paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Bunker's Hideaway Paintball Field / Bunker's Hideaway Paintball Field / Bunker's Hideaway Paintball Field / Bunker's Hideaway Paintball Field

Bunker's Hideaway Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
21Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 239 Station Road
Marmora, Ontario K0K 2M0
Canada
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
leibstandarte Sunday, April 19th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: April 18th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: Group of 10 youths and adults. Inexperienced players. We brought our own guns. Tippmans and Spyders. Cloudy mild day with a light rain occasionally. The fields are all forest except for Tombstone.

SAFETY: Masks were required whenever you were on the field until the game was over then you could lift them for a breather. Barrell condoms or plugs were to be in place whenever you were not playing. The staff were watching and asked you to put them on.

FIELDS: 5 oudoor fields (Firebase Bonnie,Tombstone, The Alamo, Bull run, Gold mine We played Firebase Bonnie, Tombstone, The Alamo.
GOOD POINTS:
-there is a lot of cover to be found man made or naturally occurring.
-Firebase Bonnie very exciting challenge. (Even our group of inexperienced players were able to hold off a large,more experienced group of a players.(they won eventually)
-The Alamo is very difficult to attack.
-Tombstone faster games making it very exciting moving amongst the buildings.

BAD POINTS: the geography of the area is Canadian Shield and very rocky in parts(The Alamo) (this might be a good point for some "realistic conditions." You have to be careful whe you are moving slow or fast. Watch your footing. ( All the buildings and bunkers require some minor maintenance ie. loose boards. The rental guns need tlc. The masks range from good to bad. The older equipment needs tlc . They did have not any shirts or armbands (they might have them) to distinguish teams when we joined other group and mixed the teams for play balance. (This was not an issue when we played with our own group)

RULES: The refs enforced the rules and were watching closely. 10/10

PROSHOP: Needs a clean up and reno.

STAFF: Very helpful and polite. Showed alot of enthusiam 10/10. If the teams were mismatched they mixed things up. They suggested different scenarios/ games to create different challenges. They gave suggestions and tips to the younger players.

REFS: Very involved in the games. They seemed to be right there checking for paint hits. They were running and moving amongst the action. They were hit several times with no complaints while they were checking people. 10/10

PLAYERS: We played several matches with a larger group of very experienced players. They were very accomodating playing with us several times but generally speaking the games were pretty lopsided. (There were several who took themselves or the game too seriously, just like hockey etc.)

FACILITIES: With more investment in the fields I think this could be a very good place. There is a lot of potential here. They seem to have a large piece of property. bathrooms have a separate entrance from the restaurant for the paintballers.

FOOD: There is an on site restaurant for traditional sit down meals. The paint ball shop offers hotdogs and cool beverages. ( I bring my own stuff and tailgate it.)

Overall: We enjoyed ourselves- paintball is fun exercise and challenging. The staff on our day were very good.

I have not played any other field so I cannot compare it.

Prices: Overall I think overall for a day of exercise and fun - its cheap. Compared to taking the kids to an amusment park or the movies. The adults can have fun too.

Ignore the field rating I posted (it was required for the post.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

wolfdreamer Wednesday, November 14th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 14th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Newcastle outback....greatstaff good fields but a bit expensive
Camp x......my home field....great staff...best prices I have found
Review: Well....were do i start........After I have read some fo the review about this field we deside to go there and try it out 20 of us.....we got to the field and thats when the mayham began

Safety: unfortunatly safty didnt seam to be a high priority at this field starting with the fact that they had to search to find 14 masks that the lenses you could see out of from being badly scratched(regular lenses can be purchesed rather inecspensive why they dont is beyond me)then a lot of the masks had straps so badly in need of repair that they where falling off the players heads....the solution offered by the staff was a roll of tape....barrel bags or plugs where not reinforced during the day rating for safty 1/10

rental guns: the rental regularly offered were pirahnas and upgrades 98's both were in need of some TLC and lots of cleaning and some new hoppers
rating 3/10

staff: the pro shop staf was friendly and helpfull but didnt know much about pb-ling rating 4/10

the reffing: the one young man we had as a reff was friendly enough but had the" I dont really want to be here" air about him he didnt realy get involved in the game.... he was just there....he didnt enforce safty very well rating 3/10


fields: there were 5 fields some with some good potential if the right ppl were running the field but a lot of it seamed rundown and neglected rating 4/10

