paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Strategy Plus Paintball Field / Strategy Plus Paintball Field / Strategy Plus Paintball Field / Strategy Plus Paintball Field

Strategy Plus Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
69Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 800-952-9007
Address: Bear Swamp Rd
East Hampton, Connecticut 06424
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Whisperwolf Saturday, November 1st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: June 14th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Accurate Paintball (NJ), Skirmish (PA), West Point (NY), Liberty (NY), Hornet's Nest (NY) & Strategy Plus (CT)
Review: This is my favorite field to play. I mostly go for their scenario games. The last one that I went to was a Halo themed game (Aliens vs Humans) and it was a lot of fun. Their western themed games are also very enjoyable. The reason that I like playing at Strategy plus is their combination of great refs, excellent terrain, fun themed scenario play, and quality of players they draw.

Many of their refs get right in the action to make good calls. I've seen refs on their stomach in the middle of a skirmish making calls. They're usually close by for paint checks and don't hover giving away your position. The regular ref staff is experienced and knowledgeable. For the larger scenarios, the additional ref staff seems to come from the Strategy Plus Factory (Speedball) Teams. I've had the chance to talk with a few of them and they ref very well. ... better than the additional ref staff most other fields call in for a big game. Speaking of speedball, they do have 2 speedball feilds. In fact they just set up a NPPL spec field. They also do airsoft games. (I'm mostly a scenario/woodsball paintball guy so I can't really comment too much on the other stuff)

As far as terrain goes it's hilly and craggy. Brush and tree cover vary from thin in some spots to thick in others while never being totally overgrown or leaving you wide open in a field. What that means is there are tons of places to sneak around while using natural cover (be it thick laurel bushes or rock outcroppings). Comparatively, Strategy Plus is definitely more hilly than the other fields mentioned above except for West Point and it is larger than all of them excepting Skirmish. There are several multiple-building MOUT style settings including a western town and an area with several buildings and a CQB shoot house. The mixture of natural terrain with the added bunkers and structures make the gameplay at Strategy Plus very exciting.

Their scenarios are fun to be a part of. For the WWII buffs, they have a German vs Allied series called War of Attrition and a Russian vs German series called Russian Front. They've held various western frontier themed games based on the movie Tomestone, the Deadwood series and the "Man With No Name" movies. While, this year's Halloween game was based on the movie "30 days of Night", past years' games were based on the Gears of War and Silent Hill video Games. For Christmas the field holds a Santa vs The Grinch charity game. Other great games from the past year that were not part of an annual series included games based on the Halo 3 X-box game, the Battle Royale Movie and the Hitman movie. Chrispy (the field owner and manager) and his staff do a great job incorporating elements from the specific themes into the game play, whether by prop or mission. Many of the players and teams who attend become regulars and have fun getting into the games' character roles -to the point of dressing in costume and bringing some props of their own! Even if you don't personally care for roleplaying, the roleplaying that surrounds you really puts you in the game. These games attract players who are out there to have fun. That's what keeps bringing me back and I'm sure it's the same for many others. I'm sure because I've asked... the first timers and the regulars. I've been playing Strategy Plus for almost 2 years now. The crowd of players that are attracted to the field are not looking to lie and cheat their way to a win. Usually there's a good crowd who are there to have a good time and share their stories afterward.

The staff always seem to want honest feedback so they can tweek the next game to continually make it better. When you speak with them about the game they are very friendly (a few other reviewers mentioned feeling like part of the family). When you give feedback (whether about something you like or didn't about the game) you know your being listened to. The people running the games are players. They now how to run a game that the players enjoy. People come to one game and they keep wanting to come back. I've met people who've traveled from points as far as south Jersey, western PA, northeast NY, Massachusetts and New Hampshire who keep comming back. I ranked it 9 because a perfect 10 is unattainable.
Last edited on Saturday, November 1st, 2008 at 1:43 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bgmaction Friday, October 31st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: October 25th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
matt's out back is another feild , but strategyplus is the best all around
Review: I have played at a lot of big paintball fields , but i think strategy is the best, chrispy really works with the player to make it enjoyable for everyone in attendance at his games. If you've never played there i would relly recomend you checking it out. if you have play there before please come check it out again a lot of changes more bunkers, salone, and there building a castle
Last edited on Friday, October 31st, 2008 at 8:33 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SPissick Thursday, October 30th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: October 25th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Just SP
Directions
to the Field:
Bear Swamp Rd
East Hampton, Connecticut 06424
USA
Review: Awesome field, awesome people, awesome teams, awesome prices, awesome sponsors, what else can you ask for its just a friendly place to play the best paintball of your life! Nothing beats SP, its just the best time you will ever have! Go to T4T's bring a unwrapped gift to get in for free, what a deal!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

