paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Hinkle Family Fun Center Paintball Field / Hinkle Family Fun Center Paintball Field / Hinkle Family Fun Center Paintball Field / Hinkle Family Fun Center Paintball Field

Hinkle Family Fun Center Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
35Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (505) 299-3100
Address: 12931 Indian School Road NE
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87112
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
crawler200 Friday, July 22nd, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: July 6th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
los lunas
Directions
to the Field:
indian school and tramway
Review: this field has improved sooo much over the last 2 months they have turf now and the refs are great.

Safety is good.they stand near the exit to the field making sure everyone has there barell socks on every time they walk off the field

They only have one field and its really good it a small fast pace field with a lot of new clean bunkers

The prices are pretty decent. 2000 + field pass for $52

Rules are average

There proshop is small and doesnt have much stuff but still good

Theres usually only one or 2 guys there so they all ref and work in the shop

70% of players are 1st timers and 2nd, and 30% are not

overall good field recomend in
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

XRidgelinerX Monday, February 23rd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 15th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I am new to New Mexico, living in Los Alamos
Directions
to the Field:
Used GPS and it took me right to the door.
Review: This is a newb & family oriented place, but I was desparate to meet any other ballers and find out where to play. I went at night and found about 8-10 players slugging it out on this airball course. A few first timers, some teens, and a few very tough little kids. I was concerned about hurting them until they lit me up a few times. The field is very small, and awkwardly lit. For some reason, this group was playing East to West as opposed to the mirrored normal set up I'll call North to South. With the spot lights all along one side (opposite the snake) whoever started on the "dark side" (under & behind the lights) had an almost unbeatable advantage. From the other side, you were fully lighted and staring into the spots. Your opponents were almost invisable when standing in the open. Bunkers are small, and some needed some air. Prices were $12 bucks if you had your own equipment and paint was $50 a case. The single ref was running the games and the counter, but at night it didn't cause any real delay.

There was a lot of dry firing and shooting in the staging area. I scolded some of them, but the ref let it go. Barrel cover rules were not enforced.

I might return during the day with newbs or family, but I got a lead on a few other places and some woodsball games in town. I think I'll try those next.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

000130413 Tuesday, April 1st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: March 25th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Most of them have closed down.
Directions
to the Field:
Its on the corner of Indian School and Tramway
Review: I played at Hinkle for two days during the 2008 spring break. I cant say I was particularly impressed but I still had fun. I have some compliments and some constructive criticism for this field. I'll start with the bad news first.

The worst thing about the field was the lack of good-sized bunkers. There are maby 2 bunkers on the field that you dont have to kneel at. Almost all the bunkers are baby versions and 75% of them are not filled up all the way. The field furface is covered in wood chips which can really be a pain in the ass if they get get in your shoes. None of the bunkers have mirrors and the "far side" (as they call it) has quite a few disadvantages to the "near side". The paint, at least when I was there was Bonzi. It was extremely overpriced, 1000 rounds (half a case) was 40 bucks! You would think that with all the money they make off paint, they would be able to make a better field.

There were plenty of positive elements to this field as well. One of the best thing about the field, I think is the reffing staff. They're all pretty chill. Justin, the manager, is a really cool guy that will help you with whatever you need. If you are playing at the field, be sure to beg them to blow up the X. When that beast is up in the middle of the field, it makes playing alot more fun and it also makes the chances of winning fair on both sides.

There are always alot of people there to play with. Although about 95% of the people that come are newbs, the refs make every game fair. My friend and I (we have both played for about 6 years) played almost every game where it was us two vs. about 10 or 11 newbs, which was fun and chalanging. If you go, bring your own drinks because at Hinkle, there is only one coke machine and everything is super expensive. I tried to buy a Powerade and it cost me $2.50! If you didn't bring any drinks, you can just head over to the gas station across the street. The store isn't anything special either. They don't have much of a selection and what they do have is over-priced.

Overall, I would say that this field has great potential and if they spent a little money, it might turn out alright. Except for them emptying my wallet, I had a pretty fun experience at Hinkle. Never the less, I plan to stick to my regulation NPPL speedball fields. But dont let me discourage you from going, if your a new player to paintball (and you have a bunch of money to spend) then I can highly recommend this field.
Last edited on Wednesday, April 2nd, 2008 at 10:21 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sirchopalot Sunday, November 25th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: November 24th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
This is the only ABQ field I have played.
Review: Alright, to start off this review, don't go to Hinkle's paintball field expecting some great scenario or woodsball games. It's really small. You know you're playing a small field when you start the game closer than the average marker manual says you're allowed to shoot somebody. But, as we all know, it's not the size that counts, it's how you use it. Hinkle has a decent variety of bunkers, all inflatable, a dorito, some tombstones, and a bunch of the cylinder ones but instead of leaving them standing they lay them down. The lack of a halfway decent snake is a bit sad, but you don't notice too much. My biggest complaint is that the ground is wood chips. When sliding to a bunker, you shouldn't injure your knees. But managers are starting to consider some astro-turf so I'm not going to make a big deal. Ok, so thats the bad stuff. Here's the good part. The staff is awesome. I know two of the refs pretty well, and they are both really great people who are extremely easy to get along with. Jeremiah is one of the coolest refs I've ever met, and Amanda is just really chill. Justin ( the manager ) is a cool guy too, but he's gotta lighten up on the no refund rule. Oh, one more bad thing. They reaaalllyyyy don't like to give refunds, so don't go buying anything unless you plan on keeping it. So, in conclusion, you know you've found a good paintball field when you show up and don't even play, you just watch games and hang out with refs and other players and still have just as good a time. So I would definitely recommend Hinkle!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