Paint: the prices were not too bad but thats were the complimenting ends...the quality was really poor( that day was the first time my 98 choped balls since i got it about a month before) and the acuracy was just horendous....you was lucky to get 3/4 ball out of 20 or so within the same squer foot rating 1/10

players: for the most part we played by ourselves( our group only) but for the last game teh reff asked if we minded if some walkons joined us and we said ok....one of these gentleman prosied to hit me ( wich was fare game) but after I called a hit and was getting ready to walk off with my gun in the air this gent made eye contact and raised his gun n prosided to shoot me again from about 20 feet out...later he was bunkered down and during a fire fight he called out that he waws out of ammo only to come out shooting a few seconds later......this does not do a true crosssection fo the players that play there but it does proove that the reff didnt have very good control of the field so i wont rate this part

the field fee included a free lunch wich consisted of hotdogs and pop... this was the only part of the day that went with out insidednt and i include this becosue I hate to have nothing but bad things to say so ill rate this at 9/10

over all for the field I would say that i will not likely to revisit myself but ti might have been just an offday for the field so I will say that go at your own discretion rating for the field as a hole is 4/10

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
10 Comments - Add Comment

LoopyDood Saturday, October 27th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 11th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Foxhole Paintball in Campbellford
Directions
to the Field:
Travel along Highway 7 until you reach a turn into N Maloney St. Go straight and you should see a school. Turn right at the school and continue down that road until you reach Bunker's on your left.
Review: Pricing: Paint is $95 for 2000 XO Spectrum, and it's $15 to get in. Rentals are Piranhas for $10 and 98 customs for $20. During the summertime on Thursday, it's $2.00 entry and cheaper paint.

Food: Go before 12 and you get two free hot dogs and a drink. You may also buy them there. There's also a very nice restaurant, but I've never had any food inside there.

Fields: Fields are ok, but very small, my favorite's either the Town, or Fire Base Bonnie. There's a large gate at the entrance of the Town, but nobody's allowed to pass it as it is very unsafe at the moment. There's not a very large amount of fields, and most of them need fixing up.

Safety: Chrono limit is 250fps. Waivers must be signed before playing. During a game, your mask must be on at all times. (Well, duh.) Barrel plugs and safeties have to be on when not in a game. Sometimes it feels like the refs aren't doing their jobs, but they're pretty friendly.

Improvements:
Better reffing.
Being open on at least Friday during the off-season.
Fix up the fields!
Better paint!
Needs a website. Well, at least one that doesn't blow chunks.

EDIT: After returning to this field recently, I realized it has become very run down. I have lowered my review score because of this.

The only thing saving it from a 5/10 are two new improvements:
On Sundays, it is now BYOP and entry is $30
Pricing has been adjusted. It's now about $95 for a case of paint.

PLEASE, Bunker's, fix yourself up.

6.5/10
Last edited on Saturday, October 24th, 2009 at 10:36 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

