paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Stuttgart Outdoor Rec. Paintball Field / Stuttgart Outdoor Rec. Paintball Field / Stuttgart Outdoor Rec. Paintball Field / Stuttgart Outdoor Rec. Paintball Field

Stuttgart Outdoor Rec. Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
6Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: N/A
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
jt_paintball Monday, June 1st, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 23rd, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
A field in Ludwigsburg, but they caught me playing underage so I just sat out and watched.
Directions
to the Field:
Instead of turning onto the road that will take you the 50m to the Panzer gate, keep going straight and on your left (note: the turn is not clearly marked) you go down that road and stay on it until it forks. Take the right fork and you will go down that road with the big dirt mountain up on your right. Keep driving down that road until you get to an intersection. That is the drop-off and pick-up point.
Review: SAFETY: As for safety, the Germans are very strict on it. Seeing as their Government is currently in the process of about whether to outlaw the sport or not. Always have a barrelsock on your marker when a tank is attached, even if you don't have a hopper on! The worst case scenario is one of the Germans will tell you to "Put a sock on it!", you will not be ejected or asked to leave.

FIELDS: The field is all woods. They were in the process of trying to get a speedball field but because it is not the property of ODR they had to go through contractors and get special permissions. They are still working on it but don't expect it for a while. I currently am on the staff trying to get the speedball field setup so if you have any questions, please feel free to contact me!

HOURS: Show up at the intersection around 9:30ish because the bus starts pick-up around 10:00. The bus will start returning people to the intersection towards the end of the day, around 5:00ish. But if you want to leave earlier then just talk to the driver and he can take you back to the intersection. NOTE: In case you don't have a ride at the intersection, you can talk to Mark, normally the busdriver, and he can take you to the Panzer Gate where you can go on base and catch a bus.
**The games are played every-other-Saturday**

PRICES: USD
Starter kit (includes marker, mask, hopper, tank, and field fee): $25
Mask: $5
Tank; $5
Air (free refills): $5
Field Fee: $5
Paint: $15 per bag & $60 per box (normal prices), FPO is not enforced
Soda: $1 per can
Pizza: $2 per slice
**You can order your slices at the beginning and you are handed X tokens. Once the pizza arrives you hand in your tokens and get your pizza, choices of pepperoni(american) and cheese. NOTE: If you wait until after everyone has had pizza you can get it later for FREE! Yes it will be cold... But who cares?**

SERVICES: There is not normally a present airsmith but if you take it to the "shack" in the staging area the guys can look at it and give you tips, advice, and see if they can figure out what is wrong. They are a big help on most of the speedball and all of the woodsballs type guns. For the more technical questions, I am a certified airsmith.

PROSHOP: N/A

STAFF/REFFS: The staff are the refs, if you mess up on the field they will correct you and you can continue to play on.

PLAYERS: The German community are the most frequent visitors. It is a good opportunity for the Americans stayioned in Stuttgart to interact with the German community in a VERY friendly environment. There is no hate among the paintballers there!

FACILITES: Ladies, sorry, but there is no bathroom or porta-potty, just find a tree or hide behind a bush!

**With the recent shooting outside of Stuttgart the Germans have tightened up and have started to enforce the 18-year or older rule. But as long as you don't make a scene and bring people who are obviously young, then you can get away with coming! Besides, Mike, the director of Stuttgart ODR, says that he loves having the youth of Stuttgart out playing!**

RATING: I rate the field at around a 5 because its not the best. Sure, its better than nothing but it could be better, no shelter and the constant heat are big killers! Also, I am more of a speedballer, although I first got my start in paintball in the woods, I am a big speedball fan! So a non-biased opinion of the field would be around a 5.5, but that is stretching it!

I hope to see you on the field!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Youngster Saturday, February 9th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: October 20th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
none i would recommend
Directions
to the Field:
It's in the Musberger Straessle down the road there is a parking lot for closer information go to the german community website www.woodland-gotcha.de
Review: The field is opened every 2nd week from 10-1700h sometimes a bit longer
You drive to a parking lot and from there on get transported via shuttlebus.
The prices are very good Rental Equip (Bottle,Mask,Marker) for 15$ and free Refills
An entry fee of 10$ and Paint cna be purchased as following:
500 shots= 15$
1000shots=30$
1500shots=45$
2000shots=55$

You can buy softdrinks for 1$ each and also pizza a slice for 2$
From October till 'round easter they're closed, for next year They are planning on maybe opening a little "shop" with nice Equipment

Last autumm me and lots of others Volunteered to "restore" the field a bit, since then there is nearly no wires in the woods and there is a big bunker in the centre of it all.

The great thing is this field runs by american not german laws,so E-grips are welcome! ;-)

Though it is an american field it is mainly used by a german community though they organize lots of Things, (Restoring and cleaning the field, sometimes BBQ's after the games,etc...) The Forrest is now alot lighter cause we cut of lots of twigs and branche which are now used as covers so now you can actually tell who's team your looking at.

All people are nice and friendly,though there are NO Ref's so some people will wipe though we're fighting that problem now and building up fairplay.

