paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Hosking field / Hosking field / Hosking field / Hosking field

Hosking field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
7Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 541-905-6749
Address: 36205 Middle Ridge Drive.
Lebanon, Oregon 97355
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Ethrealwolf Thursday, April 3rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 30th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
No idea. my home field Northwest paintball park in Washington state
Directions
to the Field:
Use the website. heh. I'd just get you lost
Review: Played down here for a scenario in march

Can't speak fro the crew (i think most of the refs were brought in by the scenario company), but the field is kind of nice. has some places that need work, though.

The village is nice, Barring the large debris pile, and the fact that it's way too open. Not saying that's a bad thing, but it's not really urban or anything, and it really pushes long-range firefights.

Some of the bunkers, which used to have two story capability, have had apparently had that removed. unfortunately, while ladders/stairs were removed, nails weren't, so you have to be heads up for those. Fortunately, that's a minority- two or three bunkers out of several complexes.

The field itself is huge- several bases, large wooded area, large open area, and the village (which I've already gone over), but it apparently dosen't see much love- The bases, save for a few, are pretty sparse, and could really benefit from some work. Field expedient fortifications are OK, which is nice, but the field could still use some building up.

All in all, The field has incredible potential, Unfortunately, i suspect it's location and the specialized nature of it will prevent it from seeing much of the love it could use. It's still a fun field, and worth the trip to play a big event, but it could be so much more.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Chickenmunga Friday, May 11th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 6th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Albany Outdoor - My old stomping grounds back in '99-2000. I think Lee still puts the most time into safety and making new players welcome. Once you outgrow Albany, Hosking is a good step up - they give you a bit more personal responsibility and leeway.

Weekend Warriors NW - Hosking is much nicer. I spent a lot of time waiting for games to get started, refs were close to nonexistent, and when a group of noobie highschoolers showed up, they were shown a video and given free reign - one girl kept firing her gun by accident in the safe zones, and I was the one to have to instruct her, "don't shoot in safe zones, don't shoot when masks are off, keep your barrel plug in..." At any other field, she would have been asked to leave.
Directions
to the Field:
Yahoo Maps can get you there, but there's better routes. Here's the best I know:

From I-5, take the Lebanon-Corvallis (HWY 34) exit
Head EAST on HWY 34
Turn SOUTH on Steckley Rd
Steckley Rd becomes Sand Ridge Rd
Turn EAST on Rock Hill Dr
Turn SOUTH on Brownsville Rd
Turn EAST on Middle Ridge Dr

There will be a driveway on the left, I think it's the second one. You have to go back quite a ways before you see the field. Usually they have a small orange "PAINTBALL" sign by a wood fence.
If Middle Ridge Dr becomes gravel, you've gone to far; if you try heading back and get to the base of the hill, you've gone too far back!
Review: When I went, it was only my buddy and I, but the lady at the booth opened the course for us anyway. Since we were over 21, had our own gear, and talked like we knew what we were up to, she gave us pretty much free reign and the ability to govern ourselves.

SAFETY: Can't tell in a regular game environment, but they did keep an eye on us during chrono and for the first few games. Seems to me they are pretty interested in it. The parking area is seperated from the field by very tall netting.

FIELDS: The place is designed so that all the fields can be used together at once (such as when they have 100-man games). I walked to the far end of the first field, then started a fast march north. By the time I counted to 300, I still hadn't reached the end of the entire place (try walking out your front door and see how far you get to get an idea).
There is forested area, very cool wooden bunkers, towers, base-to-base combat areas, forested area, bunkers and forts in the forested area, and even two boats (good luck to anyone who can get in and use them for cover, though - lol). They are currently building a village (all I saw was a multi-story frame for either a house or tower), and *maybe* fixing up a speedball course (lots of deflated doritos).

HOURS: You get on the field, and can play until about 6pm. If things are going really good, you have a good crowd, the owner has been known to turn on some flood lights and the games continue - looks like it would light up the first field (a twin tower capture the flag field), but still plenty of darkness for the crazy guys who have nightvision.
Unless there is an event, everything's walk-on. They stay open for the hours they post.

PRICES: If it was any cheaper, it would be free. Cheapest in Oregon I know of. Just WOW. Since I own my gear, I had two options: Buy their paint and waive the field fee, or BYOP and pay $10 for the field fee. In either case, all day air is $10.
Field paint is Nel-Splat, costs $35/case. I had my own paint, which was the cheapest I could find at $30 from Extreme Velocity in Salem.
I don't know what the rental prices were, but I remember them being ungodly cheap. Package was a Tippman 98, 500 rounds, all day CO2, tank, mask.

RULES: If it doesn't injure people, it's fair game. I was talking to them about the events they host, and they allow mines, grenades, kamikaze people (no gun, they just run up and lob a paint balloon at your or something), tanks (a 4-wheeler with a protective shell)... crazy stuff. A lot of events use 'classes' similar to the video game Team Fortress Classic - medics, engineers....
Of course, there's always capture the flag, elimination, predator, etc.