blitz5 Friday, August 17th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: August 16th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pro advantage- my home field, well set up good selection in the pro shop knowledgable no problems with anything
Rapid fire- good field crappy paint last time i was there, good refs nice staff knowledgable
Review: i've paintballed at bunkers 1-2 times for the last 3-4 years. thier rental guns (when i didn't own my own gun) where iffy there were days i'd get a good working semi accurate gun and there were days i would hardly play the gun would have so much wrong with it. i never rented a tippmann but i rememebr my friends did and i think they didn't have to many problems.
i went a few days ago and didn't have a good day. the staff were friendly but didn't seem to know to much about paintballing.
we headed to the alamo for or first game my team attacked first. the field could use some more bunkers for the attackers but besides that was pretty good. i got hit a little after the break (my little brother and his flatline) i walked to where the refs were and stood around. now don't get me wrong the refs were good guys but the whole game they stood together and talked when some one called hit they yelled "player hit " or somethin like that and that was about it.after the ten minute round it was my terams turn to attack. my team got inside we noticed that the middle of one of the walls was gone. the ref walked up and said that some players had removed it and they didn't know it had happened tilll afterwards. the only thought running through my mind was WHY DON"T YOU FIX IT!!!!!!
after that round we went to fire base bonnie. probably the best field there. some of the dug out bunkers for the defenders could use a little fixing up but other than that a good field.
after that we played a few rounds in the western town and finished up. also a godd field if they were to fix it up a bit and wash down the buildings i was coated in white paint from leaning on the walls.
the paint there was decent i shot about half a box of 2000 and hardly chopped any it was inaccurate but worked well enough the price was high because seconds at pro advantage are probably just as good.
the real down fall of the day involved filling my CO2 tanks
i went in about half way through the day to fill up my 16 oz and i ended up walking out with one of their twenties because apparently my tank "didn't like" the kid filling them up. i went in latter once they switched tanks thinking the problem would be resolved and the kid filled and emptied my tank three time i went out the next round and used the enitre tank shooting abotu 340 or less balls. I HAD AN A-5 i know its terrible for CO2 with the cyclone feed but 340 shots from a supposebly full 16 oz it was the first time that had ever happened. and to top it all off after the day i went home and gassed my a-5 up and it was leaking i'm not pointing fingers at the staff but it was the first time it has ever leaked in a full year. a highlite was that the ref with us ran and grabbed a new co2 tank for me during the game very helpful. i went back into the pro shop and told the kid what had happened while i walked by. he laughed.
all in all it wasent a very good day. i think once the staff becomes a lot more expirenced the field will inprove but it just felt to me like they were more interested in the resturant and golf stuff than paintball mostly du to the fact that when we were being led to the fields we had to go throught the paintball parking lot and out onto the road instead of just straight through.they also seemed to be building a minny put where the speedball used to go. the safety was good barrel condoms and safety between games and masks on during was enforced and like i said the refs were good guys but it'll take some time before i go back.
i read a few other reviews who had problems with thte walk to some fields i really had no problem they weren't that long
and to clear it up when i was there they put the crono facing away from the parking lot and safety netting between the alamo field and the parking lot
and i dunno whats going on withthe website but i've never ever had afree lunch there and thursday when its suposed to be 2 dllars to get in we had to pay seven still cheep but not advertised or what it used to be.
all in all though a place for newbies to rent and play their newbie friends if you want a quality day of paintballing go somewhere else untill changes are made.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

IONized_baller' Thursday, January 11th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: December 17th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
next paintball
paintball city
sargent splatters
wasaga beach
Review: This field is GREAT! I play there almost every weekend with my buds. Always
I have fun there. Here are some pro's and con's.


PRO"S
nice refs
staff are nice
the fields are good
lots of good fields to choose from
nice environment
good food
has like three restaurants
can rent tippmann 98's
free air on playing days
CON"S
needs more speedball fields
takes along time to get to some fields
lots of wasps in the summer time at the benches


There is a 10 feet mercy rule so newbies don't have to worry about getting shot like 5 feet away, but some people still got up and shot you pretty close sometimes. Anyways GO there AND you WON"T be DISAPPOINTED.


I HIGHLY RECOMMEND GOING HERE




Dang, no speedball field this year, but we had a sweet match of 23 on 23 last saturday. And to I also got recorded playing there that one day =D and I'm going up on there website.

Last edited on Thursday, June 7th, 2007 at 6:13 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

purelycanadian Friday, December 15th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 24th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
I haven't played at any other fields in this area, but there are quite a few in and around here. Uhm.. Quest Paintball in Ivanhoe and Pro Advantage Paintball in Belleville...
Directions
to the Field:
Use Mapquest, I could explain but they do it better.
Review: I typed this up before, but my computer crashed half way through and I didn't want to retype it all, so sorry if I don't go in-depth in some areas. There is one thing I'd like to say however, their website is horrible. It is hard to find any good information on their website, and it is done very amateurish. Don't let the lack of quality on their site deter you from playing here though, because it's still fun.

Safety

Shooting Range: As other reviews have stated, there was no netting between the shooting range and the parking lot. This was never a problem for me, because nobody was idiotic enough to shoot that direction. I have read that they did, in fact, put netting up, but I'm not sure.