For those prices and the Nice Community it is really worth it i really love it!
Last edited on Saturday, February 9th, 2008 at 3:05 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

a5ghilleman Monday, August 21st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: July 1st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
ramstein (far and awesome) manheim (far never played)
Directions
to the Field:
go to the rbb turn, and go until the road forks, dont go left (to the rbb). Go down that road and stop at the cross roads at 0930-1000 two diffrent mwr vans will come down to pick you up.
Review: The feild is open 1000-1700 on every other saturday. There is only one woods field and nothing else. The prices are verry good, I only pay $30 for a day of play ($5 for rg feild fee, $25 for half cace split with friend) you can get a regular field fee for $10 (this gives you free air) and a rental pack for $15. they have no pro shop but they sell slings. The staff is fairly small and they have no refs (this causes alot of wipeing). most of the games are elimination and ctf though some games are modded. The feild is mostly brush and small trees with a few small bunkers

In conclusion the feild is bad, the prices are good, and the staff is less than i hoped for and no refs.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

silentbob78 Sunday, July 18th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None really, I now play at the one at Ramstien AFB( 2 hrs away) every Saturday.
Review: I have played at the field run by Stuttgart Outdoor Rec twice since being stationed in germany and I am not impressed. The field they used last year was alot better groomed than the one they use this year, but niether is really all that great and both don't offer a great deal of varity. The field they use this year is, well it sucks. In most areas it is impossible to see what team you are shooting at or being shot by, alot of times it is your own, the only way you can tell is to yell out to them and hope they are on your team if not you just gave up your position. They need to clean out alot of the area, not build bunkers or anything just make it more open so you can see who is shooting at you or who you are shooting at there is just too much foliage low to the ground. Even with all this if I was a first time player it would probably still be fun but the biggest problem, and the final reason I will never play there again is they do not make the players chrono. Not just every time you go on the field but at all, all day! They have a chrono but it is up to you and everybody else to go over and chrono by themselfs(no one watches you). This in my opinion, is totally unacceptable, the last time I was out there I know that some players were shooting hot, not just a little but by alot. Normal paintball guns do not shoot that far, nor hit that hard at a decent distance. I saw alot of younger players get hit from like 75 feet and have huge welts that looked like they got hit at point blank range. Also the last time I was out there, there weren't any refs, yet again totally unacceptable. This field has alot of potental and there are some really good people out there that are experienced and should not tolarate this as acceptable. One final point the paint is over priced but on top of that they do not store it right. I really don't want to pay 70 dollars a case for deformed and dimpled paint that won't fly straight.

On a postive note they do run alot of games during the day and change the game theme up every time, but all the games are pretty much the same pricipal, get something in the middle to the other teams base. They are also planning on putting up a speedball field, when they do I really hope the make players chrono before walking on the field. If not they will more than likely have a serious accident.

Conclusion:
With all the down falls of the condition of the field, I personally would still recommend it for newer players and might even go to it on occasion instead of making a 2 hour dive every Saturday. But the fact that they do not make players chrono, and the lack of refs just makes for an unsafe enviroment that I would not recommend for anyone. I will keep an eye on the field and if it improves I will change my rating (I really hope they do improve it would be a real treasure to have a decent safe field here in Stuttgart.
Last edited on Sunday, July 18th, 2004 at 10:00 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

American*SF* Wednesday, July 9th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: I will have to echo the sentiments of my dearly departed friend for this field.
The field, as paintballpapa described, is all woods. You couldn't find a more natural wooded area that God made for paintball. Downside? Yes. The upkeep on the man-made portions of the field are horribly neglected!
The field is only used every other week-end, 5 months out of the year, so one would think making some much needed upgrades/upkeep wouldn't be too touch. Wrong there.
When not being used by German paintball fanatics and my friend and I, the field plays host to SEAL and Special Forces snipers. This makes paintball play fun because one can always find an assortment of unexploded ordnance to throw at the opposing team. Whats one less German on the field anyway?
As my friend paintball papa can testify, he has received his fair share of equipment that has been neglected to be removed from the field; in the form of barbwire.
At anyrate, the service isn't half bad, except for management, which only dirty french words could express the frustration I feel over them. The German players a fun and nice and you couldnt find more loyal team mates. The regulars at the field are all great guys.
So the prices are high, yes. But when you import you paint in from ITALY (seriously, who imports paint from Italy?) its bound to be high. This is just goes to show the brilliance of management. Its called monopolizing; nothing new, just ask Bill Gates.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballpapa Tuesday, July 8th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None in the area.
Review: Overall this is a really great place to come out and have some fun playing paintball. The field has nothing man-made in it so it is true woods ball. Although there are mostly Germany players there, it is run by the American MWR. The saviors of the field are two guys named Adrian and Chris. The MWR employees get it done but have no idea how to run a paintball field. The safety on the field has dramatically improved in the last few years now that younger Americans are looking for a paintball experience.

So the good about the place is that it is a great place to play some woods ball and it is pretty easy going.

The bad is the horribly overpriced paint and field fees. For instance it will cost you no less than 80 dollars to play paintball there as a bare minimum, and 1250 rounds of paint. The other bad part of the field is the people that run it (excluding the German Help) who will take any excuse they can get to cancel. If they shaped their management up and fixed the prices it would be a great place to play.

Yes i also agree with America *SF*, just beacuse he is soo good looking.
Last edited on Friday, July 11th, 2003 at 1:09 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media