shoot each other all day. A lot of people don't use the field paint. My group bought all field paint and used it the entire week but a lot of people will find out the color and make trips to Wal-Mart to buy alike paint. While this can get you warned or even kicked out, if you can't afford paint you need to be sneaky. It's akin to the "no use of drugs" at a big concert, enough people and you are going to have giant pot smoking circles everywhere. I'm not suggesting this as an alternative by any means I am just stating what I saw happening in prevalence. Some rules are always going to be broken and some rules are always going to be enforced just out of common sense. i. e . Barrel condoms in camp/dead zones; No markers in the Cafe or Shop; etc.

4. Tanks are always the enemy! If you happen to be caught in the line of fire by a tank you will most likely get bruised like a week old banana. It's a widely known fact that tanks turn their guns WAY up at game start so just know that the lard ass hick, too lazy to shoot on foot is out to hurt you with the twin-full-auto-470fps-ball-hoses they fire at crowds of people. STAY AWAY FROM TANKS! (Unless you are a bad-ass tank killing squad and then more power to you)

5.Get to know your unit as much as possible before the big game on Saturday! A lot of teams have practices and training during the week before and eat/party/hang out together during that week so being there a few days ahead of time will benefit your experience ten fold. This is especially important if you are part of a special forces or specific objective team. Don't expect to waltz in on Friday and try to be part of the 101 Airborne or MEK. You won't even get into their camp.

Hopefully these tips/guidelines help out some of the n00bs and remember to be friendly and ask people for help if you need it. There is a lot of comradeship among the different armies/divisions and we all want to help out team win the big game. DO YOUR PART!

See you at D Day 2011

Brandenberg Kommandos Wolfpack 6 Call-sign Reaper
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BlazinAzn49 Saturday, May 1st, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: July 24th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Played none that are very close. Closest would be Wild World in Arkansas, but that is still fairly far away.
Directions
to the Field:
Using Google maps is inadvisable, best to look for Wyandotte, Oklahoma and map it out.
Review: This was the first place I went paintballing, in 2008. As I looked around I figured this place was one of the higher quality ones. For some reason or another, people seem to dislike the woman behind the counter, I don't know why that is; as she is nice to me. Anyhow, on to the actual points.
Pro's: Much variety in available activities (regular paintball, more scenarios than I've seen, 4-Wheeling, camping, and more), Military-Surplus store, good referees, good rental gear, good pricing, my overall experience there was excellent.
Con's: It's been a bit since I've been there, but it seems like maintenence/ safety of certain buildings was my only problem. Wonderful field for any skill level. Highly recommended.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ethrealwolf Tuesday, June 23rd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 13th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: This is just a D-Day review- I live in Washington state, so I'm not really able to play this field for any other event, or at all for that matter.

The field (and event) is solidly above average, but not the best in the world. Though I can't really ding them for the paint, for example, I *can* ding them on selling paint that has a MSRP of 40$/case at 65$/case, especially when it performed as poorly as it did in the heat of Oklahoma!

Camping is average- though most of the campgrounds weren't mowed by the field crew, they weren't horrifically overgrown either. Some amenities are provided for (the infamous sulfur showers...) but not in great shape (the showers are nasty as hell, and the sad part is adding some metal or treated wood decking to the shower stalls would alleviate that). The porta-johns are cleaned out every day though, a definite must with that many people camping.

Food wise, I was only able to eat at the D-Day Cafe, which has good food, if a bit spendy. next year I'll just be paying into my unit's chow hall and avoid that whole deal. There's supposedly water available, though I heard (admittedly secondhand) that it, too, was sulfur water, and barely potable. (Personally, I just bought gallons of water from the Walmart in Joplin - 79 cents a gallon and perfectly filtered and drinkable)

The staff/refs seemed to be operating from several different playbooks during the main game- A good example is the DZ4 boondoggle. Some of the younger refs, especially, seemed to be operating on little or no knowledge of the rules. Ditto some of the "senior" personnel- the purple shirts, who, in some cases, it seemed had no interest in the game or managing it. (That's not to say all of them were- I met several who were working their butts off to maintain a good game)

The game itself is, well, only really describable as saying "it's Dday". It's eight hours long, and even with deadbox trips, you can easily loose track of time and spend most of it on the field. There is cheating- remember that at this number of players, the liars, cheats, and general lowlifes of our sport will show up, it's inevitable. I do believe they need better security- we had some things lifted from our campsite- but it was nice to see mounted security all the same.

All in all, After my first Dday, i gotta say, even with the flaws and things I didn't like at all, there was plenty to get me to come back.





Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Thebunkerftw Thursday, July 17th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: July 5th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
The Paintball Ridge, Underground Paintball
Review: This field is the best place for new comers and pros. Ive been playing for about 4-5 years now. And I love it their. If you ever go to the bunker the people their are very friendly. By the day is over and you leave. You will feel like you've known the refs for a long time. But yeah. They open from 9am-5pm. And im usaly their at 10-11. The players their eh. Most are kids and teenagers. But their are also adults who come to play too. But the food isnt the best.
The paint is pretty cheap. Once you get known at the Bunker you start knowing the people more. And sooner or later the price could go down for you.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jayzilla Wednesday, June 18th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 14th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review:

I just have to let people know that Oklahoma D-day is basically crap


i just got home from my first d day, and i have to say I am sorely disappointed. the whole experience is basically a joke, a waste of money, and hyped up garbage.

the following list is in no particular order.

first off...if an event is bringing in the numbers like D day says they are, then why do we have to pay a 5 dollar entry Fee?!?!?! We didn't even camp, that is bogus.

secondly, with all of the money they have to be pulling in, where are the signs?!?! we got lost after they closed the bridge because there was only ONE sign by the high way. No signs at intersections or cross ways. also, the two signs i saw were CHEAP. if this is a players field, you sure cant tell because it doesn't help players even get there.

Thirdly,the field....awful. Not only does it offer little in map recon ( where the heck am i was heard alot) there is NO COVER in some key areas. I understand trying to re create D-Day, but there is a key thing that i believe has been left out. we play with PAINTBALL MARKERS! Distance shots only go so far.

Fouth, the field is unsafe. I know at Utah Beach, one of the gun towers had a ramp going up to the top...there was a freakin 2 foot hole in the ramp at the top. I know that the owner and such can't fix the land itself (which is highly risky in some areas) they can fix bad bunkers.

fifth, the dead zones were crap. not only should nearly EVERY deadbox have at least water....they should have air. paint i can understand why, but air is needed and should be fairly easy to get there. ( i have more on the air situation later).

sixth. refs are awful. How many people i saw wipe or cheat dumbfounds me. I know that one german snuck behind our lines, barrel tagged 5 people before being shot. our own Allies would not go out on a barrel tag. I know that the field can't help players conduct, but refs should be on this more. also, i never ONCE saw a ref check someones velocity. I saw people reaching me with no arch in their aiming while guys around me with flatlines couldn't hit them. as far as i know, no speedball marker can reach farther than a flatline or apex.

seventh. air. one of the biggest let downs of the whole week. During the week it wasn't bad, but Saturday was terrible. when a field boast having state of the art air...they better live up to it. not enough fill stations at a dead box, not enough dead box fill stations, not enough compressors, not enough tanks...the list goes on and on forever. i know my teammate missed two reinsertions standing in line for air. i stood in line for over an hour.

eighth, commanders. can someone please tell me how in the world someone on their first trip to D day became an NCO? in my 101st Airborne, 327, Gulf company we had an NCO who had never been to D day. lack of organization is an understatement.

ninth, the battle line is the worst idea ever. i highly doubt that real soldiers "use their bullets as cover" as one of my co's put it. they use cover, not charge at the guys shooting back. cover and flank
tenth: lack of organization. its was such a problem i have to bring it up again. right when we arrived we tried to find the 101, we walked around for over an hour trying to find their camp because no one knew where they were. some said here, some said they were moved to over there...it sucked.

eleventh, price. if the field has the numbers they boast, they are bringing in a KILLING in pre reg, registration, and paint. I know i shot through 3 cases...thats 195 bucks. they also have a lot of profit from the tents...the point is 65 bucks a case for crappy paint is just bad.

twelfth, the paint was CRAP. i know in one run i got hit at least 6 times ( i really did count) and none busted. i have a lot of hard stuff on my vest too that the paint should have busted on ( my shoulders and pods in the front). It was so bad that i have a bruise on my right shoulder about and inch to and inch and a half wide from a paintball. I was wearing a T-shirt, Empire Contact Jersey, and a real military vest with padding on the shoulder for holding up a real gun. That paintball left the bruise but did not bust.

thirteenth, transportation. Not only was there very little of it...the ones that worked barely worked. I know both times i was on a truck the truck(or bus) broke down. plus the bus didn't have sub way handles or anything for people standing up to hang on too. UNSAFE. I say, cut the real military look and make sure no one falls out the back (which i almost did).

well, i think that is most of them. I am sure i said more on the way home with our team.




