paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / First Strike Paintball, Inc. Paintball Field / First Strike Paintball, Inc. Paintball Field / First Strike Paintball, Inc. Paintball Field / First Strike Paintball, Inc. Paintball Field

First Strike Paintball, Inc. Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
28Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 5619 SE CR 337
Newberry, Florida 32669
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
/-ICEpik Thursday, October 23rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 19th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I am from Atlanta, and have not played at any other fields in the area. I visited Rocky Creek and Waynes World, but I returned to First Strike. I primarily play at Classic Paintball in Atlanta and scenario trips to Low Country Paintball. The Free Finale and Last year Camp Blanding (MOUT).
Directions
to the Field:
Needless to say, if you punch in "paintball," on your G.P.S. for First Strike's field it will send you to a house/ranch the opposite way off County Rd. 337 South. If you every go, take Hwy. 26 West from the town of Newberry, then to County Rd. 337 North, that will get you there in the right direction.
Review: First Strike Paintball turned out to be a blast. It was a moderate crowd, the usual mix of newbies, speed-ballers, rec-players, and the old farts like myself who just want to paint something. Randy, the field owner and all his staff were very hospitable. I felt right at home and began to shake the rust off my marker and bones with every little skirmish.

I was so pleased with First Strike I went back on Sunday and had even a better time. First Strike has an assortment of hills/dunes and some well established forts/towers that were very fun, not to mention there hyper-ball fields and speed ball course. It's about 25 acres of shear fun. I was able to play with a collection of folks and enjoyed some first time speedball action with two UF Students who did not mind using me as a 205 lb. target to their discretion. All in all, it was an awesome day and one of the best weekends of paintball that I have had in a while. Oh, and the prices are easy on the wallet. I got 1/2 a case, air, field fee at $40.00 ...same on Sunday and bought a new pod pack to boot.

I highly recommend this field and wish the staff at First Strike Paintball all the best. Hope to catch you at a Scenario abroad or on your turf, either is fine with me. Best Regards First Strike Paintball. Newberry, FL.

p.s. Watch out for those Bannana Spiders, their scary suckers...some of them had their own zip code... Yikes
Last edited on Saturday, October 25th, 2008 at 7:48 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

waxball88 Tuesday, June 3rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: May 21st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Rocky creek
Directions
to the Field:
Newberry
Review: Well having come from Working and playing at rocky creek to playing at first strike, my review will deeply compare the differences between the two.

Fields: Lets see its not hard to tell who has the biggest woodsball facility, First strike. Absolutely HUGE, different elevations many bunkers random usable props. I have not played on these fields but judging by the HUNDREDS of people who flock to their scenarios i can say they are probably excellent.
Speedball, even though first strike has 2? Tech. speedball courses 1 Regulation X-Ball and one nice hyperball practice layout. Rocky creek has 2 airball that blend together (Not even close to an xball field) and 2 other fields, one porta-potty consisting of few bunkers, and a half pipe field, not much. First strike is definitely the place for more experienced players. There is actual competition an GOOD players there. Rocky creek has 0 tourney players. First strike will bring you a long way in tournament paintball with their players, both owners will offer advice and helpful tips.

Prices: 17 dollar air and field fee and varying paint from 40-50 i think? I think evertyhing together averages out to a little over or under 60 bucks.
Rocky creek: 15 Air (wtf?) 5 field fee and 45 cases. Make sure you ask for the good stuff... So around 65 These are the Creek's new prices air went up 5 paint down 10 so only a 5 dollar change. Sneaky...

Service: Rather than saying Randy is more player oriented and kind those are just personality differences. Randy is a very kind man and generous. I have know randy in my few months playing there to be nothing but nice. Jim is firm and somewhat hard headed, which can go either way, good or bad.
First has free water from coolers and drinks are 1 dollar, there is sometimes lunch available. Rocky creek just provides drinks at 1 dollar.

First strike has chairs and tables(covered), rocky creek has tables (not covered)

Both staffs are nice and helpful.

I hope my review was helpful, sorry i can't tell you about the fields from a rec stand point.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

conch2d Saturday, November 24th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 16th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Rocky Creek & Wayne's World.
Directions
to the Field:
West on Newberry Rd (SR 26) thru the town of Newberry till you reach the Gilcrest county line then right @ the new paved road. Field about 1/2 mile on left (west) side.
Review: Was a fun place to play, went in August so was quite warm but a lot of shade to cool off. Refs were fair & seemed to know what they were doing allowing the play to flow smoothly. Owners were also friendly & very helpful for questions & info for new comers. Liked the place but the woods field seemed to be closed due to downed trees.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gilman Tuesday, September 18th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 8th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wayne's World - Bigger area, bigger crouds, bigger prices
Old River - About the same size, smaller crouds, bigger prices
Review: I went for a one day scenario, Alamo 07.
Safety - seems to be very high priority. Everyone was chronoed to 280 before play, refs were watching for goggles on, plugs in, all the usual stuff. I got really hot and my head wasn't in the right place and I pulled my mask up, in an insertion area, I got a warning, good ref.
Fields - Lots of cool terrain, gullies, hills, open areas, wodds heavy and thin. Tons to offer.
Price - Great, it had BYOP for a scenario, you can't beat that.
Staff/Refs - they all seemed to friendly, knowledable, and on the ball.