Masks: Masks were always required. One reviewer said you could run around without a mask on during a game. That's completely untrue compared to when I played here. Masks were required on in-game, and if you wished to remain near the field to observe the remainder of the game after you were eliminated, they had to remain on. You could go some distance from the field to an area where you could take the mask of, however there was no netting around it.

Barrel Condoms: Always on when not in a match. No exceptions. If you got eliminated you had to put it on immediately, else the referees were yelling at you.

Fields

The fields are all amazing, at least the ones I played at. By far the western town was the most fun and had the most action within it. It was very enjoyable having a wide variety of objects to take cover behind, not just trees and slabs of wood. Very, very well thought out and designed. As most people said, the walks to the field were long, and sometimes unnecessarily out of the way in which we had to go.

For the most party, they play Attack and Defend and Team Elimination. Some of the fields were slanted heavily towards the Defenders, like the Firebase and the Alamo, but they were still interesting. In Attack and Defend, we were never once able to capture the Firebase, but we did manage to fight out way up to the walls of the Alamo and capture it twice.

Hours of Operation

The hours of operation are about 8:30-4:00. Really, they'll go until dark if enough people are left, but most people left around 4:00. So they'll operate as long as you want, but if there are very few people they'll tend to stop doing rounds.

Prices

The prices are high, but they have to make money somehow I suppose. You can walk-on on Thursdays, Saturdays, and Sundays. We played on a Thursday, which is their cheap day, and the prices work like this:

$2.00 Entry - Regardless of if you own equipment or require a rental.
$120.00 for 2000 Rounds

On other days, the prices are:

$15.00 Entry - If you have your own equipment.
$25.00 Entry - If you require a rental (rental Piranah, 9oz. CO2 supplied)

Services

The services you'll find here are great. Aside from the paintball fields and set-up area themselves, you have many other things to do. I believe they have a driving range for golf, and they have a wonderful restaurant. The food is great there, and it's relatively cheap. You can also get your CO2 and HPA filled up easily and free if you're playing there.

Proshop

To be fair, the proshop is lacking. They do have a small variety of equipment available for purchase, but nothing major. If you're in the area, just go to Pro Advantage down in Belleville (http://www.proadvantagepaintball.com). They have much more variety and better prices and services.

Staff

The staff here is mostly young. I don't mind, because they're all about my age then. They know what they're doing, and they're friendly, helpful, and fair doing it. The referee's were getting on my nerves at some points, and they honestly seemed disinterested in the matches at some points, but they aren't payed to be interested they're paid to keep the game fair.

Players

When I played the majority of the crowd was young guys, there were two middle aged people, and three or four girls around too. Everyone that was playing there was alright, most of the people were quite friendly and nobody was putting anything down. There was good sportsmanship, no cheating that I noticed, and anybody who wanted some help would get it from somebody. Also, and it is rather important, we played as a team. Everyone that day was a walk-on, and I figured it would be an unorganized mess. It was quite the opposite, everybody was fairly organized and there was quite a bit of teamplay.

Facilities

The facilities were alright. The lockers were messy though. Two of them had hornet nests in them, which one of the refs shot out before we started going around them. There were a lot of hornets whizzing around the lockers, but there were no problems... nobody got stung. The lockers were clean on the inside, but a little messy on the outside. Uhm.. that's about it for facililties. Oh, washrooms used salt water for washing hands... I don't get it either...

Food

I probably misunderstood them, I thought when you walked on you got free lunch. Well we didn't. We actually didn't even eat lunch because nobody wanted to stop playing. I stayed afterwards though and ate dinner there, and it was good. They've got a restaurant and bar there which open later on, and the food is very good. It's not too pricy, but it isn't cheap either. Trust me when I say this, the poutine is the best I've ever had.

Rentals

Forgot to include this when I wrote the review. The rentals at Bunkers are not very good from what I was hearing. I brought my own gear of course, but most people there that day rented. They have 98 Customs out there and some sort of Piranah, sorry not sure what. The 98 Customs ran fine, no problems for the renters. The Piranah's on the other hand, I'd guess that 50% of them were malfunctioning at some point. They were all eventually fixed up, but it did cause slight delays in some of the games.