unclegrimjack Tuesday, October 28th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: October 25th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Survival, NY, Newburgh, West Point NY, Skirmish PA, P and L, Ma
Directions
to the Field:
right off RT 66, in east hampton, look for the bowling alley, its right on the corner of 66, and bear swamp rd
Review: Safety is excellent, reffing is very good. Caters to woodballers, scenario players, like myself, and speed ball players. They also have a large drawing of airsoft mil sim players. not my thing personally, but it is offered. hours are good, usually can be on the field by 800ish, and play till 4 or 5. Prices are fair, and the airfills are excellent.. there is a new air compressor, and fill stations. easily get 4500 fills, personally i hate running out of air when i still have paint. Alot of the staff have expirence with may different markers, so if your stuff goes, parts and expierience are around to get you back in the game. they do have a pro shop, in the back of a box truck, has most of the stuff you need to keep you going. food is mostly of hamburgers hotdogs and drinks, but it the fields that will keep you going back. the city is a blast, real paint burner, and lets you try different tactics, also there are some structures in the woods that give you a chance to try different what if scenarios.The field hosts alot of scenarios during the year, based on ww2 events to modern day events. i played this field the first time i ever played paintball 20 years ago, and when i had a chance to get back there 2 years ago, i just kept comming back
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

hyriu Monday, October 27th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: August 9th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hogan's Alley. Its not the same format or as big.
Directions
to the Field:
From hartford take 84 east then exit 52 towards norwich/new london. Then take exit 13 and keep to your right. Keep going straight and then take a left on bear swamp road.
Review: I really enjoy playing in this field for multiple reasons.

1. I love the bunkers in the woods and all the structures that are all over the place. The field is excellent. Air and paint is always good. Great service, Great reffing staff and excellent scenarios. I have pretty much attended to all the scenarios this year and I already have plans for the next year to go to all of them.

Chrispy really do a great job with this field.

You all should check it out at least once.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sinkhole Monday, October 27th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: October 25th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hogan's Alley
Review: This is by far the best field I've played at. The terrain is awesome. I've always been impressed with the staff and quality of games host at Strategy Plus. When your there it's like being at home with family. Everyone, staff and players alike are always willing to help out new players. I can't speak highly enough of Strategy Plus.
Last edited on Monday, October 27th, 2008 at 5:20 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

nickd22 Monday, October 27th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: October 25th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
other feilds i have played at is Hogans alley paintball, which is nothing compared to strategy plus in terms of Scenario play. Strategy plus also has a very nice speed ball feild set up.
Directions
to the Field:
east hampton, ct, bear swamp road
Review: Strategy plus has been around since the years of paintball. it was one of the first o open in CT. it has been known thru out Ct as a very tremendous place to play paintball. its woods-ball area is excellent with out a dought. it has numerous types of ares in its woods ball course like towns, castles, and forts. it is so much fun playing there. the thing i like the most about it is the people who work there and who are there just to hang out and play there. they are the nicest funniest people i have ever met in my whole life. i will definitely keep going there until i cant walk again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

cchadppherd Saturday, June 7th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: June 7th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hogans
Splat Town
Review: This was the very first paintball arena i ever been to, which was 3 years ago
I really love this place
They have over 10 diff woodfields and 2 speedball fields.
They offer free air for your tank and even some rentals
They have a target practice
As of now, I started playing in this arena every weekend starting 3 months ago,
The staff is great (10 out of 10 rating) although they are very annoying at times when they are trying to sell you things,
reasonable pricing (9 out of 10), but all they have is a truck of goods, but they do order for you
really friendly people (9.9 out of 10),
Its like im family here now, although i see diff/new people every single time i visit here.
I have to say the woods were great, best woods i ever been to; they have several types of scenario games in woods includes such as capture the fort, capture the flag, and defense and attack, which adds up to more strageties, usually depends on how many people showed up for playing. Woods deserves (10 out of 10 rating)
For speedball, the fields use to be kinda lame cause it was very messy and the bunkers were inflated half the time, but now they improved it by making 2 speedball fields instead of one and adding more new, bunkers. OLD speedball deserves a 7 out of 10, but the new one deserves a 9
Overall, if you want to play paintball with friendly staffs and players, GREAT woods, and now speedball
Stragety Plus is the arena for you
Overall Rating deserves a 9.9+ out of 10
The only thing i hate when coming is here that sometimes very few people shows up or NO PEOPLE AT ALL!, so bring everybody, spread the word and have an awesome time
Last edited on Sunday, June 8th, 2008 at 11:20 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

w3ki11suckers Sunday, August 12th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 12th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
skirmish usa
Review: Went to deadwood this weekend. had a great time. cool staff and nice guys there. alot of refs. had fun would def. go there again.

good prices on paint.

good deals on gear.

the only flaw was camping, ive seen better but it wasnt too bad. and also watch out for snakes when you are playing, just shoot them if you see any
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

The fish Wednesday, May 9th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: February 17th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Skirmish USA , West Point ,
Review: Iíve had the pleasure of playing scenario paintball at this top notch facility. It seems to me that a nice friendly crowd is drawn to this field and every one knows everyone.
The paint is affordable not like some places charging in excess of $100. Cheating seems to be non existent and the staff is always willing to help you out. I will go out on a limb and say ďStrategy Plus has the best scenario paintball games in the landĒ and Iíve played quite a few.

Overall I would give this field and the staff a 9.9 rating out of 10, you will not be disappointed. Itís like playing with friends, because thatís how everyone treats you there.
I would recommend this field to all and hope to see.


Mike
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media