paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Xtreme Paintball Field / Xtreme Paintball Field / Xtreme Paintball Field / Xtreme Paintball Field

Xtreme Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
14Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: (251) 639-0399
Address: 900-A Schillinger Rd S
Mobile, Alabama 36695
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
reussopb Friday, October 9th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: June 10th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Played at bobs, rude reffs, lousy pro shop, if they call it a woodsball field(must be a joke) fairly decent speedball field
Review: In moble there are 2 fields that people can go to that are fairly close, bobs and xpb, my choice would be to go to xpb although they sometimes dont have enough refs, they have 2 good big woodsball fields, one is like an attack and defend fort, the other is a ww1 trench style field, the trench field is very good and is pretty well balanced as long as the team going uphill has more people, it can get hot up there tho. they have an ok very small speedball and hyperball field, the proshop is a good walk from the fields but there staff is expirenced and knows what there doin. if you like woodsball go here, if you like speedball dont go to bobs or xpb go to dothan if you can afford the gas or swat in mississippi.
ps. the fields are very fun espically with alot of people, more ppl the better, the need to do anoter bone head freds day again
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

waternchlorine Sunday, March 23rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 22nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bob's, Counter Addiction
Directions
to the Field:
From I-10W, take the exit for 65N. Once on 65, take Airport rd (exit 3) and turn left at the light. Stay on Airport for about 6 miles until you come to Shillinger rd. Turn left and in less than a mile, watch for a sign for "Planet fitness" on your right hand side. Xtreme is in that parking lot
Review: I'm a woodsball player, so that is where my focus will be, but there was a speedball field on the premises.
This is an EXCELLENT place to play, and I would highly recommend it to anyone interested in woodsball. With 2 large fields: 1 traditional woods, 1 WWI trench style. I played various scenarios here with a great deal of enjoyment. Check out their website for a lot of great pictures and additional information

Proshop: Once you're in the parking lot, it is the last door in the complex. When you walk in, you'll think you're in the wrong place because the majority of the building is a dance studio, but just look on the right hand side and you'll see the shop. There's a modest array of accessories, guns, and gear for sale including Tippmann after-market parts, grenades, and clothing.
Air Fills: XPB supports 3000 HP air and CO2, but no 4500. All day air costs approximately $15
Rentals: I don't rent, but it looked like the typical Tippmann 98 Customs which are the normal marker for renting.
Paint: 3-4 levels of paint quality (one sign of a good establishment). Test out your paint for brittleness before you start playing. If you feel it's too brittle, XPS will hook you up with better paint or refund the difference if you have to step down to a lesser grade. For a case of premium paint, I spent about $55

For me to play all day cost about $85, and that includes 1 case of paint, all day air, and field fees. I bring my own gear, so obviously that doesn't include rental fees.

Rules: Same as most places... the typical safety stuff
Fields and people: As I've already mentioned, there are 2 fields. Velocity setting/limit here is 285. Just like most paintball places, the people here are good about helping one another and being good sportsmen. This is NOT a detractor, but half the people who play here are speed ballers, so though there is a "surrender rule"... ya, most don't want it. It's there for the little kids.

I give this place a 9.5 only for a two VERY minor reasons: 1, no 4500 air. No big deal, but when you have that capability, it's nice to use it. 2, in the staging areas (especially the upper one), it would be nice to have more seats around like lower area.

Once again, EXCELLENT field!!! If you enjoy woodsball, GO HERE!!!
Last edited on Sunday, March 23rd, 2008 at 9:24 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Virtue7 Monday, December 31st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 29th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I live in Pensacola Fl, so driving to Mobile for different scenery is not a problem. Barry is comparable to all other fields in stating the number one issue is safety first and having a good time. After playing at Extreme I wouldnt want to play anywhere else in Alabama.
Directions
to the Field:
If you are traveling west on interstate 10, for instance from Pensacola, go to exit 13 and turn right, this road turns into schillinger road. extreme will be about 4 to 5 miles on the left. If you get lost call 1-251-639-0399 and Barry will get you there.
Review: Barry the owner has alot of experience when it comes to paintball. I personally recommend him for any type of problem that needs fixing on your paintball marker. Some fields have free air with higher priced paint. I felt extreme's prices were very comparable to other fields. People that complain about prices have not yet realized that paintball is an expensive hobby. I normally pay around 35.00 to play paintball in Pensacola so If you are serious about playing, money is not an issue. We had plenty of refs the day my friends and I played. I've read other reviews about people complaining about the walk back to the shop, If one cannot walk 50 yards to get a refill on air, paint, gun repair etc. then you probably need to get a new hobby. I give this field a ten out of ten on safety, staff, refs, and ownership, KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK EXTREME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Baller47 Thursday, May 3rd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: April 15th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
bobs, inconsistant! one day they close at 9:00 pm next week they close at 4:30, you have to go to every single tournament to get a team discount... WERE NOT RICH!
Woods ball is fun but only one side gets the woods... i wouldnt call that fair. also the airball field most of the time is not even up.
Directions
to the Field:
schillenger rd. ,off airport by Walmart
Review: STRENGTHS

consistent, helpful, friendly, always people there, LESS EXPENSIVE THAN BOBS!