Overall

Overall, this is a great place to play. The fields are well thought out and organized, and the staff is helpful, fair, and friendly. Refs are good, they'll do paint checks for you if you want, and they make sure that nobody shoots you after you're already out and leaving the play area. Very good, very fun, highly recommended.

Go try it out, and have fun.

9/10
Last edited on Monday, January 22nd, 2007 at 7:38 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
7 Comments - Add Comment

speedballer12 Wednesday, November 8th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: November 4th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
the closest is 45 minutes away
Directions
to the Field:
turn left at timbermart and theres a sighn and turn right at the sighn and drive 2 minutes and theres a white sighn and enter there
Review: I went to there player apreceation day it was awsome they give away some sweet prizes halo hoppers paintballs and memberships it was awsome.They put a net between the shooting range so the cars dont get shot anymore.they have some really good fields a town a marine firebase and a huge fort you have to atack and defend its called the alamo. thebull run and the goldmine are ok.The refs are awsome there really nice but the paintballs are a bit expensive but the paintballs arent that bad they have a really nice restaurant good free lunch i have played here about 10 times and the cheap thursdays are really good the paintballs cost 6 cents a paintball and addmission is 2 bucks and to rent a tippmann is 10$$ to rent .Overall this place is awsome
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

paintball-pro10 Saturday, October 28th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: July 22nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Angry Hunters(Worse), Next(different style, about the same)
Review: I have been to this field about 8 times in the past 1.5-2 years and i love it. alot of choices, average prices, knowledgeably staff(a bit lazy i must agree).

PROS
-can rent tippmanns
-i think 7 fields
-fields are all unique and different
-free lunch
-refs and employees are nice
-big fields with lots of different obstacle(2 storey buildings in a full town, huge enclosed fort with tower, marine base w/ huge sniping post, gold mine, and many more)
-probbly alot more but i can't think right now!

CONS
-prices could be better(even on thursdays)
-refs could do alot more
-Long walks to get to fields
-long wait times between games(instead of playing a couple games, filling up and then playing, thye tend to play a game or two then wen we fill up and then have to wait a while till the refs want to go again.)


Overall this is a fun field to play at. i recommend it to anyone who wants to play a whole day of different paintball experiences.

i give it an 8/10 just because the field layout could be better, lower prices, and better reffing
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

KuNgFu-JeSuS Monday, July 24th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: June 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
havent gone to any lately
Review: Pro
-haven't seen anyone mention this but on Thursdays Bunker's has a cheap night which is 2$ to get in 6$ for 100 paintballs
-nice staff
-tippmann 98 are for rent
-friendly refs
-local pro's are friendly and help out if new comers are having problems
-proshop is quite nice
-service is great
-they have a dog, if that counts for anything? but the dog is cool
-variety of fields
-free CO2 refills on Thursday
-cheap night begins in June , im pretty sure..

Cons
-paintballs are of low quality
-mosquitoes, not really a factor , but i hate them..
-some fields have to take a long detour to get to, i dunno why.
-you have to pay $$ to rent a tippmann98
-regular rental guns are pirahanas
-a lot of new comers show up , but i dont mind
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

Squishey Friday, June 9th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: May 13th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Top Gun, Ivanhoe(quest?)
Directions
to the Field:
in marmora.
Review: PROS
Variety of fields to play on.
Staff and Ref's are nice
It's the best field in my area.
Alot of regulars that eventually you get to know and become firends with
it never gets old. i've been to this field about 15 times and still have fun every time i go.

CONS
a lot of noobs that are affraid of more experienced players.
refs are lazy(nice but lazy)
a little over priced 120 or 140 for 2000pb's(i can't remember exactly what it is)
the 'free' lunch they give you isn't very good.
long detours that are not needed to get to certain fields.
there is a public road running through one of the fields
the shooting range is right beside the parking lot along with one og the fields they have(the alamo) and there is no safety netting dividing the shooting range/field with parking lot. in fact one time i was there i was standing cleaning my gun on the hood of my car and a stray ball from the field came flying at me and hit the head light by me.

its an okay field but they could improve alot on safety and what not.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media