Overall I'd say one of the better fields around. I had a great time and I'll be back. I wish they had more scenarios.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

8legedspyder Tuesday, February 13th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: February 11th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Waynes World, Ozzie's, Old River.
Directions
to the Field:
??? all i kno is thats its in newberry near gainsville
Review: this place is the best i drive and hour and 40 min to get there from orlando because its wAAAAAAAAAAAAA Kooler

they have bunny,airball,hyperball,woodsball,take no prisoners,satchel,president and HUGE 26 acre games

this is the best feild the rafs are so kind and nice and the owner has a crush on my mom...(EWWWWWWWWW)

this feild is the pratice feild for the gator paintball team and they give u pointers and tipps on how to improove if u ask
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Superrmahon Wednesday, January 3rd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 30th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Waynes World, Ozzie's, Old River.
Directions
to the Field:
North 441 to Newberry Rd, take Newberry Rd to Ghilcrest county Line and first right after county line.
Review: Let me start by saying this is a greatest place to play paintball. The people are 100 x friendlier than Waynes World, they have larger and more fields than Ozzie's and More options than just Woods Ball and hyperball unlike Old River.

When I firsr arrived, it was arround 11:00, I thought because we ( me and my younger brother went who's 14) arrived later it was going to be packed. I was wrong. It was'nt crammed but there was ample enough of people to play multiple games at once. The staff was very friendly and so were the refs, who are younger kids that just love to be around paintball and though they're they know what they're doing and are more than fair. All of the more experienced players were friendly and took to my younger brothers rambling question (which he does often) very patiently and were more than willing to help him on and off the field if I was'nt available, which was cool because most the local and more experienced players at other fields are nothing more than a bunch of self centered jerks (not all are, just a majority).

The fields were clean and shaded, except the airball field. Which is ok because the main area is heavily shaded and there always seems to be a breeze blowing. The only thing I didn't like was the fact that there wasn't alot of free tables and chairs, but it didn't irk me too much because we just set up out the back of my truck. The proshop isn't really a proshop, but they have all your basic needs. Their prices are the cheapest I've ever seen for this area. I suggest you bring food with you because they don't serve lunch like other fields do.

Although I live more than 30 minutes away and there are closer fields I plan on going back often. This is probably the best field I have ever been to. I give it a 9.5 because of limited seating and they don't sell lunch, so I guess I have to round it up to a 10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

jps_cobra1 Sunday, December 24th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: December 30th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
thunderbowl, rocky creek, waynse world, some place out in the booinies near keystone and some tournament fields with NPPL.
Directions
to the Field:
West on Newberry road to mud truck bar or somthing then take a Right it'll be on your left you can't miss it.
Review: Let me start out by saying I helped build the field that was there before first strike even thought about going there and some of the bunker we built are still there today more than 10 years later. I like the way our "stomping grounds" have been kept up as for some of these reviews I didn't notice anyone cursing to much or smoking around where they shouldn't have been. I went there with me wife and my friends girlfriend, it was they're first time playing paintball and the owner gave us a ref and let us introduce our loved ones to a sport we played growing up. This to me said this man does not want people getting the wrong idea about this sport and I will never play at another field as long as this field is open. The only reason I stoped playing here in the first place is because Uncle Sam had a differnt "game" I needed to participate in. But now this is a place I take my wife and friends to and a place I would recomend to anyone wanting to play paintball the way it was ment to be played.
Last edited on Friday, January 5th, 2007 at 1:51 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

frntman11 Wednesday, September 27th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: September 16th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Rocky Creek
Ozzie's Kamikaze
Wayne's World
Paintball Nutz
Directions
to the Field:
CR 337 in Gilchrist County
Review: This field has one woodsball field, a domination field, 1 air ball field that is hardly ever blown up, and 2 hyperball fields. I am a rec ball player who primarily likes playing air ball and hyperball fields.