just as a disclaimer, i do understand that a field will NEVER live up to what people will want from it. A field can never have what players want or think is necessary, but when the field has such a reputation as this one...i just can't believe that so many people find this one as the best scenario. If you want a great scenario try the Viper scenarios. Great refs, great fields, better prices.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
6 Comments - Add Comment

painting turtle Friday, August 10th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 7th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: Of course I went to this field for d-day=) And let me tell you the best paintball game I’ve ever played. I (tried to) defended the wall from the allies. So I played at the wall, the city behind it (can't remember what it was called), and the airfield. I do applaud the allies for doing so well, but I think we will hold it next year=) but getting back on track the field is very elaborate, very big, very fun. The night game is allot of fun to=) the vending area is big and has big deals so bring some money. I got the tippmann ssl-200 hopper for $33! And they were handing out driver barrels for free!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jlremington Monday, August 6th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 4th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Underground-Joplin
Groundzero-Siloam Springs
Review: This was my first time to play at this course and I had a blast. We arrived at 9:00am on this Saturday, before it got to warm. The day started with three on three and the games were quick. When one game was over, we swapped ends and played again. As the day went on and more people showed (only a total of 13 people that day), the temp rose things got worse. After every game the refs would set in the a/c for ten minutes or so before they would come back out. In the mean time we could only set there and wish we were playing. The last game I play finished at 1:30. After telling the refs we were ready to go again (3 times) I finally left at 2:00 (30 minutes later) and the next game had still not started. During the last three games I wore my ghillie for some sniping games and the refs would tip of there buddies as to were I was. Once we got close to one of their friends and they called the game before we could reach the player. Very disappointing. I would play here again. I like to be fair. One bad time doesn't mean it will alway be that way. Like I said before I had a blast.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

JesterTLS Sunday, June 24th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 10th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Directions
to the Field:
Dont use Google what ever you do, trust me.
Review: Well, I see there was some issue with the lady running the registrtations from older reviews. She was very nice to me, but then again I try to be respectfull to people I dont know. They gotta give me a reason to not like them and she didnt. Probally a different lady at any rate. But everyone was pretty nice from the field.

I attended D-Day of course. I found the vendor area was pretty good. Lots of great deals to be had. Everything was tons cheaper. I left with another mask, lenses, Draxxus 68/4500, a barrel, and a hat. Take extra money because the prices are too good to pass up. They have several food vendors which the Brauts and Mexican vendors were pretty good. I didnt try the cafe, but they have one of those too. As well as a small surplus store on site, if you couldnt find enough stuff to buy at the vendors. The camping area is flipping huge.

The field, is pretty good. I was expecting more from a field with its reputation, but it was still pretty good. And I did only see 2/3 of the field. They use alot of pipes and culverts for bunkers, which do very well. People can crawl in them an you never know where your getting shot from. The couple bases I saw were pretty good. Wouldnt be bad if the roads in the woods were a bit wider for the larger tanks, but mine did fine manuvering.

Over all I had a good time the part of the game I got to play. If it wasnt a 2000 mile drive I might go back. But as it stands the gas prices killed my paintball budget.
Last edited on Sunday, June 24th, 2007 at 12:40 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BoBlane.Critic Tuesday, March 6th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: April 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Underground Paintball in Joplin, Missouri - I prefer this field
Paintball Ridge in Joplin, Missouri - Not as well organized/upkept
Review: The Bunker, in Wyandotte, Oklahoma is known for it's events D-Day, Black Hawk Down, and recreational events as well.
I'm not a rec/scenario baller, I play tournaments. But when I first started playing, this is where I came.

Fields and what they are used for.
-Hyperball
Used as substitute for speedball field. This is when I fell in love with tournament paintball.
-Paintball City
Fun little city like structure, using buildings as bunkers. There's even a big sniper tower, along with an Alamo, and a Police Station.
-Mounds
Like the title, a field of mounds of dirt. On the iniside is a base, surrounded by a moat. This is usually used for CTF games.. but can also be used for elimination.
-Concrete Jungle
One of the least used fields. I found this field to be very fun the six times I played it.
-Indoor Field
Usually used for The Bunker's sponsored team, Who Kares as a practice facility. I played in it once, and it's very loud, hot, and hard to see.

Staff
-Red - Airsmith/Ref
-Bull - Airsmith/Ref
-Too Tall - Ref
-Joker - Ref
-Old Lady - Cashier
-Dwayne - Owner

The staff is very friendly, and the refs were always very nice to me. Letting me use their guns and such.
The Bunker is sponsored by PMI/Evil Paintball, and therefore it carries much of that gear.
Along with paintball, The Bunker also sells weapons, guns, Army clothing, and other forms of violent recreation. :].
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

punisher9233 Wednesday, November 8th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: December 2nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: Dday is a well organized and intense event that brings all kinds of ballers together. 4000 players is nuts to run but they did well. Its hard enough to maintain injuries with that many players let alone player activity. The vendors is a nice addition for seeing new products and getting cheaper stuff. We had fun and will be regulars from now on. See every one next year. Great job on the fields guys-its the only way you can get so many guys together without a cluster f&%$&k.

Update

Played stalingrad at bunker and it was great in the fresh powder snow. Well run field-was dissappointed we couldnt get to the dday field but the snow and attitude of the other players made this a great scenario
Last edited on Friday, December 15th, 2006 at 2:18 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media