paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Athens Paintball Store & Field / Athens Paintball Store & Field / Athens Paintball Store & Field / Athens Paintball Store & Field

Athens Paintball Store & Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
20Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (706) 583-8600
Address: 305 Lakeview Dr.
Winterville, Georgia 30683
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Dreadeth Saturday, August 9th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: August 9th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Knights Crossing, DGS Winder
Review: Great field. Strict on safety (barrel plugs, mask etc.) , but its safety. Id like to keep my eyes. Fields are magnificent. Plenty of bunkers and forts/houses to hide in/around. Most are scattered around the field, some are stratigically placed. The have three forts: Coliseum, Rocket Base, and Small Pipe Fort. All are great. Field opens around 10:00a.m. and are open till 6-6:30p.m. (Plenty of playing time) Prices are fair. Case of Rec-Ball Paint starts around $48. But that resonable. Have to make a living some how and the field fee is only $10. Its field paint only (I understand due to insurance reasons). Service is great. There is always someone to help fix guns (unless it needs something that the field doesnt have, you CAN go to the store to get it though.) and they are great about filling up your air tanks. (CO2 and N2) Proshop is located less than 5 miles away in East Athens. They have almost everything. Whatever they dont have they can order or it has already been ordered cause they were out of stock. Refs are great. They do lack referees every once in a while, but it always tends to work out. Great with safety, "they dont yell, they coach about masks and barrel plugs." Players themselves are great. Come in all ranges of experiences. The field has a sponsered team caled Knights of Honor. They dont play very much, but when they do its a ball for everyone. Restrooms are located inside of the registration and staging area. Indoor plumbing at a field is a MUST. They have snacks and drinks. You can even bring your food. They have a microwave that you can warm stuff up in. Wide variety of drinks. Cokes and Water. Overall the field is great. I recommend it to everybody. 10 out of 10.
Last edited on Saturday, August 9th, 2008 at 2:45 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Drago Saturday, April 26th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: January 13th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Knights Crossing in Commerce, its OK, just not as nice. Wildfire in Madison, I have a better time at AthensPaintball. Monroe Paintball Works,a good field if you like speedball. 24HourGames in Dalton, an intense expereince, just so far away.
Review: AthensPaintball is the friendliest Field I have ever been too. They are knowledgeable in all paintball. Great on safety, I will not mind my kids going there when they get old enough. The facilties are nice. The best thing about this field, is the people you will be playing with and the field itself. This place has everything from buildings to trenches, awesome woods, fortresses, towers, airball and a hyperball field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

b_schiffer Sunday, October 28th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 27th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
KCP, B&B Corral, DGS,
Directions
to the Field:
mapquest!
Review: My team decided to go here and play for a day to see what it was like, I was a bit late but when I got there I was amazed at how well run everything is. And there were people playing that looked like they were having a good time as well. All the staff there were friendly, I really liked this place. Deffiently check it out.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nighthawk4098 Saturday, October 27th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 26th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Knights Crossing Paintball, B&B Corral Paintball, DGS Paintball, Maximum Paintball
Review: This field was great. I took my 5 man speedball team out here and we had a blast. We were really excited to actually see other people out there enjoying this sport (Even if they weren't playing with us). Chuck is one of the nicest people anyone will ever meet and was real realxed and down to earth kind of guy. The speedball fields will be gettting a little work done to them, so anyone even close to Athens Paintball no matter what kind of paintball you play, make the trip down here. It was well worth it. 10 out of 10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bulldozier Sunday, June 17th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 16th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
American Paintball (closed)
Directions
to the Field:
Call the store or use GPS. Real easy to find though.
Review: Safety: Refs were courteous about enforcing rules-none were jerks about it if you forgot to put in your barrel plug.

The woods field is excellent-lots of briar bushes though-good layout.
The town looked like a good play although I did not get a chance to play it

Prices were fair, everybody has to make a buck right? Excellent prices on masks at the store, way cheaper than Ebay or other so called discount paintball stores.

Proshop was efficient and attentive

Staff and refs were real cool to me and my son. Our first time there they explained everything.

All the players looked like they would own you on the field, but all were cool. I'd share a fox hole with 'em in any battle. KOH, B&B and others were helpful and gave good tips on their home field.

Toilet paper was $19.95 (LOL) I held it till I got home...LOL!

Food was available and Dominoes delivers.

If you are worried about driving to Athens to play it is worth every mile and every gallon of $3 gas to play.

I played one game on the speed ball field, not my thang, but it was a fun tune up game for the woods.

Highly recommended field, Excellent paint prices and staff. Regulars do not take advantage of nubies to the game or to their field.