To start with the fields are not mowed very frequently. The setup of all the other fields have not changed in a year and a half. The airball field changes only because the owner's son plays on the team that calls First Strike its home field. The air ball field has so many holes in the bunkers that most of the bunkers don't hold air for very long. They give the excuse that its too much work to blow up the air ball field on rec ball days so usually we don't get to play on it.

Most of the ref's don't know any of the rules and they get attitudes and cuss at you, when you ask them about a call. I usually play with a group of very good rec ballers. Because we are pretty good, we usually get pushed aside because the owner is scared that we might overshoot one of the kids. From what I've seen, we are some of the fairest people that go out there. We usually help the inexperienced people as much as we can. Even though we usually get pushed aside and play each other every weekend...we still pay the same amount of money, just to play ourselves. The way I got better was to play many people, some were better than me, some not. The owner should recognize who comes out there to support him week in and week out also throughout the summer when business is slow.

When the team (Zero Effect) is out there, they play around outside of the netting with paint. Last time, we were there with the team...they decided to play around and squirt paint all over people's cars. As one of their friends were pulling up, they were outside of the netting shooting paint at the person's tires. They also blow paint through barrels around the tables where people are sitting.

If you can get around what I wrote, they do have decently priced paint. They also run games fairly quickly.
Last edited on Wednesday, September 27th, 2006 at 7:24 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Wizardry Sunday, June 4th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: June 4th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Rocky Creek
Ozzie's - In Ocala
Directions
to the Field:
Take Newberry Road to Newberry. Proceed west to Gilchrest county (3-4 miles west of Newberry), at County Road 337 turn right and go 1 mile to the field.
Review: I have been playing paintball for over 5 years. During this time I have played at many fields including Rocky Creek, Paintball Nutz, Wayne's World, FirstCoast Paintball, Wild Bill's Paintball, Adrenaline Junkies PB, Old River PB, and many more. I have played many of these fields multiple times so I have had the opportunity to observe them over repeated playing occasions. Of all the fields my personal favorite is First Strike Paintball.

It is my favorite for many reasons. The people are nice and friendly, the fields are in immaculate condition, the player skill levels encompass the full range from the occasional rec. ball player to tournament players, the games are fairly reffed, cheating is not tolerated, and the prices are very competitive. It is a wholesome family atmosphere where I have witnessed many birthday parties, church, and other fraternal groups come and enjoy themselves over the years.

Most of the play revolves around speedball and some woods type of play. The games which are played depends on the number of players and player requests. This type of game rotation suits the needs of a variety of players including Airball enthusiasts. I have more than satisfied by the number of game which are played in a day's time. Obviously when the conditions are very hot more time is taken between games to allow player to rest and cool off so there is no chance of heat exhaustion.

One thing I really think is outstanding at First Strike Paintball is the level of Safety. At no other field, in my experience, have I seen as much attention paid to the safety of all players. Face mask protection and barrel socks are strictly enforced. No where that I have played matches the level of safety which is exhibited at First Strike Paintball. This is of tantamount importance. As a matter of fact, at one local field (sorry I won't give out the field name), I have witnessed the owner of the field personally ref a game with no face mask on. At other fields I see many instances of barrel socks and off field shooting taking place...but not at First Strike Paintball.

If you are looking to play a recreational or tournament level paintball game then First Strike Paintball is the place to come and play. If you are new to the game and don't know anyone, no problem, they are very friendly and will help you learn how to sharpen your skills.






Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

d4chess Saturday, May 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 13th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Rocky Creek
Directions
to the Field:
Gilcrest county on rd 337
Review: I've been paint-balling about a year now, mostly at Rocky Creek Paintball in Gainesville. My friend and I decided to mix it up one Saturday and check out First Strike. We heard that they had incredible woods-ball fields and that there were no paint brand restrictions like at Rocky Creek.

Indeed, the woods-ball fields were incredible, but in 4 hours of being there, the refs only called ONE woods-ball game. There's great potential in this 27 acre field if they would just utilize the whole facility.

Secondly, the refs were complete morons. They ran things at best at a leisurely pace. There were sometimes over 20 minutes between games, which were all Ref's choice. I guess you'd have to experience it to get the full effect, but WOW were they ineffective and unintelligent.

Don't bring your kids here. It's a bad environment for anyone under 15. Players smoke UNDER the no smoking sign, refs cuss like sailors, there's unashamed talk about drug use between players and refs, and nobody cronos the guns. I have several welts that could not have been made by guns shooting under 280.

The field is great and the owners are nice people. There's free water coolers, which Rocky Creek doesn't have. Again, the facility is magnificent. The refs, smoking, and general malaise of the place is what completely turned me off. Don't think I'll be returning.
Last edited on Saturday, May 13th, 2006 at 7:44 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
6 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media