seedofosiris Monday, April 2nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 24th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
im from california... this was the first field in abq ive been to. if you would like to a personaly favorite field of mine... http://www.cppaintball.com/fields.html
Review: first off i would like to say that the staff was nice. good kids in my book. the store was lacking in variety(mind i'm used to san diego stores and fields.) but its to be expected in new mexico. the field is litterly the smallest field ive ever seen. the snake maybe 12 feet on the northside going east to west. the south side was completely bare. due to the small size there isnt room for manuvers, although im sure some smalltown kid will protest otherwise. but again im used to cali fields. basically the starts create alot of snapshooting wich is fun but i prefer the big fields of san diego. dont get me wrong im not hating, but the field could be improved. so heres my first exp on the field. i start on the westside run the bunk just right of the center, and bam its not staked down... so it rolls forward.... after the first game some snotnose kid went up to an adult and said "nice shot, if had the chance to light you up like you did me i would have done it too." 10 minutes later this kid wearing a fox mx jersey had his undereducated father getting mouthy with the adult who shot his teenager maybe six times. his father was saying "is that really neccesary?" "why did shoot so many times?" and this went on for about 10 minutes... and a ref was defending the shooter. then someone on the field had a marker stolen from the staging area, wich reminds of my outkast being stolen from my house upon moving to abq. after the staff brought to attention of the players, i was informed that camera wasnt even on in the staging area. so whoever took the kids marker wont be caught, wich isnt right i hate thieves. my heart ached for that kid. on the other hand there was some skilled players there. an asian kid was being recruited for a team by a young hispanic male, he was really talented. as well as some other players. some of the players were friendly, others wouldnt even speek to you. but thats the general feel to this small town. now on to the reffing. the refs were respectable, but they missed some wipes i noticed. but its not there fault, 1 ref for the little field. they did the best they could. i like the fact that refs are safety oriented, friendly, and they seem to love our sport.


so the refs get a 10 for effort. the store gets 4 for lack of variety. the field gets a 5 for safety due to the fact that balls flew threw to field entrance and hit me in the staging area. the field size gets a 3 for being the smallest field ive seen. the snake gets a 1 and thats cuz 0 isnt availible. field surface gets a 3 for being wood chips, im from cali wheres the grass? the bunkers get a 3 for not being staked down. layout gets a 4. field paint is overpriced for the quality, so it gets a 3. but the staff was great people.

if i may make some suggestions.
1. for the cost of playing at hinkle they should should be able to build a field worhty of nppl or psp games to be held.(wich would make it more profitable)
2. keep the staff you already have theyre great!
3. try cleaning your field at least
4. if you must keep you hobbit sized field rotate the insert points north and south, instead west to east. the sun is horrid when setting when playing from the east.
5.the establishment has potential, so please take advantage.

albuquerque needs a field that will step up to the fields of the west coast. and hinkle will continue to profit until a real field pops up and steals there devoted clientel to play on a field that they deserve but have not been able to expierence in N.M. and when that hapens i expect hinkle will finaly realize the opportunity they missed. i noticed skilled players all over the field, bottom line is they will get burnt out if they fields arent progressing with there talent. and then there wont be anything just a bunch kids toting lame tippmans.

i will continue to check for improvements unitl i move back to cali. i hope that everyone realizes this isnt a hate-a-thon. i just expect better. you should too.

if anyone wants to reach me the name is Jay and the email is seedofosiris@gmail.com
peace to the players, much love to the refs, and lets all hope for better fields to appear here.
Last edited on Monday, April 2nd, 2007 at 9:54 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BurningSwade Sunday, March 18th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: June 20th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
PBA
Review: When I went to Hinkle it was ok.The service was all right right.But for me and my sister to go it was $80!!!The first time I ever went only i went not my sister.The first game I went out they didn't tell me the rules so when I came in from that game they made me sit out 2 games for not having a barrel plug in,with out telling me about the rules.Over all the paint was to much and they need to tell you about the rules more befor they inflict punishment.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Volcom1000cc Wednesday, November 15th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: November 10th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
All Around NM and CO
Directions
to the Field:
NW Tramway and Indian School
Review: I've been playing for several years and i believe this field deserves credit. Overall this field is not bad at all. The major credit i will give to this field is the amount of bunkers they have for the size of the field. This field is great, especially for the beginning noobies. Everyone says PBA is better just because of the players. Now sure PBA may have more experienced players but thats because they had bega their field 7miles out of Alb., Which means most players that went there was adults or older players who usually have been experienced since they are older. Hinkle has noobies, nearby players, and just in general some experienced players. This area has a gas station across the street, has drinks and food inside the other buildings...What does PBA have? used parts/guns? air/co2? and a field? either way these fields are both good and have advantages.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

spike_ball999 Sunday, September 10th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: September 9th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PBA, ILLFX, and a couple others.
Review: Hours: They're actually really good. If you want late night paintball on Friday and Saturday, go here. (Open untill Midnight) Durring the week they're open untill 5pm.