**I give Athens an overall 9. Not a 10 just because they aren't located 5 minutes from my house.**
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

WilliamASigPhi Saturday, June 10th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: June 3rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
DGS-not a bad field, went there a while back, so its changed since then...heard good things
Atlanta Paintball(?)-been a while since i went there(about 7 years)
Review: This field is exceptional. They have some really nice woodsball fields and are in the process of getting their speedball fields back up (got destroyed by some high winds). The refs and the owner are great there. Very nice group of guys who will do anything to make sure you have a great time. I am a little disappointed they aren't open on Sundays for play (Airsoft plays then). The paint there is of the highest quality (only RPS and Empire). Therefore, the price is a little higher than other places, but not by much at all. They also have a pro shop that is located a little ways from the field that is pretty good too. It is well stocked, but in my opinion isn't as well stocked as it used to be. They have everything you need, just if you're looking for something specialized (like cocker pneumatics or something, they probably won't have it but can order it for you and have it there in like 3 days). All in all, this place is excellent.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

RobOpel Wednesday, June 7th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: June 3rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have actually not played at any other fields, although I have visited several
Review: Simply put, this is a brilliant field.
Their woods fields are great, although the speedball fields seemed to be down for repair...not really a problem for me as I love woodsball. In the woods fields, there is 'the town', which is basically as it sounds, a lot of tightly spaced buildings and about 2 towers. 'The pipe fortress', again, as it sounds, a huge fortress made of large (4' diameter) sewage pipe with wooden structures behind, including at least one tower. Opposing the fortress, there are several well built bunkers and one building. 'Bunker hill' an area with well built trails, a couple bunkers (more like buildings) at key points along the trails, and a nice looking HQ type bunker atop the hill named for it, it is surrounded by several other defensive bunkers. Sandbags are used a good bit on this field. Lastly, there is 'the big field' which, if I remember correctly, is about 15 acres. Sadly enough, in the times I have been to Athens Paintball, we have never had a large enough group to be able to play a game on the big field, so I am unaware as to its layout. But, if it is anything like the others in build quality and layout, it is sure to be a good field.
The proshop (an extension of their real shop on Lexington road) leaves nothing to be desired. Their air fills are fast and competitive in price, and their paint sales are completely fine with me (a $12-$18 range depending on what type paint you buy, $12 is for 500 rounds of stingers and $18 is 500 rounds of marb or inertia).
I disagree with many of the above reviewers who have said that the refs are pushy or mean. In my experience, the refs were always quite fair, never pushy, and generally just looking out for everyone's safety and enjoyment. They were always happy to let us walk the field before the game or tell us the basic layout of the field.
All in all, a day at Athens Paintball could be seen as a tad bit expensive (for me to play all day it was $40 and I only bought a bag of inertia) but I believe, as with so many things, in paintball you get what you pay for. My best memories playing paintball have all come from Athens Paintball. The combination of stellar fields, great service, and an all round good attitude has gotten Athens Paintball a 10 and a dedicated customer.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

RMJ Thursday, November 17th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: October 19th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Dalton, Bear Claw, Knights Crossing, Glowing Rock, and Wildfire
Review: Well what can you say, it is a great field. I play 24 scenario games and this field has it all. Big towns, awesome bunkers, thick woods, and great pro shop. I like going to a place that is well kept up with and this place is always clean. The staff is super and friendly. Playing here is exciting. I love all the different forts and bunkers throughout the field. The best part is no pallets ( yuck and cheap looking). I give this place a must to play at. The prices are very reasonable compared to most fields and the quality of paint is above average. I also heard that the Knights of Honor (Scenario team) now use this place for their home field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mongo20001 Sunday, October 30th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Arkenstone, Wildfire, Paintball Atlanta
Review: Played in 8-hour scenario game (Summit Strike) with several members of my team and we all had a blast. In fact, everyone I talked to said what a great place it was.
Beautiful field, very friendly, knowledgable staff, and well-stocked pro shop. Easy to get to from anywhere in metro Atlanta and well worth the trip.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Blue Dragonfly Monday, September 5th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wildfire, a few fields in S.C.
Review: Athens Paintball is probably the best field I have played at. The staff is knowledgeable, the refs are friendly, and the prices are fair. The owner is a gunsmith, and can usually fix any problems you may have. They have woods fields, speed ball, and a new hyper ball field. I have played in a number of scenario games, and night games. They also have airsoft, and this is a lot of fun also. I recommend this field to anyone, newbie or veteran. If you want action, and lots of playing time, this is a great field. (this message posted September 2005)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media