the airball and hyperball fields are relatively small (but always blown up)

Woods are huge! (if ur a recballer go to xpb)

also they just added a Scenario field...WWI... trenches, foxholes, and machine gun nests!

this place is Awesome always open on their business hours and the people are great

only bad thing is that there is not always plenty of refs.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

pb paul2o Sunday, November 20th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 21st, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
some places in texas and bobs
Review: im from houston texas and i came down here for thanksgiving, so i came to this place, and wow i did not like it one bit...
the staff is "ok" but everything thier is not that good.
they only have 1 speedball field and it is very, very, very, small.the air is overpriced,the whole field is mostly woods, and it's a long walk from the proshop to All the fields...

if you want a good field that's in the mobile area, i would recommend bobs paintball field. they have an awesome airball field, great staff and a great pro shop...

i give xtreme a 3/10...
Last edited on Sunday, November 20th, 2005 at 6:10 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Wizardrebellion Tuesday, September 27th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tradin Paint and Bobs in the Mobile Area
Review: This place is over priced. They moved the price up to $35 a person and they call that a deal. Wow I remember a time when we could actually afford to play. The field is a long walk from the office place. The ref (1 ref usually) is okay but the main guy, well I don't know what his problem is. The speed ball field is okay when not a long walk off. Oh wait it always is. Never mind.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

WiccanBaller Thursday, June 16th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
bobs is the only other one in mobile, neither are very good compared to other fields in alabama.
Review: Most people in mobile are divided between xtreme and bob's. I recommend you play both and just go to whichever one you like best. If your serious about tournament style and you have the means, then i would recomend making the 50 minute drive to ocean springs mississipi and play at SWAT. Xtreme has a woods field and a hyper ball field. The woods field is actually rather large compared to most other woods fields i've been to. Most of the people play down at the woods field and sometimes when there is only one or two refs working for the day you have to play where the "majority" wants to play so that can be really annoying. The hyperball field is small and is mostly sand/dirt but the bunkers have a good layout to them so there not too spread out and not too close together. The pro shop is pretty decent, parking can be annoying and its a good walk from the field to the shop. the owner can be lazy but unlike most fieldowners in alabama, he actually has experience in paintball so he can usually help you with any equipment problems or general paintball questions.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dooley4 Saturday, December 25th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bob's-----and a field in destin
Review: Ok forgot if i wrote a review for this b4 but .......... i love this field i usually play the hyperball field just cuz i dont like woods.....speed ball lets me strut my stuff barry (owner) has helped me so many times with my p.o.s. gun he in his own words has ghettofied it. but i got a new gun now. any way i believe they will fix the air field soon not too sure but the barrels are fine for me im a fat back man so i dont usually run. but all in all i just wantted to say this field kicks ass
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

boblongsdaman Friday, June 18th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bob's Paintball (Dosn't come close)
Review: This is by far the best field in mobile.The staff are some of the most helpfull people i know.Any question you may have they can ansewer,and they have highly traind airsmiths there whom can fix anything that shoots a paintball.They have a very nice store,and if you dont see it they can get it for you.They may be a little high priced,but you get a no questions asked lifetime warenty on any purchase,and a free membership.As far as fields go they have a nice hyperball field,asmall but dificult speed ball field,and a huge woods field.Also sonn to come is a sup-air field and an expantion on the woods (A school,a town).So if you love to play paintball you have to try xpb. website xpb.us
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

RobertMR83 Thursday, March 25th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bobs
Review: XPB is a good place considering there arent many places to play in Mobile, Their shop is kinda small and alot of the merchandise is over priced, but they have cheap CO2 and you can find a deal hear and there but normally not on marker equpiment, mostly accessories like bags, gloves, masks, etc. The field paint only rule kinda sucks, but they have great customer service, They always tell you everything there is to know about a product before you buy from them, even though sometimes you rather just buy without listening, it really is helpful. The lifetime warrenty on their products is outstanding. The fields are great, and they have alot of league play there. I hear bob's is better, but as far as going somewhere for your paintball needs, (espeically if you dont trust online buying) this is definantly the place to go.

They do have a website. www.xpb.us
Last edited on Thursday, March 25th, 2004 at 11:19 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media