SERVICES: Chrono area, sink for washing gear, CO2/Compressed fills, and a few items for sale. Sometimes they BBQ, and for extended day events, they have an area where you can camp - grills welcome.

STAFF: Only met the one lady, but she was very nice, and had a decent eye for safety. Seemed knowledgeable. Likes to talk.

REFS: Given our unique situation, we didn't have one. During big games, they invite the next door neighbor over to ref (he's the local sheriff). Should anything get out of hand, that guy can bring down the hammer.

PRO SHOP: They used to run a shop in downtown Lebanon, but had to close. Not much to sell on site, but they can order stuff for you or help find what you need.



CONCLUSION: HUGE, Good people, feels safe, CHEAP! It's my new home field!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Deeno35 Monday, August 28th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: August 27th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: This was my first time playing at Hoskings aside from a large scenario event and I have to say that this field is one of the best kept secret gems out there.

1) Field and amenities

The field itself is large and offers a variety of different types of terrain. Hills, dense brushy forest, open field with buildings/bunkers, you name it, this field has it. Only thing missing I'd say is a speedball field, but I'm not a speedball person myself so no loss there. There is plenty of netting and I never felt unsafe strolling around in the parking/staging area with my mask off

For the next month the field has changed their pricing and gone to a BYOP setup. This is AWESOME

$10 all day air
$10 BYOP fee (or play free if you buy their paint).

The real kicker is that the pricing on their paint is so reasonable that I bought their paint anyways even though I had my own. Here's what I ended up paying for a full day of play:

$10 air
$34 case of Nelspat
-------
$44 <-- CAN'T BEAT THAT

The HPA fills all the way up 5k which I was surprised to see and there are little things that really made playing at Hoskings pleasant. Running water, free dishwashing soap for players to use on their lenses, there is even an allen key set at the chrono station for players to use.

Two thumbs up for the field.

2) Staff

The staff is as good as the field. The refs were great (ie, not lazy good for nothings) and one unlucky kid blew a burst disk on his tank and the person running the shop fixed it FOR FREE. The owner is also well versed in Tippmans and I watched him help a player fix an A5 that wasn't cocking FOR FREE. Can't beat that

Two thumbs up for the field

3) Players

I think it must be the personalities of the staff that rubs off on the players, but I had a great time out there and the people were all friendly and enthusastic. There were quite a few new players (one birthday boy too) and the atmosphere was really more like a gathering of friends/family than just some strangers playing paintball.

I'm sure you can probably guess what my field rating for Hoskings will be, but if you haven't been there before or haven't been recently, I recommend it. Especially with the new pricing, there really is no better place to play paintball.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

J-Bolt Monday, February 20th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 19th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
J N T Paintball Field
Warpaint Outdoor
Renegade
Review: I really liked this course. Everyone on the course was very safety orientated. I went to the field by myself and felt very welcome. That just shows the atmosphere that surrounds it. The staff have very high expectations of the field and from my knowledge they are building as the business grows. Allot of woods is what I like and allot of woods is what this field has. The price is very resonable to play also. Just $10.00 for all day air or CO2. Yes they do have HPA. No green fees. The only downside I can see is that you have to use field paint. I would like to pay a 10 - 15 dollar green fee and be able to bring my own. My own preference. In the end I had a great time on the field and I think they have a good thing going out there. I will be playing on that field for a long while.

I'm giving the field a 9 out of 10 just because you can't bring your own paint otherwise it is a great place to play and have fun.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

victorMan2123 Saturday, April 10th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
paintball palace , philomath paintball
Review: this is a pretty fun place, they got 2 wood coures a speedball course and a wooden castle bunker feild. but they got more feilds thier working on at the moment. its 7 buxs for co2 all day. 15 for 500 and 30 for 1000 and 60 for 2000 and no entry fee not that bad of a price. not walk on paintballs though. the staff is pretty nice and let u play whatever feild and games u want. the woods course is hard to hit peeps in cause of the limbs of trees.but still fun. i would go back to this course. oh yaa watch for joker one of the guys that plays thier he will work you soo bad. I love this feild i would go back again.
Last edited on Monday, May 3rd, 2004 at 12:01 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

ZuGG Tuesday, May 27th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splat Action, hit n run, paintball palace, AOP
Review: This is a decent field that isnít very expensive to play at. The management seems fairly knowledgeable. Now for the field itself Hoskins has a pretty good speedball course the day I went there were quite a few people on the field, which is good. The woods field needs to be cleared out. There is a lot of brush which makes it a little hard to get around not to mention shoot because your shots are breaking on limbs.

Hoskins has no compressed air fills so if thatís what you shoot your going to have to take a scuba unless you want to use a rental or have another gun.
It will be interesting to see what they do with this field; they have a lot of land to develop on.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sentinel_7788 Monday, May 26th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
paintball palace.
Review: This field is a full all around field. I really enjoyed the intense speedball and castles fields. and to keep the exitment going you could have a change of pace by switching to a nice slow woods game. the field was not pricey at all and the staff is very friendly. And paint is cheap. Everything is fun there.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media