Field: Interesting set up. There's poles in the middle to keep the middle netting up. The other odd parts of this field are the castles at the east end of the field. To me, they seem kind of out of place. It's your standard air bunkers for mostly everything else. There are a few pipes around poles and such. The bunkers aren't held down that well. As I dove into the snake, I completely pushed one of the bunkers way out of the way.
The terrain isn't bad. It's wood chips. It's good for some sliding, but you might get splinters or some in your shoe. That's as bad as it really could be.
Overall, it's an ok layout. If the middle poles were gone, it could be better.
Staging area is ok. There are some lockers, but I'd just say use your car if you have one. They do have paper towel dispensers, but they never have paper towels.

Refs/Staff: Pretty good. There's a couple that complain (refs), but the rest are really nice and just want to make sure everyone is safe and has a good time. Honestly there's not enough refs. You could easily get away with a wipe or two here.

Prices. Not too bad. Of course the paint is a tad bit much but they have to make a profit somehow. I've seen people bring a 500 or 200 of their own paint and just buy some of Hinkles to use with theirs. The paint is pretty good too.

Players: There's a good range. There's always a few newbs on the field and sometimes some of the big guys will come play, but it's all in good fun.

Rules: Fair. The refs do their best to make sure everyone follows them. They're kind of lazy with the chrono, so I'm sure there's a few people that shoot hot. Their main chrono has been broken each time I've gone.

Proshop: Good selection of stuff. Not a lot though, just enough in case you really need something. They do have rental masks, markers, and apparel.

Building: No bathroom right next to the field. You have to go to the main building for that. Everything is clean and organized though.

Food: There's Hinkles' main building which has food and a Circle K just across the street. There's a soda vending machine in the staging area. You can get pretty much anything.

Overall, the field is good. It's not great, but it's good for the average player, or someone just looking to try paintball for the first time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

punkp8ntballer Tuesday, December 27th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: December 26th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Action (Field is huge and a lot of experienced players play there on Friday nights if i were to play on a Friday night i would play here but i like Hinkle better any other time of the week. Usually only one ref is on the field.)
Review: This field isn't the biggest, but the service is great. Brent will help you out with any gun problems you may have. Brent and Alex are good at fixing guns. I bought my Wrath there and the factory milled the body wrong so I took the gun back Lucky took a look at it and said he wasn't too familiar with that model called Alex. Alex apoligized for the screw up exchanged the gun and gave me a rechargable battery for ahving to come back up. The field is gun to play. The refs are Jason, Kevin, Brent, and Lucky (Brent and Lucky usually work the register.) They run fun little games like attack and defend, pirates of the caribbean, and elimination. They havn't had a snake in a while. Which i don't like. The field is fun while there is some new people there are also many experienced people who play there. Jason, Kevin, and Lucky will make sure your'e safe. They just hired John who will make it fun also. The staff is knowledgable and will help you with your'e problems. Make sure you really obey
they rules when Lucky is there or he'll yell at you and get in your'e face about it. The paint is always changing and fluctuating in quality. The field is fun. Red Rum plays there alot and theyr'e really fun to play with. Play there if you want to have fun. If you have any gun problems just tell Brent he'll get you fixed up.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SteveCHahn Tuesday, September 13th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PBA (Haven't played but seems to be nice)
Review: OK, i know that I ain't very EXP'd in Paintball but this field can work very well. I personally liked the set up before the August 28th tourny, but it is still pretty good. yeah the paint is expensive, but It has to be because of one thing. PROFIT!!!!! Gene Hinkle ain't going to have the place running if he can't make good money doing so. also, it costs a lot to run the place, and that's one thing that people really don't think about when they go. It's always "Man this paint is (Explitive deleted) Expensive for the crap quality." But there is a very big reason why they use field paint only, Safety of everyone. I know that some of the Crappy Wal Mart brands Have tough shells and extra thick paint, which breaks skin and bruises more often than the crap paint that they sell. I also use the Rentals that they have. Word of Advice, Rent the A5's. The pro carbines are getting overtaxed, but they still can perform.

Overall, the field is nice. The only reason the Metal stakes and crowbars might be out is because people think that it's a grand Idea to tackle the bunkers. Wood chips can be annoying, but are generally not a Problem.


RED RUM!!!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media